It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
541 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Similar, but less expensive:

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Amalfi Coast Walking NAW

Visiting: Italy
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Amalfi from the pier
  • Agerola Plain
  • Ferriere National Park
  • Scenic walks
  • Amalfi Valley from Ferriere Nationak Park
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
  • Trek Grade: Easy to Moderate
 

Book now!

19 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Amalfi Coast Walking tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Pamela

Tour Name

Amalfi coast walking

Tour Code

NAW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The highlight for me was the stunning combination of high level walking in the sunshine with wonderful sea views and the richness and variety of wild flowers at this time of year. Walking on Capri was a highlight for me for this reason. However it is hard to beat the visit to Vesuvius and Pompeii for a really memorable day!

Tour Leader Name

Gary Daines

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Gary was an excellent tour leader. He managed the group with just the right amount of discreet organisation,used his excellent sense of humour, was able to chat with everyone and knew his walking routes in detail. What was a real surprise to me was that he has an excellent knowledge of wild flowers. As this is one of my interests it was an absolute delight to be able to note and discuss the names of the abundant flora of the Amalfi coast with him. What a treat for me!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I would say that your knees need to be in good order to tackle the several sets of 2000 steps leading from the high level walking down to either Amalfi or Positano at sea level. They are an integral part of the walks and therefore walking poles are a must if you do not have the knees of a younster!!

 
10 , 12/09/13

Name

Nicola

Tour Code

NAW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The countryside and coast surrounding our base really was stunning and a pleasure to walk, every time you turned a corner on the path there was another spectacular view. The cliff edge houses and terraced farmland was a real eye-opener. Pompeii was fascinating and the boat trip to Capri gave a different perspective on the landscape.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent - friendly and knowledgeable.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

During the summer take insect repellent!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

During a very hot summer trip I completed many of the walks in running shoes. With hindsight I wished I'd taken my walking trainers rather than heavy walking boots for kinder cushioning with all the steps down. The equipment list in the trip notes is rather generic - Explore could do with tailoring it for specific times of year as I didn't feel it did a trip at the height of summer justice.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Peter

Tour Code

NAW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

There were many highlights. The company we were with were all friendly and easy to get on with. The agriturismo was exceptional with very good basic food and absolutely lovely homemade cakes. The visit to Vesuvius is interesting as is the Pompeii visit. The coastal scenery is brilliant and the walks easy with nice points of interest.

Tour Leader Name

Barry Lynn

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Barry was brilliant. He was knowledgeable about the area and we felt confident that he knew the walks and terrain around the area. Barry was always willing to help everyone in the group. He was on good terms with the family who run the agriturismo. Overall we were pleased to have barry as our guide.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for many steps on the walks going both up but mainly down.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

This was our first Explore holiday. It is a good one to start with and we are already looking to find a follow up Explore holiday for possibly the summer or next year.

 
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Donald Wilson

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The excellent meals & wine made by using local resources coupled with the friendly family, who spoke little English, at the Luna Agroturismo, San Lazzaro.

Tour Leader Name

Barry Lynn

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very good and caring. This was a difficult assignment for him as some days were foggy & adjustments had to be made. Made helpful comments about the use of walking poles & footholds.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

In March bring warm clothing! I took a light pullover & a heavier one & most of the time outside I wore both, as well as my anorak.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"I repeat what I said on the critique. Explore might consider putting a trip to Salerno on the itinerary, either an additional day or as an alternative to Pompeii/Vesuvious or Capri. Easily accessable from Amalfi by boat or bus the city has enough attractions to enable a 3 hours+ walk & it is much cheaper. We did this on one cloudy day when visibility on the hills was awful."

 
7 , 15/08/13

Name

Marie

Tour Name

Amalfi coast walking

Tour Code

NAW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum - On our trip we were fortunate that everyone wanted to visit Herculaneum instead of Vesuvius and so Barry was able to sort out our trip to both Pompeii and Herculaneum which was fantastic!

Tour Leader Name

Barry

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Barry was great - very knowledgeable and the safety and care of the group was his paramount concern.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

This trip has a lot of walking down steps!! - more than anyone expected. So we were mostly ending each day with 1-2 hours of walking down steps - which was quite tiring! Be prepare and take your poles to help.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

the final day on the Walk of the Gods was a disappointment - we were in high season and it was essentially like a conveyor belt walking along meeting, overtaking and waiting behind other tour groups along the way. Although the scenery was nice it was not an overly enjoyable experience.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Sibyl Ruth

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Walking in the Valle delle Ferriere, with its spectacular views and unusual flora and fauna. We saw a rather large snake!

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Susie was brilliant at looking after us on the walks.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

If you're booking in June, take plenty of light comfortable clothing. Temperatures were above average for the time of year!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The food at Luna d'Agerola was great, as was the ice cream at the cake shop in San Lazzaro.. I went with my husband and 15 year old daughter. We all really enjoyed our stay.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Zsuzsanna Tasnady

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Walking along the ridges above the Amalfi coast seeing all the old colourful towns.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our leader was exceptional, he knew all the information and made it personal for everyone.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure they can manage uneven steps going up and down. There are some 2000 steps down and many hundreds up.

 
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Jennifer

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The walk from San Lazzaro through the National Park to Amalfi; the gorges were terrific. Also, being followed by a pod of dolphins enroute from Capri to Amalfi.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Gary was great; he was very knowledgeable and aware of the differing needs of the group, both in terms of their interests and their physical ability

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take walking poles; the steps do get a bit too much!!!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I and many others in the group were very disappointed in the meals provided by Luna d'Agerola. Your tour notes say that the stay is a "highlight" and that the meals are delicious and include lots of home-grown produce. Well, they weren't and they didn't. The initial lunch provided (admittedly as an "extra") was pasta with sparse tomato paste sauce for which we were charged 6 euros. The 3 course meals were unimaginative and only just adequate. The final meal included PROCESSED PEAS OUT OF A TIN when fresh peas were growing 10 yards away. Not good enough at all

Our Response

Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate your kind comments about Gary.  We’re sorry you were disappointed with the food.  It is Italian rural cooking, rather than restaurant-type meals; but nonetheless it should be made with fresh ingredients.  There also needs to be sufficient quantity for those undertaking long walking days.  We’re addressing both issues with our local staff.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Patricia Blackshaw

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The gardens at Revello, absolutely lovely. Not too busy, most of my photos do not have people on them

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Gary was fantastic - no effort was too great for him. This included lending his walking sticks and carrying extra water for those people who preferred to travel light. He had good knowledge of the local area, fauna and flora and organised a lovely wine tasting evening at the agriturismo - including tasting olive oil, and linonchello etc.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Bring sticks for the long descents down hundreds / thousands of steps. Save weight in your suit case to buy some of the goods from the wine tasting if you are lucky to be in a tour that has this option. Eat lots of Joanna's cakes from the agriturismo - they are superb."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The trip to Capri was excellent.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Jennifer Watkins

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"I didn't go to Pompeii but went to Ravello instead which is a quaint little hilltop town with stunning views and lovely gardens. Have lunch at the Villa Amore, great views and delicious food. Walk in the Ferriere National Park on Day 5. Visit to Capri."

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Gary was a great leader, one of the best. He was professional yet had a great sense of fun. He was very aware of the individual needs of each of the group and always had our safety and enjoyment in mind.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for lots of steps, mostly down! Drink plenty of water, wear at hat and put on your sun protection cream. It can get very hot in the day but is cool at night.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Travelling on the bus from Amalfi is an experience!!

 
10 Nicholas Avery, 09/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The walk from St Lazarro through the Ferreia national park down to Amalfi. Apart from an initial "undulation" the walk was easy with stunning views initially from the cliffs then later into the valleys and finally of Amalfi from land side rather than the more usual shoreline.

Read more
 
10 Clair Smit, 06/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The walk that was supposed to be on Day 5 but we did it in reverse because of a bus strike and walked from Amalfi back to the farm house instead - much to Susie's horror....a very long day and I think we did 17km in total - in the end was it was very rewarding!

Read more
 
10 Pam, 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Staying in the beautiful Agritourismo - it was beautiful, friendly and relaxed, and had a great atmosphere.

Read more
 
8 Jerry, 12/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The farmhouse accomodation and the family running it.

How was your Explore Tour Leader?

Gary was very good, helpful and considerate.

What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?

Although it is graded easy to moderate I found descending long flights of steps a challenge.

Do you have anything else to add?

Pompeii was disappointing, I felt it was very badly organised once inside. I would urge anyone visiting to buy a map before entering the ruins as maps are almost impossible to aquire inside.

Vesuvious was eaqually badly run and felt 'tacky' Unfortunately neither of these shortcomings were within the powers of Explore to correct.

 
8 Angela Nicholl, 11/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

It was all great but the farmhouse and rustic Italian food made us feel at home in Italy.

Read more
 
0 M Evans, 15/05/12
The Amalfi Coast is a beautiful, picturesque part of Italy however, our group was very unfortunate with the weather and it rained (hard) all but one of the days of the week-long trip. This did not stop us walking but did spoil some of the magnificent views. The agri tourismo was not really geared up for cold, wet weather; those of us staying in the terrace rooms and casa rooms were very cold and all of us stuggled to get our wet clothes dry. On the positive side the family that run the agri tourismo were very friendly and tried to help us in any way they could also, the freshly baked cake and red wine they provided were excellent. The highlight for me was meeting the local people whilst travelling on the buses, walking along the various trails and eating in the small, family-run restaurants. The walks were varied and generally on good paths be warned, there are a lot of steps to descend which can be hard on the knees!
 
0 CD, 20/02/12
I was a little apprehensive going to Italy in December, but I'm very glad I went. The weather was glorious and the scenery stunning. The accommodation was great, the hosts very hospitable, delicious home cooked food (especially the desserts) and the home made wine all went down very well! There may be a lot of steps, but if you're relatively fit, you'll handle this tour, the views and gorgeous towns are worth the climbs!  I would advise learning a bit of Italian, it would've been nice to have had chats with our wonderful hosts but we got by.  I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this trip, whatever time of year.
 
0 MB, 18/11/11
An excellent trip led by 2 wonderful guides Georgie and Dan. As a first time Explorer and travelling on my own i was a bit nervous but can honestly say it was one of the best holidays i have been on. The agri tourismo Luna D'agerola was very comfortable and the food was excellent. Cake hot from the oven for breakfast and clementines picked fresh from the tree every morning... who could ask for more? There was a good diversity of walks - both inland and down to the coast and all were very manageable even though the steps down to Amalfi and Positano can take its toll on the knees! A great group of people on the tour made it all the more enjoyable with one of the highlights being the dinner on the final night and the sing song that followed! Highly recommended....the only problem now is where to next?? Thanks Explore for a wonderful holiday. (NAW - 15th Octoebr 2011)
 
0 Anna, 14/06/11
Fantastic, varied itinerary with the highlight being the long walk through spectactular Ferriere National Park. An unexpected highlighted was our very comfortable farmstay, and our very hospitable family who cooked superb tradional Italian meals for the group. My husband's highlight was running up the steps from Amalfi back up to San Lazzarro village in 50 minutes and beating the rest of us on the bus! A brilliant trip recommended for the keen walker wishing to see not only the popular routes such as Pathway of the Gods, but the more remote Ferriere National Park. (NAW - 7th May 2011)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA