It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Indochina Encounter QBK

Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Indochina Encounter

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Indochina Encounter trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Indochina Encounter reviews verified by reevooReevoo

27 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Indochina EncounterScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 27 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Peyia, Cyprus
The highlights of the tour were Angkor Wat in Cambodia and the Cu Chi tunnels in Vietnam. Overall, I thought the tour was well planned and the tour leaders in all countries did a very good job. The worst hotel was the Xing Angkor hotel in Siem Reap where there were electrical cables exposed from the shower unit !! Also the floor tiles in the bathroom were quite slippery. Other than that the accommodation was very good. I would have like an extra day in Bangkok at the start of the tour, just to get over the travelling from the Uk.
However, all in all it was a very enjoyable holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2017
Published on: 03 March 2017
(6 out of 10)

Alison

7/11 store only food option suggested in Thailand, both in Bangkok and at the border. Spent too long sorting out Visas for those who had not organised an evisa. Time spent on cities/places rushed as transport invariably late arriving.

Journey times incorrect on schedule ( 3 hour bus journey was 5).

Too many days spent on the bus ( I have done lots of holidays involving daily bus journeys, but this was dire). Cannot tell you how many bus journeys of different types there were.
Incorrect udgetting figures on tour guide.

Guide in Cambodia very good. Went to some great restaurants, but I would have liked a few more basic ones as well.


Also providing internal rooms, is not on. The hotels however offered good basic service.
Having said this, the group was fantastic and I had a brilliant time with them.

Cannot use always use dollars in Vietnam.

I returned home at 8.50 am, I was in the doctors by 9.20 am and was sent straight to the hospital for a DVT scan as my legs had swollen beyond recognition. They were swollen trhoughout. Never had this issue before. The diagnosis; too many days of inactivity, i.e sitting on a bus. I am now on medication to reduce the swelling.

I have travelled the globe, stayed in in hotels, hostels and dives. I could not recommend thid holiday, despite the fact I had a great time, it needs a review.
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2017
Published on: 24 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Barry

London
Had a fantastic time on this trip. Well planned and got to see the main sites. The only down side was the 2 7 hour bus journeys and long train journey which eat into your days. The killing fields was emotional, the bamboo train ride was fun, the Kick boxing was a great show and the temples stunning. I recommend the sun rise at Angkor. I was lucky and met a few fantastic like minded people and had an absolute blast! The guides were great, Nak in cambodia is a lovely guy and is so passionate about his country.
Confirmed traveller: 21 February 2017
Published on: 25 February 2017
(6 out of 10)

Nora

London
I did enjoy the tour as we managed to see a lot in a short period of time. The highlight of the tour was Siem Reap with all the Angkor temples.

However, transport between places, Bangkok to the Cambodian border, the school bus transfert from the Thai border to the Cambodian border, the boat journey from Battambang to Phnom Pen were very uncomfortable. They were long journeys which spoilt the magic of the tour.

I wish the tour lasted longer in Thailand, i.e. at least one more day. Jeff, the tour leader was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Nak, the Cambodian tour leader was absolutely great: helpful, discreet, knowledgeable, very accommodating and understanding.

After the third day, however, the group started to loose its homogeneity: there was a clear divide beetween the two main age groups which disappointed me. The younger group having a tendency to avoid doing activities with the more mature group.

But, I do not regret having done the tour and I'll keep colourful memories for a very long time.
Confirmed traveller: 29 December 2016
Published on: 03 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Claire

Liverpool
High points definitely included the boat trip on Tonle Sapcote, saw so much and a good chance to relax.Tips would include remembering it's your holiday and not all excursions are compulsory as it is packed full of things to do.
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2016
Published on: 30 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Francesca

Guildford
Great trip. Would thoroughly recommend if you would like to see a lot in a short amount of time.
Highlights included:
Well chosen accommodation in particular the Mother Home Inn in Siem Reap, Cambodia
Tour Guides- The Thailand and Vietnam guides were good, but the Cambodian leader Nak was excellent. He is a great credit to Explore and I will be nominating him for an award when given the chance.
Cambodia- By far the best country we visited,from the people to the food, the sites- in particular the Angkor Wat was just amazing!
Itinerary- It was surprising how much we saw in such little time and it helped it was all planned well and ran smoothly.
The group- I was very lucky to be part of a great group of people many of whom I will stay in touch with.
The food- Especially in Cambodia. The places we ate at were well selected.
No pressure- Although we were part of a group and tour there was no pressure to be with the group at all times. For example, there was always the option to join the group for team evening meal but this was no compulsory. Also, tours were optional.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 11 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jean

Halifax
Good itinerary all hotels of good standard highlights train from Bangkok to Cambodia boarder with constant change of locals selling interesting snacks the trip by boat to Battambang passing floating villages our Cambodian guide who was amazing and took us to great restaurants all with local food and his good humour and insight into local culture
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 26 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Brian

Southam
The tour guides from Cambodia and Vietnam made the tour, they were very knowledgeable, sociable with good communication skills, well organised and kept all the the group informed at all times. Unfortunately the tour guide from Bangkok was quite the opposite.

Sights were simply breathtaking. Food was great and group members who started off as complete strangers ended up more like close friends.

Only advice take your toilet paper and hand cleanser with you in Cambodia.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 25 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michel

Bexleyheath
Overall a very good trip for first timers in the region. Could not ask for more in 8 days.
7 hour boat trip on Tomle sap lake was the highlight of the journey.
Two days at Siam Reap was sufficient for this relatively short trip. Otherwise one could spend a whole week just to see the temples.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Horley
This tour is a fantastic introduction to Indochina, and covers a huge amount. The highlight for me was undoubtedly the Angkor temples. It was also wonderful - though harrowing - to get a first-hand understanding of the sorrows suffered by the Cambodian and Vietnamese peoples in the second half of the last century. Travelling by public transport - though hard work at times - enhances the overall experience. I thoroughly recommend the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 17 November 2016