It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
546 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Western USA Highlights YG

Visiting: USA
Tour Duration 15 Days
 
Reviews for Western USA Highlights 4.5 out of 5 based on 6 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Western USA Highlights tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 Ian Denton, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing Bryce Canyon and having the opportunity to hike down into it. Also being able to hike in Yosemite and Zion Parks, and in Grand Canyon. The average coach tour does not allow enough time for this.

Read more
 
4.5 Marion Slade, 14/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were so many diverse highlights that we cannot really single out just one. Magnificent Yosemite's waterfalls, beautiful colours in Zion, the breath taking wonders of Bryce Canyon and Antelope Canyon, bizarre surrealism in Monument Valley, and finally the magnitude of the Grand Canyon - awesome is the only word which will do! And I did enjoy Las Vegas, though one night was enough, but watching the Bellagio fountain display to Frank Sinatra's recording of s "Luck be a Lady tonight" was unforgettable. Our video is a nostalgic reminder!

Read more
 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Will Potter (Explore Staff)

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

It's hard to pick just one highlight as there are so many incredible sights on this tour. Obviously the Grand Canyon sticks out with the sheer scale of the place, but Bryce Canyon, Glacier Point in Yosemite, Angel's Landing at Zion National Park and the drive through Monument Valley are all up there. The sights just keep getting bigger and better!

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Matt was our Tour Leader as well as our driver and he was fantastic at both. He knew some great spots to show us off the tourist trail and made sure we were all safe and happy.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bring walking shoes/boots with ankle support as some of the trails in the National Parks can have rough terrain. Be prepared for some long drives - it's a big country!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I would definitely recommend the Antelope Canyon and Monument Valley optionals – they are really not to be missed!

 
0 Brian Helsdon, 27/10/11
This was a great trip, with great contrasts from the vibrant and varied city that is San Francisco ( I booked extra nights before the tour, well worth it but the hotel Explore uses is expensive just for one person ,£120 per night) to the magnificence of the national parks. Highlights for me were San Francisco, Bryce and Grand Canyons.  The company was good and we bonded as a group.  The trip was marred a bit by long hours in a not very comfortable bus and a not very informative guide.  Matt was driver and guide.  He was an excellent and safe driver, not such a good guide.  It was his first trip on this route and getting information about the places we were going to visit and what we were going to do was a bit like drawing teeth at times. (YG -24th September 2011)
 
0 Gemma, 15/08/11
This trip was amazing, and not only lived up to my expectations of the beauty and grandeur of the American west, but exceeded them. The national parks were all breathtaking, but my favourite was Bryce Canyon. Sunrise there is a must-see! Monument Valley was also a real highlight - the jeep tour and evening with our Navajo guide was unmissable. We also had some brilliant nights in Utah, going to a rodeo and a 'cowboy night' - everything was brilliant and our guide, Jan, was fantastic. Finishing the trip in Vegas was a brilliant end to an amazing two weeks - I only wish we could have had a little longer there - 2 nights, for me, would have been better than one as there was so much we wanted to see that we didn't, even though we stayed up all night!  This trip was an unforgettable experience that I would recommend to anyone! (YG - 8th July 2011)
 
0 AS, 10/03/11
This was a great trip to get a taste of several of the National Parks. Be prepared for lots of driving, however, you tend to have 2 nights in each place before moving on. The parks are so impressive, on a grand scale, with amazing scenery... particular highlights for me included the view from Angels's Landing in Zion NP - so worth the hike, but definitely not for those with a fear of heights, as the climb up has steep drops on either side. Also getting up to see the sunrise at Bryce Canyon... wow! It's was our guide, Stephen's first tour and he did us proud. Unfortunately we had to change the itinerary slightly, due to late snow, so missed out on Mono Lake, but no-one's fault and we were made aware of it prior to departure. Least favourite part of the tour was Las Vegas - such a contrast to the beauty of the parks, but I guess still worth a short look! (YG - 15th May 2010).
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA