It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Adventures In Patagonia PA

Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Adventures In Patagonia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Adventures In Patagonia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Adventures In Patagonia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

35 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Adventures In PatagoniaScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 35 reviews
(5 out of 10)

Rajendra

London
Poor value for money and all trips are extras! Trips like Beagle Channel should be included as part of normal pricing. Did not like details of next day only being given the night before. Excessive tips being given to drivers and guides for very little input/work. Argentina is generally poor value for money because they demand payment on US dollars.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2017
Published on: 26 March 2017

Thanks for your feedback Rajendra, I’m sorry we didn’t rate highly on this occasion. As with all of our trips, we will always try to find the right balance between planned activities and free time, so that our customers also have a chance to relax, as well as explore at their own pace. There are different types of boat trips that are available on the Beagle Channel, which is why we make it open for you to choose. Partaking in the tips kitty is not mandatory and you can choose to tip at your discretion, but I would like to add that we do review the tips kitty account for each group, to make sure the correct tips are given.

(9 out of 10)

Christal

Davis, CA USA
The tour offered a good variety, from walking among penguins, to long day hikes up to glacial tarns to view the Andean peaks, to gentle walks to gain historical context of the area. Our wonderful guide Andres was knowlegeable, explained what we would be doing each day, what options were available at each stop, and had at his disposal a variety of field guides for birds and animals. Joey, our local guide in Chile, was excellent. The accomodations were OK, except for the bathrooms, which had little shelf space. Only the Buenos Aires hotel had a bath mat to prevent slipping on slick porcelain tubs. I suppose this is common, but as travelers age, a hotel's attention to bathroom safety would be most welcome. We were very lucky in having mostly clear skies. Be forewarned, however, that clouds and very strong winds in El Chalten are the norm. Also, follow the trip notes to bring US dollars and use credit cards in Chile.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 03 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Stephen

Exeter
This was a full on trip at times with both the major hikes providing some challenging ascents. Great scenery and wildlife helped by some better than usual weather conditions. The flight from Buenos Aires to Ushuaia at 0430 was unnecessarily early given later options. And the flight from El Calafate back to Buenos Aires with a stopover in Bariloche was frankly ridiculous given there was a direct flight about 20 minutes before. This cost us a couple of hours late on the last evening when we could have been out for dinner by 9, but in the event were racing to find somewhere to eat before places closed. Guide was top drawer and worked really hard to make sure we had a great time. The optional trips were expensive but well worth doing.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 27 February 2017

I’m sorry to hear your feedback about the flights Stephen. They are a continual pain for us here as well, and I do appreciate the impact on your trip. Regarding the BA to Ushuaia flight, there is usually one at around 0830am, but this tends to fill up very quickly and it is never possible to get a full group on this flight. We will keep working on this for the future. The flight from Calafate back to Buenos Aires had a change of schedule which we had to accept, again due to availability on other flights. I’m really sorry about the impact this had on your trip, but am glad to hear that the guide did a good job for you.

(8 out of 10)

Raymond

Merriott, Crewkerne.
Hotels average, breakfasts generally poor.Included tours very good ,optional trips expensive but generally very good.Buenos Aires a beautiful and interesting city. Flight to Ushuaia changed from 0900 departure to 04.35 departure, meaning leaving the hotel at 02.30...WHY??.Lots of walking in the national parks, so a good level of fitness required to enjoy them.The trek in Torres del Paine was amazing although it took over 10hours! It was 23km not the 18 km as in the itinerary.Arrived back at hotel after 9pm so some of us went straight to bed, missing dinner.On day 5 left Ushuaia on 04.30 bus. No breakfast provided by hotel, so Andreus(Tour leader) provided a croissant and a small coffee himself! As it was a long bus journey to Chile, why was a packed lunch not provided??
Other tour group on same bus had a packed lunch provided. After all we had paid for a breakfast!! Bus in Argentina for 2/3 days had almost NO working seat belts, We found this alarming !! An amazing Journey through an amazing land.Saw wonderful views from the bus windows and the wildlife was fantastic. The food and Drinks were Very expensive.Expect to pay DOUBLE U.K. prices.Take plenty of $US not Chile Pesos as you pay 21% tax on food/drink if you pay on Chile Pesos. Also take plenty of snack bars for the long days on the bus and for trekking days. Vegetarian options very limited as this is a serious meat eating country.The Highlights for me were,The Tango show in B.A. at the Piazzolla, $25. A MUST. But go on your first night as this is the only chance you will get. The tour of the cemetery was amazing.(Eva Peron etc). The Perito Moreno Glacier was unbelieveable,the sight and sounds of ice calving from the glacier was...WOW! The trekking was enjoyable if you are fit! All local guides and Trekking guides were very good.
Andreus who was with us for the whole tour was a font of knowledge and great fun. Kept the group going when we were flagging and always had suggestions on were to eat and things to do if you wanted to do your own thing. The group jelled very well but we all felt 17 was too large a group. What happened to the small group concept Explore use to have ???
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 27 February 2017

