It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Arabian Sands OM

Visiting: Oman
Tour Duration 9 Days
  • Camping in the Wahiba Sands
  • Passing Nomads
  • Nizwa Fort
  • Dhow cruise
  • Viewing an Oasis
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

7 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Arabian Sands tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Susanna Daw

Tour Name

Arabian Sands

Tour Code

OM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

This is a great short introduction to some of the highlights of Oman. You get sea, sand, sun and visits to some of the forts, souks, mosques and scenery of the country. The highlights were being woken up by turtles laying eggs right outside out tents on the beach, camping amongst the sand dunes, and visiting some wonderful sites. The scenery amongst the wadis and mountains was an unexpected bonus.

Tour Leader Name

Ahmed

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

We had a team of four, including the leader, a great cook and the drivers. They looked after everyone extremely well.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I would recommend trying to go a day earlier as we got off the plane and were straight on the road for three nights bush camping. If you need your home comforts this is not the trip for you as there are long drives and also a night spent sleeping on the deck of a very basic dhow (it did have one toilet!). However, you do get to see a varied section of the country. If you want to venture further south you need a longer trip.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

A great short break, especially after our never ending winter. It left me feeling refreshed and with lots of fantastic photos.

 
10 , 27/11/13

Name

Steve Turner

Tour Name

Arabian Sands

Tour Code

OM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The whole desert experience, Pitching camp, lighting fires, good company,good food, millions of stars, the endless sands etc... etc... Managed to get away from the pressures of everyday life and reduce everything to a backpack, a sleeping bag, a tent and the next meal. It was utterly liberating and didn't last long enough. I can't imagine the Bedu stress about energy prices, crime and litter.

Tour Leader Name

Dee Brown

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Dee had excellent knowledge of the tour and worked incredibly well with the drivers and local guides

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Expect to be on the go pretty much the whole time. Pack as little as you can and then pack even less. You don't need much clothing for this tour, just light, practical outdoor wear, a sunhat and a swimming suit. Daft as it sounds I was disappointed when we arrived at hotels. Sleeping under the stars in the desert is far more fun.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I'd recommend this trip to anyone who has a youthful spirit, regardless of age (one of our party was 78).
Oman totally won me over. There's no Taj Mahal, Grand Canyon or Machu Pichu. What there is is a generosity of spirit, a welcome that is warm and sincere and a country that beguiles and captivates. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

 
8 Peter, 11/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Wahiba Sands

Read more
 
10 Edmund de Burgh, 01/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Driving up the high dunes in our 4X4 to our third camp site. We were the only ones up over looking the valley. Before the drive we said "impossible" but our expert drivers took it in their stride. We had dinner under the clear skies - sardines that our guide got from the Bedouin fishermen straight from the fishing boat that morning and cooked in a fire pit as we sat around the blazing fire. What could be better?

Read more
 
10 Johnanna Jane Free, 27/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

THERE WERE SO MANY HIGHLIGHTS. WHAT A GREAT TOUR.CAMPING ON WAHIBA SANDS, SITTING ON THE DECK OF THE DHOW IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT WATCHING THE SHOOTING STARS STREAK ACROSS THE SKY AND THE PICNIC UNDER THE LONE TREE..... AND MANY MORE. A TRIP WELL WORTH GOING ON, AND ALWAYS THE GUIDE DRIVERS AND TRAVELLING COMPANIONS THE BEST.

Read more
 
8 Martin Green, 26/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Without doubt, the night spent on the dhow was magical. The peace and tranquility (after the beach parties had parties had gone to sleep) was wonderful. The sea was blue and very clear for those snorkelling and it was a great experience.

Read more
Our Response

We apologise for the fact that this had not been verified in advance, and we will be monitoring any future events/festivals so this does not happen again.

 
0 Cathy Bee, 21/09/10
When my 5 star-only friend agreed to come with me on the “Arabian Sands” trip to Oman I decided to keep some of the itinerary on a strictly need to know basis. I needn't have worried. 3 days free camping along the coast from Muscat to Sur and on into to the Wahiba sands is simply the perfect way to experience this fascinating and beautiful country. As we journeyed from the modern facilities of our luxurious Muscat hotel to the practical simplicity of the nomadic Bedu lifestyle, from the early morning sunrise on Finns Beach to home cooked campfire suppers in the middle of golden sand dunes, we were immersed in Oman, ancient and modern. The cultural renovation programme under the current Sultan gives many of the sites visited a veneer of newness, but scratch just a little under this surface and Omani pride in their long history is soon revealed. On first sight the “Revlon bronze” walls of the Jabrin Fort at Nizwa seem too pristine for it’s 17th century origins but wandering through the sensitively restored rooms or looking down from the rooftop on the bustling town below soon evokes a sense of what it would have been like to live and fight there 300 years previously. The sprawling Nizwa souq is also newly built but it too conjures up echoes of the past as traditionally dressed men haggle over the price of goats at the bustling, weekly market. Moving inland the breathtaking vistas of the “grand canyon” seen en route through the mountains are worth every minute of the long 4 wheel drive journey on unmade roads and steep mountain tracks necessary to get to the top of Jebel Shams: The Mountain of the Sun. Descending from the mountains back to Muscat, motorways and the 21st century, we felt that in 9 days we had really got under the skin of this ancient and welcoming place. Like every one else I know that has visited the Sultanate, including my 5 star friend, we left with the promise that we would be coming back. (OM- 3rd April 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA