It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
611 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Journey Through The Balkans YD

Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Journey Through The Balkans

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Journey Through The Balkans trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Journey Through The Balkans reviews verified by reevooReevoo

44 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Journey Through The BalkansScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 44 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Kay

Ireland
I really enjoyed this excellent trip. My highlights were the walk in the National Park, around the Black Lake and staying at the Open Air Museum. The city tours were informative and interesting, giving a sense of history and helping me to understand a bit better the 1990's war. On our free day in Sarajevo we visited the Tunnel Museum, which was well worth the visit. I would have liked to spent an extra night in Cavtat instead of Trebinje. Our Tour Leader "B" was excellent, really helpful, good humored, positive and efficient. it was nice to travel in a small group of interesting travel companions from different countries. Overall, I would definitely recommend this trip. 😊😊
Confirmed traveller: 26 July 2017
Published on: 03 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Eileen

West Kirby
A well-balanced trip led by an excellent Tour Leader. We got a good insight into the history and culture of the Balkans and saw plenty of magnificent scenery. The small group size encompassed a variety of nationalities and enhanced the experience.
Confirmed traveller: 26 July 2017
Published on: 29 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Norman

Palm Springs, CA
We very much enjoyed this trip. Andjelija was a delight to be with.

Our primary concern (and I would same for 2/3 of the Explore trips that we have gone on) was that some days lunch was far too late (i.e. 2:30 or 3:00). Occasionally this cannot be avoided. But often it was because Andjelija (and other leaders) don't enforce the time allocated to various coffee or bathroom stops and over the course of the day this adds up to a considerable loss of time.

The other issue is that most days we could have easily started earlier (such as 8:00 or 8:30 rather than 9:00 or 9:00) and this resulted arriving at our evening destination with no time to enjoy the new destination or sometimes even take a shower before dinner. My impression is that most travelers would agree that we would rather begin earlier so that we could arrive earlier.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2017
Published on: 22 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Charlene

Seattle
This tour is an excellent tour to a very complex region. The guides on the walking tours gave some very good information on the complex history and current situation. Highlights: the entire country of Montenegro - some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen, including the ride from the airport in Dubrovnik, to the starting hotel. Other highlights: staying overnight in the open air museum in Serbia, and visiting Bosnia, particulary Mostar. Our tour leader - Angelija (sp?) was very good.

One of my favorite Explore tours I have taken, and I have taken about 11 at least.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2017
Published on: 16 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nancy

Cleveland
The trip itinerary was excellent--we saw both highlights and out-of-the-way places of four countries. The history and culture were fascinating and the scenery--both sea coast and mountains--spectacular. Our guides and drivers were great--patient and accommodating. Highlights for me included Kotor, the Outdoor Museum, the hike around Black Lake, and free time in Sarajevo where we were able to attend a concert. Kustendorf and the Sargon Eight railroad trip were fun, but not as significant as most of the other experiences.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2017
Published on: 13 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Hilary

Bexhill on Sea
The holiday as a whole was good value for money and showed the beauty and tragedy of the places we visited. Travel could have been more comfortable with one bus instead of two 9 seaters as it was a pretty tight fit and divided the group somewhat.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Rhyl
I should have been on a two week holiday to Iran but it was stopped by the Iranians just days before due to go and booked onto the Balkans tour at the last minute but am so glad that I did. It was a fabulous holiday and what a varied tour it was. It was excellent and this was enhanced by the knowledgeable and charming tour leader who with our two drivers made the holiday a success.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Catherine

Dorchester
Very interesting and beautiful places. Steeped in history. Useful local Guides. The old museum we stayed in was wonderful, but I do not think that learning to knit their way added anything.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Martin

London
Very interesting and varied tour. Could be extended to full 2 weeks by visiting more places in Bosnia (e.g. Kravice Waterfall, Tuzla, Travnik). Every day was busy and interesting so no need to single any particular days out.

Tour leader was excellent at managing group. A printed list of ticket offers for museums etc. in Dubrovnik and Sarajevo and closing times of museums in latter as there on a Saturday when things closed early would have been useful, although was able to find these myself on city website the night before the free day. Also as people needed to carry their luggage up and down stairs a lot should have been advised to take rucksacks rather than big wheely bags as would have been easier for them (I always take a rucksack so no issue for me).
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

John

St Margarets DOVER
Titos nuclear bunker was an unexpected and welcome addition to the itinerary.

Lots to see and the journeys were not too long.

Plenty of ATM's ,money changers few and far between.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 31 May 2017
Published on: 19 June 2017