It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
621 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Land Of Ice & Fire IC

Visiting: Iceland
Trip Duration 10 Days

Reviews for Land Of Ice & Fire

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land Of Ice & Fire trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Land Of Ice & Fire reviews verified by reevooReevoo

30 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Land Of Ice & FireScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 30 reviews
(8 out of 10)

John

Newcastle
Accommodation variable, good to hostel. Itinerary fine, mini bus and driving fine. Explore leader good.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Pamela

Reading
The notes said that we would be met at Keflavik airport and we weren't -fortunately one of the group had a telephone number but our transport took some time to arrange.
We were not seen off either and this could have been difficult in view of the trouble at BA -in the event, we were only three hours late.
Apart from this the tour was fine -very interesting and comprehensive.
The tour leader and the driver were exceptional and the coach was very comfortable.
We felt extremely well looked after by them both.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Katherine

An excellent trip , we saw so much with just the right mixture of driving an exploration. Having most dinners included meant that we were protected from the very high prices in Iceland. The guide was excellent, can't praise him highly enough, a real credit to Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(6 out of 10)

Claire

Iceland is fantastic but the Explore 'experience' wasn't! Tip - go with another company.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 02 October 2016

Thank you for your review, Claire. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed with your experience. Having reviewed your complaints, I know that you were unhappy with the accommodation changes and the alternatives we provided. Please rest assured that we only make changes to the hotels when absolutely necessary, and this was one of those occasions. We did notify you of the changes in advance, so I'm sorry you were unaware when you joined the trip. We will bear your comments in mind when we next review this process.

(7 out of 10)

Rosemary

Lyon
I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Iceland because the country itself is extraordinary (the most spectacular natural scenery and interesting and friendly people) and also because the group with which I travelled was great fun. Unfortunately our tour leader was very disappointing - she had very limited knowledge of the country, her organisational skills were poor and she made no effort to create a group dynamic. Also, the accommodation was mixed - some of it was fine, but the Cabin Hotel in Reykjavik had minute rooms which was somewhat awkward since I was sharing with someone I didn't know - we were practically in a double bed on the first night! Also, the group was split the first night in Akureyri and we were put in a backpackers hostel while others were in a hotel with en-suite bathrooms. (Explore did acknowledge the situation by agreeing to pay for a whale watching trip we had taken. )
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 22 August 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback. We agree being split between two different standards of accommodation is not acceptable. We have since spoken to our ground agent to ensure we have done everything to prevent this happening again, and we feel confident this will not occur next summer.

Regarding the Explore Leader, we’re really sorry to read such feedback. This leader was trained this year here in the UK and received very good feedback prior to this departure, however, based on the feedback of this trip we agreed that more training is required before she leads another group for us, which we’re in the process of arranging.

(9 out of 10)

Terence

Burton upon Trent
This was a great holiday and exceeded our expectations covering all the areas and places to visit, well structured and allowed us to have down time as well as filling the days up. Tour leader Anna and the bus driver were excellent , very knowledgable and amenable to any of our requests , both local knowledge and the history of Iceland. Anna always aimed to make sure we saw everything we could and that we were having the best time we could. The score is low for accommodation because two of the hotels were changed and were a lower rating, with basic shared facilities. However, we wouldnt hesitate in recommending Explore or the trip to anyone, this exceeded our expectations. Loved it.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 17 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Adam

Wrexham
A well paced tour catering for a range of interests from natural history to folk history. Stunning locations supplemented by a very knowledgeable and affable guide. Every day filled with awe inspiring sights. I would strongly recommend this tour for anyone with an interest in wild landscapes and the stories of the people who fought to survive there. The small group size meant that everyone got to know everyone else without cliques forming. The accommodation was simple but always clean, often situated in some lovely locations. Personal highlight? Pretty much all of it!
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2016
Published on: 12 August 2016
(7 out of 10)

Alan

Horsham
The first full day when we visited the Golden Circle was the best day. Guide, Gusti, was qute outstanding. Accomodation was variable and apart from on the third night of an acceptable or greater standard. Sadly I am having to write separately with a complaint about the third night's hostel.
Confirmed traveller: 17 July 2016
Published on: 01 August 2016
(7 out of 10)

Anurag

kolkata
to surmise , we would love to travel repeatedly with explore if the accommodation is better and there are no last minute changes in the trip
Confirmed traveller: 17 July 2016
Published on: 28 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ann

Chesham
I could not have hoped for a better introduction to tour holidays. The whole tour was well planned with truly memorable sights everyday. Icebergs in the waves on a black sand beach was just one of the many highlights for me.
The cheerful friendliness and the obvious passion and enthusiasm for his country of our guide Gusti, with his extensive knowledge, which included the history and politics of the country, lifted the whole experience out of the ordinary. His ability to read the weather and adjust the itinerary accordingly meant we rarely got wet despite somewhat indifferent weather.
Having been introduced to Iceland I now wish to go back and would not hesitate to tour with Explore again.
Confirmed traveller: 03 July 2016
Published on: 11 July 2016