It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs RD

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs reviews verified by reevooReevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Rajasthan - Land of the MaharajahsScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(5 out of 10)

Greta

Glossop
I found the tour too repetitive, bus , fortress ,endlessly. The bus was uncomfortable for tall people . The drivers and guide worked so hard and really eased our way through a long and tiring journey . I would have preferred some time off to relax and shop. We were not allowed to stroll the local markets , we were route marched through unable to buy anything.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Gloria

London
Wonderful trip especially Puskar Camel Fair which has to be the highlight. Visited all the places that I had not yet seen in Rajesthan and wanted to.
Some long drives but the coach was comfortable and plenty of room to spread out.
The 2 palace hotels where we stayed were amazing and all accommodation very good. loved the tented camp too.
Guide not up to usual Explore high standards. Difficult to understand, somewhat lacking in practical information and too many shopping opportunities. Group of 16 was probably the best we have ever travelled with. All lovely people. Weather perfect. Pity about the withdrawal of banknotes which caused hours of queueing at ATMs but that is travel!
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jane

Surrey
This was a fantastic trip with great hotels. Wonderful sights in each place we visited.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Andrew

Kendal
A 14 day tour of the main cultural highlights of Delhi, Agra and Rajasthan visiting Bikander, Jaisilmer, Jodphur, Ranakpur and Udaipur. It involved several long coach tips of 6 hours but the small coach had air con and was comfortable. Given the itinerary and distances there was little downtime to relax or shop. The hotels were mostly very good and several were really exciting places to stay because of the decoration or location. This was a major bonus and elevated the trip to premium status. Our guide Mayank was exceptional sorting out all the logistics, being very personable and also very informative about indian life and history. The local guides were also very good but do go on a bit! There is not much chance of doing your own thing as the hotels were out of centre mostly and you needed transport to explore and as mentioned the downtime was limited.
Confirmed traveller: 28 October 2016
Published on: 04 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Michael

Malmesbury
For the sheer variety of 'experinces' this tour of Rajasthan would be diffucult to beat. Many wonderful heritage hotels/havelis. Great food. Brilliant tour leader.
Some long road journeys were anticipated but the huge road building programme underway in Western Rajasthan made for some extremely rough rides despite our careful driver doing his best to avoid the worst bumps and potholes. Unless you like ear-splitting bangs and shocking air pollution, avoid Diwali!
Confirmed traveller: 28 October 2016
Published on: 04 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Warwick
An excellent trip that was certainly full on in terms of pace. A good variety of hotels. The explore leader, Mayank, was most informative and helpful with a great sense of humour. Only regret that didn't get much time to use the facilities at the hotels, particularly the lovely swimming pools. A great introduction to India.
Take plenty of pounds Stirling and definitely more than suggested in the trip notes as meals were quite expensive and a number of ATMs didn't work.
Confirmed traveller: 28 October 2016
Published on: 31 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Amanda

London
A great introduction to India. The palaces and forts were fantastic, though I was tired of visiting quite so many Jain temples. The accommodation was of a good standard, especially the hotel in the village, which was beautiful. The manager of the village palace took us on a guided tour of the village which provided a real insight into the village life.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Kay

Spokane, Washington
Had hoped to see Rat Temple. Camel center also would have been nice. Not as much information on food selections as hoped. Most tour leaders usually go around and assist with ordering if one wants. Indian food is very different and we were generally left to select for ourselves. Meals too late in evening as well as some lunches. Bishnoi experience was mediocre.
Confirmed traveller: 05 February 2016
Published on: 12 February 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jan

High Peak
A very full and varied itinerary enabling us to visit a huge number of amazing places. The Pushkar camel festival was a real highlight to the trip. Rajasthan is one huge positive sensory overload!
Confirmed traveller: 30 November 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Shirley

Castle Hedingham
Loved the variety of interesting buildings and awestruck by the craftsmanship that created them. Thrilled to have stayed at former Maharaja's palaces - some fabulous hotels - thank you! The tents at the Pushkar Camel Fair were amazing - full facilities, including hot water, and carpet (glamping)?! Everywhere much cleaner than anticipated - equivalent of motor way service areas surprisingly good. However, a personal medical kit including stomach pills, sterile hand wash, wet wipes and a loo roll for the long bus journeys is essential as chemists are not always available when you might need one .Pollution is/was an issue (5 times the maximum guideline figure whilst we were there), and on occasion may reduce visibility. Even those without respiratory issues may find this a tough trip as a result.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 November 2015
Published on: 21 December 2015