It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
620 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Albania AB

Visiting: Albania
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Albania

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Albania trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Europe's Last Frontier reviews verified by reevooReevoo

39 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Europe's Last FrontierScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 39 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Thomas

oxford
Quite a busy tour with a lot to see and do. Very nice friendly people, not too many other tourists around a lot of the time! Beautiful churches and castles, stunning icon museum. Very hot in July, lots of sunscreen needed. Excellent leader (Ed), very enthusiastic and involved, also extremely well informed. Local guides also very good. Easy to change money everywhere, can't change it back in UK so free gift to Oxfam shop. No chance of doing laundry but only 10 days so not a problem. Amazingly good coffee almost everywhere!
Confirmed traveller: 17 July 2017
Published on: 19 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Sam

Hampshire
A fabulous trip that felt not very full-on to begin with but got progressively busier as the trip progressed. Relaxed coffee and lunch breaks broke up sometimes long journeys or a collection of sites, museums or most especially churches to visit. The old church frescoes, historical sites like Butrint and Gjirokaster, the castle in Berat, and the views from the hotels in Pogradec (over Lake Ohrid) and Kruja (over the castle) were particular highlights. The food was excellent everywhere and our tour leader Ed was very knowledgeable.
Confirmed traveller: 12 July 2017
Published on: 25 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Kathryn

Lancaster
This was a fabulous Introduction to Albania. Mountains, countryside, lakes,coastlines, ancient churches and monasteries, large archaeological sites, tiny mountain villages and almost cosmopolitan towns and cities.
The guide, Alfred, was full of energy and enthusiasm for his country and looked after the group well.
We were a small group (7) so the travelling in the minibus was comfortable. There was quite a lot of driving, and with a larger group and without a window, this might have been more uncomfortable. Some of the walks, although not long, were up steep and slippery paths, made more challenging by the heat. (May/June).
Highlights - swimming in the thermal pool, the otherwise deserted award winning icon museum in Korca, frescoes in previously abandoned churches, the wild flowers, the hotel in Berat.
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Freda

Beijing
It was a very pleasant trip covering a lot of interesting sites with a tight schedule. Albania has surprised me with its colorful history, breathtaking landscape, friendly people and delicious cuisine. I couldn't have seen and done as much if I were to travel independently. We almost had every site all to ourselves to explore and enjoy. I recommend people to come early before it becomes another tourist hotspot soon.
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Wendy

Crowland, Lincs
It was an exceedingly interesting trip to a European country that is still so very different. It is a country on the cusp of change but I hope it doesn't change too much. The scenery is amazing and the people are wonderful, very friendly and always willing to give a little bit extra especially when it comes to food.
There is a lot of travelling and I found changing hotels every night a bit galling. I also got a bit bored with so many churches but that is a very personal opinion as I know others found that aspect of the trip very interesting. I would have preferred a bit more time to mooch around the places we stayed in.
Most of the hotels were good although some of us were unluckier than others with the rooms we were allocated.
Our tour guide and driver were excellent. They always did their very best to please everyone and this wasn't always easy. They were both extremely kind and both had an excellent sense of humour.
Confirmed traveller: 31 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Ruth

Cheltenham
An up and coming country. Good to move around as not enough in one place. Hotels were good except Alpin had ants in the room by the bed. Food good and excellent prices. People very friendly and helpful. Guide did all he could to help and cared he knew his knowledge and English language needed expanding but was fine for most and so sweet. The sites were lovely and a good itinerary. An excellent and amazing holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 31 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Douglas

USA
We enjoyed the variety of history and landscapes. The pace of the tour was fitting. The vehicle/driver were comfortable and caring. The tour leader was very attentive and made every effort to please the tour members. On the other hand, the tour leader could have been more decisive by not asking a group of 18 for a consensus. Finally, some observations to help the tour leader improve: communicate timing/location of restroom stops; consider the age and physical condition of tour members when selecting hikes (some proved to be quite lengthy and very steep for many of our group members); project voice if group is mostly older individuals. Overall, we really enjoyed the tour!!
Confirmed traveller: 17 May 2017
Published on: 20 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Caroline

A fascinating overview of the south of Albania. Layers of history and beautiful scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 17 May 2017
Published on: 13 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Malcolm

Oakland
Albania is lovelier and historically more interesting than I had expected. This tour is for you if you like churches, frescoes, and icons; mosques; archeology (Illyrian, Greek, Roman, Venetian, Byzantine, and Ottoman); ethnographic museums; and beautiful mountains and coastlines. Excellent itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 17 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017