It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
14 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Family Active Nicaragua

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Active Nicaragua trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Family Active Nicaragua reviews verified by Reevoo

7 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Family Active NicaraguaScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 7 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Mark

Solihull
The trip was first class in every area. Full of variety with many activities that kept our nine year old daughter occupied. The hotels were of a high standard and the food included was brilliant. We enjoyed the Eco Lodge and the hotel in Granada particularly. We have been on several group trips but our tour guide Roberto was the best we have had, his knowledge of the country, wildlife and history certainly made our trip more enjoyable. We would also like to mention our driver Juan, in the hustle and bustle of a Central American Country his careful and considerate driving and general help was very much appreciated.
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2016
Published on: 15 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Julieandrea

Horley
A really busy but exciting tour. We loved the boarding down the volcano, surfing, zip wiring, snorkeling, kayaking etc.
Granada city was also a real highlight - such a lovely city, has artisan bakery, art studios, Garden Cafe was a great place to eat and the Chocolate workshop was fun too.
Tip - suggest you take local currency to Corn island even though we were told we didnt need it and was best to take dollars. You got a better deal everywhere if you could pay in local currency and not dollars, so felt we were advised incorrectly.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 22 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Polly

Bristol
An excellent itinerary giving a varied look at this developing country with it's interesting history and relaxed, friendly people. Highlights were: climbing the volcano and tobogganing down it; cycling to and kayaking on Lake Nicaragua; visiting a live volcano and seeing the blazing magma, one of only 3 places in the world where this is possible; spending time in the delightful colonial towns of Leon and Granada; hanging out feeling scared but having a sense of achievement on the canopy zip wire; learning about turtle conservation and surfing at the Ecolodge on the Pacific coast; snorkelling in the Caribbean; relaxing on the beautiful deserted beaches and paddle boarding on Corn Island.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 16 August 2016
(7 out of 10)

Lucy

Rowland's Castle
Highlights:
Our guide Roberto
Activities such as zip wire, kayaking, rain forest, volcanoes.
Granada plus Hotel Alhambra ( first room offered was unacceptable though as no window)
Ecolodge Los Cardones - excellent food and setting plus activities & staff

Low points:
Hotel in Leon - next to v busy road so not possible to walk out plus no bar. Rooms very tired and not v comfortable.
Corn Island - some hotel staff unfriendly and inefficient. Lots of wear and tear visible eg missing smoke alarms, torn fabric on sofa in reception, stained sheets with cigarette burns which had to be changed upon arrival. Also, litter and poor infrastructure on island meant taxis were required at all times to go to other parts of the island. Only 1 or 2 places to eat on island that we liked and food in hotel poor.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 15 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alison

Glasgow
Really enjoyed most of it, with the exception of the Caribbean part, not really much to do and although you could hire stuff not much to see, especially if going for a walk. The hotel didn't supply juice at breakfast only coffee, which is difficult for the kids and I don't drink tea or coffee. Maybe we were just used to all the activities!!
The first and last hotel we stayed in was lovely(same place, Camino Real I think), but due to its location it was very expensive for the lunch we had, £5 for a soft drink is pretty steep! It was the most we paid on the entire holiday. TBH it seemed a bit of a rush and we din't see the menu although the guide did say they were 2 different prices, didn't realise the disparity though. After having said all that we really enjoyed the holiday, loads of things we hadn't experienced before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 17 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This is a really good trip, full of variety and interest. In particular there are lots of highlights for the children - sliding down the volcano, surfing, turtles, cycling, kayaking, chocolate making, zipwires - and plenty of swimming opportunities too.Excellent. The organisation was extremely smooth throught. He communicated well, had a great sense of humour, made lots of good food recommendations, and was always a pleasure to be with.
Confirmed traveller: 31 August 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015