It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Indochina Encounter QBK

Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Indochina Encounter

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Indochina Encounter trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Indochina Encounter reviews verified by reevooReevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Indochina EncounterScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Jean

Halifax
Good itinerary all hotels of good standard highlights train from Bangkok to Cambodia boarder with constant change of locals selling interesting snacks the trip by boat to Battambang passing floating villages our Cambodian guide who was amazing and took us to great restaurants all with local food and his good humour and insight into local culture
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 26 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Brian

Southam
The tour guides from Cambodia and Vietnam made the tour, they were very knowledgeable, sociable with good communication skills, well organised and kept all the the group informed at all times. Unfortunately the tour guide from Bangkok was quite the opposite.

Sights were simply breathtaking. Food was great and group members who started off as complete strangers ended up more like close friends.

Only advice take your toilet paper and hand cleanser with you in Cambodia.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 25 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michel

Bexleyheath
Overall a very good trip for first timers in the region. Could not ask for more in 8 days.
7 hour boat trip on Tomle sap lake was the highlight of the journey.
Two days at Siam Reap was sufficient for this relatively short trip. Otherwise one could spend a whole week just to see the temples.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Horley
This tour is a fantastic introduction to Indochina, and covers a huge amount. The highlight for me was undoubtedly the Angkor temples. It was also wonderful - though harrowing - to get a first-hand understanding of the sorrows suffered by the Cambodian and Vietnamese peoples in the second half of the last century. Travelling by public transport - though hard work at times - enhances the overall experience. I thoroughly recommend the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 17 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jane

Yateley
Overall I enjoyed the trip, but too much was crammed into what ended up as 9 days. Cambodia leader, Leon, was EXCELLENT - so professional, knew his facts, funny and helpful. Too many 'optional' excursions. The trip was full on, so didn't allow time for us to digest what would be on offer, and paying out all the time - better to charge £100 more and include the trips eg Angkor Wat tours, Killing fields, Cu Chi tunnels etc
Confirmed traveller: 08 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Plymouth
This tour was a great insight into these countries. Cambodia was amazing. I enjoyed the temples, the boat trip across the lake, meeting the people who live in the floating villages and travelling across the land by various modes of transport. The food was wonderful, even the street food and no upset tummy! The killing fields of Cambodia was informative but very harrowing and sad. Not for the faint hearted! The Mekong Delta visit was brilliant and Saigon was very busy and very noisy! Accommodation was fair to good and the guides were all informative and spoke good English.

My only criticism is that the trip was too short to see all the sights I would have liked to see. There was only 1 full day in Vietnam which was just not enough in my mind. The whole trip was fairly fast paced with early starts on most days and not much time to relax as I wanted to see most of the sights and trips suggested. I thoroughly enjoyed it and met some great people. Lao, our guide in Cambodia was fantastic and couldn't do enough to help you. I just wish the trip was for at least 14 days.
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2016
Published on: 24 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Lynn

Brighton
The Cambodia section was excellent and our tour guide Sitar was wonderful: he was very caring and empathetic, and took very good care of us. Also we liked Cambodia as a country, especially Angkor Wat, a real highlight. All the accommodation was very good, all with air con and ensuite, and good sized rooms. The food in Cambodia was lovely, and everything was quite cheap.
We much appreciated the skills of the guide in showing us the key sites, and timing our presence at the bat cave, another memorable sight. Sitar also made sure he showed us the different foods including barbequed rat!
By contrast our guides at Bangkok and Ho Chi Minh City were pretty hopeless.
Us two arrived at Bangkok airport at 9am and were met by someone who took us to the hotel. There were no messages from Explore, and we didn't see our guide till about 3pm. We went looking for a meal and couldn't find anywhere local, so bought lunch at the hotel which wasn't cheap. We met some other Explore tourists, and we all spent wasted time hanging around in the hotel with no guide. Eventually the guide appeared and took us out, but then arranged for us to eat in the hotel in the evening (without asking us) so we had no Thai street food. We suspected the guide had been persuaded by the hotel for us to eat there, as they had few customers.
Then Cambodia was great.
When we met our Vietnam guide he was equally uninterested in us, and was attached to his phone, hunting Pokemon! There was nearly an incident crossing the road when he just walked over and expected us to follow and two women just missed a car. We barely saw him on the second day.
I am mentioning this as it felt like the guides for 1-2 days were not at all interested and didn't provide the service we normally get from Explore.
Ho Chi Minh City had a great market, and the trip to the Mekong Delta showed us a different dimension of Vietnam.
It's a great area to visit and we will do more Explore trips to this area.
Confirmed traveller: 18 August 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016
(7 out of 10)

Calum

Stafford
Whilst I have stated 7 for the explore leader, we had 3 different leaders. the one we had in Cambodia was extremely good, extremely conscientious, he went above what is expected of a tour leader and cannot be faulted, I feel the need to emphasise just how good he was. On the other hand the leaders we had in both thailand and Vietnam were both poor. A couple from the group on the tour had lost there luggage on the way over as it hadn't been transferred from Kuala Lumpur, the tour leader from thailand informed us he had spoken to them on the phone, which when checked with them wasn't the case, he also said that another tour leader would meet them when they had organised reclaiming there luggage to transfer them to the hotel, this wasn't the case and they had to arrange there own transfer, I felt this was poor. Also again in vietnam it seemed that the tour guide had no interest and it seemed as though he didn't want to be there.
Confirmed traveller: 16 August 2016
Published on: 26 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Victoria

York
Flights and airport transfers were well organised and efficient.
Guides were welcoming and friendly. They were extremely knowledgeable about their country and its people and culture.
The itinerary covered a wide variety of opportunities, interests and excursions. We had a very diverse group and the guides tried hard to cater for all needs!
We went on some of the explore optional excursions and these were well led and organised, additional guides were used who were experts in their field.
Accommodation was comfortable, beds were very good and it was lovely to have a few hotels with pools to cool down in after a long dusty day of travel.

Improvements;
Would suggest that the Phnom Penh orientation is done by another means than on foot. It didn't really seem to work as the place is so big!
The places we ate at were lovely but we were often put in a back room where it was just the group, it would have been lovely to mix with locals more, or just a place with more atmosphere.
We chose this holiday because of its optional nature and knew that there would be times when we would want to do our own thing. We're not sure whether the guides are on commission for the number of group members they sign up to the optional excursions (?) and at times it would have been helpful to have alternative options as well as cheaper options which didn't always involve a pre- planned lunch or dinner at the end. To avoid misunderstanding it would be good if you could stress to guides the optional nature of the holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 06 April 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Bryan

Tenterden Kent
Take lots of $$$$$$ ! don't bother trying to buy Cambodian currency
Confirmed traveller: 26 December 2015
Published on: 31 December 2015