It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Riads and Kasbahs of Morocco

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Riads and Kasbahs of Morocco trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Riads and Kasbahs of Morocco reviews verified by reevooReevoo

13 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Riads and Kasbahs of MoroccoScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Lahcen, our leader was excellent, incredibly helpful.

I thought the itinerary was very good - although all the really good, Moroccan experiences were at the beginning, particularly in Fez and as we moved to the Sahara. The trip became more touristy as we moved around the country. I did wonder if the trip could be done in reverse - just a thought.

The hotels were all good quality, but the best ones were the ones which had Moroccan furnishings, tiles etc. The large Spanish owned hotels had rather soulless (crowded with tourists) dining rooms. Our group did not like the modern 5 star hotel in Marrakesh, which was a long way from the centre - Explore could consider perhaps a tasteful Moroccan style riad in the medina, as in Fez.

All in all though, a very good holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 21 October 2016
Published on: 25 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


I really felt that I had seen a lot of Morocco after this trip and learnt a lot about Berber life with the help of our excellent tour guide, Lahsen. The trip was varied with mountains, deserts, date valleys, markets, ancient medinas and kasbars, goats climbing trees! What more could you ask for? Lovely food? Yes, there was that as well, and good company.

The only downside was the final hotel in Marrakech which lacked the Moroccan character of other places we stayed and was a long hot walk to the main parts of the medina. Would have been lovely to end the holiday in a riad in the medina. Other than that it was a great tour in a beautiful country, I would highly recommend it to others.
Confirmed traveller: 21 October 2016
Published on: 23 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The review would have been a 10 if we hadn't spent so much time stopping to shop. In Fes we were taken in leather, weaving, and other "artisanal" shops. Seemed like an attempt to get as many sales commissions as possible. Don't remember this much shopping on other trips. Morocco has a lot to offer....museums and sites that weren't touched upon. Food options weren't great, although we as a couple skipped dinner, the times we ate with the group the food was weak.
The driver and his assistant were really great.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2016
Published on: 20 May 2016
(5 out of 10)


Essaouira - Location of Riad Mimouna was wonderful, so close to the sea, waves bashing up against walls. Enjoyed relaxing there on the roof top terrace.
Some of the meals we ate were in the hotels ( even though our guide did not recommend them) especially at Dar Kamar Quarzazate. The food in the local restaurants was very bland and disappointing.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2015
Published on: 04 November 2015
(8 out of 10)


The beautiful Rihad in Fes was a wonderful way to begin the holiday. Enjoying the night sky with zero light pollution was an unforgettable experience.

1. opt out of the Marrakesh 'orientation tour'. The palace we visited was not worth the visit, particularly after staying in the Rihad in Fes, which was an example of the same kind of building - only far superior and furnished. It was also exhausting walking in the afternoon heat at the end of the holiday, when we had already seen lots of mosques and souks. Take the time to potter around yourself.
2. be aware that the products on sale at the co-operatives you visit (ceramic, rose oil products, argan oil) sell items at a very inflated price compared to the markets.
3. don't be afraid to eat at 'public' restaurants. Our favourite meal was in a 'public' restaurant at the Blue Gate, Fes. Use your common sense.
Confirmed traveller: 18 September 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(9 out of 10)


Loved the premium accommodation choices. Really enjoyed the night in the desert camp. Tip: travel as light as you can.
Confirmed traveller: 18 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

We started in Fes on a cloudy & cold February day. A few days later we were walking in a delightful valley then, a few days later, throwing snowballs in the High Atlas mountains. Then, a few days later still, sitting on a sand dune basking in the heat of the Sahara. After that came the coast and, for total contrast, Marrakesh. What an amazing country! To be able to see so much in just 2 weeks was fantastic.Very pleasant tour leader who created a good atmosphere.
Confirmed traveller: 14 March 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)


Portishead, Bristol
Take a torch and carry it at night as the lighting was poor in several places.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(9 out of 10)


New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
I have gone on 3 Explore trips now and none have disappointed. Can hardly wait to go on another.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2014
Published on: 30 September 2015