It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
635 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Treasures of China YR

Visiting: China
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Treasures of China

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Treasures of China trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Treasures of China reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Treasures of ChinaScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Peter

Warrington
Busy tour, as we were advised, but that means you get to see the main places on a single trip. Very well led by Selena: her searching out of inexpensive but good local restaurants meant for memorable meals day after day. The Gorges cruise might need some rethinking, although the fact that it coincided with grey days and our single wet day might colour my judgement. Explore can hardly be held responsible for a lack of sunshine in the first 7 or 8 days!

Optional activities are many (and generally good) but travellers do need to factor in the relatively high cost that these bring about.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Liga

London
Overall a very good trip, vell organised and covered the "must see" sites and attractions. However the Yangste River is really not worth it. Boring and rather a rip off - first of all 150 yuan for tips to staff which we were not sure ever reached them, then 300 yuan upgrade to possibility to eat in normal conditions and tipping staff separately again at the end of the trip. Fengdy ghost town is not even authentic historical site. So in short if there is a way to see Boading Shan without the cruise and allow the extra time at Terracota Warriors, Yangshuo and additional day in Shanghai would make this trip a lot better. This would also avoid the full day trains to Wuhan and Guilin. Everyone in 11 people group felt the same.

Accommodation was simple, but clean and what was expected on such trip. The only place that might be replaced was Xian - clean hotel, but breakfast extremely poor and no service at all.

A separate gratitude goes to our guide Salina, she was top professional and made our travel very enjoyable. She did everything in her power and more, always being on top of things. We certainly felt in very good hands.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 18 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Viv

Worcestershire
A great whistle stop tour of China. A few disappointments as things on the itinerary couldn't be delivered due to circumstances beyond the tour operators control. Some of these were foreseeable and could have been reflected in the trip's tour notes. Selina was a superb guide and did everything to give us the best holiday. Was not expecting a top notch cruise boat and would have preferred a smaller one 420 Chinese people on holiday was a true cultural baptism. Refreshments on board were expensive and we had to tip before being given our room keys! Would have preferred more time in shanghai instead. No need to take a kettle as every room had them and free hot water available on all trains. Cities are warmer than weather apps suggested
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 18 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Portsmouth
As China is such a large country this tour covers the most important and famous places therefore it was full on.
The three days on the Yangtse was a welcome chance to relax and prepare for the next stage of the tour.
The optional Sound and Light Show at Yangshuo is the most spectacular I have ever seen.
Shanghai at night was another highlight.
Thanks to Margaret our guide her knowledge and attention at all times made for the most memorable holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 04 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Karen

Bristol
What a wonderful trip. Margaret was the most amazing guide and ensured that we maximised our experience and enjoyment at each location. She was very knowledgeable about everywhere we visited, and her kindness and attention to detail was exemplary. She was one of the best guides we have ever encountered. The variety of experience on the trip was richer than I had expected, from river boats to pandas, rickshaw rides to Shanghai high rise, China old and new is a fascinating destination. The optional tours and activities are well worth it, and definitely enhanced the overall trip. For example the evening light show on the “water stage” in Yangshao is a spectacular production. Directed by the guy who delivered the opening ceremony of the Beijing Olympics, with a cast of 600 it is one of the most ambitious shows of its type we have ever seen.
Confirmed traveller: 04 November 2016
Published on: 15 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Welwyn
The most amazing trip, which far exceeded our expectations! It was fantastic. Totally full on, and a bit too busy on occasion, because we were there during the National Week (1st October), but our Tour Leader, Selina was simply brilliant. Such a lovely woman, knowledgeable, great fun and totally there for all of us. The trip was unbelievably well organised, all the connections worked, hotels were comfortable and accommodating. We had the best holiday ever! The sights and tours of China were amazing and I could not say which was my favourite. We felt that during the two weeks we really experienced a comprehensive visit to China, experiencing so many wonderful 'treasures' and all sorts of transport, food and cultures.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Simon

According to the brochure this trip is full on and that pretty much describes it . Fantastic tour. Numerous daily highlights as listed on the itinerary, but not the least Margaret our tour guide who looked after us so well and enabled us to see and experience (and eat) so much more. Various optional trips but all worth considering. Note to Explore. The "sound and light show" at Yangshuo is in fact a mesmerising performance on the Li River with the mountains as a backdrop and a cast of 600. The director went on to direct the opening ceremony of the Beijing Olympics
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 07 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Karin

Didcot
Fantastic trip, lots of interesting places and great mixture between big cities and ancient historic sites, lovely food and very knowledgeable tour guide ensuring everyone got the most out of the trip with everything working smoothly. Highlights were the great wall, terracotta army, pandas and Yangshou. Optional trips were worth it, do not miss show in Yangshou and chinese acrobats in Shanghai and budget extra for these.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 02 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Rupert

Ashtead
the tour was great , the leader was very knowledgeable on each of the places we visited , saw loads of thing The group got to try loads of interesting food which we would not have know how to order if not for the tour leader. If I returned to China I would make sure to have the same guide again . She really added to the understanding and enjoyment of the trip .
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 02 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ruth

A fantastic once in a lifetime trip, well worth going. Saw and experienced so many wonderful things, far too many to mention in this review. The local food was great and such a wide variety, not what you are likely to see in your local restaurants. One big tip would be to make sure you budget for all the optional extras.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016