It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
626 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

The Austrian Tyrol AUT

Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for The Austrian Tyrol

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Austrian Tyrol trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

The Austrian Tyrol reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
The Austrian TyrolScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Jacqueline

London
The scenery of the region is spectacular, even in colder, wetter weather. The walks offered a variety of terrains with breathtaking vistas in all directions.
The highlight was the walk round Gratlspitz on the last day and meant the trip ended on a high.
The village of Alpbach was picturesque and provided an ideal base from which to explore the area.
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2017
Published on: 22 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Walking in a beautiful area with a very knowledgeable local guide. Highlight probably the final day's walk up to and around the Gratispitz. I was particularly lucky with my group. Tip would be to expect all weathers!
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2017
Published on: 22 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Stuart

Bryneglwys
Excellent walking area, a couple of fairly easy walks & some harder walking. Gorge walk was very good. One of the best groups I have ever walked with. Group made the holiday. Thank you to all.
Confirmed traveller: 15 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Gill

Kendal
Beyond expectations : beautiful village and hotel (don't ever change it!), stunningly beautiful scenery, interesting and very varied walks, great leader, and lovely people with whom to share the experience. And perfect weather - sunshine all the way!
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 25 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Gaye

Chippenham
A great introduction to Austria and in particular the Tyrol. Having a guide, Frans, who had been born and bred in the area was a bonus. His knowledge and passion for the history and culture of the Alpbach valley gave us a real insight into their values and customs, both past and present. His family run hotel was very comfortable, nothing was too much trouble and we could even order a packed lunch, saving visits to the local Spar shop (although this was very well stocked).
Walks were varied and enabled you to see a range of environments. The ridge and gorge walks were particularly scenic.
Make sure you have good waterproofs as even in Summer it can rain very heavily.
Travel pass provided, enabled free use of buses, ski lifts and entrance to some museums which was very useful on free day.
Flo's restaurant provided excellent food on evenings where meals were not included and at a good price.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 22 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sylvia

Accommodation was great - spacious rooms, comfortable however breakfast was somewhat sparse, not enough eggs for everyone, and the packed lunch offered by the hotel was a bit expensive for basic sandwiches, candy bar and juice at 8 Euros.

Tour leader had some challenges dealing with weather conditions and working hikes around it.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 06 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Warwickshire
All of it! A brilliant week, wonderful walks, excellent companions.
Confirmed traveller: 12 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Joanna

Bristol
The tour itself was excellent and the week felt well-organised by Franz when I was there. However, I did feel that some of the pre-holiday administrative processes at the Explore offices were slightly below the high standard I expected. This didn't have any effect on the enjoyment of my holiday but could have made the post-booking process go a bit more smoothly: for example, I felt that my correspondence could have been dealt with more efficiently, I felt that at times I had to provide the same information twice, and the forms could have been emailed in a format that was easy to complete and return electronically.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015
(10 out of 10)

Pamela

Buderim Australia
Highlights: The beauty of the mountains; the camaraderie among the group; the expertise of the guide; the hospitality shown by the guide and his family at the accommodation and at the restaurants we frequented.

Tips: Make sure you have reasonable fitness. The walks are not difficult but the climbs are fairly constant at times.
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2015
Published on: 23 October 2015