It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
630 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Indochina Encounter QBK

Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Indochina Encounter

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Indochina Encounter trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Indochina Encounter reviews verified by reevooReevoo

23 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Indochina EncounterScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 23 reviews
(6 out of 10)

Nora

London
I did enjoy the tour as we managed to see a lot in a short period of time. The highlight of the tour was Siem Reap with all the Angkor temples.

However, transport between places, Bangkok to the Cambodian border, the school bus transfert from the Thai border to the Cambodian border, the boat journey from Battambang to Phnom Pen were very uncomfortable. They were long journeys which spoilt the magic of the tour.

I wish the tour lasted longer in Thailand, i.e. at least one more day. Jeff, the tour leader was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Nak, the Cambodian tour leader was absolutely great: helpful, discreet, knowledgeable, very accommodating and understanding.

After the third day, however, the group started to loose its homogeneity: there was a clear divide beetween the two main age groups which disappointed me. The younger group having a tendency to avoid doing activities with the more mature group.

But, I do not regret having done the tour and I'll keep colourful memories for a very long time.
Confirmed traveller: 29 December 2016
Published on: 03 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Claire

Liverpool
High points definitely included the boat trip on Tonle Sapcote, saw so much and a good chance to relax.Tips would include remembering it's your holiday and not all excursions are compulsory as it is packed full of things to do.
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2016
Published on: 30 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Francesca

Guildford
Great trip. Would thoroughly recommend if you would like to see a lot in a short amount of time.
Highlights included:
Well chosen accommodation in particular the Mother Home Inn in Siem Reap, Cambodia
Tour Guides- The Thailand and Vietnam guides were good, but the Cambodian leader Nak was excellent. He is a great credit to Explore and I will be nominating him for an award when given the chance.
Cambodia- By far the best country we visited,from the people to the food, the sites- in particular the Angkor Wat was just amazing!
Itinerary- It was surprising how much we saw in such little time and it helped it was all planned well and ran smoothly.
The group- I was very lucky to be part of a great group of people many of whom I will stay in touch with.
The food- Especially in Cambodia. The places we ate at were well selected.
No pressure- Although we were part of a group and tour there was no pressure to be with the group at all times. For example, there was always the option to join the group for team evening meal but this was no compulsory. Also, tours were optional.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 11 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jean

Halifax
Good itinerary all hotels of good standard highlights train from Bangkok to Cambodia boarder with constant change of locals selling interesting snacks the trip by boat to Battambang passing floating villages our Cambodian guide who was amazing and took us to great restaurants all with local food and his good humour and insight into local culture
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 26 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Brian

Southam
The tour guides from Cambodia and Vietnam made the tour, they were very knowledgeable, sociable with good communication skills, well organised and kept all the the group informed at all times. Unfortunately the tour guide from Bangkok was quite the opposite.

Sights were simply breathtaking. Food was great and group members who started off as complete strangers ended up more like close friends.

Only advice take your toilet paper and hand cleanser with you in Cambodia.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 25 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michel

Bexleyheath
Overall a very good trip for first timers in the region. Could not ask for more in 8 days.
7 hour boat trip on Tomle sap lake was the highlight of the journey.
Two days at Siam Reap was sufficient for this relatively short trip. Otherwise one could spend a whole week just to see the temples.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Horley
This tour is a fantastic introduction to Indochina, and covers a huge amount. The highlight for me was undoubtedly the Angkor temples. It was also wonderful - though harrowing - to get a first-hand understanding of the sorrows suffered by the Cambodian and Vietnamese peoples in the second half of the last century. Travelling by public transport - though hard work at times - enhances the overall experience. I thoroughly recommend the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 17 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jane

Yateley
Overall I enjoyed the trip, but too much was crammed into what ended up as 9 days. Cambodia leader, Leon, was EXCELLENT - so professional, knew his facts, funny and helpful. Too many 'optional' excursions. The trip was full on, so didn't allow time for us to digest what would be on offer, and paying out all the time - better to charge £100 more and include the trips eg Angkor Wat tours, Killing fields, Cu Chi tunnels etc
Confirmed traveller: 08 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Plymouth
This tour was a great insight into these countries. Cambodia was amazing. I enjoyed the temples, the boat trip across the lake, meeting the people who live in the floating villages and travelling across the land by various modes of transport. The food was wonderful, even the street food and no upset tummy! The killing fields of Cambodia was informative but very harrowing and sad. Not for the faint hearted! The Mekong Delta visit was brilliant and Saigon was very busy and very noisy! Accommodation was fair to good and the guides were all informative and spoke good English.

My only criticism is that the trip was too short to see all the sights I would have liked to see. There was only 1 full day in Vietnam which was just not enough in my mind. The whole trip was fairly fast paced with early starts on most days and not much time to relax as I wanted to see most of the sights and trips suggested. I thoroughly enjoyed it and met some great people. Lao, our guide in Cambodia was fantastic and couldn't do enough to help you. I just wish the trip was for at least 14 days.
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2016
Published on: 24 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Lynn

Brighton
The Cambodia section was excellent and our tour guide Sitar was wonderful: he was very caring and empathetic, and took very good care of us. Also we liked Cambodia as a country, especially Angkor Wat, a real highlight. All the accommodation was very good, all with air con and ensuite, and good sized rooms. The food in Cambodia was lovely, and everything was quite cheap.
We much appreciated the skills of the guide in showing us the key sites, and timing our presence at the bat cave, another memorable sight. Sitar also made sure he showed us the different foods including barbequed rat!
By contrast our guides at Bangkok and Ho Chi Minh City were pretty hopeless.
Us two arrived at Bangkok airport at 9am and were met by someone who took us to the hotel. There were no messages from Explore, and we didn't see our guide till about 3pm. We went looking for a meal and couldn't find anywhere local, so bought lunch at the hotel which wasn't cheap. We met some other Explore tourists, and we all spent wasted time hanging around in the hotel with no guide. Eventually the guide appeared and took us out, but then arranged for us to eat in the hotel in the evening (without asking us) so we had no Thai street food. We suspected the guide had been persuaded by the hotel for us to eat there, as they had few customers.
Then Cambodia was great.
When we met our Vietnam guide he was equally uninterested in us, and was attached to his phone, hunting Pokemon! There was nearly an incident crossing the road when he just walked over and expected us to follow and two women just missed a car. We barely saw him on the second day.
I am mentioning this as it felt like the guides for 1-2 days were not at all interested and didn't provide the service we normally get from Explore.
Ho Chi Minh City had a great market, and the trip to the Mekong Delta showed us a different dimension of Vietnam.
It's a great area to visit and we will do more Explore trips to this area.
Confirmed traveller: 18 August 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016