It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
590 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Europe's Last Frontier AB

Visiting: Albania
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Europe's Last Frontier

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Europe's Last Frontier trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Europe's Last Frontier reviews verified by Reevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Europe's Last FrontierScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Renee

Barcelona, Spain
This was an excellent - if somewhat busy - introduction to Albania. Our guide was a lot of fun and full of anecdotes about life in Albania. He was also very helpful with every sort of small problem that may have arisen - including some that were not related to the tour per se. He also was great about meals - organizing group meals when we wanted and giving us recommendations to go on our own when we felt like it. The hotels were also very good - except the one in Korca, which left a lot to be desired.

Apparently, the tour had been a two-week tour but it has now been reduced to 10 days, while trying to fit the same number of visits in. This made it a bit of a rush at times and we had very little free time to ourselves to just relax and assimilate everything we had seen.
I would suggest cutting out some of the less important museums and some of the more repetitive churches and concentrating more on the better ones. For example, the museum in Kruja was excellent, as was the one in Tirana, but I felt we were rushed through them. Other museums were less interesting and could be eliminated from the tour.

It would also have been nice to have a bit more explanation of some of the icons that we saw in the churches. In the museum in Korca, the woman gave a very good explanation of the icons there and it would have been nice to have this kind of information for some of the churches as well.

Finally, I would recommend starting the tour in Kruja (about equidistant from Tirana airport as Tirana itself), having the first night there and then spending the next morning at the History Museum in Tirana and then going on. Tirana really doesn't merit much more time, and Kruja is a much nicer town to walk around.

Having said all this - in a manner of constructive criticism - I would definitely recommend this trip. It would have been impossible to see and do all that we did if we had not been with a group and I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 13 July 2016
Published on: 31 July 2016
(5 out of 10)

Kate

Elton
Highlights: Butrint and Apollonia and its good museum, the medieval churches, frescoes and icons of Voskopoja and Korca
Tips: take walking sticks, slippery medieval cobbled streets and helpful on walks; did not do some things as did not have them with me; ensure that the coach is large enough for the group and will be available for the whole trip; take swimming costumes, although time is limited it was possible to swim 3x, once at Lake Ohrid and then at coastal locations; take layers of clothing in Sept/Oct - very changeable weather conditions from mountains to coast including rain gear; travel kettle indispensable and own t bags/coffee; check currency exchange rate before going, better value lecs to pound than lecs to euro; most of us took euros
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2015
Published on: 30 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Albania is a wonderful country and the people very friendly. It is difficult to pick out a highlight but if pushed I would probably pick out the wonderful site at Butrint. The tour was easy pace with no crack of dawn starts (2 days at 8am) and plenty of breaks in the bus journeys. The hotels were of a good standard, some better than others of course. Without exception they were clean, the plumbing worked and there was free wifi. Food and drink is very good and amazing value at about £1 for a beer and main courses starting at £3. Breakfasts were not outstanding but adequate
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sharlene

Anaheim
Great trips, excellent guides, wonderful fellow travelers.
Confirmed traveller: 19 September 2015
Published on: 26 September 2015
(9 out of 10)

Edgar

Disley, Stockport
I've long been interested in, and curious about, Albania. This tour was a thorough and fascinating insight into the country. There was a lot of beautiful scenery, picturesque and unspoilt old towns and villages, very friendly people, some great experiences that you could not have done if travelling by yourself (such as ancient churches and mosques being opened specially for our group). The food was delicious and a real highlight of the holiday.
To fully enjoy this holiday, you have to accept that tourism is still developing in Albania and there are occasionnal rough edges, which to me are just part of the fun and the overall experience.
Confirmed traveller: 19 September 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Christobel

Sussex
Superlative leadership from Edjon who is very knowledgeable, loves his country and is happy to impart that knowledge both good and bad of the Country. As we know, a leader can make or break a holiday. Unfailing helpfulness and friendliness of the Albanian people. Mostly excellent local guides. Stunning landscapes and the beautiful old towns of Gjirokaster and Berat. Butrint. Excellent accommodation (except in the Llogara National Park) with some special characterful rooms. Some long coach journeys but always thoughtfully broken with stops at suitable or interesting spots. The coach was spacious and comfortable and never a worry from the driving. Generally a balanced itinerary showing the beautiful and the ugly.

Edjon's advice should be taken on amendments to the itinerary. Time in the Llogara National Park could better be spent by more time at Durresi(?) and less at Vlora and include a stay in Shkodra before moving on to Kruja. The straight up and back walk in the Karaburun Peninsula was of little interest and revealed no more than we had already seen from the coach.

The tour with Edjon's leadership gave an insight into current life in Albania, its troubled history, emergence and determination to rise from its communist past. My preconceived ideas were dashed and this trip left me with much respect for the Albanian people.
Confirmed traveller: 19 September 2015
Published on: 04 November 2015

Thank you for your advice on the itinerary. I’ll take this into consideration when the trip is next under review.

(8 out of 10)

Gerry

Whitley Bay
So much to see and do in Albania
Price of food and drink refreshingly cheap
Tour guide loves his country - and it came through to us
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Newcastle-underLyme
For me there were lots of highlights but some of them were: swimming in the Ionian Sea, breathtaking mountain scenery viewed from twisting roads climbing ever higher, seeing how ordinary Albanian people go about their lives and exploring Tirana, the capital. It was so interesting visiting a country which was isolated from the rest of the world for so long.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 10 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Dave

Adelaide
The highlights include the friendly people, visiting the local villages, food, visit to Lake Orhid, joining the locals in traditional dancing in Progradic and visiting Berat . . . just too many to choose from. The tour guide, Ed, was always very considerate of everyone's needs, knowledgeable and always had a laugh and smile. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was constantly checking everything was alright to enhance the experience of being in Albania.
My tip would be to get to Albania before it becomes too touristy
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2015
Published on: 21 October 2015