It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
651 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs RD

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 14 Days

Reviews for Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs reviews verified by reevooReevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Rajasthan - Land of the MaharajahsScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(9 out of 10)


A great introduction to India. The palaces and forts were fantastic, though I was tired of visiting quite so many Jain temples. The accommodation was of a good standard, especially the hotel in the village, which was beautiful. The manager of the village palace took us on a guided tour of the village which provided a real insight into the village life.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


Spokane, Washington
Had hoped to see Rat Temple. Camel center also would have been nice. Not as much information on food selections as hoped. Most tour leaders usually go around and assist with ordering if one wants. Indian food is very different and we were generally left to select for ourselves. Meals too late in evening as well as some lunches. Bishnoi experience was mediocre.
Confirmed traveller: 05 February 2016
Published on: 12 February 2016
(8 out of 10)


High Peak
A very full and varied itinerary enabling us to visit a huge number of amazing places. The Pushkar camel festival was a real highlight to the trip. Rajasthan is one huge positive sensory overload!
Confirmed traveller: 30 November 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


Castle Hedingham
Loved the variety of interesting buildings and awestruck by the craftsmanship that created them. Thrilled to have stayed at former Maharaja's palaces - some fabulous hotels - thank you! The tents at the Pushkar Camel Fair were amazing - full facilities, including hot water, and carpet (glamping)?! Everywhere much cleaner than anticipated - equivalent of motor way service areas surprisingly good. However, a personal medical kit including stomach pills, sterile hand wash, wet wipes and a loo roll for the long bus journeys is essential as chemists are not always available when you might need one .Pollution is/was an issue (5 times the maximum guideline figure whilst we were there), and on occasion may reduce visibility. Even those without respiratory issues may find this a tough trip as a result.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 November 2015
Published on: 21 December 2015
(8 out of 10)


All the big sights were highlights. When you thought you had seen the best, something else came along. Some of the heritage hotels were beautiful.
Confirmed traveller: 30 November 2015
Published on: 01 December 2015
(8 out of 10)


Everything on the itinerary was amazing and really interesting. So much to see but not enough time in the early part of the itinerary which was a bit frustrating.
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 01 December 2015
(9 out of 10)


Taj Mahal, Pink City, Shimla and Golden Temple but it was all really interesting in varying degrees.
The Rajasthan trip did not include Shimla or Golden Temple. Shimla is amazing and we would recommend this trip which we did as part of a separate Tailormade Toy Trains tour.
You have to like temples and palaces and forts as there are a lot of them on the Maharajas' tour! But India's history is fascinating. Also there is a lot of time spent on the bus in order to get around and see everything. The bus is comfortable though and there is always plenty of water provided. Essential as local water is not drinkable.
I would check your itinerary carefully before leaving UK to make sure all the timings of plane transfers suit you. Also I would not hesitate flying with Jet Airways used by explore in India, despite the bad reviews on their website. They are no worse than any other airline and their planes both on internal and external flights were new. To be offered snacks on an hour flight was amazing.
Be aware of health and hygiene issues and prepare youself for a challenging but very interesting trip with lots of opportunities to experience life in India and learn about its history and colonial past.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 22 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I enjoyed the more unusual non-mainstream parts of the trip such as the Bishnoi villages and the free time we had in some of the towns we visited. Overall a good trip though not as adventurous as some. At times it felt very mainstream, particularly in Delhi, Agra and Jaipur.He was knowledgeable about local places and customs. He had to get us to stick to the timings for the trip which sometimes meant he was urging us onwards when some people might have liked more time, but he did have an itinerary to stick to. He took all our email addresses at the end and said he would circulate them but they haven't arrived yet.
Confirmed traveller: 14 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)


Vancouver, Canada.
This was my sixth Explore Trip and they are the only group I would use. See my review already sent in and published by them.

They represent excellent value for the money (only Cdn$150.00 per day )
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 April 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)


Always excellent - my provider of choice!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2015
Published on: 27 September 2015