It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
621 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Outdoor Alaska AKH

Visiting: USA
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Outdoor Alaska

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Outdoor Alaska trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Outdoor Alaska reviews verified by reevooReevoo

16 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Outdoor AlaskaScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 16 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Paul

Norwich
Very good tour with an excellent guide Bettina difficult to mention highlights as so many good things.
Maxi waggon used as transport very cramped if more than two on the bench seats should have a maximum of nine plus driver also awkward to enter and exit.
Explore do not mention there are courtesy phones in anchorage airport to phone hotel as mobile company has limited roaming agreements.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 14 July 2017
(5 out of 10)

Gerhard

Hayward
We absolutely hated the van provided for the trip. We can not believe you people expect for your guests to be happy crammed into a small van for so many miles on mostly rough and unpaved roads. Our guide, Bettina, was wonderful. We will neve recommend Explore to anyone after this uncomfortable experience.
Confirmed traveller: 07 July 2017
Published on: 14 July 2017

Hi Gerhard, thank you for your feedback on the transport used for your trip. I will agree the Maxiwagons are not universally loved – but never to the extent that a customer wouldn’t recommend us based on their journey in one – so I am sorry that you felt this strongly. Forewarned is forearmed so we will be updating our notes to show, in detail, the vans and how they are configured as this is the best option available to us for our groups locally.

(7 out of 10)

Anthony

Hertford
Mc Carthy glacier flight and trek beside glacier.
Denali bus tour and walks.
Excellent and very professional tour leader and fun group.

Disappointments: the weather, the boat trip at Seward - we did one at Homer afterwards which was longer and a third the price.
Homer also gave us the option of seeing bears up close. A lifetime memory and worth the money. Costs of food and trips in trip notes a significant underestimate.
Confirmed traveller: 26 August 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Harry

Canterbury UK
Interesting tour. Leader was sometimes not very clear, asking us to make a choice without giving us enough information to guide the choice.
Guidance before the tour as to the typical prices for the optional tours would have been a help as these seemed more expensive than elsewhere (reportedly as a result of the short season the costs need to be recouped in a shorter time).
We would have liked the Kennecott mine tour to have been included as there did not seem to be much point going there without doing the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Julie

Poole
A good trip with lots of amazing scenery to view. There are a few long days in the bus but that is to be expected with the distance that has to be covered in just under 2 weeks. The highlights for myself was the full day in Denali NP. We were fortunate enough to see a grizzly bear with her 2 cubs - never expected to see that. I also enjoyed the time spent in the McCarthy/Kennicott region - the tour of the copper mill was very interesting. A few of us took the train from Denali to Talkeetna which was a real treat, you may want to consider adding this to the itinerary rather than another afternoon in the bus.
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Rosemary

Trip was wonderful.
Tour leader was the best
Very long driving days
Some accommodation is not en suite- would have been good to know!
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016

Hi Rosemary. Many thanks for your review, I’m so glad that you enjoyed the beauty of the Alaskan wilderness. Driving days are a must on this trip to see as much as we do, but it doesn’t look like it affected your enjoyment, which is good! I’m really sorry that you were unaware of the shared bathroom facilities in two locations (at Tangle Lakes and Kennecott). We have improved the trip notes now by adding some accommodation information, so that future travellers are prepared. Many thanks again.

(9 out of 10)

Moyra

Newton Mearns
A busy tour with lots of choices which were hard to make as all additional activities are quite expensive. Travel in the maxi wagon can be challenging on longer journeys, particularly on the gravel roads. Perhaps seats on the vehicle could be alternated on the longer days to allow more fairness as sometimes there is a reluctance to sit in the back row. Despite all this, we had a great time seeing a myriad of different aspects. We particularly enjoyed the cruise from Seward with breaching displays from the humpbacked whales , the glacier walk & mill tour in Kennicott, seeing animals including a wolf in Denali Park, walking up Mt Healy & finally the appearance of Denali on our final day. A great trip with a lovely bunch of folk & a very patient tour leader, Bettina.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 05 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Peter

stockport
Positives.... landscapes, emptiness, cleanliness save for rural dumping of cars, farming equipment etc., coastal wonder, wildlife, Denali , Kennecott, mountains, mostly good weather in a very variable climate, railroad trip from Denali which should become a definite inclusion or optional.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 04 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Christine

Hoeilaart
Excellent tour leader. She really tried to accommodate everyone. New add on was train journey from Denali .
Confirmed traveller: 01 July 2016
Published on: 11 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Rodney

Bootle, Near Millom, Cumbria.
McCarthy & Kennicott were excellent - no one did the Bonanza Mine walk because of weather and time but if fit suggest this would be a good thing to do. All the glaciers were awesome! Knik River trip to glacier was very good and it is a shamme that not doing this next year. Denali National Park was another venue that should not be missed. For scenery the whole trip was marvellous especially the two long drives on "dirt" roads to McCarthy and along the Denali highway.. Also if you have never seen the Salmon runs to their breeding grounds this should not be missed. Only thing not seen was Bears catching the Salmon.
Confirmed traveller: 31 August 2015
Published on: 06 October 2015