It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Indochina Encounter QBK

Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Indochina Encounter

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Indochina Encounter trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Indochina Encounter reviews verified by reevooReevoo

31 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Indochina EncounterScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 31 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Belinda

Hampshire
I loved everything about this trip, for me it has the perfect balance in every way, from street food to night markets, to culture & history, and to visit 3 very different countries in such a short space of time was wonderful.

Our group of 12 had a lovely mix of ages and backgrounds & we all got on well.

The accommodation standards were absolutely fine and better than I expected.

It's fair to say I had my concerns about the long journeys on public transport, however these were all comfortable and manageable and actually a great way to see the local life, sharing stories & snacks with locals on train & coach journeys is a memory that will remain with me always.

For me, Cambodia stole my heart, I loved this country and it was great to be able to visit 3 very different parts of Cambodia, along with all the must sees such as Angkor, tonle sap and the killing fields. Tonle Sap was my overall highlight, seeing a whole village on the water was like nothing I've seen before.

Bangkok & Saigon were equally great and each provided something different, I only wish there was a little more time in Bangkok and would recommend tagging on an additional night before the trip.

Vutha, our tour leader in Cambodia is a wonderful, genuine man, with great passion for his job and knowledge of his country. Our guide Tam in Vietnam was also great.

If you are contemplating this trip, go for it! You won't be disappointed.
Confirmed traveller: 19 April 2017
Published on: 04 May 2017
(8 out of 10)

Ellen

London
The tour was a great experience and packed with excursions. The highlights of the tour were seeing the sun rise over Angkor wat, seeing the floating villages on the tonle sap and journeying around the mekong in Vietnam.
In both Cambodia and Vietnam things were really well organised and the tour leaders made sure we felt comfortable and at ease. Thailand was somewhat of a disaster. We arrived and there was no leader and no tour (we were told there wasn't enough people for an excursion which was inaccurate) so we only went to dinner on the first evening which the tour leader did not attend and seemingly hired someone else to guide us through the transport system the next day. There was very little point in staying in Bangkok and it should be extended for another night. I was very unimpressed by the tour leader in Thailand and felt quite disappointed I had missed out seeing anything other than the inside of a restaurant in Thailand with jetlag.
Vutha in Cambodia was a total turn around however. He was very knowledgable about his country and did everything he could to make the group comfortable.
Accommodation was absolutely fine and usually better than expected in most places.
The travelling aspect was actually a nice part of the trip and taking the trains and buses was an experience I would have always wanted to take rather than being driven around in a private bus constantly. It was wonderful to speak to the locals and have an authentic experience of travelling around. The border crossing from Thailand to Cambodia was long and because we didn't have our actual tour leader to let us know the protocol we were slightly lost as a group. However, we made it and from then on travelling around was fine.
I would recommend this trip but would advise to book an extra night in Thailand.
Confirmed traveller: 19 April 2017
Published on: 21 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Engela

Pretoria, South Africa
I didn't know what to expect from this tour but I enjoyed it thoroughly. I considered the knowledge I gained second to my 4 day trip on the Nile where we also had an guide who could give us the information we needed. I appreciated the personal touch of the different tour guides and the fact that the group was not too large.

I will definitely join Explore again on a tour someday in the future!
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2017
Published on: 26 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Jean

I have just one complaint. The travel times (bus, train) were always significantly longer than the trip notes led us to expect.
The rooms met expectations. They were all fine - air conditioned and reasonably clean.
Sohm, the tour leader in Cambodia was great. Tam, in Vietnam, appeared indifferent - just doing the bare minimum.
Confirmed traveller: 11 April 2017
Published on: 13 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Peyia, Cyprus
The highlights of the tour were Angkor Wat in Cambodia and the Cu Chi tunnels in Vietnam. Overall, I thought the tour was well planned and the tour leaders in all countries did a very good job. The worst hotel was the Xing Angkor hotel in Siem Reap where there were electrical cables exposed from the shower unit !! Also the floor tiles in the bathroom were quite slippery. Other than that the accommodation was very good. I would have like an extra day in Bangkok at the start of the tour, just to get over the travelling from the Uk.
However, all in all it was a very enjoyable holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2017
Published on: 03 March 2017
(6 out of 10)

Alison

7/11 store only food option suggested in Thailand, both in Bangkok and at the border. Spent too long sorting out Visas for those who had not organised an evisa. Time spent on cities/places rushed as transport invariably late arriving.

