It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
612 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Amalfi Coast Walking NAW

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Amalfi Coast Walking

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Amalfi Coast Walking trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Amalfi Coast Walking reviews verified by Reevoo

67 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Amalfi Coast WalkingScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 67 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Mary

Nailsworth, Glos.
Your leader Nigel, I would say, is one of your best assets. I've worked with groups a lot and found him highly skilled, thoughtful of everyone's needs, safe, cheerful and entertaining. Delightful company all week.
The highlights for me were the Path of the Gods, and equally the walk high up that Nigel calls his equal favourite. Amalfi and Positano and Capri towns didn't light my fire - too touristy, though I recommend swimming at Positano for the view of the town from the sea.

Pompeii was good, and Vesuvius a treat for this volcano lover! I loved the optional trip to Ravello.

I gave accommodation an 8 because the food was not great for a vegetarian, unimaginative, and not an equal to the carnivore's meals! By the end of the week I was so bored with the lunch of omelette roll (I don't like smoked cheese so that was the only other option). I despair sometimes, get charged the same and it feels like it's just a tag on for the caterers. I've had a similar experience in Portugal.
A chance to make a tea in the room would be good as there was no relaxed common area for drinks in colder weather. The terrace was not usable on this early trip because of the chill.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Brian

Yorkshire
Luke was an excellent guide, very approachable, diplomatic and resourceful. The walks were superb, especially the Ferriere National Park on day 5. The accommodation was comfortable and welcoming with good food and wine. The meal at Pasquale's was excellent and should not be missed. The optional tours to Pompeii/Vesuvius and Ravello are expensive due to the cost of the minibus. The views on this trip are stupendous and we were fortunate that the bad weather of the first day improved. The only downside is the departures from Gatwick airport as we live in the north and its a lot harder to get to.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 22 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Penny

Solihull
A great way to get a 'feel' for the Amalfi coast. I definitely want to go back to Capri, Ravello and Pompeii as I didn't get to spend enough time there.
We had a great, supportive, fun group and a very encouraging and knowledgeable Tour Leader (Luke), so the week flew by. I think the grading should be a bit higher as, whilst the walks aren't long, the terrain can be challenging, and it takes a toll even on experienced walkers.
The Agritourismo was a good base and whilst not all the food served was to my taste, there was something for everyone at each meal.
Highly recommended!
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2016
Published on: 17 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Pam

Leeds
Stunning walking, although a lot of steps so poles are a definite asset.
The food at the agritourismo is delicious, the wine tasting night being exceptional and well worth the money.
The Ferriere National Park was my favourite walk, but all were excellent for length, variety and scenery. Try to get up the Vallone di Ferriere when having free time in Amalfi, a lovely walk.
The optional visit to Ravello is certainly a must, with the gardens of the Villa Cimbrone highly recommended. However the price of the private bus was way over the top, Explore sort that out!
Brilliant trip, with the usual high standard in tour guide.
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2016
Published on: 08 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Carol

Bristol
The scenery was fantastic, wonderful views of mountains and coast. This part of Italy is like nowhere else I have been. The steep tree covered hillsides reminded me of a rainforest, but also a bit like the Alps. Great walks, just the right length and difficulty, plenty of time to look at plants and flowers and views. Explore Leader did a great job identifying birds and plants, and coping with our different walking speeds and various physical difficulties. Enjoyed final day trip to Ravello, and all the walks. Food and accommodation excellent, friendly hosts and good home cooked food.
Be prepared for all weathers - we had heavy showers and it was cold enough to see your breath early morning or late afternoon due to altitude (we were there last week in April). Make sure boots and jacket are waterproof! Sea mist also possible, although it does clear.

Trip to Pompei and Vesuvius worked out a bit expensive- 55 Euro for minibus plus 13 and 10 entrance fees.
Look out for cute lizards and beautiful butterflies.
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2016
Published on: 01 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Edwina

London
The first and foremost highlight of the tour was our tour leader, Joe, who was excellent. He is knowledgeable, highly experienced, warm, friendly, very helpful, encouraging and responsible, taking care to judge the ability of each member of the group and adapt and adjust our itineraries accordingly; he is great company, funny and charming. He also tracked our walks with his GPS system so that we could download them to Google Earth and show family and friends exactly where we had been - with great pride and a sense of achievement. A real bonus! He also took hundreds of photos to share with the whole group via Dropbox. Thank you, Joe.

The second highlight was the breathtakingly beautiful Amalfi coastline itself; and the itineraries that took advantage of it. The perfume of jasmine and broom and the colour of wild woodland flowers were with us every step of the way. Be warned, the Amalfi coast walks include a lot of steps, some man made and easy to navigate, others rocky and uneven, so although the distances we walked were not huge the energy used was considerable! But we emerged mentally relaxed and physically stronger.

Highlight number 3 was the agriturismo, Luna d'Agerola, run by a local family who served much of their own produce at our excellent dinners. Although fairly basic, the accommodation provided all we needed, except perhaps consistently hot water, but it wasn't a major factor. Our room was good, with a big double bed and a single and plenty of storage. It was particularly good to have the same base for the entire week, and still enjoy a really varied landscape. Apart from the cliffs and woods of the coastal region, we visited Capri, Vesuvius, Pompeii, Amalfi, Atrani, various small villages, and Ravello. (Ravello and Pompeii/Vesuvius were extra options.)

Highlight number 4 - we were with a wonderful group of people. I went with my (grown up) daughter and we both enjoyed the great company. Thank you to Steve, Jacky, Pauline, Roy, Sue, Sue, Louisa, Colin, Anna and Joanna.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Ipswich
Very good trip. Lovely group of people, group gelled well. Room comfortable but a kettle and mugs to make a hot drink would have been nice. Food was nice but I expected more fresh ingredients, particularly vegetables. I know it is early in the season but local shops sold a wide variety of vegetables/salads. Hot plates would have been appreciated so that food stayed warmer. Wine tasting evening was lovely, I think this option should be highlighted on the itinerary with the cost to help with budgeting.
My highlights were the Wed and Friday walks, wine tasting meal, meal in Amalfi and trip to Ravello on Saturday. Going to Ravello is highly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

In spite of the bad weather, nothing stopped our group enjoying moments together. 2 out of 8 days were sunshine, rest were gusty wind, rain and thunderstorm. Most of us missed Ferriere National Park, those who went brought back beautiful pictures to share with us. I will always remembered and missed Agriturismo, Pasquale, drinking & jokes sessions, boat ride, bus broke down adventure , swimming in Positano, Mount Vesuvious, Amalfi, Walk of the Gods with my travel buddies.
Confirmed traveller: 02 November 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Tunbridge Wells
We were fortunate to find ourselves in a fantastic walking group, although while this was our first time we learned that many others had taken several tours, so maybe it's always like this. We loved it anyway. The accommodation was basic (to be expected) but more than adequate and could only have been improved within budget but provision of tea and coffee making facilities. The walking was brilliant; just challenging enough to let you know you'd been somewhere and always interesting, especially on Capri. Our leader was first class, he exceeded our expectations, especially on the technology front and quietly went about his business of making sure everyone had a safe and enjoyable experience.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 12 April 2016