It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
605 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Arabian Sands OM

Visiting: Oman
Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for Arabian Sands

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Arabian Sands tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Arabian Sands reviews verified by Reevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Arabian SandsScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Hamra village - I loved the historic buildings in honey-coloured brick. It felt like a deserted film set. Camping in the dunes - peaceful.Swimming just yards from the tents at Finn's Beach.The night on the dhow - exotic and restful.The drive from Nizwa to Muscat through the mountains - it felt so remote and I felt so intrepid!The souks - great shopping opportunities - dishdashas, frankincense, spices, dates. Sunil was a perfect guide - knowledgeable, attentive, sensitive, caring, considerate and flexible. He was a delight. He even organised an impromptu pre-breakfast yoga session on the beach for us.
Confirmed traveller: 10 July 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Clive

Zurich
Camping in the desert; the Grand Mosque in Muscat; the Oman 'Grand Canyon'; 'Wadi-bashing'; learning about the history and culture of Oman; goat market in Nizwa.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Lucy

Hertfordshire
Actually the highlight was spending an evening on turtle beach near Sur watching turtles nesting and hatching. We paid for and organised this ourselves but I can't understand why Explore doesn't include this, at least as an optional extra?!
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 08 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Karen

Fairfax, VA
I don't think I could pick out one particular highlight. It was like every day was a brand new adventure. The camping was both amazing and tough (if you are not used to camping). All 3 camping spots had something special to offer. At Finn's beach we got to swim in the warm waters of the Gulf of Oman and go to sleep to the sound of its waves. At the second camping spot we were treated to wonderful vistas and serenaded by a singing sand dune as we ran down to the beach. The last camping site was deep in the Wahiba Sands desert where we slept surrounded by huge dunes.

The cooks kept us well fed during the camping portion of the trip. But if you go in September, it is HOT. Also keep in mind that you are sleeping in small Igloo tents and there are no facilities at the camp sites.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 16 October 2015
(7 out of 10)

Richard

Doha
Highlights were visiting the grand canyon at Jebel Shams, Bahla Fort near Nizwa and the off road return through Wadi Bani Awf to Muscat.
Tips for others are make sure that they understand that toilet facilities are non-existent during the desert camping - so bring plenty of wet wipes!
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(2 out of 10)

Sharni

Australia
The tour itself was great- camping in beautiful locations, driving through amazing scenery and experiencing some of the best parts of Oman.
If you're looking to go on this trip take your own sleeping bag as the ones provided were quite old and dirty, and also carry your valuables with you at all times. Valuables left with the local staff are not safe and secure so I'd suggest checking on your valuables constantly throughout the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015

Thank you for your comments. We would like to reassure you that this was an isolated incident and appropriate steps have been taken to ensure there will not be a repeat occurrence. Though we agree it is advisable to keep a watchful eye on any personal effects and valuables while traveling abroad.

(10 out of 10)

Peter

Edenbridge
Action packed holiday with stunning scenery and excellent food. Loved going round the boat yard watching the dhows being assembled. The sunrises over the Arabian Sea and sunsets over the desert were some of the best I have seen. There are so many stars in the sky at night that an app for your phone or tablet to help with identification is a must!
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Dursley Glos
I went on this trip in Dec. 2014. The hotels we stayed in were good but I found the camping experience rather primitive no toilets or water for washing- maybe stay atleast 1 night in a proper campsite next time? However the food was excellent in the camp site and on the dhow-in fact everywhere we stopped we had great food. Our driver was brilliant and the guide was very well organised.I loved Oman the people are very friendly and there is so much variety in the landscape. I would love to go again
Confirmed traveller: 29 December 2014
Published on: 01 October 2015
(6 out of 10)

Diana

Dubai
It was a most enjoyable experience as it was my first time doing a holiday with other people.
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015