It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Sacred Land Of The Incas PS

Visiting: Peru
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Sacred Land Of The Incas

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Sacred Land Of The Incas trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Sacred Land Of The Incas reviews verified by reevooReevoo

25 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Sacred Land Of The IncasScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 25 reviews
(10 out of 10)

James

Romsey, Hampshire
This tour covered so many highlights of Peru - the condors rising on the thermals in Colca Canyon, the wonderful people who live on islands on the beautiful Lake Titicaca, the Altiplano with its wildlife & volcanoes, Arequipa, a beautiful colonial city, the thermal baths in the mountains at Chivay &, last but not least, the iconic Machu Picchu & the beautiful Sacred Valley with its many places of historical interest. The food is lovely too, lots of vegetables & do try alpaca.
Tips - take a few light extra layers for the evenings at altitude, take more Soles than dollars, we had to keep changing dollars into Soles & could easily have taken more Soles instead in the first place. We also found a walking pole useful when climbing to Inca temples & to the Sun Gate at MP.
Confirmed traveller: 20 May 2017
Published on: 14 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

The tour visited most of the most interesting places in Peru. It was good to visit places at high altitude first so we became acclimatised. Highlights for me were Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca, the Colca Canyon, Cuzco and Ollantaytambo. Most of the accommodation was excellent, particularly Arequipa, Ollantaytambo and Chivay, but some could have been better e.g. Aguas Calientes. What made our trip so enjoyable and successful was our wonderful leader, Julio, who was passionate about Peru and very knowledgeable. He was extremely hard-working, well-organised and caring and made the trip fun.
Confirmed traveller: 20 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Patricia

London
Everything was well planned and well executed the tour leader was the best ever and I HV a lot of experience.
Confirmed traveller: 20 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Timothy

Winchester
The whole trip was excellent Machu Picchu and the magic of the condors were particularly awesome. Also enjoyed staying on the island on Lake Titikaka and Ollantaytambo.
Our guide Julio was fantastic too - good humoured and always willing to sort out issues/make recommendations, as well as passionate and knowledgeable about Peruvian history and culture.

Before going on the trip, we hadn't appreciated the effect that the altitude would have for the first few days.

The hotel ?Emperador in Cusco could do with refurbishment and hotwater in some rooms was variable.
Confirmed traveller: 19 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Geoffrey

Kendal, Cumbria
An excellent tour greatly enhanced by our tour leader Julio Cesar Yabar whose knowledge and enthusiasm proved invaluable. The overall tour was fantastic but here is a list of places we shall never forget: Santa Catalina Convent Arequipa, Condors flying in Colca Canyon, Lake Titicaca...Uros Islands,home stay on Tequile Island, 'chullpas' of Sillustani, Inca ruins and Spanish colonial architecture of Cuzco, salt pans of Salinas,'colosseums' of Moray, Inca ruins of Ollantaytambo, Machu Picchu and Huayna Picchu. The people were extremely friendly and we were very lucky with the weather throughout. We were also very fortunate to have a group of people from many different walks of life who got on extremely well and supported each other at all times.
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jill

LaSalle, IL
The Sacred Inca Journey, with JULIO CESAR YABAR as our Tour LEADER, was absolutely the most incredible experience of my entire life!!! Cusco and Machu Picchu were the highlights for me, but every destination was phenomenaly glorious!!! THANK YOU, EXPLORE and JULIO!!!
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 21 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

stephen

poynton
A+++ trip, stunning sites and landscape but breath deeply and regularly to clear CO2 from your lungs, remember you will be climbing very high, 16,000 feet; highest point. Do not get out of breath if you can avoid it.
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 06 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Clare

Southampton
It really is impossible to pick a highlight as we saw and experienced so much on this trip from the wonder of snowcapped mountains to sunbathing on Taquile Island and exploring Inka ruins and culture. Shopping was fun and alpaca jumpers were very popular and warm. The nights are cold so wrap up warmly. I took some handwarmers which were great on Taquile Island where there was no heating in the rooms. However they were cosy with a pile of blankets and candle light.
Confirmed traveller: 30 June 2016
Published on: 03 July 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jennifer

BirminghamUK
The tour provides many interesting insights into the history and cultures of Peru. The pace is quite demanding and the accommodation of variable standard. Most of the tour group had gut and /or altitude sickness. Highlights include lake Titicata floating islands. Machu Pichu, the Sacred Valley, Olantytambo and the Andean Explorer train journey. It can get very cold so take layers of warmer clothing. Be aware that Lima is not a particularly safe city. Has some splendid museums .if you are considering the Amazon extension you will need a Yellow Fever vaccination but some specialist clinics may refuse to administer this if you are over sixty. Check first.
Confirmed traveller: 25 May 2016
Published on: 03 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Hendrika

Calgary, Canada
Excellently run tour. Highlights, other than Macchu Pichu, were Lake Titicaca,Cuzco and Arequipa.
Best tourleader ever Julio Cesare.
He was every day full of energy and enthousiasm, wanting us to have the best experience in his country.
On our free days he encouraged us to visit places and took those of us who wanted to on extra tours.
Will highly recommend the tour and tourleader Julio.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 27 May 2016