It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Outdoor Alaska AKH

Visiting: USA
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Outdoor Alaska

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Outdoor Alaska trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Outdoor Alaska reviews verified by reevooReevoo

23 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Outdoor AlaskaScores 8.0 out of 10 based on 23 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Sally

Worcester
I do not think it is made clear enough that if you do not choose to go on the optional excursions (which are very expensive) there is nothing else for you to do. The options are excellent and well worth taking up. The van provided was good for the 6 participants - however if there had been 12 people squashed into the van it would have been an unsatisfactory trip - there are long driving days. Amazing scenery. Not enough wildlife watching.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2017
Published on: 23 August 2017
(4 out of 10)

Andrew

Alton
The trip was thankfully undersubscribed. Transit in a full minibus would have been hell with the distances that had to be covered.
The on the bus, off the bus activity would have been doubly difficult.
The accommodation at times were reminiscent of Camp Bastion Afghanistan. Acceptable in a war zone....on holiday not so much! E.g Whittier.
The hikes were OK.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2017
Published on: 18 August 2017

Hi Andrew thanks for your comments about your recent trip with us. I am really sorry you felt some of the accommodation was reminiscent of a war zone. On reviewing your fellow travellers’ comments regarding accommodation on your trip, it’s all come back as pretty positive so I am not sure where this issue arose. We’ve had troubles in the past with reliability of our local suppliers of transport on this trip – mid-range vehicles are a rare beast locally and, like any other highly sought after commodity, they are in high demand. So the maxiwagons, though not the gold standard, are a consistent, reliable and safe option. We do describe them in your trip notes and there’s also a photo on the trip page so you’re prepared in advance.

(8 out of 10)

Paul

Emsworth Hants
Whale watching out on Seward.

Visit to Denarlie national park.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 04 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Lawrence

New Jersey
Over all this was a great trip. This was my third trip with Explore. Each trip was very different which makes them difficult to compare but what they do have in common is that they were all well run and had excellent group leaders.

To get the most out of the Alaska trip you have to be willing to spend serious money on some of the extra activities offered as well as on your food. In Seward there is the boat trip to which is a combination of viewing wild life and the glaciers. In Kennicott there is the glacier walk, the tour of the tour of the mines processing building, and optional flights (which I did not do in Mc Carthy). I did do the flight in Talkeetna which flew near Denali and landed on the Glacier. If the weather is good, the flight is well worth it, but it is a costly add on.

There are a lot of heavy duty travel days on this trip but they were broken up with frequent stops for picture taking. The van that they use is okay as long as it is not full. The seat belts for the passengers on the end seats are a real hassle. A minor annoyance but still... The final destinations make the long travel days worth it. The dirt roads are not bad, they are probably better than some of the paved roads in NJ.

If you like walking and hiking there is a good amount of it on this trip. It is up to you how strenuous you want your hikes to be. Honestly the best way to see Alaska is by getting out and walking. Of course, everything is optional so you do not have to hike if you do not want to.

The hotels ranged from excellent to passable, none were bad. For me the true highlights of the trip were Kennicott, Denali and the flight that I took. In general, Alaska itself is a highlight as far as I am concerned. It was my second trip to the State and I would love to return someday. It would have been nice if the trip had an extra day or two. The trip seemed to be over as it was just getting started. Having a great tour leader and great traveling companions only added to the enjoyment of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 28 July 2017
Published on: 09 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Mark

Billerica Mass USA
Excellent trip. Tour leader Bettina was fantastic. She get's an 11 out of 10. Very informative, helpful, and cheerful.

So many highlights. An unexpected highlight was McCarthy and Kennicott, but very long travel days to get to and from there are inevitable.
Confirmed traveller: 28 July 2017
Published on: 02 August 2017
(7 out of 10)

Paul

Norwich
Very good tour with an excellent guide Bettina difficult to mention highlights as so many good things.
Maxi waggon used as transport very cramped if more than two on the bench seats should have a maximum of nine plus driver also awkward to enter and exit.
Explore do not mention there are courtesy phones in anchorage airport to phone hotel as mobile company has limited roaming agreements.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 14 July 2017
(5 out of 10)

Gerhard

Hayward
We absolutely hated the van provided for the trip. We can not believe you people expect for your guests to be happy crammed into a small van for so many miles on mostly rough and unpaved roads. Our guide, Bettina, was wonderful. We will neve recommend Explore to anyone after this uncomfortable experience.
Confirmed traveller: 07 July 2017
Published on: 14 July 2017

Hi Gerhard, thank you for your feedback on the transport used for your trip. I will agree the Maxiwagons are not universally loved – but never to the extent that a customer wouldn’t recommend us based on their journey in one – so I am sorry that you felt this strongly. Forewarned is forearmed so we will be updating our notes to show, in detail, the vans and how they are configured as this is the best option available to us for our groups locally.

(7 out of 10)

Anthony

Hertford
Mc Carthy glacier flight and trek beside glacier.
Denali bus tour and walks.
Excellent and very professional tour leader and fun group.

Disappointments: the weather, the boat trip at Seward - we did one at Homer afterwards which was longer and a third the price.
Homer also gave us the option of seeing bears up close. A lifetime memory and worth the money. Costs of food and trips in trip notes a significant underestimate.
Confirmed traveller: 26 August 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Harry

Canterbury UK
Interesting tour. Leader was sometimes not very clear, asking us to make a choice without giving us enough information to guide the choice.
Guidance before the tour as to the typical prices for the optional tours would have been a help as these seemed more expensive than elsewhere (reportedly as a result of the short season the costs need to be recouped in a shorter time).
We would have liked the Kennecott mine tour to have been included as there did not seem to be much point going there without doing the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Julie

Poole
A good trip with lots of amazing scenery to view. There are a few long days in the bus but that is to be expected with the distance that has to be covered in just under 2 weeks. The highlights for myself was the full day in Denali NP. We were fortunate enough to see a grizzly bear with her 2 cubs - never expected to see that. I also enjoyed the time spent in the McCarthy/Kennicott region - the tour of the copper mill was very interesting. A few of us took the train from Denali to Talkeetna which was a real treat, you may want to consider adding this to the itinerary rather than another afternoon in the bus.
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016