It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
627 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Atacama To Paine and Easter Island Extension TDPE

Visiting: Chile
Trip Duration 18 Days
 

Reviews for Atacama To Paine and Easter Island Extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Atacama To Paine and Easter Island Extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Atacama To Paine and Easter Island Extension reviews verified by reevooReevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Atacama To Paine and Easter Island ExtensionScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(5 out of 10)

Alan

Edinburgh
Practically everything we went there to see was an optional extra.
I have been on over 40 explore tours and I have never seen anything like it . Overpriced . I was told there is nothing else to do.

Explore think you only have time to do one in San Pedro but there
Is time to do both ..

When I arrived at the hotel I had missed the briefing all I got was the hard sell of the optionals .i was told "you got the same briefing"
The decision had to be made then ,and payed only in dollars .

The briefing was not the same the group said there's was 45 minutes,mine was about 10 .

I can't understand how explore has been aloud this to happen .

There was 7 optionals.

The local agents are milking it ..Alan.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2017
Published on: 05 May 2017

I’m really sorry to hear about your disappointment with this trip Alan. Chile is very expensive at the moment - there’s no other way to say it. It often surprises people as it is much more expensive than any other country in South America. In terms of the San Pedro excursions, our itinerary does say that you could do an early morning trip to the Hot Springs and an afternoon trip to the salt flats. I’ll make sure that the Tour Leader is giving the option to do both, and am questioning why this had to be decided so early on in the trip. Our local agents don’t receive any commission off the excursions - they are genuinely quite expensive, but we will work on trying to find lower cost providers. Thanks again for your feedback.

(7 out of 10)

Tudor

Wrexham
I have to say that it was expensive and this was aggravated by the low value of the Pound. As some previous reviewers have mentioned there were extras but in practice you really didn't have a choice as you were in places where there wasn't anything else to do.
Of course I realize that Chile is long and thin so a lot of air flights were necessary. However, sometimes we spent a whole day just travelling from one place to another.
For me the highlight was the Easter Island extension. I probably would not have gone on this holiday if it hadn't been for this. The other parts of Chile were interesting but perhaps not worth going to the other side of the world to see. Anyway, the statues were things which fascinated me since I was in my teens. I would have enjoyed the experience even more if I hadn't been bitten by a dog!
Would I recommend the holiday? Yes, with the above reservations.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2017
Published on: 14 April 2017
(7 out of 10)

Deirdre

Marlborough, Wiltshire
A holiday of great contrasts and lots of travel - inevitable in a country the shape of Chile. The itinerary was generally good, allowing us to view the main sights without feeling too rushed, with 2 nights at most places. The biggest complaint relates to cost, in particular the number of optional trips at high cost, all of which we had to decide on day one before we had a chance to consider. These made the holiday, already dear, even more expensive. There was a feeling that these trips and payments were in effect mandatory - if you didn't do them there was often nothing else particular to do. This was the case in Torres del Paine when we had in effect a wasted day travelling from it. The salt plain trip in Atacama was a complete rip off at a hugely expensive price (which I'm not allowed to quote) for under 4 hours. It should have been half the price. There should be a policy that if more than, say, 10 people go, the price is reduced. We just all had the nasty feeling that Explore and/or the local agent were ripping us off.
All Chile was dear (expect to pay £50 for a one course meal and single drink for 2); Easter Island add another 15%.

Our Guide, Emelina, was excellent - most efficient, and couldn't be more helpful. It would have been helpful for us if she had also been able to come with us to Easter Island - or certainly have been there before, to be able to answer any questions. Local guides were also very good - eg Paul in Santiago, Chris in Easter Island.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2017
Published on: 31 March 2017

Hi Deirdre, many thanks for your feedback about your Chile experience. The country is fantastic, but it is a very expensive place to visit at the minute as the growing economy is forcing prices up. The salt plain trip in Atacama is $102, as quoted on the optional excursions section of your trip information. Neither Explore nor our local agent receive any commission from this amount - it goes direct to the local subcontractors in Atacama - of which there are many, and much competition - this means that prices are similar across different suppliers. We regularly review the costs of optional activities, and we will look into different providers and choices, but in the meantime I’m really sorry that this had an effect on your holiday.

(9 out of 10)

Richard

Woodbridge
Great tour but rather a lot of expensive extras. Most hotels good but generally "tired" with expensive evening meals.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Atkinson, NH, USA
The trip includes breath-taking views of the Atacama Desert, the capital Santiago, Valparaiso and Vina Del Mar, the Lakes region, Torres del Paine National Park, and the visit to incredible Easter Island. What was disconcerting, disappointing and infuriating was the added cost of the excursions, which we were faced with upon arrival.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2017
Published on: 12 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Monica

New Jersey, USA
Everything was great and I trully enjoyed the trip
The only comment I have is that it would be nice to split the tours per groups of age (for example 20s/under 50/over 50
Confirmed traveller: 09 January 2017
Published on: 19 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jonathan

Lincoln (UK)
The trip took in a wide range of the whole of Chile and allowed us to experience much of it's wonderful geography and history.

There is a lot of travelling but our tour leader Emmelina made everything run smoothly.

Easter Island was a must see for us, it lived up to our expectations. If you are going to Chile then don't miss it out.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2016
Published on: 07 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Lindsey

Great trip. The optional excursions though are mostly not optional, for example to miss the glacier boat trip would mean waiting on the bus for others to return. The itinerary was well thought out with usually three nights in each area. There is a lot written about easter island being very expensive and more so than the mainland. This is not the case, meals were the same price as in Santiago and better value than the Atacama and of a much higher quality.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Excellent coverage of the highlights of the country, particularly the Atacama desert, the Torres del Paine NP and Easter Island. The Lake District was an added bonus. Extremely efficient at organising the tour logistics etc and ensuring any issues did not impact the group. Was also very effective at following with LAN Chile for my delayed luggage. Engaged well with the group, with her sense of humour shining through.
Confirmed traveller: 06 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Loved seeing the variety of landscapes in Chile, from Atacama Desert, Salt flats, Volcanos, rainforest, lakes, Patagonia, to the amazing Easter Island.Emelina is a gentle, caring and efficient leader. She was knowledgable and gave us information in acceptable amounts when needed, no overloading!
Confirmed traveller: 31 March 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015