It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs RD

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs reviews verified by reevooReevoo

35 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Rajasthan - Land of the MaharajahsScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 35 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Swee

Portsmouth
Very interesting and lots of different experiences using Metro in New Delhi, the Tutu rides give me the most exciting experience of mode of transport. Evening safari, sunset at Taj Mahal.
Early morning sunrise at Taj Mahal disappointing as very misty hardly seen the best of this monument.
The Indian children very welcoming always smiling and seem happy.
The dirt , the holy cows, the crowds and the traffic is very much what made India different!
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2017
Published on: 21 February 2017
(7 out of 10)

Alex

Gloucestershire
India is an amazing place. Jaiselmer and Udaipur are by far the most interesting of the cities visited; The Ghanerao Royal Palace Hotel is astonishing. Delhi is dull and the Taj Mahal is overrated.

We were very fortunate to have such a good Tour Leader; he had a very good knowledge of his country and its history. The best parts of the tour, were all those things that he did for us, that were not in the itinerary. Suggesting excellent restaurants, organising tuk-tuks and coming with us. Reorganising the Delhi schedule so that it worked better. Spending time with us in the markets. And the highlight of our trip - a walk round Ghanerao village, seeing the 'real' India.

The itinerary is essentially 7 days travelling to 7 cities , with the intervening days spent visiting forts and temples. Rajasthan is a lot more than just forts and temples but, on this tour, there is very little chance to see village life or the countryside (apart from through the bus window). There is occasionally a couple of hours, between the end of the day's sightseeing and dinner, to meet the people, and absorb the noise and the smells - but you have got to want to get out of the hotels and make the most of it. And do go to local restaurants whenever possible.
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2017
Published on: 23 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Maggie

Abingdon
Wonderful trip - thoroughly enjoyed it all. Wonderful group I travelled with and Anil our tour leader was excellent. We had some long days of coach travel but that meant we saw a lot. Travel days we had enough stops for toilet and lunch etc - on days we explored forts etc, we could have done with more short coffee break stops. One day we started at 8am and didn't stop walking until gone 2 for lunch - as an elderly group everyone found this very tiring, and thought it a bit too full-on! Anil was a superb linguist and historian, and was very patient and organised, and lovely to be with. Overall the accommodation was great.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

John

dumfriesshire
A very good and thoughtfully planned itinery that covered a comprehensive tour of the highlights of Rajistan that the time allowed.
The Heritage hotels in former Palaces were a treat! But some city hotels were noisey with plumbing and other guests.
Anil was very informative and had a charming manner. A suggestion to maximise his sometimes difficult to hear presentation would be (as seen in use by other companies) use of microphone from guide to client earphones.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Kairen

Weston Underwood, Derbyshire
Apart from lack of good communication about time to meet up on the first day, which would have allowed us to see some other sights in Delhi, this was an excellent tour where sights of palaces and forts just kept getting better each day. Each palace or fort had something unique. The hotels used on the tour were excellent apart from The Fern Residency in Jodhpur. The hotels ranged from a delightfully painted haveli in Jaipur to a beautiful palace in Bikaner and a fantastic faded grandeur palace in Ghanerao where we felt like house guests.

There were so many fabulous sights. Ending up at Udaipur was a great way to end the tour.

Our guide Anil looked after us very well and provided good background to the sights we saw. Anil also looked after us with the currency which was a great help. Be aware that it is better to bring cash than rely on cash machines as they were often empty.

The cost of food and drinks were also higher than advised by Explore in the trip notes. We went to some good restaurants on the advice of Anil.

Our tour group was a lovely group and we enjoyed sharing the experience with them and Anil.

Tips: There are some long days on the coach so bring books to read as most of the roads were well surfaced.

Bring sterling cash.

It was colder during the day in January than we expected so take plenty of layers.
Confirmed traveller: 27 January 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

London
The tour was very informative and covered all the places in an efficient and well organised fashion.
The highlight was Udaipur at the end which competed an enchanting holiday.
It would have been useful to know the financial situation was difficult in obtaining money from an ATM and that the weather was cooller than expected in Delhi and Jaipur.
Confirmed traveller: 27 January 2017
Published on: 31 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

David

Wivenhoe, Essex
Loved Udaipur! A real suprise end to an already amazing holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 28 January 2017
(5 out of 10)

Greta

Glossop
I found the tour too repetitive, bus , fortress ,endlessly. The bus was uncomfortable for tall people . The drivers and guide worked so hard and really eased our way through a long and tiring journey . I would have preferred some time off to relax and shop. We were not allowed to stroll the local markets , we were route marched through unable to buy anything.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016

Hi Greta, thank you for your comments. This trip is a ‘full on’ departure meaning it’s a fast paced trip with lots of early starts and late finishes. Great if you’re looking to get a lot in during your visit. However if you were looking for free days to relax and do some shopping you may want to review our easy grade trips with free days built in to allow exploration at your own pace.

(8 out of 10)

Peter

Devon
An excellent introduction to India for we first-time visitors. Just too many wonderful things to see, and our guide (Narottam Singh Rajawat) excelled in bringing us close to India, its history and its people.
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 21 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Susan

Marvelous forts and palaces. Highlight Taj Mahal.
Too much time spent travelling . Less sightseeing and more rest time would have been preferred.
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016