It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
591 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Arabian Sands OM

Visiting: Oman
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Arabian Sands

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Arabian Sands trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Arabian Sands reviews verified by Reevoo

26 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Arabian SandsScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 26 reviews
(9 out of 10)

William

Durham
An excellent short tour with an accomplished and highly efficient tour leader Sunil. A varied and busy itinerary though it inevitably involved long days and a great deal of off-road driving. The trip notes should be studied carefully before booking - they mean exactly what they say. Hotels were more than acceptable but the 3 nights camping are not for the faint hearted or unprepared. This is 'wild' camping in basic conditions (dig your own loo and if you want a clean sleeping bag bring your own!) though meals are prepared by the support crew who also set up and dismantled each camp.

One thing the trip notes do NOT make clear is that Oman is effectively a 'dry' country and alcohol is only available in a few licensed restaurants. If that is a problem then think again about going at all.

Reviews about previous trips seem to be varied but the unfavourable ones make it plain that many people took far too much for granted and either ignored what the trip notes say or didn't even bother to study them at all. Some reviewers even seem to belong to a different planet and I found it hard to accept we had been on the same tour at all. Keep an open mind, be prepared to adapt but don't, whatever you do, expect luxury, butler service or 5 star cuisine. With the right attitude this will be a wonderful experience you are unlikely ever to forget but you need to have that attitude first.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Margaret

Durham
An excellent holiday which was true to the trip notes and so we expected rough camping, sand, heat and primitive conditions. It all added to the enjoyment of the holiday. Stunning scenery along the coast and also in the ever changing desert. The drivers were exceptional in their skill on high mountain passes and off road driving.
A holiday certainly to be recommended before it becomes more of a tourist attraction enhanced by Sunil, our excellent tour guide.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Bree

London
Fab trip that packs a lot into a short space of time and is a great mix of desert, beach, culture and city. I loved the wild camping under the stars. The goat market at Niswas was also fabulous! It's all over by around 11am so do that first and stay a while!
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Paolo

Liverpool
An excellent tour. Tour leader Sunil was excellent, the group was good company.
Hotels always always nice.

Main shortcomings:
1. too many nights camping in uncomfortable tents with no toilet/shower. One or 2 nights could very easily be replaced by hotels within a 45 min drive (e.g. night 1 - on the beach, and night 3 - in the desert).
2. early morning starts not strictly necessary, considering the day would often finish at 3-4pm
3. some key destinations missing, in particular Balha Fort near Nizwa (we had to go by taxi)
Confirmed traveller: 28 March 2016
Published on: 31 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Overall the trip was very good.

I would have liked to have explored Muscat a little more with the tour as we only really got to see the palace and the grand mosque.

A tip is to be prepared for 3 days basic camping and some early mornings.
Confirmed traveller: 28 March 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Paul

The trip was relaxed, and covered a lot of ground in 4x4's, with little walking. The camping was an experience, as we had high winds and some rain, but this was very unusual. The second and third nights in the dunes were the best if your a sand lover. Oman is well developed, so not the best country for antiquities, but pleasant all the same.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 30 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Olwen

Southampton
Sunil was a lovely tour leader, always checking that everyone was enjoying the trip. He was at the end of a long tour so his enthusiasm was commendable. He adjusted the itinerary to make sure we made the most of the time available. On the third night camping in the desert, it rained hard so he had to take the decision of whether to stay or pack up everything and go to a hotel 25 miles away - the tents weren't up to the adverse conditions and even the best ones leaked, but that was the responsibility of the local agent, not Sunil. We travelled in very comfortable 4 wheel drive vehicles and the drivers were really good.
The highlights for me were Muscat, camping in the desert and Nizwa.

Tips:
1. There is no need to take a sleeping bag as one will be provided if you need one. We were all given a sheet to sleep in which was perfectly adequate.
2. The Explore dossier says that the cost of a visa is 20 rials - this is incorrect as the cost is 5 rials.
3. Water is provided so don't factor this into your costings.
4. No need to bring walking boots - trainers are quite adequate.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Angie

London
Loved the off road driving and the different scenery. Really enjoyed Nizwa and visiting the souks and watching people as the goats were being paraded. The sand dunes were amazing. Don't want to put people off the trip but think they should be aware that it is VERY basic camping, in other countries you would have expected a toilet in the nearby area but must admit that we were lucky to have visited the cleanest public toilets in the surrounding areas so that was a plus for sure !!! The crew were all so organised and thorough, did a brilliant job !
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

valerie

London
We had a good time despite the weather. I must say that our driver (car number 3) frightened us by driving up to within 3 metres of the car in front at 120 km an hour very often. He really wanted to be a boy racer. He was basically a good driver but this was dangerous.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 08 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Keith

folkestone
Everything ran smoothly and Sunel was always unflappable and efficient. Trip was as described and so no surprises. Drivers good and carefull.

Camp sites and even the desert areas we stopped at had rubbish scattered around - an Omani issue and indeed a world problem.

Wadi Shiwi was a concrete road with traffic - perhaps a quieter walk could be found?
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016