It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Belarus Explorer MI

Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Belarus Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Belarus Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Belarus Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Belarus ExplorerScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Cecelia

It would be great to include 2 full days in Minsk - there really was not enough time there to visit any museums etc. There is a lot to see there and we only had time to walk around plus the driving tour.

Svetlana, our explore leader was excellent. She was extremely professional, knowledgable and helpful.
Confirmed traveller: 29 August 2016
Published on: 17 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paula

Maidstone
A packed itinerary! Be prepared for long days, however, a very enjoyable trip with so many interesting things to see and do. I loved every day on this tour. Belarus is a stunning country and the trip exceeded my expectations. The food was very good and the accommodation excellent. No hesitation in recommending this trip.

Everything on the itinerary was a highlight! The only thing I would recommend is an extra day in Minsk as we didn't have time to do some of the museums.

Our tour leader, Svetlana, was awesome. We were very lucky to have her.
Confirmed traveller: 29 August 2016
Published on: 16 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Simon

Stone
This was a good introduction to a very interesting and little known country. The castles, especially Nezvish, were impressive. Other highlights were the Chagall house in Vitebsk and an excursion to the Azgur museum in Minsk (hidden away but well worth the effort). An unscheduled trip to the Khatyn memorial was a moving and unexpected highlight. Finally the glimpse of Tartar culture at the end was great. Belarus is very cheap, surprisingly so, and this makes the trip exceptional value for money. We were pleased to see that previous comments about the size and standard of minibuses had been acted on - ours was brand new and very comfortable. The driver was excellent too, joining in far more than has been the case on other trips, which added to the enjoyment.

Robert was a really good tour leader, knowledgeable and endlessly patient who kept the trip to schedule without ever rushing us. His suggestions for restaurants and entertainment were spot on and the latter gave us a rare insight into Belarus. Explore tour leaders are always really good but even by these standards Robert excelled.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

An interesting and thought-provoking visit to a corner of Europe I knew next to nothing about. The itinerary was varied and well thought out and surprisingly busy. A lot of time was spent on the bus some days so bus food is essential for those of a hungry disposition.
First class tour leader and driver.
Accommodation better than usual for Explore!
Local guides were all excellent and enthusiastic.
For me there was no particular highlight - I enjoyed everything including the glimpse that we were given of Poland (Warsaw and Bialystok).
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2016
Published on: 19 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Gillian

Lewes
Overall a most enjoyable trip. The accommodation and food in Belarus exceeded my expectations, with the exception of one hotel in Lida. Belarus is a scenic country with interesting places to visit although there has been considerable reconstruction of historic sites as a consequence of the immense destruction wrought in World War II.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2016
Published on: 31 August 2016
(4 out of 10)

Berta

san mateo, ca
highlights were staying at the palace hotel in Nezvizh Castle, visiting the Nezvizh and Mir castles. The hotel inside the Berezinsky park was also very nice. The destination cities and the park were very worth visiting, even with the low quality soviet service, but that was expected.

However, the rest of the accommodations were all terrible, the tour leader was inexperienced, but the driver was fantastic, and the local guide at vitebsk was a nightmare with attitude problem. Never use her again (Valentina). We were late getting to the hotel where she was waiting for us. She was upset we were late and threw her binder to the sofa to show us how upset she was, and sat down looking very angry. Didnt pay tour to suffer local guides attitudes.

The included dinners were not sufficient (so little food, we were left hungry).

The tour overall was hectic, often not getting to the final destination till late (we were always late and the tour leader always rushing us, only given half hour for lunch, thus causing us indigestions), and left us no time to rest before dinner. on the first day we drove and drove and didnt get to the palace hotel until after 9PM, had a very late dinner and no time to digest the food before sleeping. Always getting to the destination city in late afternoon, the sun beginning to set and no good light for photo taking. we were tired and hungry and therefore no energy to fully enjoy the new city.

The tour leader often contradicts himself, first offering 1 meeting time (tomorrow bags at 8:30) and then repeats himself and tells us a different time (again, tomorrow bags out at 8:00), so we had to confirm again and again just to make sure. He only gave us half hour to lunch. even at the ready made food restaurant, not the sit down and wait to order ones, there's still only 1 server for the 11 of us plus other customers. half hour is not enough time to eat properly and go to the store to buy bottle water AND go to the toilet. the tour leader time management skills need improvements

the tour overall itinerary needs to improve. the night at lida was a waste of time. there's not much to see there. should be just a half hour stop to see the castle and then go on to grodna. grodna was only about 1 hr away. why spend the night at the horrible hotel in lida (it was very hot that day, no AC at the hotel, had to leave the window open for air and thus the room was filled with bugs, the rooms were miniscule, bed pushed up against the window, so the first thing the bugs saw when flew in to the room was your body), only to check in at another hotel the next morning. waste of time and we suffered a horrible night in lida. the schedule was such that we always arrived at the destination in the late afternoon, so we're too tired and hungry to enjoy the city tour. Never had time to relax and freshen up before dinner. dinner was always late so we always ended up sleeping late as well, and needed to wake up the next morning for early start, so no time to rest.
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding your trip to Poland and Belarus, I’m sorry it did not quite meet your expectations. Witilaj is one of our best leaders in the area and always receives great feedback from our customers, so it’s a shame that you found him to be inexperienced. We have addressed your concerns with him regarding time management and to make sure that the group are clear with the information given. We do note on the trip notes that the tour pace will be full on, which means early starts and long journeys – however, your feedback has been noted with our Operations Manager and we will continue to monitor this.

(9 out of 10)

Jean

Brentwood, Essex
An interesting and fast moving trip. Lots to see and learn about what was a little known country for me. It would I think benefit from being a couple of days longer - giving more time to enjoy the trip, country and people.
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2016
Published on: 23 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Patricia

severna park Maryland usa
The last night was 3 hours from the airport so passengers were dropped at the airport at 1.p.m. to wait for their flights. Some waited till 11 p.m. others till 8p.m.
It is much more convenient to have the last night in the city where the airport is
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2016
Published on: 19 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Mark

London
Well thought out itinerary which packed in a lot but was equally adaptable and flexible
Confirmed traveller: 02 June 2016
Published on: 07 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jeremiah

Cork, Ireland
Overall a very good interesting tour. Very good tour leader. Accommodation was good, local guides were very good. food was a bit too much of the same but that was to be expected. Got an interesting insight to Belarus.

My only complaint, but a big enough one, would be the type of transport we had. We had a 19 seater minibus for 14 people plus tour leader. Two seats had to be used for luggage as the space for same was not enough.

This was a minibus, not a mini coach. Leg space was cramped for taller people and seats were hard. The bus would be o.k. for local short day trips but not for a week long trip where we would be on the bus a lot on some days. Such vehicles do exist at 20 seater range.
Confirmed traveller: 30 May 2016
Published on: 14 June 2016