It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
623 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Walking Albania

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walking Albania trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walking Albania reviews verified by Reevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Walking AlbaniaScores 7.8 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(6 out of 10)

Magdalena

London
The tour is trying to achieve too much; it would be better to focus on either just walking or just travelling on a bus and sightseeing. The trip to the south could be skipped altogether and all the walking could be done in the spectacular north. The walk on the second day is rather pointless as you go up the same day as you come down and you see pretty muh everything you've seen on the first day.
Thethe valley was a definite highlight and one could spend more time there and or in Valbona valley.
Ardit, our group leader, did a fantastic job and made the trip a real delight.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 02 July 2016
(8 out of 10)

Katharine

Tunbridge Wells
There was quite a lot of travelling included in the itinary but this was necessary to experience a variety of terrain. The walking was quite challenging due to the heat and steep rocky paths. Beautiful scenery and enjoyed visiting remote areas of Albania.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 28 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Margaret

Ipswich
A wonderful tour of Albania mixing walking with culture. It gave a real insight into the people and its history. There was more time in the bus than expected as travel was slow but we always had a good walk each day (despite the heat!). Our tour leader was great as he was an Albanian who had been brought up in the mountains. Although only 24 he was very good with people, a great storyteller and a good leader. We wished he didn't use 'Jesus' as an exclamation as we found that offensive as Christians. Apart from that he was brilliant. We would recommend this trip to anyone.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 28 June 2016
(4 out of 10)

Alison

London
Albania is fascinating, beautiful and cheap, but the logistics of the tour are badly designed. Both walks and sightseeing tended to be crammed in at the end of a long day's travelling - so walking felt like route marches and trips to fascinating museums, like Kruja, and a lovely town like Skhroda, were rushed to get there before everything closed. The hour on the beach was a waste of time as the beach is stony and the resort unattractive.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 07 June 2016

Hi Alison, thank you for the feedback on your holiday. As this trip takes in the breadth of Albania there are a number of bus journeys to cover the distances and, up to very recently, we have only had excellent ratings and feedback, inclusive of the time in the bus. This being said, our most recent reviews have commented on the travelling aspect. In light of this, and your comments, we are considering changing the itinerary to a Northern Albania only trip to reduce the journey times overall.

(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Lancaster
Highlights: group members, leader, stunning scenery.
Tips: Only change £50 into Lek; everything is so cheap. Beware long bus journeys and the heat.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2015
Published on: 05 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Graham

Exeter
Very good trips that maximize any visit to a country.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2015
Published on: 29 September 2015
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Burntwood
Admin sometimes poor but more than made up for by trip experience
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2015
Published on: 27 September 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Don't expect Albania to be beautiful. Much of the long trip south of Tirana was defiled by endless half-built garages, furniture and bathroom stores, car dealerships, and ugly and brash buildings of every sort. That all this had happened in about 20 years was a depressing thought. New roads are being built but tend to end in the middle of nowhere and filter you off at right-angles into a town, thus causing long tailbacks. Rubbish disposal doesn't seem to exist and carelessly discarded rubbish becomes a depressing and regular sight. This shouldn't put you off the natural wonders but it becomes a relief to have an unspoilt view. I would like to have spent less time in the bus and rather wondered whether back roads were any more enjoyable, perhaps further to the east. Exploring villages on foot perhaps.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015