It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs RD

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs reviews verified by reevooReevoo

41 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Rajasthan - Land of the MaharajahsScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 41 reviews
(9 out of 10)

William

Parbold
Itinerary was excellent. Other than the hotels in Delhi and Rankipore hotels were very good. I think having to look after 18 people proved difficult for the tour leader, things were a little rushed.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2017
Published on: 23 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Colette

Lytham, Lancashire
I was a solo female traveller on this my first Explore Trip. The whole tour far exceeded my expectations. From being met at the airport right to the end the trip was well organised and I loved the itinerary. The tour guide Sanjeev was excellent and the additional local guides added to the overall experience. The hotels on the whole were really good with just a couple of exceptions but nothing unbearable we just got a little spoilt in the others! Obviously the Taj was a highlight but I equally enjoyed some of the smaller monuments.
I found the itinerary for my first trip to India covered everything and more that I wanted to see. Whilst we did drive quite a long way I enjoyed passing through villages and various sites along the way. I can't wait now to book my next adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jeffrey

Molyvos, Greece.
This was a very "full on" tour, with plenty of activity on most days. The Taj Mahal was an obvious highlight, but also Fatephur Sikri was most impressive.

This was our first visit to India and we were delighted with the impressive sites we visited.
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Vivianne

Langley BC
Wonderful ,sometimes a bit fast pace. Loved everything I saw. Love India ,vibrant colours. It a mad mad world that I love. I have been to India three times and hope to come again.
Lovely old hotels. Great trip great place. Would of been better if guide gave us more info on what we would see or do before we got there.
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2017
Published on: 12 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Martin

Ottawa
Coming from oversea, I arrived one day earlier. It was unusual not to have any information sheet at the hotel. A few of us arriving earlier were wondering what was going on and we had to kill part of the day at the hotel wondering what to do. I thought that should not have happened. I wasted some extra free time I had in Delhi because of that! That being said, I thought that going to the Old Delhi as a group was a must, especially on a Saturday night. Quite an experience...

Overall, I really enjoyed most places, with no favourite place standing out in particular. Hotels were great, beyond my needs. I wish we had spent more time in Jaipur. The single day was very loaded. I would have skipped the "safari" in Jeep in Jodhpur, after a long day on the road. We were all starving.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Claire

Farnborough
This was my first Explore trip and my first time in India. Had an amazing trip and would go back to India in a heartbeat. The trip is really full on but you see so much of the country and go to some amazing places. There's the obvious sites such as the Taj Mahal but then completely unexpected places such as the beautiful Udaipur and it's tranquil lakes, which was definitely a highlight.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 02 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Swee

Portsmouth
Very interesting and lots of different experiences using Metro in New Delhi, the Tutu rides give me the most exciting experience of mode of transport. Evening safari, sunset at Taj Mahal.
Early morning sunrise at Taj Mahal disappointing as very misty hardly seen the best of this monument.
The Indian children very welcoming always smiling and seem happy.
The dirt , the holy cows, the crowds and the traffic is very much what made India different!
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2017
Published on: 21 February 2017
(7 out of 10)

Alex

Gloucestershire
India is an amazing place. Jaiselmer and Udaipur are by far the most interesting of the cities visited; The Ghanerao Royal Palace Hotel is astonishing. Delhi is dull and the Taj Mahal is overrated.

We were very fortunate to have such a good Tour Leader; he had a very good knowledge of his country and its history. The best parts of the tour, were all those things that he did for us, that were not in the itinerary. Suggesting excellent restaurants, organising tuk-tuks and coming with us. Reorganising the Delhi schedule so that it worked better. Spending time with us in the markets. And the highlight of our trip - a walk round Ghanerao village, seeing the 'real' India.

The itinerary is essentially 7 days travelling to 7 cities , with the intervening days spent visiting forts and temples. Rajasthan is a lot more than just forts and temples but, on this tour, there is very little chance to see village life or the countryside (apart from through the bus window). There is occasionally a couple of hours, between the end of the day's sightseeing and dinner, to meet the people, and absorb the noise and the smells - but you have got to want to get out of the hotels and make the most of it. And do go to local restaurants whenever possible.
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2017
Published on: 23 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Maggie

Abingdon
Wonderful trip - thoroughly enjoyed it all. Wonderful group I travelled with and Anil our tour leader was excellent. We had some long days of coach travel but that meant we saw a lot. Travel days we had enough stops for toilet and lunch etc - on days we explored forts etc, we could have done with more short coffee break stops. One day we started at 8am and didn't stop walking until gone 2 for lunch - as an elderly group everyone found this very tiring, and thought it a bit too full-on! Anil was a superb linguist and historian, and was very patient and organised, and lovely to be with. Overall the accommodation was great.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

John

dumfriesshire
A very good and thoughtfully planned itinery that covered a comprehensive tour of the highlights of Rajistan that the time allowed.
The Heritage hotels in former Palaces were a treat! But some city hotels were noisey with plumbing and other guests.
Anil was very informative and had a charming manner. A suggestion to maximise his sometimes difficult to hear presentation would be (as seen in use by other companies) use of microphone from guide to client earphones.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017