It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Amalfi Coast Walking NAW

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Amalfi Coast Walking

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Amalfi Coast Walking trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Amalfi Coast Walking reviews verified by reevooReevoo

101 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Amalfi Coast WalkingScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 101 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Somerset
Every day of this tour was a highlight with beauty at every turn, be it the architecture or the stunning beauty of the natural environment. Joe, our tour leader was great, he was very knowledgeable and really took care of the whole group, having a good understanding of the needs and capabilities of each group member. If you like was you read in the explore tour description, you won't be disappointed!
Confirmed traveller: 29 October 2016
Published on: 05 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Andrew

Bideford
We had a most enjoyable holiday. Our tour leader, Joe was extremely companionable, well informed and professional. The itinerary was exactly as promised. The accommodation was clean and perfectly satisfactory.
Our only problem was with the evening meals. Whereas on a group holiday these should be a highlight of the day I'm afraid the meals were a dreadful let down. It was sub school meal fare with an almost complete absence of any Italian influence. The last meal consisted of a piece of fish that had been boiled. It was still jelly like and very unappealing. To accompany this we had carrots (cold), tinned sweetcorn and tinned peas. No sauce. Other meals during the week were pretty similar. I do think that Explore ought to have a serious word with the owners in order to seek some improvements. I exclude from any criticism the delicious cakes and pastries prepared by Giovanna.
Confirmed traveller: 29 October 2016
Published on: 03 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Norwich
Fabulous itinerary with a good variety of walks. Amazing scenery and our guide was very knowledgable about the area and much of its history.
Confirmed traveller: 29 October 2016
Published on: 01 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Mandy

London
Great week of walking around the Amalfi coastal area with optional trips to Pompeii and Ravello. The transport costs for the optional trips are high, but both were enjoyable and there isn't much else to do in the area, so either budget for them before you go or take a good book to read and have a relaxing day instead.
The walks were scenic, but a few of the group struggled with the 'sheer drops', the tour leader was very good with them, so they had a great sense of achievement.
The food was local Italian fare, the homemade cakes were great, best taken with packed lunch rather than breakfast!
Confirmed traveller: 29 October 2016
Published on: 31 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michele

Sheffield
Lovely trip,walking quite strenuous ,so you need to be reasonably fit. Our guide Joe Mallia was excellent ,very knowledgable ,helpful and an all round nice guy. Fabulous scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 22 October 2016
Published on: 28 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

John

Nottingham
Joe worked hard to make our stay enjoyable.

The family at l'una agerola made us all very welcome.

Valentino was particularly helpful.
Confirmed traveller: 14 October 2016
Published on: 22 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Anthea

Exeter
It was a good trip, mainly because it was a great group and Luke was an excellent leader. The best walk was the one from San Lazzaro to Amalfi through the Ferriere National Park. The walk down the steps to Amalfi wasn't great.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 18 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Hancock

Cirencester
Luke was very good at leading the walks, and keeping to the itinerary, but on my previous trips with Explore, the leader has been a native of the country, providing information about the country, its history, culture, natural history etc. - which has added a dimension that I felt was missing on this trip.

As all the walks, with the exception of that on day 2 are graded as "moderate", and the walk down 2000+ steps to Amalfi on day 2 is hard on the legs, should the trip be graded as "moderate"?

It was a good group, and the accommodation, and food there, was excellent. The highlight of the trip has to be the Walk of the Gods - the day being marred only by the rather boring descent and walk along the road from Nocelle to Positano.

As an aside, Luke was going to circulate the email addresses of the members of the group, but I have not received this.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 14 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Frank

Colyford
Great tour with a great leader. We enjoyed it all.
Food and accommodation was excellent, however it would have been nice to be able to access to drinks, tea and coffee after long days out. On the last day we had time to have a drink at the hotel before we left for the airport, but no one there to provide one.
Enjoyed the mix of walking and days out to Pompeii,Vesuvius and Capri.
I think it could be called the " holiday of steps ", walking down to Amalfi on day 2 nearly crippled quite a few of us!!
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Gideon

Cape Town
A really great hike and well within the capabilities of any reasonably fit person.
Every day was good and led by a top leader in Luke.
Suggest hiking boots as opposed to walking boots.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016