It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs RD

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Rajasthan - Land of the Maharajahs reviews verified by reevooReevoo

47 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Rajasthan - Land of the MaharajahsScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 47 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Daniel

Solihull
We really enjoyed our tour, our guide Anil was excellent, knowledgeable and enthusiastic.
We found most of the accommodation atmospheric and unforgettable, the Fern residency less so....could have been anywhere in the world.
We felt the itinerary was a tad ambitious and would benefit from a bit more time to relax.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Phillip

Saskatoon
A truly enjoyable tour. As advertised it was full on,so there was little time for shopping or ju st hanging out, but. that is the price for covering a lot of ground in 14 days. Jaisalmer and Udaipur were the hits for me. The downside of , which you have no control, were the street pedlars in Jaipur and Agra. The unseason ably hot (40+), April temperatures were a challenge but Anill and colleagues more than comp ensated with their care and advice
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2017
Published on: 10 May 2017
(10 out of 10)

Ronald

Leicester
The most interesting and colourful trip I have been on. Heritage hotels were amazing...more like suites than rooms. Every place you go you think 'it can't get better' but it seems to. Anil the tour leader was incredible...unflappable, caring and extremely knowledgeable.
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2017
Published on: 30 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Mark

Leeds
This certainly is a "full on" tour. It covers a lot of distance with several long days in the bus and full days when not travelling. The kind of holiday that needs a holiday to recover from!
Having said that the bus journeys are broken at suitable intervals for refreshment & comfort stops of diverse style and you get to see a lot of Indian sights along the way.
Then there are the destinations, an amazing array of cities, forts, palaces and temples. Highlights? For me, the observatory and the Amber Fort at Jaipur, Mehrangarh Fort at Jodhpur, the stunning Ranakpur Temple and the night at the Gajner Palace. The Taj Mahal is pretty good, too...
The hotels were a very good selection with Gajner Palace and Ghanerao Royal Castle being outstanding Indian experiences. I would have loved to have had an extra night at Gajner palace with time to explore the surrounding wild life park.
The one comment I would make is that the overall holiday is relatively "one dimensional", concentrating almost entirely on the (stunning) built environment and providing little attention to the natural environment. But this is exactly as promised, so I raise it as a "be aware" not as a criticism.
Confirmed traveller: 21 April 2017
Published on: 12 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

William

Parbold
Itinerary was excellent. Other than the hotels in Delhi and Rankipore hotels were very good. I think having to look after 18 people proved difficult for the tour leader, things were a little rushed.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2017
Published on: 23 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Colette

Lytham, Lancashire
I was a solo female traveller on this my first Explore Trip. The whole tour far exceeded my expectations. From being met at the airport right to the end the trip was well organised and I loved the itinerary. The tour guide Sanjeev was excellent and the additional local guides added to the overall experience. The hotels on the whole were really good with just a couple of exceptions but nothing unbearable we just got a little spoilt in the others! Obviously the Taj was a highlight but I equally enjoyed some of the smaller monuments.
I found the itinerary for my first trip to India covered everything and more that I wanted to see. Whilst we did drive quite a long way I enjoyed passing through villages and various sites along the way. I can't wait now to book my next adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joseph

Savannah
I started this tour having just completed an Explore itinerary of Central India. Central India was full of unknown places that few Western people visit. Or at least while we were there. Raghistan was quite different as I feel certain it's the #1 place visited in India. Honestly, I thought the group size was too big on this tour. I was told there would be no more than 16 but when I showed up, I found we were a group of 18. It's a lot of people to manage. One the surface, the holidays seemed fab. But once you had the room, well, I found the situation to be different. Places just were not that clean. They had beautiful, ornate lobbies, but the rooms were quite different. I'm not saying every hotel was that way. I thought the tour director only okay. Sanjeev is a younger man that I don't think is really focused on customer service. My director in Central India was way better. Two things bothered me about Sanjeev. The second day in Delhi, we visited a site and I asked about restroom stops. He told me that we'd stop on the way out. Now, I am a senior man that needs to use facilities more often. As we left, he evidently forgot and told me to pee on the wall. I think he knew I was displeased when I told him I wasn't doing any of that. I also got somehow tied into the tip being paid to the bus driver and his assistant. So much so that the bus driver sought me out at the hotel after we had left the bus for good. I should not have been involved in this process. Sanjeev should have been addressing this with the drivers rather than allowing the driver to feel he had to make a case to a passenger. Then, Sanjeev was angry with me that the bus driver had spoken to me. I had nothing to do with any of it. Many in the group thought the tip was too little and that Sanjeev should have asked for more money to keep the drivers happy. I don't know that answer. I'm just a passenger. But as you can see, there were problems. They have this tip pool that one of us has to sign off on. But honestly, we don't see what's being paid out over 14 days to various helpers. You could write anything and pocket money if you chose. I'm not insinuating any such thing happened, but I am merely conveying people's thoughts on the subject. I think you do a brilliant job putting these tours together. But you can see there are kinks that need to be worked out. I've never done a group tour before. And while I have no complaints, I don't see myself doing another again.
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2017
Published on: 01 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jeffrey

Molyvos, Greece.
This was a very "full on" tour, with plenty of activity on most days. The Taj Mahal was an obvious highlight, but also Fatephur Sikri was most impressive.

This was our first visit to India and we were delighted with the impressive sites we visited.
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Vivianne

Langley BC
Wonderful ,sometimes a bit fast pace. Loved everything I saw. Love India ,vibrant colours. It a mad mad world that I love. I have been to India three times and hope to come again.
Lovely old hotels. Great trip great place. Would of been better if guide gave us more info on what we would see or do before we got there.
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2017
Published on: 12 March 2017