It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
603 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Europe's Last Frontier AB

Visiting: Albania
Tour Duration 11 Days
 
Reviews for Europe's Last Frontier

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Europe's Last Frontier tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Europe's Last Frontier reviews verified by Reevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Europe's Last FrontierScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Vanda

Toronto
The history and the sites visited. The folk festival in Gjirokaster Lake OhridThe churches and mosques. The ancient sites. My only complaint would be that we were to have stayed in a boutique hotel in one location for 2 nights. Instead we stayed in a poor quality hotel where our room stank(no other word for it) It was revolting. We asked to change rooms and were told there were none available. It did take the edge off a great trip. A few of us went to eat at the boutique hotel and it was so good we went back a second time. Staying there would definitely have been a highlight of the trip
Confirmed traveller: 23 May 2015
Published on: 19 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Amazing tour. Albania was a true experience, exceeding my expectations. A country, that has seen so much change, with wars, politics and now emerging from Communist rule. Going, through rapid change, but the young people of this country have a passion to make change for the better. Our tour leader Ed, loved his country, explained the good and the bad. He showed us neglected/forgotten architecture in the remotest of places and best of all introduced us to the local people. UNESCO, are protecting many of the historical villages and this is a valuable input, as so much construction happening that these gems could be lost without control. To sum it up, Albania is a must.Great guide, a real Ambassador for his Country. Very knowledgeable, made the tour exciting and you felt you got to know the real Albania.
Confirmed traveller: 26 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I got to see a lot and I was also able to meet the Albanians. Overall the tour was very authentic!Ed was a very good guide and he spend a lot of his spare time with us. He was always in a good mood and he was always willing to answer to the very many questions...
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Probably it would be visiting the Blue Eye which is not on the original itinerary but it was included by our tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Christobel

Sussex
Superlative leadership from Edjon who is very knowledgeable, loves his country and is happy to impart that knowledge both good and bad of the Country. As we know, a leader can make or break a holiday. Unfailing helpfulness and friendliness of the Albanian people. Mostly excellent local guides. Stunning landscapes and the beautiful old towns of Gjirokaster and Berat. Butrint. Excellent accommodation (except in the Llogara National Park) with some special characterful rooms. Some long coach journeys but always thoughtfully broken with stops at suitable or interesting spots. The coach was spacious and comfortable and never a worry from the driving. Generally a balanced itinerary showing the beautiful and the ugly.

Edjon's advice should be taken on amendments to the itinerary. Time in the Llogara National Park could better be spent by more time at Durresi(?) and less at Vlora and include a stay in Shkodra before moving on to Kruja. The straight up and back walk in the Karaburun Peninsula was of little interest and revealed no more than we had already seen from the coach.

The tour with Edjon's leadership gave an insight into current life in Albania, its troubled history, emergence and determination to rise from its communist past. My preconceived ideas were dashed and this trip left me with much respect for the Albanian people.
Confirmed traveller: 19 September 2015
Published on: 04 November 2015
(5 out of 10)

Kate

Elton
Highlights: Butrint and Apollonia and its good museum, the medieval churches, frescoes and icons of Voskopoja and Korca
Tips: take walking sticks, slippery medieval cobbled streets and helpful on walks; did not do some things as did not have them with me; ensure that the coach is large enough for the group and will be available for the whole trip; take swimming costumes, although time is limited it was possible to swim 3x, once at Lake Ohrid and then at coastal locations; take layers of clothing in Sept/Oct - very changeable weather conditions from mountains to coast including rain gear; travel kettle indispensable and own t bags/coffee; check currency exchange rate before going, better value lecs to pound than lecs to euro; most of us took euros
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2015
Published on: 30 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Dave

Adelaide
The highlights include the friendly people, visiting the local villages, food, visit to Lake Orhid, joining the locals in traditional dancing in Progradic and visiting Berat . . . just too many to choose from. The tour guide, Ed, was always very considerate of everyone's needs, knowledgeable and always had a laugh and smile. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was constantly checking everything was alright to enhance the experience of being in Albania.
My tip would be to get to Albania before it becomes too touristy
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2015
Published on: 21 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Sharon

Seminole
The trip notes and the trip itinerary weren't matched 100%. We saw way more than was listed due to our excellent leader, Ed. Also, the trip notes say to dress modestly. We found that we could wear whatever we wanted at any time, including into the mosques and churches. Please note that it's very hot during the summer months. There was a lot more hiking than was listed so bring the appropriate shoes.
Confirmed traveller: 18 July 2015
Published on: 13 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Newcastle-underLyme
For me there were lots of highlights but some of them were: swimming in the Ionian Sea, breathtaking mountain scenery viewed from twisting roads climbing ever higher, seeing how ordinary Albanian people go about their lives and exploring Tirana, the capital. It was so interesting visiting a country which was isolated from the rest of the world for so long.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 10 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Edgar

Disley, Stockport
I've long been interested in, and curious about, Albania. This tour was a thorough and fascinating insight into the country. There was a lot of beautiful scenery, picturesque and unspoilt old towns and villages, very friendly people, some great experiences that you could not have done if travelling by yourself (such as ancient churches and mosques being opened specially for our group). The food was delicious and a real highlight of the holiday.
To fully enjoy this holiday, you have to accept that tourism is still developing in Albania and there are occasionnal rough edges, which to me are just part of the fun and the overall experience.
Confirmed traveller: 19 September 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015