It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Land Of Ice & Fire

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land Of Ice & Fire trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Land Of Ice & Fire reviews verified by reevooReevoo

41 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Land Of Ice & FireScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 41 reviews
(10 out of 10)

William

Plant City
Gusti the tour leader made this trip. His wit and insight really contributed to our enjoyment of this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2017
Published on: 18 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Maria

New Jersey
What a fabulous trip and great way to see the highlights of Iceland around the ring road. We had a fabulous (and hilarious) guide Gusti and excellent driver Aron- both sharing stories (and licorice candy)as we traveled around the country- they really enhanced the tour experience and helped us better understand the Icelandic culture. The activities and scenery were amazing- whale watching in Akureyri, Jokulsarlon glacial lagoon, Myvatn nature bath, hiking in Skaftafell and the historical museum in Skogar were all highlights. Take an extra day to spend more time in Reykavik. The meals provided were quite good with vegetarian option always available. The accommodations are indeed simple and often with shared bath. The weather can be variable but we lucked out with some sunny days - even with rain and clouds, the scenery 'pops' and we got some great photos- just be prepared with waterproof shoe/boot with good grip, jacket and rain pant and ensure you wear layers. There are frequent stops along the way but snacks are pricy so bring your own if this is a concern. Highly recommend this trip and we want to come back now in winter!
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jeffery

Brighton
Hightlights were waterfalls, birds and whales and the days were well organised.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Lynn

Sydney Australia
Accommodation at Cabin bad first night, great last night. Inconsistent. Accommodation 2nd night really awful. The rest charming. Food generally good. Gusti was a treasure!! Went the extra mile every day. Aaron was an excellent driver. This was my first Explore and I really enjoyed a different way of travelling.
Itinerary was generally good. Too much driving 2nd last day but maybe couldn't be helped
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nancy

Cambridge
I booked a place on this trip at the last minute, and am very glad I did because it was wonderful. Iceland is packed with incredible things to see - icebergs flipping over and whale-watching in Akureyri were the highlights for me.
The accommodation was comfortable and clean. Even though I was expecting small rooms, the size of the rooms in Hotel Cabin was still a surprise - don't expect to have room to open your suitcase! The staff there are very friendly though. If you get a windowless room (i.e. a window onto the corridor) on the first night, try asking them nicely for a room with an external window on the last night - it worked for me!
Gusti was a great guide, and Smissi the best bus driver on Iceland.
I'd definitely recommend this trip!
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 25 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Marjorie

Edinburgh
Brilliant trip. Excellent tour leader and driver. Gusti full of additional informative and funny information. Amazing waterfalls, geology, glaciers, thermal pools,whale watching and much much more. Boat trip around the ice in the glacier lagoon and watching 10 to 16 humpback whales in the warm, calm conditions around Akureyri unforgettable. Breakfast and dinners provided were all excellent. Expensive eating out but well warned before hand. Accommodation basic but clean, second last hotel with hot tubs and excellent food made up for some of the smaller guest houses.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 22 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Caroline

Australia
Pick up at airport: not explained that needed to pick up flybus coach ticket from counter, I was expecting a representative as stated in letter
Overall I was very happy with the tour but accommodation in Akureyri was very basic, more like a hostel. The worse lumpy pillow ever & small thin bath towel.
Food was mostly good at restaurants & our tour guide was very helpful in trying to reduce food & alcohol costs.
The places we visited were incredible & our tour guide, Gusti, did a great job. Plenty of information provided & kept us all entertained with his tour commentary. Our driver was also lovely & I felt very safe when we drove up some of the steep passes!
An amazing tour which I would recommend to anyone wishing to visit Iceland
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 22 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Judith

Perth
I was very lucky to have an amazingly friendly group to travel with. We also had the best weather Iceland could put on. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun. The scenery was spectacular!
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

John

Newcastle
Accommodation variable, good to hostel. Itinerary fine, mini bus and driving fine. Explore leader good.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Pamela

Reading
The notes said that we would be met at Keflavik airport and we weren't -fortunately one of the group had a telephone number but our transport took some time to arrange.
We were not seen off either and this could have been difficult in view of the trouble at BA -in the event, we were only three hours late.
Apart from this the tour was fine -very interesting and comprehensive.
The tour leader and the driver were exceptional and the coach was very comfortable.
We felt extremely well looked after by them both.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017