It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
543 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Indochina Encounter QBK

Tour Duration 10 Days
  • Buddhas in front of Stupa in Ayutthaya,Thailand
  • Iconic Angkor Wat
  • Life on Tonle Sap Lake
  • Khaosan Road, Bangkok
  • Grand Palace, Bangkok
  • Tour Style: Simply
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Simple
 

Book now!

11 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Indochina Encounter tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Kelly, 23/02/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Having my birthday at the Angkor Watt. The Tour Guide in Cambodia was fantastic and was passionate for his country and that showed in his performance as a guide. The tour covered so much in a short space of time and I loved every minute of it, even crawling through the war tunnels in Vietnam. By far the best holiday I have had with Explore.

Read more
 
8 , 24/01/14

Name

Alessandra Bottaro

Tour Name

Indochina Encounter

Tour Code

QBK

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The boat trip across the Boeng Tomle Sab Lake with the floating villages, fishing nets and birds. Also my travelling companions were particularly brilliant, well travelled easy to get on with, terrific sense of humour, confident but not intrusive.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Had little to do with the Leaders in Bangkock or Saigon, but they seemed competent. The Tour Leader in Cambogia was terrific, very knowledgeable, efficient, caring and enthusiastic. Would highly recommend him for a bonus!!!!!!!!!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Arm yourself with extreme patience at border crossings, especially between Thailand and Cambodia. Conditions there can only, at best, be described as primitive and unwelcoming. I am a very, very well travelled person and have seen remote countries thoughout the world, but this really did test my will to live!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I would seriously suggest that you try to get your Tour Manager to collect passports at borders and get pax thorugh as a group rather than leave them to sort themselves out individually, in addition given the relatively low cost of transport try and use private bus transfers rather than local ones. Having said this, I am certainly coming back to you for my next adventure!

 
8 , 24/01/14

Name

Brenda Pugh

Tour Name

Indochina Encounter

Tour Code

QBK

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

There were more than one - The Angkor Watt Temples, the Mekong Delta trip, the boat journey through Cambodia from Siem Reap and my arrival in Saigon.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Go with an open mind and take lots of insect repellent!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I think this is for people who want to see a lot of things in a short space of time - this suited me as I have limited time available - which means it is quite hectic, with not much time to rest. I came back tired - but very satisfied!

 
9 , 24/01/14

Name

Rose Mullen

Tour Name

Indochina Encounter

Tour Code

QBK

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The visit to Angor Wat

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

All 3 tour leaders were excellent - particularly in Cambodia where our lovely leader had the biggest smile you could ever see

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Go on all the optional tours - every one was excellent and great value for money

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Would recommend this tour - only slight down side was the amount of travelling some days was quite tiring

 
8 , 09/12/13

Name

Nathalie

Tour Name

Indochina Encounter

Tour Code

QBK

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Tonle Sap Lake boat trip was great. Angkor temples are amazing. The Cu Chi tunnels have to be seen.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very helpful. Very good knowledge of his country. Very passionate.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Expect long days on the roads. The optional excursions were a lot more expensive than expected. Go and explore on your own as Cambodia is very safe. Beware of the traffic in Saigon.Take a guide to see the most of Angkor.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Marie

Tour Code

QBK

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The most memorable moment or me was to see the sun rise over Angkor Wat in Cambodia. The visit to the Killing Fields, whilst difficult, was also highly memorable and important. Equally, the War Remnants Museum in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam was poignant and quite moving.

Tour Leader Name

Various

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

We had three different leaders, Rathanak Chea, spending the most time with us in Cambodia. He was funny, informative and interacted very well with all group members.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

To consider arriving in Bangkok two or three days ahead of the start of the tour if possible as it is a shame to miss out on some glorious sights. More importantly, if the group flight is delayed, as happened with members of our party, then a late arrival into Bangkok and early departure the following morning for Cambodia may leave you feeling exhausted.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I found the experience interesting and thoroughly enjoyable. If there is a down-side for me it is there was insufficient time spent away from cities, ie. in the countryside, but I was aware of this beforehand.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Georgianna Coventry

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

April is a tricky time for sunrises, as the rains are coming and you just cant be sure that that 4am wake up call will be worth it, but we had burnt joss sticks at wat po in Bangkok, and i think Buddha was looking down on us with this half closed eye. he rewarded us with the most glorious, mysterious, awe inspiring dawn over angkor that you could possibly imagine. it felt like finding narnia! we both broke down in tears it was so achinginly beautiful. life really doesnt get more wonderful that this.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Tra in Cambodia. he was just serenely wistfully brilliant. he gave us a real insight into Cambodian history with his own life story over a couple of beers in a hotel bar, he arranged things for us if we wanted, but was never pushy, and he always asked how they were, and if we were happy with them. he was quite obviously so passionate about his country that it was infectious...but how could you not be, Cambodia is possibly the most polite, respectful, accepting, and even peaceful, despite the traffic, country i have ever visited. he was just so representative of how lovely, forgiving and tolerant Cambodians are, despite the horrific past. he was the embodiment of Cambodian compassion...a thing i believe we lack in the west.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

If, like me, you have got too old for backpacking, but still want the freedom to do what you want, without the hassle of arranging your own bus journey, or have a panic attack in border towns, because everyone is touting, and you don't know who to trust, then i suggest that this is the trip for you. all the travel is arranged for you...all you have do to is work out what you want to do when you get there. there is no agenda, there are no arranged tours, thank god. you do what you want. its the perfect tour, that's not a tour. and its cheap as chips...good old explore. Don't know what id do without them!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

This is without a doubt the best value 'tour' i have ever booked. I've travelled with explore so much that i get a discount...but this was just so perfect. we have just changed back our dong, bhat and dollars left over and got more than £200! the only thing that could have possibly made it better would have been free beer for the whole of the trip, and finding a secret passage there at the back of my wardrobe!

