It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
606 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Adventures In Patagonia PA

Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Adventures In Patagonia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Adventures In Patagonia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Adventures In Patagonia reviews verified by Reevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Adventures In PatagoniaScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Piers

Norwich
Fantastic, varied, exciting tour, with "Chino" as Explore leader an exceptional leader - patient, well informed, good sense of humour, super-efficient, informal - he was really great. The scenery, the social history of Argentina, natural science background, the walks all made it into a memorable tour. We'll be back!
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Bridget

London
It was brilliant the one criticism I have is the accommodation at the Savoy Hotel. Very small room and sparks came out of the plug every time I tried to plug anything in. No window, but there was a skylight covered with a black out blind.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ernest

sheffield
A really busy trip with some long days travel but well worth the effort to see some amazing sights and landscapes - the tour leader for me was the real highlight of the trip - whilst many regional guides were good and knowledgeable they could not compete with Chino (our tour leader) his ability to describe and topic we threw at him was remarkable and all in excellent English, not the rapid fire of other guides.
Being at the end of the season we got deals on trips and accommodation upgrades and whilst the weather could be unpredictable at the time of year we went it was in fact excellent.
A long way to travel to the end of the world bu a experience I will never forget.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Annelise

Toddington
Fantastic tour! With such a vast area to explore in a short space of time the itinerary is full on. Long days, early mornings and many hours were spent travelling by bus but it didn't seem to matter as the amazing sites and landscapes you see more than make up for it. If you want a relaxed, laid back tour, this is not for you but if you want to make the most of your time in one of the most beautiful parts of the world, then this is for you. There are some long walks over some quite difficult, steep terrain in parts so you have to enjoy walking - good walking boots are essential. Buses were comfortable and the driving was professional. Our tour guide was brilliant and very knowledgeable and all but one of the local guides were too. Take plenty of cash in US$. It's not always easy to change money in some of the towns or find a cash machine/ATM and people like dollars. Do budget for excursions and don't let the expense of some of them put you off doing them - they are worth it and you'll likely only ever get one chance to experience them. Eating and drinking is relatively cheap with the exception of Torres del Paine national park. They take advantage of captive tourists and hike up the prices 2 or 3 times. All in all a wonderful trip!
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2016
Published on: 27 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Miriam

Salisbury
This was my first big trip going away by myself. I really enjoyed it and felt safe. Having the itinerary meant that I got the most out of the visit. My highlights were the optional trips - visit to the penguin island and walking on the glacier. I liked the idea of being in the southernmost city in the world. The weather prevented or partially prevented some activities such as a speedboat ride and a hike. The alternative nature walk instead of a hike was excellent. I struggled with the language so having a tour guide was invaluable. The two long travel days were difficult but the coaches were comfortable and we could stop regularly and to take photos. The guide dealt extremely well with having to rearrange or find alternative activities when circumstances changed. He was so helpful and often went out of his way to make sure everyone was ok. I'm not particularly into history but would have liked a bit more background info about the region during the trip. This could have been in the form of fact sheets on request (eg the native tribes, explorers to the area especially Darwin and Fitz Roy, Argentina's relationship with neighbouring countries). Some hotels were better than others but all the beds were comfortable. One hotel in Chile charged extra for paying in pesos but not US dollars. It would be good to have more advice on which is the best currency to use in some circumstances. Overall a great trip.
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(7 out of 10)

Peter

Chislehurst
For me this trip fell into 2 parts. Ushuaia, Punta Arenas and Puerto Natales were of little interest although people who took the optional Beagle Channel boat trip enjoyed the wild-life and it's good to say that you have been the most southerly town in the world. Those first few days were necessary to travel to the main areas of interest namely Torres del Paine, the Fitzroy Massive, walking on the Viedma glacier and the Perito Moreno glacier, all stunning. As indicated in the trip notes the 8 hour trek to the Torres del Paine viewpoint and the 10 hour trek to the Fitzroy viewpoint were physically demanding but worth the effort. Some people were wary of walking on the Viedma glacier (also wondering whether the high cost was worth it) but the trip was very well organised with a high ratio of staff to visitors ensuring that everyone was safe on the ice. It was worth every cent and proved to be a highlight. Finally, the Laguna Nimez bird sanctuary in El Calafate is well worth a visit if there is enough time before the flight back to Buenos Aires.
There were 18 in the group which is the most of any Explore trip that I have done - it seemed to work ok though. Our tour leader Diego was very good, coping well with the reorganising of the Beagle Channel trip, cancelled because of the high winds, and getting us into Puerto Natales after a wheel broke on the bus. He took us to some great restaurants as well.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2016
Published on: 23 February 2016
(8 out of 10)

Sarah

Sheffield
Overall, a very good trip (my first with Explore). Accommodation variable - despite paying single room supplement sometimes had a poor room, including 1 with no window in Puntas Arenas. The flight to Ushuaia could be much better scheduled. No reason to have to get up at 1.30am for a 4am flight as no need to be Ushuaia so early in the morning. Understand there was a later flight that would have got us there by lunchtime which would have left enough time to do the Beagle Channel boat trip at 3pm - as it happened the weather meant this trip was not available that afternoon so we ended up with a whole day, having had very little sleep with little to do as Ushuaia is very small. Having to get up so early meant many people opting not to go to the Tango show in Buenos Aires on the previous night - which ultimately meant missing it altogether as there wasn't another opportunity. Enjoyed the trekking and all the other optional extra trips. Difficult to pick a specific highlight but thoroughly enjoyed the boat trip in the Beagle Channel, the ice trekking and the second long hike of the tour at El Chalten. Diego was an excellent tour guide and the individual guides in the separate locations were excellent, especially Lou (? correct name) in Buenos Aries and the man who led the Beagle Channel trip.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2016
Published on: 18 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Neil

Reading
The tour included a very interesting tour of the Buenos Airies followed by a tour of the very scenic area called Patagonia.
The highlights for me were the amazing landscapes, the blue water, seeing the vast glaciers close up and the hikes.
My tips would be to have a very good wind proof as apart from Buenos Aries everywhere was extremely windy although our guide said though it up is always windy it was windier than normal. You need at least $500 dollars as all the tips and options are payable in dollars. A lot of the hotels and restaurants accepted credit card though which made it easier.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2016
Published on: 17 February 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Solihull
This trip is an adventure. It is busy tour with long days travelling and early starts. The walks are quite challenging, but the trip is full of amazing sights of natural wonders - mountains, glaciers, lakes, bird life and even semi-arid deserts.

We were in a group of 18 people, 6 singles and 6 couples. 2 from USA the rest from the UK. We had a very helpful, knowledgeable and proactive tour leader in Diego.

Some local arrangements were not always as expected and required intervention by the tour leader to resolve. The standard of accommodation was variable but always adequate.

Tips - a good standard of fitness is required to undertake all the walks on offer and good equipment- boots, poles, waterproof and windproof gear, is essential, as well as sun block. There are options available for those not under taking the treks such as fly fishing, rafting, hot tubs, horse riding but these have to be independently booked.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2016
Published on: 17 February 2016