It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
593 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Outdoor Alaska AKH

Visiting: USA
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Outdoor Alaska

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Outdoor Alaska trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Outdoor Alaska reviews verified by Reevoo

12 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Outdoor AlaskaScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 12 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Rosemary

Trip was wonderful.
Tour leader was the best
Very long driving days
Some accommodation is not en suite- would have been good to know!
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Julie

Poole
A good trip with lots of amazing scenery to view. There are a few long days in the bus but that is to be expected with the distance that has to be covered in just under 2 weeks. The highlights for myself was the full day in Denali NP. We were fortunate enough to see a grizzly bear with her 2 cubs - never expected to see that. I also enjoyed the time spent in the McCarthy/Kennicott region - the tour of the copper mill was very interesting. A few of us took the train from Denali to Talkeetna which was a real treat, you may want to consider adding this to the itinerary rather than another afternoon in the bus.
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Peter

stockport
Positives.... landscapes, emptiness, cleanliness save for rural dumping of cars, farming equipment etc., coastal wonder, wildlife, Denali , Kennecott, mountains, mostly good weather in a very variable climate, railroad trip from Denali which should become a definite inclusion or optional.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 04 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Moyra

Newton Mearns
A busy tour with lots of choices which were hard to make as all additional activities are quite expensive. Travel in the maxi wagon can be challenging on longer journeys, particularly on the gravel roads. Perhaps seats on the vehicle could be alternated on the longer days to allow more fairness as sometimes there is a reluctance to sit in the back row. Despite all this, we had a great time seeing a myriad of different aspects. We particularly enjoyed the cruise from Seward with breaching displays from the humpbacked whales , the glacier walk & mill tour in Kennicott, seeing animals including a wolf in Denali Park, walking up Mt Healy & finally the appearance of Denali on our final day. A great trip with a lovely bunch of folk & a very patient tour leader, Bettina.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 05 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Christine

Hoeilaart
Excellent tour leader. She really tried to accommodate everyone. New add on was train journey from Denali .
Confirmed traveller: 01 July 2016
Published on: 11 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Rodney

Bootle, Near Millom, Cumbria.
McCarthy & Kennicott were excellent - no one did the Bonanza Mine walk because of weather and time but if fit suggest this would be a good thing to do. All the glaciers were awesome! Knik River trip to glacier was very good and it is a shamme that not doing this next year. Denali National Park was another venue that should not be missed. For scenery the whole trip was marvellous especially the two long drives on "dirt" roads to McCarthy and along the Denali highway.. Also if you have never seen the Salmon runs to their breeding grounds this should not be missed. Only thing not seen was Bears catching the Salmon.
Confirmed traveller: 31 August 2015
Published on: 06 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Stephen

Gravesend
One of the highlights of this trip was spotting a lynx whilst we were walking around Horseshoe lake in Denali. After all its probably the only time in my life when I will ever get so close to a wild lynx. Truly amazing.

The flight seeing trip over the Wrangell St Elias National Park was incredible and the scenery literally breath-taking.
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2015
Published on: 17 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed purchaser

London
A great company. I have had great holidays and plan to go again. I like the small group camaraderie and using local accommodation rather than the usual chain groups. The flexibility and knowledge of local guides is excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015
(9 out of 10)

Michela

Toronto
Hiking, kayaking, scenery
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 22 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Christal

Davis, CA
I loved going to McCarthy and Kennicott in Wrangle-St. Elias National Park. There is so much to see and explore there, from the areas history, to glaciers, to high country hiking and kayaking. Seward was also an excellent stay. I just didn't have long enough there to do everything I wanted - boat tour, Alaska Sealife Center, and hike up to Harding Icefield. I'd love more time there. The small the-main-highway places we visited were also fun and interesting. And coming from California, I even appreciated the bit of rain we had along the way. There wasn't much of it and it didn't interfere with our activities. Our guide Bettina was the best! She made sure we got as much out of the trip as possible.
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015