It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
614 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Amalfi Coast Walking NAW

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Amalfi Coast Walking

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Amalfi Coast Walking trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Amalfi Coast Walking reviews verified by reevooReevoo

124 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Amalfi Coast WalkingScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 124 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Chicago
Ania was a wonderful leader. The walks were great. The scenery was magnificent. The agriturismo was excellent. I really enjoyed the food.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 23 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Peter

Adelaide
Loved staying in San Lazarro at the Agri turismo, enjoyed the walking, the level was accurately represented and as expected, enjoyed the company of the tour group and the leader, Ania. Not sure why Pompeii and Vesuvius arent included as part of the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Hilary

Maui
Most anyone would enjoy this trip. How could you not: gorgeous scenery, wonderful food, accommodating hosts. This, however, is an understatement. The brothers and sister at the agriturismo, Luna d'Agerola, went out of their way to make us feel a part of the family. We were especially fortunate in our tour leader, Ania, who was lots of fun, encouraging, knowledgeable, helpful, easy going. We lucked out. With her! One tip: I am 72 years old and in pretty good shape. I trained for the trip, but I didn't do enough downhill in preparation. My thighs suffered after 1900 ft. downhill day. I would recommend training for that and make sure your toenails are really short.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 11 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Sheila

Birmingham
Not for the casual walker, but a fantastic experience. Out tour leader Ania is by far the best i have ever encontered. And the farm... Iovely hosts beautiful food and not a typical tourist in sight for most of our stay. Just my cup of tea !!!
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 22 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Nicolette

Aylesbury
The Amalfi coastal walking trip was fabulous because we had a wonderful tour leader in Ania. Ania was very knowledgable and also made every one of the group of 15 feel included. She managed a very varying ability of walkers with great sensititivity and care. The itinerary was easy to moderate, some of us found it easier than others. The walks were interesting as Ania told us so much about the area and nature as we walked. One thing you may want to emphasise in pre holiday information is the number of steps on the walk into Amalfi. I enjoyed this walk, but others didn't and suffered! I'd recommend saying that there is the opportunity to walk back to San Lazaro for horse who want a bit more walking (stepping) as the walk down is quite short. The accommodation s good, but better if you stayed in the main farmhouse as you get the views down the valley, we were in the adjacent house and didn't ave the views which was a shame, but the room was comfortable. Food was fine and our hosts could not have been more accommodating.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Diana

This was our first trip with Explore and a walking holiday. We enjoyed the experience very much. It was a wonderful way to enjoy the beautiful Amalfi coast with walks that introduced us to the culture, history, everyday life and nature of the area rather than through the usual crowded touristy routes. Our leader Anna's knowledge of local history and the flora and fauna made each walk even more enjoyable.

We think it would have been preferable if the optional visit to Pompeii and Vesuvius could be reversed, visiting Vesuvius first allowing a longer time to explore Pompeii when the crowds might be less.

Unfortunately my husband was unwell for the last two days of our stay. Anna and the family of Agriturismo Luna d' Agerola where supportive, kind and helpful which was very reassuring for me.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Sharon

The steps are challenging but we were informed so not a surprise

We needed more time in Pompeii and I would have sacrificed the walk up Vesuvius to be able to spend more time at Pompeii

Accommodation furnishings are simple but very clean and functional - perfect for a walking group. The hosts were wonderful and food plentiful and high quality
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(5 out of 10)

Robyn

sydney, australia
I'm not sure I would recommend this trip as I found the walks, except for the Walk of the Gods, quite boring and repetitive. There were so many steps on the walks, and I found this quite tedious.

The walk was very well organised, and the guide, Ania, was the best I have ever had on any walking holiday (I've done a lot, including with Explore). The accommodation was great, the wine tasting evening was a real highlight, and the people in the group were lovely.

For me, what let this down were the actual walks. Maybe I've done too many good walks, and perhaps my expectations are too high, but no, I wouldn't recommend that friends use Explore for this particular area. I have recommended Explore in the past, and would again, but not for Amalfi.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback Robyn, I’m sorry that you didn’t rate your experience highly on this occasion, as you found some of the walking routes to be quite tedious. This is surprising to hear, as we usually receive great feedback about the walks on this trip – we’ve noted your comments however, and we’ll bear this in mind when we review the itinerary, to see if any improvements can be made.

(10 out of 10)

Patricia

Higham
The trip was accurately described in the brochure as easy to moderate walking. It was a perfect example of an Explore trip. The group was a good mix of ages with unusually, the older members being the fittest!!!! This trip was a good mix of gentle hill walking, sight seeing, culture, wonderful views and coffee and cake! I have been on many Explore holidays and most of the leaders have been excellent but Nigel is one of a kind, a funny patient guy with excellent leadership qualities. The highlight was the camaraderie of the group and the spectacular scenery.
Tip. Make sure you understand Explores grading of the walks. Easy does not mean a walk in the park, then you will be able to pick a trip which suits your ability.
Confirmed traveller: 20 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Hugh

Whimple, (village) EXETER
Very well organised, everything happened as it should have done. Ania (Anna) is a150% operator, in all aspects of leadership.
Accomo; two rooms, to my knowledge, had ceramic tooth mugs (matching the suite), and in the bottom of each was a dried caked sludge. I did not ask all the group. Also one of the 2 pump action soap dispensers was empty on arrival, Rm.3. (I obviously sorted this pretty quickly without strife.) Meals fine, but rather low on salads and vegetables. Room space and furniture fine, bed fine. There might well have been a room poster to indicate"only put your towel here, if you would like it changed" 2 of mine were changed needlessly, as I also had a clothes line. I am an environmentalist, and serious about over use of detergents and water pollution.
Confirmed traveller: 17 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017