It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
590 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Amalfi Coast Walking NAW

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Amalfi Coast Walking

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Amalfi Coast Walking trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Amalfi Coast Walking reviews verified by Reevoo

81 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Amalfi Coast WalkingScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 81 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Great Missenden
Fantastic active holiday with plenty to see and do, mix of country, village and town. Lots of walking along with some free time. Excellent advice from very helpful and knowledgable leader to best use our free time.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 06 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Carol

Farnham
Yet another successful Explore trip completed. Beautiful location, varied walks, a good mixed. A good mixed group of 12 which is the optimum size. Agroturismo was excellent; the quality of the food and the friendliness of the owners were exceptional. Only "gripe" was the tour leader undersold the (optional) Pompei trip and so many of the group opted for an earlier than suggested return, and as it was an expensive option we would have preferred to make use of the whole time available. It would have been better to just say the return time. Possibly a bit too much time in tourist seasideseaside resorts, but we were a fast group so I expect a slower group may need more time for walking. Over all a great week and one to be recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2016
Published on: 21 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Catherine

Forhill
This is a very enjoyable trip, with an itinerary that provides a cocktail of stunning views, magical forest, vibrant towns and boat-travel. The walks are satisfyingly challenging within the 'easy-moderate' range, but everyone was able to keep up and no one gelt that they had been left behind or held the group up. All the walks were well-paced, with stops for water, views and breath as appropriate.
The food and drink at the Luna d'Agerola agriturismo was fresh, excellent and varied, fueling us well for our walks. Watch out for the limoncello!!
The only negative was that the optional trip to Ravello on the last day did not run as only two of us were interested- this possibility could have been made clearer from the outset in order to lessen the disappointment.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 11 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Raymond

Cape Town , South Africe
We really enjoyed the trip and the area is spectacular.
The accommodation was good and the host family delightful.
Nigel Lewis was excellent and we had the good luck to have Ian and Fiona in training as well. My wife struggled with some of the walks and they were very supportive.
The other people on the tour were good fun and always cheerful.
The trips to Capri, Pompei and Ravello wee an interesting contrast to the walking days.
Only criticism was that the first days walk was a bit too long and ends with a long uninteresting trek along public roads. A cafe break after coming off the mountain near the tunnel exit would have made the end more bearable.
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 16 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Mary

Nailsworth, Glos.
Your leader Nigel, I would say, is one of your best assets. I've worked with groups a lot and found him highly skilled, thoughtful of everyone's needs, safe, cheerful and entertaining. Delightful company all week.
The highlights for me were the Path of the Gods, and equally the walk high up that Nigel calls his equal favourite. Amalfi and Positano and Capri towns didn't light my fire - too touristy, though I recommend swimming at Positano for the view of the town from the sea.

Pompeii was good, and Vesuvius a treat for this volcano lover! I loved the optional trip to Ravello.

I gave accommodation an 8 because the food was not great for a vegetarian, unimaginative, and not an equal to the carnivore's meals! By the end of the week I was so bored with the lunch of omelette roll (I don't like smoked cheese so that was the only other option). I despair sometimes, get charged the same and it feels like it's just a tag on for the caterers. I've had a similar experience in Portugal.
A chance to make a tea in the room would be good as there was no relaxed common area for drinks in colder weather. The terrace was not usable on this early trip because of the chill.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Steven

Braintree
Good balance of both easy and moderate walks, and interesting visits to Capri, Pompeii and Vesuvius. Best walk was the 'Walk of the Gods' to Positano. Excellent food and hospitality at the Agriturismo - our base in San Lazzaro. Knowledgeable and always helpful Tour Leader - Nigel.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 30 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Marianne

Hove
A really relaxing holiday with a good mix of walks amongst some stunning scenery. The accommodation was comfortable, and we ate well with freshly cooked food served by the friendly family. The wine tasting and four course meal were yet another enjoyable experience.
The highlights of the trip the were the walk in the National Park and the legendary Walk of the Gods, where the views along the coast were quite spectacular. Because of the amount of steps involved, and some of the uneven ground, poles are certainly an asset, though the walks themselves are accurately described as easy to moderate.
Nigel, our leader was yet another highlight. ! He was very knowledgable, and his enthusiasm was infectious, as was his sense of humour! He was also mindful of the varying needs and abilities of the group, and it was nice to be assured that cake didn't actually contain any calories!

The optional trip on he last day to Ravello makes a great end to the week, where the Rufolo villa is a must to visit as the gardens are stunning. We actually preferred it to the larger ( and more expensive) villa Cimbrone. Food prices in the main square are reasonable, and the town was less less crowded and 'touristy' than Positano.

A couple of tips:

*The weather can change suddenly from rain to sun, and evenings can be chilly, so be prepared to pack a selection of clothing items.

*Be warned that a fresh orange drink can cost €8 overlooking the bay in Capri. Much better value in Nocelle, a picturesque stopping point on The Walk of the Gods, where it's only €2 and much nicer!

* Allow sufficient time to get from Pompeii to the meeting point for the bus to go to Vesuvious. Time does pass quickly as there's so much to see. we missed it by about five minutes, though they do admit you back into Pompeii if you've still got your ticket and look pathetic! Also, , make sure you pick up a map of the layout and brochure describing the location of the buildings before you go through, as there aren't any inside.

* Finally, and pretty obvious. . Don't forget a camera, as you won't find better views!!
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 31 May 2016