It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
547 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Inside the Hidden Kingdoms BH

Tour Duration 20 Days
  • Puthia Temple Complex
  • Tea picking, Sikkim
  • Punakha Dzong
  • Festival time
  • A friendly local boy with prayer flags
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

11 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inside the Hidden Kingdoms tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Caroline Todd

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Paro festival and tiger's nest in Bhutan and jsu meeting the people from each of the countries esp the Bangladeshis and Bhutanese.

Tour Leader Name

Kiran

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very committed and helpful. Esp. helpful to me as my parents both fell ill just before the trip and he voluntarily lent me his mobile so that I could ring and check up on them more than once and then pay him back. Very caring. The other thing was managing to juggle our trip and fit in a day of climbing up to Tiger's Nest (Bhutan) which was, for some reason, not on our trip agenda. This was fantastic. Kiran arranged it and was very patient as I walked the slowest! Please try to put it onto the agenda, it is as good as seeing the Paro festival.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for some long journeys on rough windy roads. Be really aware this is not the time of year for blue and clear skies of the Himalayas. Take a hot water bottle for Dargeelling and some very warm clothes for this part of the trip-it was seriously cold!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Please consider a Bhutan only trip to include the central part of Bhutan and time it in Oct to some of the festivals in that area and clear blue skies! Also, we managed to fit in seeing some archery which was great fun in Bhutan-if you can, please see if you can incorporate this for future trips.

 
10 Andrew Heppleston, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Three remarkable countries in three weeks make a lot of highlights. The river trip in Dhaka had echoes of Venice gondalas, and the inquisitive glances of the Bangladeshi people always with a ready smile. I loved the dawn over Kanchenjunga, walking between rice fields as the sun sets, Darjeeling's toy train, the ever present prayer flags, and the climb up to the Tigers Nest Monastery. The scenery is stunning, from the rice terraces to the snowy peaks, the terracotta temples to the huge Dzong forts, and tea plantations to mountain forests. Too many amazing memories!

 

Read more
 
10 John Lace, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole tour was an absolute joy, with new experiences presenting themselves every day. The journey threw up enlivening moments wherever we where on our journey through Bangladesh, West Bengal, Sikkim, Bhutan and Kolkata. Physically and emotionally the climb up to the Tiger's Nest as very special but how can it compare with the impromptu street concert by two musicians in our honour in a small Bangladeshi village when we stopped for an afternoon cup of tea. The production of eleven plastic chairs, the surrounding audience of 300 and the beautiful rendition of two love songs was hard to beat!

 

Read more
 
10 Janet Townsend, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The surprises of Bangladesh. We have lived through so many horrors in Bangladesh: war of independence from Pakistan, famines, floods, but never been there. Now there are signs of hope. Yes, they have their downsides: the garment industry has murderous fires; the growth of Dhaka has demanded millions of bricks and laid waste to much countryside. But women's migration to Dhaka and earnings in factories have changed the status of tens of millions of women as we know from The Economist. There is so much to see, and people are so friendly! The group was much surprised and pleased. The long cultural history and diversity of religions was another surprise, and the quality of hotels and food. 

 

Read more
 
10 Catherine, 27/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I largely picked this tour to see Bhutan, but Bangladesh stole my heart! My biggest memory is the Bangladeshi people, so friendly, fascinated with us and happy that we were visiting their beautiful country.  As others have said it is so clean and green.  Another hightlight was Darjeeling - loved just walking around taking it all in, and then of course there was Bhutan - stunningly beautiful - the land of the Thunder Dragon and Gross National Happiness!  The walk to Tigers Nest Monastery was tough but worth the climb.

Read more
 
10 Renee Vititoe, 27/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

My first experience was the city tour in Dhaka. We did a river cruise, and everyone on the boats around us waved to us and took OUR photos with their cell phones. The river was chaos, but was so fun. In Bangladesh, there isn't much tourism, so when we got out to the villages, we immediately drew a crowd. I loved out rickshaw ride to a temple in Rangpur. The hotels, while labeled simple, were charming, and many had AMAZING views. Darjeeling was amazing, and 3 days there is perfect. The Toy Train is a wonderful experience. Bhutan is a lovely country. Punakha Dzong was breathtakingly beautiful, as was Tiger's Nest.

Read more
 
10 Ainslie, 26/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Bangladesh - Dhaka river trip. Sikkim - Pelling and the view of Kanchenjunga, third highest mountain in the world, only about 25km. away, lit up by the sunrise. The scenic drive in Sikkim on the edge of a big drop to the rushing river below. Bhutan - the hike up to visit the monastery know as Tiger's Nest - demanding but spectacular, and a very moving Buddhist experience.

Read more
 
0 John, 14/06/11
An excellent tour with many highlights. The most unexpected was Bangladesh which as somebody else has said was so clean/tidy/green and full of friendly people.  Bhutan lived up to the hype with stunning scenery and people so very proud of their heritage.  We were lucky enough to be in Paro for its Tsechu (Festival) and would recommend trying to book on a tour that included this or the one in Timpu. We also were in Kolkata for the Holi Festival which was an unexpected bonus.  The only negative was that the day in Kolkata was a bit surplus - we were so tired and it was so hot/humid that we didn't really appreciate it. (BH - 28th February 2011)
 
0 Ray Brandon, 29/12/10
Visiting Bangledish, Visiting Bhutan and riding the steam train in India. (BH - 8th November 2010)
 
0 S.J.H, 21/09/10
If you enjoy different experiences, you'll love this trip. The best bit? Not sure whether the amazingly friendly Bangladeshi people or their incredibly clean & beautiful countryside was the winner. Or was it the experience of having tea and cakes in old colonial Darjeeling having enjoyed a fabulous ride on the toy train that did it. Or was it the almost fairytale experience of stunningly beautiful Bhutan where the people are so proud of their country that they all wear national costume every day through choice. I can't make up my mind. The best thing to do is go and experience the trip for yourself then you can make up your own mind. (BH- 12th April 2010)
 
0 B.R, 20/09/10
I had been contemplating this tour for a couple of years before I finally made up my mind to go. I was wondering if Bangladesh was a place to visit, what would it offer? I fell in love with the people, most of them very poor, but they were so friendly, and they kept their country clean, no plastic bags anywhere. The people made a great impression on me. Next is Sikkim with the monasteries and Darjeeling in the beautiful Himalayan landscape. Finally you reach Bhutan, another very special remote place. People in Bhutan wear traditional dresses. On this tour your camera just goes click click all the time, there is so much you want to remember. (BH- 2006)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA