It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
606 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Amalfi Coast Walking NAW

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Amalfi Coast Walking

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Amalfi Coast Walking trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Amalfi Coast Walking reviews verified by Reevoo

74 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Amalfi Coast WalkingScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 74 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Raymond

Cape Town , South Africe
We really enjoyed the trip and the area is spectacular.
The accommodation was good and the host family delightful.
Nigel Lewis was excellent and we had the good luck to have Ian and Fiona in training as well. My wife struggled with some of the walks and they were very supportive.
The other people on the tour were good fun and always cheerful.
The trips to Capri, Pompei and Ravello wee an interesting contrast to the walking days.
Only criticism was that the first days walk was a bit too long and ends with a long uninteresting trek along public roads. A cafe break after coming off the mountain near the tunnel exit would have made the end more bearable.
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 16 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Gerard

Sheffield
A brilliant week! Guide Nigel was first class - well organised, very professional ,warm and friendly, and an all-round star - everyone in the group loved him! Accommodation first class. Walks and tours all excellent. Capri and the Pompei/ Vesuvius visits most memorable. Lots of great food and wine. Very highly recommended!
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Marianne

Hove
A really relaxing holiday with a good mix of walks amongst some stunning scenery. The accommodation was comfortable, and we ate well with freshly cooked food served by the friendly family. The wine tasting and four course meal were yet another enjoyable experience.
The highlights of the trip the were the walk in the National Park and the legendary Walk of the Gods, where the views along the coast were quite spectacular. Because of the amount of steps involved, and some of the uneven ground, poles are certainly an asset, though the walks themselves are accurately described as easy to moderate.
Nigel, our leader was yet another highlight. ! He was very knowledgable, and his enthusiasm was infectious, as was his sense of humour! He was also mindful of the varying needs and abilities of the group, and it was nice to be assured that cake didn't actually contain any calories!

The optional trip on he last day to Ravello makes a great end to the week, where the Rufolo villa is a must to visit as the gardens are stunning. We actually preferred it to the larger ( and more expensive) villa Cimbrone. Food prices in the main square are reasonable, and the town was less less crowded and 'touristy' than Positano.

A couple of tips:

*The weather can change suddenly from rain to sun, and evenings can be chilly, so be prepared to pack a selection of clothing items.

*Be warned that a fresh orange drink can cost €8 overlooking the bay in Capri. Much better value in Nocelle, a picturesque stopping point on The Walk of the Gods, where it's only €2 and much nicer!

* Allow sufficient time to get from Pompeii to the meeting point for the bus to go to Vesuvious. Time does pass quickly as there's so much to see. we missed it by about five minutes, though they do admit you back into Pompeii if you've still got your ticket and look pathetic! Also, , make sure you pick up a map of the layout and brochure describing the location of the buildings before you go through, as there aren't any inside.

* Finally, and pretty obvious. . Don't forget a camera, as you won't find better views!!
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 31 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Steven

Braintree
Good balance of both easy and moderate walks, and interesting visits to Capri, Pompeii and Vesuvius. Best walk was the 'Walk of the Gods' to Positano. Excellent food and hospitality at the Agriturismo - our base in San Lazzaro. Knowledgeable and always helpful Tour Leader - Nigel.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 30 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Stephen

Fantastic trip. Good company and food. The Tour Leader Luke went out of his way to make sure everyone had a good time. The walks involved lots of ascents and descents but I was surprised how easily I managed them.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 29 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Mary

Nailsworth, Glos.
Your leader Nigel, I would say, is one of your best assets. I've worked with groups a lot and found him highly skilled, thoughtful of everyone's needs, safe, cheerful and entertaining. Delightful company all week.
The highlights for me were the Path of the Gods, and equally the walk high up that Nigel calls his equal favourite. Amalfi and Positano and Capri towns didn't light my fire - too touristy, though I recommend swimming at Positano for the view of the town from the sea.

Pompeii was good, and Vesuvius a treat for this volcano lover! I loved the optional trip to Ravello.

I gave accommodation an 8 because the food was not great for a vegetarian, unimaginative, and not an equal to the carnivore's meals! By the end of the week I was so bored with the lunch of omelette roll (I don't like smoked cheese so that was the only other option). I despair sometimes, get charged the same and it feels like it's just a tag on for the caterers. I've had a similar experience in Portugal.
A chance to make a tea in the room would be good as there was no relaxed common area for drinks in colder weather. The terrace was not usable on this early trip because of the chill.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Brian

Yorkshire
Luke was an excellent guide, very approachable, diplomatic and resourceful. The walks were superb, especially the Ferriere National Park on day 5. The accommodation was comfortable and welcoming with good food and wine. The meal at Pasquale's was excellent and should not be missed. The optional tours to Pompeii/Vesuvius and Ravello are expensive due to the cost of the minibus. The views on this trip are stupendous and we were fortunate that the bad weather of the first day improved. The only downside is the departures from Gatwick airport as we live in the north and its a lot harder to get to.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 22 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Penny

Solihull
A great way to get a 'feel' for the Amalfi coast. I definitely want to go back to Capri, Ravello and Pompeii as I didn't get to spend enough time there.
We had a great, supportive, fun group and a very encouraging and knowledgeable Tour Leader (Luke), so the week flew by. I think the grading should be a bit higher as, whilst the walks aren't long, the terrain can be challenging, and it takes a toll even on experienced walkers.
The Agritourismo was a good base and whilst not all the food served was to my taste, there was something for everyone at each meal.
Highly recommended!
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2016
Published on: 17 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Pam

Leeds
Stunning walking, although a lot of steps so poles are a definite asset.
The food at the agritourismo is delicious, the wine tasting night being exceptional and well worth the money.
The Ferriere National Park was my favourite walk, but all were excellent for length, variety and scenery. Try to get up the Vallone di Ferriere when having free time in Amalfi, a lovely walk.
The optional visit to Ravello is certainly a must, with the gardens of the Villa Cimbrone highly recommended. However the price of the private bus was way over the top, Explore sort that out!
Brilliant trip, with the usual high standard in tour guide.
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2016
Published on: 08 May 2016