It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
605 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Land Of Ice & Fire

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land Of Ice & Fire trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Land Of Ice & Fire reviews verified by Reevoo

16 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Land Of Ice & FireScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 16 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Iain

Edinburgh
The trip was excellent and I'd definitely recommend it to friends. Accommodation was fine, although trip notes could make it clearer that most nights involve shared facilities. My one criticism of the itinerary is that more time should be allowed for at the location with boiling mud pools near Lake Myvatn.
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 27 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Helen

Canada
The tour covered a lot of the island and so was a good overview. We got lots of walking and hiking in which was one of the things we wanted to do. The accommodation was disappointing in that ,outside of Reykjavik, our rooms were very small and we had to share facilities. However I understand accommodation is expensive and there is not much to choose from outside Reykjavik. It was all very clean and food and staff were very good.
Iceland has raw beautiful scenery and lived upto all that I expected. I appreciated the frequent stops to get out of the bus and see/visit something to help with the longer drives. Our guide was great with a good sense of humour and command of the English language. My main comment is that it would have been better if she gave us more info on history/culture etc of Iceland as we drove around.
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 25 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Angela

Cornwall
Stunning scenery made complete by Gusti our knowledgable leader, who with his witty and informative style opened up the Icelandic way of life and made us want to return at different seasons. I was never bored by a new waterfall everyday. They were truly individual. This tour encapsulates the variety of Iceland in 9 days. Anything shorter just wouldn't do it justice.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 18 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Joyce

Hong Kong
Wish the itinerary would include the West Fjords and Bird Cliff. Also, an extension to Greenland and Faroe Island.
Confirmed traveller: 12 June 2016
Published on: 16 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Carol

Hoboken
This trip itinerary hit all the highlights and the accommodation was very good. Gusti our tour leader was outstanding. His knowledge of the sites and history, his good humor and his personal stories about many of the areas are what made the trip so wonderful. Anticipating a forecast of very high winds for the next day he made sure that we fit in most of what was to come the prior day. Then, he came up with several walks to accommodate the day, on the fly, that were beautiful and still kept us outside the coach and active. All in all it was a great trip. As a note, someone said that they heard Explore may rethink including dinner in the itinerary. I think this would be a big mistake since it would make the trip much more expensive and since in some places there really isn't any other alternative other than eating in the guesthouse.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 08 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Beverley

Lytham St Annes
A very interesting tour with an excellent guide (Gusti). Lots of highlights including the Golden Circle, the Secret Lagoon, walking on a glacier, icebergs in Jokulsarlon lagoon, Lake Myvatn and many beautiful waterfalls and mountains.
Overall the accommodation was good but the Stracta and the Cabin on the 1st night had very small rooms. All hotels were very helpful regarding my lactose allergy and I can't thank Gusti enough for helping with that. The food was excellent. The journey from Hotel Geirland on Day 5 entailed a very long drive. Even though this hotel was great and set in a lovely peaceful valley, a hotel further east would have been better than a 2nd night here.
Bring lots of layers (from t-shirts to a thick jacket) as the weather is very changeable - we had both warm sunshine and a howling gale (end of May). The Icelandic people are very friendly and have a great sense of humour. Overall a highly recommended tour - we will definitely be returning to Iceland.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 04 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Maisie

Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
Whilst not for those wanting more challenging activity this is a comprehensive moderately paced tour of Iceland suitable for those wishing to see stunning scenery and experience the sheer force of nature in this amazing country. I can't pick a particular highlight as the whole experience was superb and certainly exceeded all expectations.
I have been on many Explore trips and had great admiration for each tour leader but have to say that in my opinion they don't come any better than Gusti. Passionate about his country, incredibly eager to share his huge knowledge he worked tirelessly to ensure that everyone enjoyed every minute of the trip - and we did. With his endless stories, huge laugh and little added extras to the itinerary which were over and above the call of duty Gusti made this trip absolutely memorable for me. I do hope Explore recognise his contribution!
My only critisism is that the morning drive from our hotel to the glacier then retracing our steps back to the hotel that evening only to drive back past the glacier the next day must have put at least 2 unecessary hours onto the driving time. Given the choice between the extra driving and staying in the same hotel for 2 nights I would vote for only staying one night.
The glacier walk itself was a fun experience but only a simple introduction so don't expect extreme sport! Unfortunately our guide preferred stopping to chat about his family to leading our walk on the glacier so such a lot of wasted time - this was a low point for me considering the cost and that I had expected it to be a more memorable experience for all the right reasons. Not an Explore issue but worthy of note I think.
So a wonderful trip - don't just think about it, do it!
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 04 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

David

Hebden Bridge
An excellent, comprehensive introduction to the fantastic landscapes, people and features of this fascinating country.
Good accommodation, food, transport and guiding.
A shorter tour wouldn't do Iceland justice, and I shall be returning!
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2016
Published on: 18 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Rebecca

Chatham
Every day was a highlight but the trip on a lake of ice forms was spectacular. I would advise that waterproofs are essential for this trip!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 16 August 2015
Published on: 10 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Margaret

Auckland, New Zealand
Loved this trip and Dorothea was great. I would recommend people take warm layers, rainproof jacket and boots and binoculars.
Confirmed traveller: 31 May 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015