It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
622 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walking Albania ALW

Visiting: Albania
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Walking Albania

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walking Albania trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walking Albania reviews verified by reevooReevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Walking AlbaniaScores 8.2 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Stephen

Plymouth
Fantastic trip with a great tour leader (Gerion). This is a great value for money holiday. You will be very hard pressed to spend more than £75 for the week. Changing £60 for most was sufficient in our group.

The itinerary was "spot on", concentrating on the North and not trying to cram in the South as well. The tour has a nice gentle start in Shkoder and Lake Komani before the highlands. The walking in the highlands was well thought out and a moderate rating is about right. We had fabulous views throughout and our leader and the guide were hugely knowledgeable on history, flora and fauna. We were exceptionally well looked after.

The accommodation was practical and clean. The only downside being the lack of hot water (luke warm at best) in both Valbone and Theti. The food was fabulous in Theti but quite basic in Valbone.

A whistle stop tour of Tirana rounded off a great week. An extra day in Tirana may suit some who wish to book this holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Robert

Colyton
Absolutely marvellous leader he could not have done any more to help and the itinerary was perfect
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Rosie

Pathos
The tour was well thought out, not too much traverling time and plenty of time to walk and explore, our guide was fantastic, had a great local knowledge and always had some other local sight to show us after the main walks. The boat ride and walk up the river to valbona were great, but all days had highlights, highly recomend this holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

William

Slough
Excellent walking trip to a challenging and quickly changing part of Albania. Weather early in season was changeable and good cold weather protection needed when crossing passes at or close to snow level.

trip included time in both Shkodra and Tirana, and both of these deserve return visits.

Excellent food (though quantity was an issue for one meal), beers and reasonable wine. 60 GBP for expenses / tips was just sufficient for week long trip.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(6 out of 10)

Magdalena

London
The tour is trying to achieve too much; it would be better to focus on either just walking or just travelling on a bus and sightseeing. The trip to the south could be skipped altogether and all the walking could be done in the spectacular north. The walk on the second day is rather pointless as you go up the same day as you come down and you see pretty muh everything you've seen on the first day.
Thethe valley was a definite highlight and one could spend more time there and or in Valbona valley.
Ardit, our group leader, did a fantastic job and made the trip a real delight.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 02 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback from your trip. We have taken yours and others feedback on board and with this in mind we restyled the trip for 2017 so that the South is no longer a part of the itinerary. This has shortened the driving hours substantially and also now means we get to spend more time hiking in the stunning regions of Theth and Valbona. We do appreciate your feedback as this is how we adjust and tweak the trips to become more enjoyable in the long run.

(8 out of 10)

Katharine

Tunbridge Wells
There was quite a lot of travelling included in the itinary but this was necessary to experience a variety of terrain. The walking was quite challenging due to the heat and steep rocky paths. Beautiful scenery and enjoyed visiting remote areas of Albania.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 28 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Margaret

Ipswich
A wonderful tour of Albania mixing walking with culture. It gave a real insight into the people and its history. There was more time in the bus than expected as travel was slow but we always had a good walk each day (despite the heat!). Our tour leader was great as he was an Albanian who had been brought up in the mountains. Although only 24 he was very good with people, a great storyteller and a good leader. We wished he didn't use 'Jesus' as an exclamation as we found that offensive as Christians. Apart from that he was brilliant. We would recommend this trip to anyone.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 28 June 2016
(4 out of 10)

Alison

London
Albania is fascinating, beautiful and cheap, but the logistics of the tour are badly designed. Both walks and sightseeing tended to be crammed in at the end of a long day's travelling - so walking felt like route marches and trips to fascinating museums, like Kruja, and a lovely town like Skhroda, were rushed to get there before everything closed. The hour on the beach was a waste of time as the beach is stony and the resort unattractive.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 07 June 2016

Hi Alison, thank you for the feedback on your holiday. As this trip takes in the breadth of Albania there are a number of bus journeys to cover the distances and, up to very recently, we have only had excellent ratings and feedback, inclusive of the time in the bus. This being said, our most recent reviews have commented on the travelling aspect. In light of this, and your comments, we are considering changing the itinerary to a Northern Albania only trip to reduce the journey times overall.

(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Lancaster
Highlights: group members, leader, stunning scenery.
Tips: Only change £50 into Lek; everything is so cheap. Beware long bus journeys and the heat.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2015
Published on: 05 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Graham

Exeter
Very good trips that maximize any visit to a country.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2015
Published on: 29 September 2015