It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
611 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Land Of Ice & Fire

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land Of Ice & Fire trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Land Of Ice & Fire reviews verified by reevooReevoo

37 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Land Of Ice & FireScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 37 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Lynn

Sydney Australia
Accommodation at Cabin bad first night, great last night. Inconsistent. Accommodation 2nd night really awful. The rest charming. Food generally good. Gusti was a treasure!! Went the extra mile every day. Aaron was an excellent driver. This was my first Explore and I really enjoyed a different way of travelling.
Itinerary was generally good. Too much driving 2nd last day but maybe couldn't be helped
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nancy

Cambridge
I booked a place on this trip at the last minute, and am very glad I did because it was wonderful. Iceland is packed with incredible things to see - icebergs flipping over and whale-watching in Akureyri were the highlights for me.
The accommodation was comfortable and clean. Even though I was expecting small rooms, the size of the rooms in Hotel Cabin was still a surprise - don't expect to have room to open your suitcase! The staff there are very friendly though. If you get a windowless room (i.e. a window onto the corridor) on the first night, try asking them nicely for a room with an external window on the last night - it worked for me!
Gusti was a great guide, and Smissi the best bus driver on Iceland.
I'd definitely recommend this trip!
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 25 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Marjorie

Edinburgh
Brilliant trip. Excellent tour leader and driver. Gusti full of additional informative and funny information. Amazing waterfalls, geology, glaciers, thermal pools,whale watching and much much more. Boat trip around the ice in the glacier lagoon and watching 10 to 16 humpback whales in the warm, calm conditions around Akureyri unforgettable. Breakfast and dinners provided were all excellent. Expensive eating out but well warned before hand. Accommodation basic but clean, second last hotel with hot tubs and excellent food made up for some of the smaller guest houses.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 22 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Caroline

Australia
Pick up at airport: not explained that needed to pick up flybus coach ticket from counter, I was expecting a representative as stated in letter
Overall I was very happy with the tour but accommodation in Akureyri was very basic, more like a hostel. The worse lumpy pillow ever & small thin bath towel.
Food was mostly good at restaurants & our tour guide was very helpful in trying to reduce food & alcohol costs.
The places we visited were incredible & our tour guide, Gusti, did a great job. Plenty of information provided & kept us all entertained with his tour commentary. Our driver was also lovely & I felt very safe when we drove up some of the steep passes!
An amazing tour which I would recommend to anyone wishing to visit Iceland
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 22 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Judith

Perth
I was very lucky to have an amazingly friendly group to travel with. We also had the best weather Iceland could put on. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun. The scenery was spectacular!
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

John

Newcastle
Accommodation variable, good to hostel. Itinerary fine, mini bus and driving fine. Explore leader good.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Pamela

Reading
The notes said that we would be met at Keflavik airport and we weren't -fortunately one of the group had a telephone number but our transport took some time to arrange.
We were not seen off either and this could have been difficult in view of the trouble at BA -in the event, we were only three hours late.
Apart from this the tour was fine -very interesting and comprehensive.
The tour leader and the driver were exceptional and the coach was very comfortable.
We felt extremely well looked after by them both.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Katherine

An excellent trip , we saw so much with just the right mixture of driving an exploration. Having most dinners included meant that we were protected from the very high prices in Iceland. The guide was excellent, can't praise him highly enough, a real credit to Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(6 out of 10)

Claire

Iceland is fantastic but the Explore 'experience' wasn't! Tip - go with another company.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 02 October 2016

Thank you for your review, Claire. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed with your experience. Having reviewed your complaints, I know that you were unhappy with the accommodation changes and the alternatives we provided. Please rest assured that we only make changes to the hotels when absolutely necessary, and this was one of those occasions. We did notify you of the changes in advance, so I'm sorry you were unaware when you joined the trip. We will bear your comments in mind when we next review this process.

(7 out of 10)

Rosemary

Lyon
I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Iceland because the country itself is extraordinary (the most spectacular natural scenery and interesting and friendly people) and also because the group with which I travelled was great fun. Unfortunately our tour leader was very disappointing - she had very limited knowledge of the country, her organisational skills were poor and she made no effort to create a group dynamic. Also, the accommodation was mixed - some of it was fine, but the Cabin Hotel in Reykjavik had minute rooms which was somewhat awkward since I was sharing with someone I didn't know - we were practically in a double bed on the first night! Also, the group was split the first night in Akureyri and we were put in a backpackers hostel while others were in a hotel with en-suite bathrooms. (Explore did acknowledge the situation by agreeing to pay for a whale watching trip we had taken. )
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 22 August 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback. We agree being split between two different standards of accommodation is not acceptable. We have since spoken to our ground agent to ensure we have done everything to prevent this happening again, and we feel confident this will not occur next summer.

Regarding the Explore Leader, we’re really sorry to read such feedback. This leader was trained this year here in the UK and received very good feedback prior to this departure, however, based on the feedback of this trip we agreed that more training is required before she leads another group for us, which we’re in the process of arranging.