It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Outdoor Alaska AKH

Visiting: USA
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Outdoor Alaska

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Outdoor Alaska trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Outdoor Alaska reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Outdoor AlaskaScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Anthony

Hertford
Mc Carthy glacier flight and trek beside glacier.
Denali bus tour and walks.
Excellent and very professional tour leader and fun group.

Disappointments: the weather, the boat trip at Seward - we did one at Homer afterwards which was longer and a third the price.
Homer also gave us the option of seeing bears up close. A lifetime memory and worth the money. Costs of food and trips in trip notes a significant underestimate.
Confirmed traveller: 26 August 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Harry

Canterbury UK
Interesting tour. Leader was sometimes not very clear, asking us to make a choice without giving us enough information to guide the choice.
Guidance before the tour as to the typical prices for the optional tours would have been a help as these seemed more expensive than elsewhere (reportedly as a result of the short season the costs need to be recouped in a shorter time).
We would have liked the Kennecott mine tour to have been included as there did not seem to be much point going there without doing the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Julie

Poole
A good trip with lots of amazing scenery to view. There are a few long days in the bus but that is to be expected with the distance that has to be covered in just under 2 weeks. The highlights for myself was the full day in Denali NP. We were fortunate enough to see a grizzly bear with her 2 cubs - never expected to see that. I also enjoyed the time spent in the McCarthy/Kennicott region - the tour of the copper mill was very interesting. A few of us took the train from Denali to Talkeetna which was a real treat, you may want to consider adding this to the itinerary rather than another afternoon in the bus.
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Rosemary

Trip was wonderful.
Tour leader was the best
Very long driving days
Some accommodation is not en suite- would have been good to know!
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016

Hi Rosemary. Many thanks for your review, I’m so glad that you enjoyed the beauty of the Alaskan wilderness. Driving days are a must on this trip to see as much as we do, but it doesn’t look like it affected your enjoyment, which is good! I’m really sorry that you were unaware of the shared bathroom facilities in two locations (at Tangle Lakes and Kennecott). We have improved the trip notes now by adding some accommodation information, so that future travellers are prepared. Many thanks again.

(9 out of 10)

Moyra

Newton Mearns
A busy tour with lots of choices which were hard to make as all additional activities are quite expensive. Travel in the maxi wagon can be challenging on longer journeys, particularly on the gravel roads. Perhaps seats on the vehicle could be alternated on the longer days to allow more fairness as sometimes there is a reluctance to sit in the back row. Despite all this, we had a great time seeing a myriad of different aspects. We particularly enjoyed the cruise from Seward with breaching displays from the humpbacked whales , the glacier walk & mill tour in Kennicott, seeing animals including a wolf in Denali Park, walking up Mt Healy & finally the appearance of Denali on our final day. A great trip with a lovely bunch of folk & a very patient tour leader, Bettina.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 05 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Peter

stockport
Positives.... landscapes, emptiness, cleanliness save for rural dumping of cars, farming equipment etc., coastal wonder, wildlife, Denali , Kennecott, mountains, mostly good weather in a very variable climate, railroad trip from Denali which should become a definite inclusion or optional.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 04 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Christine

Hoeilaart
Excellent tour leader. She really tried to accommodate everyone. New add on was train journey from Denali .
Confirmed traveller: 01 July 2016
Published on: 11 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Rodney

Bootle, Near Millom, Cumbria.
McCarthy & Kennicott were excellent - no one did the Bonanza Mine walk because of weather and time but if fit suggest this would be a good thing to do. All the glaciers were awesome! Knik River trip to glacier was very good and it is a shamme that not doing this next year. Denali National Park was another venue that should not be missed. For scenery the whole trip was marvellous especially the two long drives on "dirt" roads to McCarthy and along the Denali highway.. Also if you have never seen the Salmon runs to their breeding grounds this should not be missed. Only thing not seen was Bears catching the Salmon.
Confirmed traveller: 31 August 2015
Published on: 06 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Stephen

Gravesend
One of the highlights of this trip was spotting a lynx whilst we were walking around Horseshoe lake in Denali. After all its probably the only time in my life when I will ever get so close to a wild lynx. Truly amazing.

The flight seeing trip over the Wrangell St Elias National Park was incredible and the scenery literally breath-taking.
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2015
Published on: 17 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Michela

Toronto
Hiking, kayaking, scenery
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 22 November 2015