It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
624 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma In Depth + Beach extension BUIB

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 24 Days
 

Reviews for Burma In Depth + Beach extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma In Depth + Beach extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma In Depth + Beach extension reviews verified by reevooReevoo

13 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Burma In Depth + Beach extensionScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Richard

New Ash Green
This was a fantastic tour seeing a lot more of Burma than other tours due to the number of days available. The pace was stated as moderate but it was faster than that. Only a few half days free time. There is a risk of being templed out as so many are included in the itinerary. The rural areas were fantastic. Seeing how people live and work is like going back in time. It was good to see it now as things must change as tourism bring more needed money into the economy. The highlights were Golden Rock, Bagan, Kalaw and Inle Lake. We enjoyed the many boat trips which were more enjoyable than travelling by coach all the time. The only negative comments are that the Hotel in Mandalay was so noisy if you had an outside room as it overlooks the main station and the trains sound their horns from 4.00am. I would have liked an extra day hiking around Kalaw by not seeing so many temples. Our guide May Mon was excellent and was a good ambassador for the country.
Confirmed traveller: 14 March 2017
Published on: 18 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Alan

Holsworthy, Devon
The Itinerary seems rather limited to Buddha statues and pagodas, but I suspect that that is due to the prevalence of such structures in a country dominated by its religion. However, within that constraint the tour was able to met my key objective, which was to see what the country is about and how it functions as it opens after years of military dictatorship. A very fine and interesting experience.
I have a minor issue with paying full single supplement and then being put in a lower standard room, although I think that this only happened once.. The local guide was incredibly efficient, and tried hard to manage a diverse and occasionally disorganised group. She did very well virtually all of the time.
Overall well done.
Confirmed traveller: 21 February 2017
Published on: 23 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Andrew

Midhurst
A very good full on tour which obviously included most, if not all, of the the major sights in Burma including Bagan and Lake Inle, not forgetting village cottage industry's. We visited a huge number of Pagodas with Buddhas and Stuppas, which had to be viewed in bare feet, but their differences left one in awe. This tour, in my case, was topped off with a visit to Ngapali beach resort, which allowed for reflection and welcome relaxation. The Tour Guide, Ei, was excellant, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble and all her arrangements worked like clockwork. She was certainly a hit with the group.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2017
Published on: 01 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Donald

NJ, USA
We thought this was a great trip. We had a wonderful tour leader. There is a lot packed into this three week trip. The three week trip provides an opportunity to see more than just the most popular sites.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Karen

Wivenhoe
A busy tour seeing thousands of images of Buddha.
You need shoes that come off & on easily.
A fascinating country at an interesting time.
The highlights for us were the cave visits & Inle Lake.
The beach extension provided a chance to recharge before returning to UK.
Still disappointed that no rail travel was included in this trip. However, we think it was better to go to Inle Lake near the end rather than at the beginning of the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 31 January 2017
Published on: 15 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Jill

London
Some brilliant highlights of a fascinating country.

Everything from pagodas, temples, and Buddha caves to rolling green valleys, the vast waters of Inle Lake, craftsmen working in villages...and real green tea!
Confirmed traveller: 10 January 2017
Published on: 15 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Judith

Norwich
Really full-on tour, with many highlights. My favourites were Bagan and Ngpali Beach, but everything was really interesting and I learned a lot about Buddhism and the culture of Myanmar. There were plenty of opportunities to see local craftsmen at work, and visit the huge range of pagodas and Buddha images. Our tour leader, Zar Zar, was excellent - very knowledgeable, kind and caring, diplomatic (we had one rather difficult person on the tour), and looked stunning everyday in a different outfit representative of the region we were visiting. She was suburb!
It's a very busy tour, so be prepared for that - which was why we opted for the beach extension, and we were glad we did.
The selection of seats on our flights to and from Myanmar could have been better, as we had no access to the isle on the way out, which was frustrating, but were fortunately able to change this for the return journey. Other than that, all the transfers, pick-ups and administration was very smooth and the holiday was extremely well organised. Definitely recommended!
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2016
Published on: 10 December 2016
(7 out of 10)

Michael

Cahors, France
A generally very enjoyable trip, though perhaps with too many visits to pagodas etc., especially during the first 2 weeks. We would have preferred to have seen more of the countryside and local life. Highlights were definitely the trek at Kalaw, Inle Lake, Ngapli Beach and Bagan. Would definitely recommend the hot air balloon flight at Bagan, although this is not included in the trip.

Hotels generally were quite acceptable although the hotel at Pyin Oo Lwin was sub-standard, having severe mould problems. The hotel at Kalaw was isolated and needed transport to travel to the town and restaurants.



Our tour leader (Win Zar Zar Min) was excellent and looked after us extremely well. Our only slight criticism would be that she often started to explain things before all the group had caught up with her. She was very diplomatic, given the problems caused by one member of the group.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

A great trip but hated gawping at the Padaung women placed in a showroom just to attract tourists - tourism at its worst.
I loved the visits to the workshops and some amazing monasteries and pagodas. Felt sometimes too rushed at some places. Fun having such a variety of transport. Really glad we opted for the beach extension because after 3 weeks of being on the move and absorbing so much it gave me time to reflect before returning to the hustle of normal life.
Confirmed traveller: 06 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016