It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Arabian Sands OM

Visiting: Oman
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Arabian Sands

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Arabian Sands trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Arabian Sands reviews verified by reevooReevoo

51 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Arabian SandsScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 51 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Andrew

Bath
An excellent trip giving a good overview of Oman.

Tour leader Sunil was well organised, informative, approachable, and personable.

Hotels were fine. Camping would have benefited from better mattresses. You don't need walking boots and bags went in the vehicles (please update the trip notes.).
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 25 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Denise

Robertsbridge
Mattresses in the desert were to thin with hardly any pillow & they were dirty. The tour leader Sunill was excellent helpful & always had cold water on tap.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017

Hi Denise, thanks for your feedback, glad you had a great time in Oman with Sunil. I’m sorry that your mattress was dirty, this is obviously unacceptable and we have followed up with our team in Oman to ensure it doesn’t happen again.

(7 out of 10)

Janet

Twickenham
Not much to add to the reviews already posted. We had exceptionally hot weather in early April, so be prepared for temperatures in the high 30s/low 40s if you travel in the early or late season. The tour leader gave an estimate of the cost of meals (50-60 rials) that was a bit on the high side, so don't exchange too much money at the start: there are exchange opportunities later in the tour if you run short. He will, though, want the tip kitty money (15 rials per person) in cash and in rials at the initial briefing, so have currency ready rather than sterling.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 18 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Radhika

Las Vegas
Great trip, beautiful country, hospitable people, fun adventures, good itinerary and wonderful memories made. Highly recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 31 March 2017
(5 out of 10)

Kathleen

London
Talking to other members of the trip, they booked it because it is the only one you offer to Oman. However, the tour wasn't one thing or another - culture/walking/camping etc - to suit the diverse needs/requirements of the group.

For me, our visit to Bahla fort was one of the highlights of the trip. Can't believe you hadn't factored it into the itinerary. We only got their because the original off road route back to Muscat was deemed unsafe due to the rain.

Plus side of the trip was our excellent tour leader Sunil. I would definitely go on another of his trips. Always polite, helpful, smiling and very competent in his handling of difficult situations.

Finally, it is my understanding that you try to 'best match' those who will be sharing a room. You failed big time on this trip. To such an extent that I was planning on booking another trip on my return but now feel that I need time to talk myself into it as I must consider the extra cost of paying for a single room supplement.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 30 March 2017

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your time with Sunil, he always gets great feedback and is a real ambassador for Explore. We hadn’t included Bahla Fort as we already visit Nizwa Fort on the itinerary, so decided to spend time in the mountains instead. However, we will speak to Sunil and our local guides for their feedback on Bahla and whether it should be included. I am sorry that you feel that we didn’t match you well with your roommate, we do try our best and very rarely receive complaints about this. Hopefully, next time you'll have a better experience, or choose the single room option.

(8 out of 10)

Alison

Eastbourne
Oman is a beautiful country: the scenery is stunning and the people are really friendly. The two hotels in Muscat and Nizwa were fine, and I loved the three nights wild camping in the desert. The tents were quite small for two people but I was on my own so very comfortable. Our guide, Sunil, was excellent. The only drawback for me was that the holiday was rather too sedentary. Transport in 4WD cars was very good, the views were fantastic and there were plenty of loo stops, but I would have liked a bit more opportunity to walk; the few walks we had were just short strolls. I knew this when I booked and, for a short (8-day) holiday, I felt the itinerary was very good; we certainly saw a lot.
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2017
Published on: 23 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Raywyn

Llanarth, Ceredigion
Sunil the tour leader was terrific. The drivers were great and nice people but wanted to drive faster and closer to the car in front than most of us wanted, a bit scary in the mountains! However the trip was terrific with a wide range of experiences from desert to mountain to urban areas. The camping was quite an experience with 3 different venues. The actual tent was rather small for 2 and one tent per person would have been great. The staff who fed and prepared each tent set up were superb. There wasn't really a need for an inner sleeping sheet as bags and sheets were provided. Also no need for walking boots as trainers were fine.
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2017
Published on: 05 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Christine

Camberley
Great leader very caring, and professional. Tour a good mix between towns and desert and amazing scenery Very good careful drivers especially on the steep mountain passes Only criticism would be to have better camping equipment or to take your own as "mattress"was actually just a sun-lounger top, which for 3 nights was quite challenging for people of advancing years!!
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2017
Published on: 21 February 2017
(7 out of 10)

Rachael

Southampton
The tour was good - no massive highlights but a good mixture of experiences and a slower pace. Highlights the being the Market in Nizmir and the last day 4 wheel drive trip down the canyon. Also the camping in the desert. The food the guys made was great.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 06 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Tessa

Nr Marlborough
An excellent week packed full of adventure, and surprises. Extremely well organised, with courteous and friendly Leader and Drivers. Water available in bottles for us all the time. Only thing missing was a hot drink on arrival at camp!
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 04 January 2017