Thanks for your review Raymond, great that you loved Argentina but I’m sorry that your trip didn’t fully live up to expectations. In terms of the group size of 17 - Explore have run small groups of up to 18 people for many years now, so I suspect that your previous groups were smaller than this by chance. We have changed the hotel in Ushuaia for the end of 2017, and our leaders are working with them to provide breakfast items for the bus, as well as coffee and tea. The 04.35 departure from Ushuaia is not ideal at all for customers - this was changed because the airline often cut the 08.30/09.00 flight from their schedule, leaving us with no other option - otherwise we have to fly in the late afternoon and you lose a day in Ushuaia. My main concern from your feedback is the seatbelts, and we are taking this up directly with the bus company. This shouldn’t be the case on any of our vehicles and we’re looking into it.

(9 out of 10)

Graham

Truro
Great experience of the scale and wonder of Patagonian landscapes. Expect to walk up a couple of mountains as this is where the best views are. A shame many of the experiences were extras making this an expensive tour. Without most of these options the tour would only have rated a 5
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 07 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Janet

Truro
This trip really gave you a flavour of the vastness and remoteness of Patagonia from the end of the world feel at Ushuaia, the endless plains,the massives of Torres de Paine and Fitzroy and the awesome glaciers all experienced in different ways. A lot of travelling but worth it for getting an idea of this country. The walking was limited to set tourist routes which were very busy so it would have been good to have an extra day in El Chalten and walk a less popular route. Marcelo was an excellent guide, fun, thoughtful and taking everyone's needs into account.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 07 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Tom

Amersham
This itinerary is not for the faint-hearted as it involves a lot of strenuous hikes and long coach rides but it is rewarding with wonderful scenery and excellent steaks and wine. Our tour guide, Marcelo, was very knowledgeable and remarkably patient and caring. Some of the accommodation left a bit to be desired but some had spectacular locations.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 04 February 2017
(7 out of 10)

Chris

Tour leader was energetic, positive and helpful. Locations were good and modes of transportation were comfortable. Enjoyed the tour leader's enthusiasm and love of his country!

Improvements: Provide more excursion details (including the dates to be experienced) prior to trip and excursion brochures during the trip. Explanations from the guides were minimal and not always clear in English. Hiking details were not clear as they were more steep and difficult than indicated. Running through a trail does not allow you to enjoy the landscape and country. Better suggestions about arriving earlier for the start of the trip to enjoy the excursion offerings would have been helpful.
Breakfast was nothing more than breads and coffee most days; meat and eggs at one breakfast only. All dinners were extremely late and very slow to be served (which could have been indicated upfront). Could have offered horse back riding alternative rather than excessively steep and long walks.
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 07 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Robert

An outstanding tour with a suburb leader, and mostly very good local guides. The natural history is the reason for going on it. Everything else is secondary in terms of considerations.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Clive

danbury
Take a varied selection of clothes as the weather changes from snow to sun in hours. Expect to do a lot of walking and sightseeing as this is a fast pace holiday. Take plenty of cash as this is not a budget country. Really worth going especially for the mountains, lakes and glaciers. All boat trips are worth taking.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016