 
0 Patricia Sharp, 30/04/12
I knew before I set off that this would be a hard trip. By its nature, public transport, which meant "people watching" at a high level and we werent disappointed. As a budget trip you do have to be prepared to pay for excursions.... Those we did were amazing, and so well worth the cost which in British terms was very small. Thailand was just the starting place, and people who thought we should have spent more time there, should book a trip to Thailand! Cambodia was way beyond my expectations, amazing sights and people......so lovely. Arriving in Vietnam, was hard. we were tired, the tour leader we met seemed to want us to rest, not go on a walking tour of the city. We insisted on the tour but were "abandoned" I felt... part way through. All he suggested we ate were noodles, I asked if there were restaurants near our hotel and he said no (I found many the next day)... Compared to the other countries, the locals were aggressive in their "sales" and prices were so much higher than other places (what we could have bought in Cambodia for 1$ they were asking 20+$. Visits to the Mekong Delta were awesome, and well worth it.... but the traffic in HoChiMinh was appauling.... and on seeing one flattened tourist, I used taxis for the rest of the trip. I was the last person of the group to leave Vietnam. I asked the hotel to get me a taxi at 9pm for the airport... they did this. Got to the airport OK, but then had the worst experience of my life.... as a single woman travelling alone, I got to the airport fare about 6$.... but the driver locked the door and demanded 100$... I tried to argue the case, but he got more and more agressive with me, I couldnt find anyone to wave help to... so in the eend I gave him my wallet which contained about 40$...all I had. fortunately he let me out. I took his number and reported him to airport police...but dont expect anything to be done>>>SO single women travellers please BEWARE. As expected this really spoilt the magnificent experience of this amazing trip.
 
0 SK, 03/04/12
An excellent trip to give an overview of Cambodia and Vietnam.  Not much time is spent in Bangkok but you get to do a river tour and get a feel for the place.  With the jet lag its a shock to the system and in our group a few people arrived earlier to both see more and recover which was a good idea.  Most of the trip is in Cambodia and highlights are Angkor but also the Tonle Sap lake trip was one of the best days - you really get to see another side of the country and how people live on the lake . its also a great day to relax as generally the trip is full on with long days.  There is alot of travel and things can take longer so we had less time in Battambang than we thought, so some open-mindednes is required on timings as we use local transport - but then you get a more real feel along with it!  Saigon was interesting and manic with endless motocyles and traffic.  The Cu Chi tunnels were much more interesting than I thought they would be and gald I visited them as I was unsure but enjoyed it - although a few in the group struggled to get in to the tunnels themselves - not designed for large western sizing!  If you get the time you can go to a bar on the top of the Sheraton Hotel in Saigon and get a great view of the city for the price of a drink - thats not too expensive during happy hour ($10 for 2 instead of 1).  Overall a great holiday and one in which I now understand the historical context as well behid such a beautiful country as the guides bring it to life with family stories.  I think I just need another holiday to recover now.....
 
0 JAD, 27/10/11

This was an incredible tour experience, which packed lots into such a short space of time. I and everyone else loved every minute of it.There are so many highlights from the Angkor Wat to the floating villages. I would recomend this trip to everyone. Given the cheap price, the accomodation is amazing, and the transport was good, as you got to mix with locals - the train journey from Bangkok especially eye raising.

Our tour guide (Sihta) in Cambodia was the most wonderful guide I could possibly have imagined.There are some downsides but these are minor for what you pay and the benefits you reap far outweigh any negatives. If you wish to see a flavour of three south east asian countries then this is the tour for you. Note, that the majority of the tour is in Cambodia but that was the best country out of the three for me. Also ensure you have your VISA's organised before you go. (QBK -16th August 2011)

 
0 Sian, 28/02/11
This was the most wonderful experience of my life so far. I loved every minute of it. The Temples at Angkor were a highlight for me, I only wish that I had had an few more days there. I would recomend this trip to everyone. Given the cheap price, the accomodation is amazing, and the transport was ok. Bangkok was great, Siem Reap was totally fantastic. The trip to Battambang was a great day out, and Phnom Pehn was great too. Ho Chi Minh City was mad. Our tour guide in Cambodia was the most wonderful guide I could possibly have imagined. I would do this tour again tomorrow. The only advice I could give is that in order to avoid being scammed at the Thai border, PLEASE GET YOUR VISA FOR CAMBODIA BEFORE YOU LEAVE!!!! (QBK - 29th December 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA