It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
620 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Western USA Highlights YG

Visiting: USA
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Western USA Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Western USA Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Western USA Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Western USA HighlightsScores 8.0 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Hersham, Surrey
Flying alone into San Francisco I was so pleased to see the tour leader waiting at the barrier with the Explore sign - off to a very good start.
Jason, our tour leader, was brilliant - very knowledgeable, unflappable and a great sense of humour. Hotels were mixed, but all were clean, quite adequate, some with pools, and all had comfy, large beds.
Our visit to Yosemite unfortunately coincided with Memorial Weekend and was absolutely packed. Enjoyable, but too many people and shuttle buses were over-worked and queues to get in and out of the park were very long. Perhaps try not to book for that period - w/e 27 May.
So many highlights but Bryce was the ace - beautiful, stunning and never to be forgotten.
This tour is not for the faint hearted as it is go, go, go - as described in the brochure - with lots of early morning starts, but well worth the effort.
I took walking boots but wore them only once - a good pair of trainers are fine. A fleece is useful for the sunrise and sunset outings - a bit nippy.
Helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon is a must and well worth the money.

My only criticism is the minibus. We were a party of nine plus driver and I did feel that we were quite squashed - no headrests or anywhere to put reading material, etc. whilst on the move, and there were some very long journeys.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Dorothy

Bradford
Interesting and breath taking trip. Walking superb. Need good legs and plenty of water! Views amazing. Many wow factors. Travel van could have been better. Uncomfortable, crowded. Not easy to get in and out of. Views restricted except for front seat! Height of vehicle too low. Not the best experience. Congenial driver who, in fairness to him and the many miles he drove should have had a guide.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(7 out of 10)

Lavinia

Huntingdon
My score for itinerary is marked down only because the hotel for Yosemite was a long way from park. This seemed worse as there bad traffic jams due to road works. I could have done with longer in Yosemite and Zion didn't have long enough to explore. Bryce was the highlight of the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Bronwen

Ashton
Guide was pleasant person but not very informative. Too much to,be driver, leader and guide! Bad timing with marathon in San Fransisco and Bank holiday in Zion Perhaps Explore should check dates? We were not picked up at last hotel to,be taken to airport. Had to,pay on hotel shuttle. Why say land tour started at 5 on the Sat when actually nothing happened until 9 am on Sun? Tough if you are on your own. Group flights didn't arrive until after 7! Van was very difficult to,get in and out of and seat belts were
Lethal yet there were only 9 in our group, can't imagine what it is like with more travellers in van. Despite all this enjoyed trip!
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Bryan

Derbyshire
Great itinerary with each park offering something different. Enough time to explore the parks but of course would have liked more as there was so much to see and do. Plenty of choice when it comes to treks so everyone can get involved. Good balance between directed time and doing own thing. knowledgeable guide who took us to all the best places and provided valuable advice regarding trails and places to eat etc. Thanks Ben. Journeys broken up by interesting stops, activities and photo opportunities.

Overall a truly fantastic experience.

Highlights definitely Zion and Bryce Canyon but everything was great.

Tips, just go with the flow and enjoy vistas like you've never seen before!
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 21 October 2016
(3 out of 10)

Sarah

Manchester
San Francisco was the nicest place
Very early starts, which were unnecessary
Were not given information about requiring a visa to visit USA. Very unclear in brochure as first sentence states that a visa is not required
Difficult to get information about start of trip in San Francisco, had to find other people on tour to ask about arrangements. Turned out leader had left a message on hotel phone but unaware of this
Guide was excellent
Too many hotels
Very small bus, which didn't suit the older members in the party
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2015
Published on: 12 November 2015

We’re sorry that you felt there was a lack of information provided in regards to visas – we do mention in the trip notes, and your documentation, that you will need an ESTA to qualify for the Visa waiver programme.

(5 out of 10)

Barbara

Hertford
All the National parks were excellent and our leader was good. But some of the accommodation was very poor and that would put me off using Explore again.
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2015
Published on: 11 November 2015

We’re sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some of the accommodation used. We do have mixed reviews on the accommodation for this trip, so we will look into alternatives – but in the meantime, we will keep a close eye on any feedback we receive for specific hotels.

(8 out of 10)

Ann

Highlights were Zion, Yosemite and Grand Canyon. The national parks are excellent - good information and transport links. The Holiday Inn at Zion was the best hotel.

Tips - be prepared to walk to get the best experience of the different places.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2015
Published on: 30 November 2015