Journey times incorrect on schedule ( 3 hour bus journey was 5).

Too many days spent on the bus ( I have done lots of holidays involving daily bus journeys, but this was dire). Cannot tell you how many bus journeys of different types there were.
Incorrect udgetting figures on tour guide.

Guide in Cambodia very good. Went to some great restaurants, but I would have liked a few more basic ones as well.


Also providing internal rooms, is not on. The hotels however offered good basic service.
Having said this, the group was fantastic and I had a brilliant time with them.

Cannot use always use dollars in Vietnam.

I returned home at 8.50 am, I was in the doctors by 9.20 am and was sent straight to the hospital for a DVT scan as my legs had swollen beyond recognition. They were swollen trhoughout. Never had this issue before. The diagnosis; too many days of inactivity, i.e sitting on a bus. I am now on medication to reduce the swelling.

I have travelled the globe, stayed in in hotels, hostels and dives. I could not recommend thid holiday, despite the fact I had a great time, it needs a review.
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2017
Published on: 24 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Barry

London
Had a fantastic time on this trip. Well planned and got to see the main sites. The only down side was the 2 7 hour bus journeys and long train journey which eat into your days. The killing fields was emotional, the bamboo train ride was fun, the Kick boxing was a great show and the temples stunning. I recommend the sun rise at Angkor. I was lucky and met a few fantastic like minded people and had an absolute blast! The guides were great, Nak in cambodia is a lovely guy and is so passionate about his country.
Confirmed traveller: 21 February 2017
Published on: 25 February 2017
(6 out of 10)

Nora

London
I did enjoy the tour as we managed to see a lot in a short period of time. The highlight of the tour was Siem Reap with all the Angkor temples.

However, transport between places, Bangkok to the Cambodian border, the school bus transfert from the Thai border to the Cambodian border, the boat journey from Battambang to Phnom Pen were very uncomfortable. They were long journeys which spoilt the magic of the tour.

I wish the tour lasted longer in Thailand, i.e. at least one more day. Jeff, the tour leader was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Nak, the Cambodian tour leader was absolutely great: helpful, discreet, knowledgeable, very accommodating and understanding.

After the third day, however, the group started to loose its homogeneity: there was a clear divide beetween the two main age groups which disappointed me. The younger group having a tendency to avoid doing activities with the more mature group.

But, I do not regret having done the tour and I'll keep colourful memories for a very long time.
Confirmed traveller: 29 December 2016
Published on: 03 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Claire

Liverpool
High points definitely included the boat trip on Tonle Sapcote, saw so much and a good chance to relax.Tips would include remembering it's your holiday and not all excursions are compulsory as it is packed full of things to do.
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2016
Published on: 30 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Francesca

Guildford
Great trip. Would thoroughly recommend if you would like to see a lot in a short amount of time.
Highlights included:
Well chosen accommodation in particular the Mother Home Inn in Siem Reap, Cambodia
Tour Guides- The Thailand and Vietnam guides were good, but the Cambodian leader Nak was excellent. He is a great credit to Explore and I will be nominating him for an award when given the chance.
Cambodia- By far the best country we visited,from the people to the food, the sites- in particular the Angkor Wat was just amazing!
Itinerary- It was surprising how much we saw in such little time and it helped it was all planned well and ran smoothly.
The group- I was very lucky to be part of a great group of people many of whom I will stay in touch with.
The food- Especially in Cambodia. The places we ate at were well selected.
No pressure- Although we were part of a group and tour there was no pressure to be with the group at all times. For example, there was always the option to join the group for team evening meal but this was no compulsory. Also, tours were optional.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 11 December 2016