It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
624 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Belarus Explorer MI

Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Belarus Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Belarus Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Belarus Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Belarus ExplorerScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(6 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Sheffield
Lots of travelling in the minibus and not much time to see actual areas - not much free time either. Travelling to Warsaw by air was complicated and journey would have been much better started in Minsk avoiding long waits at customs.

Good parts of the trip - staying at the nature reserve, staying at Nishvich castle, looking round Minsk, Hrodna.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2017
Published on: 13 August 2017
(6 out of 10)

David

Yarm, North Yorks
local guides talked too much. We got the history over and over again. Guides whose first language is not English should limit the content of their talk; they cannot be followed in a group setting when they have too much to say. Guides who do not speak English are a waste of time because they have to be translated by the tour leader. We didn't feel we had much free time. Travelling via Warsaw wasted a lot of time and we didn't even have enough time to see the city. A better route needs to be found.
The guide on the walks was very tight about the content of the afternoon walk. He was out to show us bears; well anyone knows you aren't going to find bears on a sunny afternoon; so it felt a bit like a route march.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2017
Published on: 11 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Thomas

Sheffield
Tour leader (Svetlana) was excellent and very informative.....hadn't realised she had been a tour guide for the now President of China, a few years ago! A good mixture of town and countryside, traditional architecture and modern. Impressed by the cleanliness of Belarus, along with its palaces and castles. Highlights included joining in the dancing of a Belarus wedding party; the solemnity of the war memorials, and the peacefulness of walking in the forests. Would have liked a bit more time in Minsk.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Thomas

London
This is a well designed and varied trip that visits most regions of this unusual country, which receives very few foreign visitors although it is very safe, clean and uncrowded. Our leader, Robert, lives in Poland but grew up in Russia, so is fluent in both languages and was also very familiar with Belarus. Our city guides were more varied - some just repeating a script, but others sharing their obvious interest and passion in their country and its history. The memory of the Soviet era is very strong and officially very positive, but the country has a modern infrastructure and well maintained buildings, and is more orderly than Russia. It is also restoring historic buildings that pre-date the Soviet area.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2017
Published on: 16 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Mike

Amersham
Robert was an excellent Tour Leader and did a great job of ensuring the trip ran smoothly, ensuring we were given sufficient information about the various places that we visited. The tour is 'full on' as described in the tour notes - with sightseeing / travelling going into the late afternoon / early evening, which I found great as there was so much to see. If you have not been to Warsaw before I suggest booking an extra day or two before the start of the tour as there is a huge amount to see there - the Ibis hotel was a short walk from the Old Town. In Brest, try to pop over to the Railway Museum after the visit to the Fortress. Lots of interesting architecture and history - castles, forts, churches, memorial grounds. A fascinating country to visit. Take mosquito repellent for Berezinsky National Park and ensure to cover up - I have never seen so many!! The wildlife was in enclosures / cages however you may be lucky to see a wild animal - we did spot a cat in the woods! More time in Minsk would be great. Be prepared for a possible long wait at the border crossings. Local people are friendly and the food / drink and accommodation was good.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2017
Published on: 08 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jane

Nottingham
Robert was an excellent caring, informative tour leader. I felt we received a real insight into Belarus's complex history, although I still find it difficult to follow the interactions between the different Slavic nations in the past! My overall impression was of a very clean litter free country with a lot of forests and lakes. It proved to be exceptionally cheap - I only spent 115 euros worth of money in Belarus in spite of buying almost all lunchtime and evening food and drinks. Urban areas had wide streets and lots of trees and open spaces. Hardly anyone speaks English so a guide fluent in Russian and English like Robert is essential.
I had not realised how Belarus had suffered over the centuries particularly in World War II, not just the large Jewish population but everyone. A particular memory will always be of our visit to the burnt village of Khatyn, a National Memorial for all 618 villages similarly treated. Although not on the agenda I think it should be scheduled for future trips.
The walk in the forest was another highlight but it was very necessary to slavishly use anti-insect protection. In fact I enjoyed everything about the trip. However, I do think the trip would benefit from being extended by a couple of days as we had very little free time to explore Minsk or Grodno. It is hard work to move on each day except for the two night stay in the forest reserve.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Gerald

HAVANT
We both thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide, Robert, was excellent and looked after our every need. He was enthusiastic and gave us lots of useful information. The accommodation was very good and much exceeded our expectations. One minor criticism is that we did visit, in our opinion, too many rebuilt baroque churches. We are both very interested in church architecture, but so many of the buildings we visited were in the same style, rebuilt and somewhat difficult to tell apart. The travelling time was, on some days, very long, giving little to no time for a rest before going out to dinner. In our opinion, a reduction in the number of churches visited would have made for a more relaxed holiday. However, after saying this, we both had a very good time. The other people on the tour were very pleasant and interesting, and Robert, the tour guide, was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Simon

Bingley, West Yorks.
Nice idea starting in Poland - unfortunately due to the organised flight time I missed the walking tour of Warsaw. Enjoyed visiting the various castles, historic towns & walking in the National park - a nice varied tour. Perhaps too many churches but that's probably the nature of the place !. Would have liked to see where Napoleon crossed the Berezina - however that would have been tricky in view of location & route we were travelling. Hotels were fine - particularly the stay in a castle. Tour guide was very good - the right balance of organising & freedom. Knowledgable & good language skills. Also friendly & helpful if any issues. Local guides were also knowledgable & useful. Overall an enjoyable holiday, glad I booked it. Thanks again to Explore !!.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Frances

Vancouver
The highlight of the trip was the tour leader, Svetlana. She was professional and helpful to everyone. Her excellent commentary about Belarus, given during driving times, was very much appreciated by this traveller.

The group consisted of 11 people, all well travelled, a most interesting group.

I especially liked the visits to castles Radziwell and Mir, as well as other castle/fortresses. Churches were also interesting, particularly the architectural features.
I liked hearing about their histories, but not about the relics of saints.

I was disappointed to have such a very brief time in Minsk and recommend that the itinerary be changed to the earlier one that allowed two nights there.

The National Park visit was not so interesting to me, perhaps because I live in a country with so many wildlife and nature parks, where I have spent a lot of time. (and still do)

Visits to towns and war memorials were educational and well presented by Svetlana.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2017
Published on: 21 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Andrew

Ipswich
Untouched, laid back, undiscovered... From castles, to churches, Forests to cities and architecture from Medieval to Soviet... Belarus is a must for anyone looking to explore the world.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017