It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Western USA Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Western USA Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Western USA Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Western USA HighlightsScores 8.0 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Great itinerary with each park offering something different. Enough time to explore the parks but of course would have liked more as there was so much to see and do. Plenty of choice when it comes to treks so everyone can get involved. Good balance between directed time and doing own thing. knowledgeable guide who took us to all the best places and provided valuable advice regarding trails and places to eat etc. Thanks Ben. Journeys broken up by interesting stops, activities and photo opportunities.

Overall a truly fantastic experience.

Highlights definitely Zion and Bryce Canyon but everything was great.

Tips, just go with the flow and enjoy vistas like you've never seen before!
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 21 October 2016
(3 out of 10)


San Francisco was the nicest place
Very early starts, which were unnecessary
Were not given information about requiring a visa to visit USA. Very unclear in brochure as first sentence states that a visa is not required
Difficult to get information about start of trip in San Francisco, had to find other people on tour to ask about arrangements. Turned out leader had left a message on hotel phone but unaware of this
Guide was excellent
Too many hotels
Very small bus, which didn't suit the older members in the party
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2015
Published on: 12 November 2015

We’re sorry that you felt there was a lack of information provided in regards to visas – we do mention in the trip notes, and your documentation, that you will need an ESTA to qualify for the Visa waiver programme.

(5 out of 10)


All the National parks were excellent and our leader was good. But some of the accommodation was very poor and that would put me off using Explore again.
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2015
Published on: 11 November 2015

We’re sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some of the accommodation used. We do have mixed reviews on the accommodation for this trip, so we will look into alternatives – but in the meantime, we will keep a close eye on any feedback we receive for specific hotels.

(8 out of 10)


Highlights were Zion, Yosemite and Grand Canyon. The national parks are excellent - good information and transport links. The Holiday Inn at Zion was the best hotel.

Tips - be prepared to walk to get the best experience of the different places.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2015
Published on: 30 November 2015
(10 out of 10)


So many highlights - every day had a wow factor. The biggest surprise was Zion and Bryce - I hadn't really realised how spectacular these 2 places would be and, to be honest, for me, they beat Yosemite and Grand Canyon - and those two places are pretty spectacular. Monument was everything I expected and more.

If you are booking this trip please take note that Explore describe it as a BUSY trip - because it is . You are up early, on the road and travelling long distances. Although the Explore leader ensures that you are on and off the minibus regularly to see new things so you get regular exercise!!! Although the walks are good walks, they are a bit challenging in placesd and you need to take into account the temperatures as the heat can really slow you down. The age group of our tour ranged from 21 to 70+, a really good mix.
Confirmed traveller: 16 August 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(10 out of 10)


The slot canyon. The guide was great, taking us off route to see extra tings that interested us extra canyon walk, rare fish and Hoover Dam. The opportunities for photographs were massive - wildlife, landscapes, cityscapes.
Advice: Book now and have extra days in Frisco and Las Vegas!
Confirmed traveller: 08 June 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015
(9 out of 10)


Plenty of stops and views. Very informative and friendly leader.
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015
(8 out of 10)


Poynton, Cheshire
The Highlights were Monument Valley, The canyon near Page, Yosemite, Bryce Canyon and Grand canyon. The itinerary didn't allow enough time in San Francisco which is why I booked 3 extra days before joining the tour. Any tours of Alcatraz need to be booked online before departure on the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2014
Published on: 09 October 2015