It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Arabian Sands OM

Visiting: Oman
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Arabian Sands

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Arabian Sands trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Arabian Sands reviews verified by reevooReevoo

33 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Arabian SandsScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 33 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Sheila

Edinburgh
Highlights :
1.Nizwa market
2.The day and night in the Wahiba sands
3.The Grand mosque
4.Al hamra village
5. The wonderful drivers , chefs and tour leader .

It was a fabulous trip with surprises and great things each day . Sunil worked hard to make sure everyone was happy .

Tips :

The rubbish in the camps - all in one bag ? Is separating recycling ( cans, plastic etc) an option ?
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Graham

Tavira, Portugal.
Don't take too much stuff, the tents are a bit cramped . Take a head torch.

Highlights: Riding the dunes, stary nights, football in the mountains, markets, walking through villages.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 03 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Henry

Nijmegen/Netherlands
I had a great tour; very well organised and nothing went wrong despite of 2 flat tires in the desert. My highlights were; camping in the desert , cattle market in Nizwa and the "of the road" trip from Nizwa to Muscat. I would have loved if there would have been a few walks/hikes in this trip because nature calls for it. Leave out some of Muscat and the visit of Sur and do the hike in wadi shab!
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Michael

Devon
Well its the only country beginning with "O" if, like me, you are working your way through the alphabet. Highlights were definitely the 3 nights wild camping. The locations were all stunning and the food prepared by the travelling chef was the best we had all holiday. Gulf food generally is a bit bland. Sunil our leader was fantastic. Really knowledgeable and helpful. The drivers and the vehicles were also excellent. In the cities the people were very friendly and Oman was generally more westernised than I had imagined. We had no problems wandering around at night and felt completely safe. Other than the landscape there is not much to see however and there was a lot of driving between locations. Don't expect Egypt or Turkey with lots of sites of interest. Not in my top 10 destinations but a very good tour nonetheless.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Helen

Very good, excellent leader and drivers. Highlights desert and sink hole. Down side tents were in poor condition and definitely not big enough for two
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 03 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Brian

East Grinstead
An excellent tour package with a varied and interesting programme.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 22 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Mark

Stratford upon Avon
Excellent, informative and interesting tour. Our first with Explore. Tour guide Sunil was a lovely guy and tried to look after everyone's interests. Super itinerary, mixed locations and felt we really experienced something of the real Oman in the company of companionable fellow travellers . Thoroughly enjoyable.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 21 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Bree

London
Fab trip that packs a lot into a short space of time and is a great mix of desert, beach, culture and city. I loved the wild camping under the stars. The goat market at Niswas was also fabulous! It's all over by around 11am so do that first and stay a while!
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Margaret

Durham
An excellent holiday which was true to the trip notes and so we expected rough camping, sand, heat and primitive conditions. It all added to the enjoyment of the holiday. Stunning scenery along the coast and also in the ever changing desert. The drivers were exceptional in their skill on high mountain passes and off road driving.
A holiday certainly to be recommended before it becomes more of a tourist attraction enhanced by Sunil, our excellent tour guide.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

William

Durham
An excellent short tour with an accomplished and highly efficient tour leader Sunil. A varied and busy itinerary though it inevitably involved long days and a great deal of off-road driving. The trip notes should be studied carefully before booking - they mean exactly what they say. Hotels were more than acceptable but the 3 nights camping are not for the faint hearted or unprepared. This is 'wild' camping in basic conditions (dig your own loo and if you want a clean sleeping bag bring your own!) though meals are prepared by the support crew who also set up and dismantled each camp.

One thing the trip notes do NOT make clear is that Oman is effectively a 'dry' country and alcohol is only available in a few licensed restaurants. If that is a problem then think again about going at all.

Reviews about previous trips seem to be varied but the unfavourable ones make it plain that many people took far too much for granted and either ignored what the trip notes say or didn't even bother to study them at all. Some reviewers even seem to belong to a different planet and I found it hard to accept we had been on the same tour at all. Keep an open mind, be prepared to adapt but don't, whatever you do, expect luxury, butler service or 5 star cuisine. With the right attitude this will be a wonderful experience you are unlikely ever to forget but you need to have that attitude first.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016