It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
627 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Land Of Ice & Fire IC

Visiting: Iceland
Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Land Of Ice & Fire

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land Of Ice & Fire trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Land Of Ice & Fire reviews verified by Reevoo

26 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Land Of Ice & FireScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 26 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Rosemary

Lyon
I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Iceland because the country itself is extraordinary (the most spectacular natural scenery and interesting and friendly people) and also because the group with which I travelled was great fun. Unfortunately our tour leader was very disappointing - she had very limited knowledge of the country, her organisational skills were poor and she made no effort to create a group dynamic. Also, the accommodation was mixed - some of it was fine, but the Cabin Hotel in Reykjavik had minute rooms which was somewhat awkward since I was sharing with someone I didn't know - we were practically in a double bed on the first night! Also, the group was split the first night in Akureyri and we were put in a backpackers hostel while others were in a hotel with en-suite bathrooms. (Explore did acknowledge the situation by agreeing to pay for a whale watching trip we had taken. )
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 22 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Terence

Burton upon Trent
This was a great holiday and exceeded our expectations covering all the areas and places to visit, well structured and allowed us to have down time as well as filling the days up. Tour leader Anna and the bus driver were excellent , very knowledgable and amenable to any of our requests , both local knowledge and the history of Iceland. Anna always aimed to make sure we saw everything we could and that we were having the best time we could. The score is low for accommodation because two of the hotels were changed and were a lower rating, with basic shared facilities. However, we wouldnt hesitate in recommending Explore or the trip to anyone, this exceeded our expectations. Loved it.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 17 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Adam

Wrexham
A well paced tour catering for a range of interests from natural history to folk history. Stunning locations supplemented by a very knowledgeable and affable guide. Every day filled with awe inspiring sights. I would strongly recommend this tour for anyone with an interest in wild landscapes and the stories of the people who fought to survive there. The small group size meant that everyone got to know everyone else without cliques forming. The accommodation was simple but always clean, often situated in some lovely locations. Personal highlight? Pretty much all of it!
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2016
Published on: 12 August 2016
(7 out of 10)

Alan

Horsham
The first full day when we visited the Golden Circle was the best day. Guide, Gusti, was qute outstanding. Accomodation was variable and apart from on the third night of an acceptable or greater standard. Sadly I am having to write separately with a complaint about the third night's hostel.
Confirmed traveller: 17 July 2016
Published on: 01 August 2016
(7 out of 10)

Anurag

kolkata
to surmise , we would love to travel repeatedly with explore if the accommodation is better and there are no last minute changes in the trip
Confirmed traveller: 17 July 2016
Published on: 28 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ann

Chesham
I could not have hoped for a better introduction to tour holidays. The whole tour was well planned with truly memorable sights everyday. Icebergs in the waves on a black sand beach was just one of the many highlights for me.
The cheerful friendliness and the obvious passion and enthusiasm for his country of our guide Gusti, with his extensive knowledge, which included the history and politics of the country, lifted the whole experience out of the ordinary. His ability to read the weather and adjust the itinerary accordingly meant we rarely got wet despite somewhat indifferent weather.
Having been introduced to Iceland I now wish to go back and would not hesitate to tour with Explore again.
Confirmed traveller: 03 July 2016
Published on: 11 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sheila

Cheltenham
such and interesting country. Gusti, our guide was fabulous,he worked around the weather and the interests and abilities of the group. The worst hotel was The Cabin the Reykjavik, the rooms were too small and it was soul less. The best hotel Hraunsnet Sveitahotal, also the best dinner and breakfast. Take layers as the weather is constantly changing
Confirmed traveller: 03 July 2016
Published on: 06 July 2016
(8 out of 10)

Iain

Edinburgh
The trip was excellent and I'd definitely recommend it to friends. Accommodation was fine, although trip notes could make it clearer that most nights involve shared facilities. My one criticism of the itinerary is that more time should be allowed for at the location with boiling mud pools near Lake Myvatn.
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 27 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Helen

Canada
The tour covered a lot of the island and so was a good overview. We got lots of walking and hiking in which was one of the things we wanted to do. The accommodation was disappointing in that ,outside of Reykjavik, our rooms were very small and we had to share facilities. However I understand accommodation is expensive and there is not much to choose from outside Reykjavik. It was all very clean and food and staff were very good.
Iceland has raw beautiful scenery and lived upto all that I expected. I appreciated the frequent stops to get out of the bus and see/visit something to help with the longer drives. Our guide was great with a good sense of humour and command of the English language. My main comment is that it would have been better if she gave us more info on history/culture etc of Iceland as we drove around.
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 25 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Joyce

Hong Kong
Wish the itinerary would include the West Fjords and Bird Cliff. Also, an extension to Greenland and Faroe Island.
Confirmed traveller: 12 June 2016
Published on: 16 June 2016