It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
606 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Journey Through The Balkans YD

Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Journey Through The Balkans

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Journey Through The Balkans trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Journey Through The Balkans reviews verified by Reevoo

24 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Journey Through The BalkansScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 24 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Jack

Tallahassee/Florida/USA
Overall very good tour to four of the six former Yugoslavia republics, with especially 4 nights in Montenegro and four nights in Bosnia. It would have been good to have had one night in Serbia in a real Serbian town (both nights were at a historic village museum of old houses, buildings and then the second night at the Serbian village built by the Serbian director for a movie. Good to see Dubrovnik again. Excellent tour leader and two drivers. The tour includes use of two van-cars, in order to be able to go into the various city centers; so the tour participants were split between the two cars, which was fine.
Confirmed traveller: 01 June 2016
Published on: 13 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Brian .

Burton on trent.
A very interesting and enjoyable tour admirably led by Danijela.The scenery was superb throughout.There was the odd glitch with accommation.The first hotel did not bother to service the rooms,the Sarajevo hotel did not put the air conditioning on at all the first day.After many complaints it was put on the second day.for about three hours in the afternoon!The vehicles were not ideal,being essentially "works buses".The thick pillars and headrests obscured visibility.One of the vehicles had no opening windows in the back and a driver who seemed to be averse to putting the air conditioning on.
Confirmed traveller: 01 June 2016
Published on: 09 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

We started on the stunning Adriatic coast, moved on through lakelands, vineyards and breath-taking mountain passes via (sometimes wearisome) border crossings to four separate countries each with different currency requirements. Not that we ever got near to understanding the complex issues that separate them but we truly enjoyed the historic sites and the region they share. Having read ‘Bridge over the Drina’, which for me both explained and exasperated these issues, I was looking forward to visiting Visegrad most of all. I had envisaged crossing to the middle to sit on the kapia to ponder with elders for a while. As it was the bridge was disappointingly closed for repairs. Sarajevo and Mostar were however replacement highlights. The former, a buzzing multi-cultural city was a delight to explore in the two days allocated to it. The later, smaller but still busy, became more laid back as the day passed. The evening offered a choice of restaurants overlooking the equally historic ‘Stari Most’ bridge, constantly changing colour in the setting sun. Danijela was excellent, always happy and smiling. She split our maximum number of 15 across two smaller vehicles which was more comfortable and easier in traffic. We changed places frequently and she, with the two English speaking drivers, shared their attentions equally across the group. They were always good company and made themselves available in the evenings to join and advise on local fare.
Confirmed traveller: 13 July 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Margery

Atlanta, Georgia
The highlights were seeing the country side of Montenegro, Sarajevo and Dubrovnik.
Confirmed traveller: 07 October 2015
Published on: 20 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Be prepared for all four seasons, food is excellent meat dishes rather large. Wine is excellent and so too the beer, drink the local beer, avoid 'International Blands'. Look out for the Dark Beer 'Tamno'.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

All of it was good. Maybe the highlight was Sarajevo. Also saw some wonderful scenery. The countries we visited were very interesting. Would recommend this tour. Would have liked it to be longer.Excellent guide. very informative, very helpful, very sociable. V. good communication and people skills. Also the drivers, Igor and Marco, were very competent and safe, friendly and helpful.
Confirmed traveller: 28 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A busy but well organised schedule, with a great blend of natural and cultural highlights. Sarajevo was fascinating, particularly to understand the recent history. Danijela was excellent. She tuned into the characteristics of the group very well and ensured everyone felt their needs were met. She was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and had some very good recommendations of things to do when we went off on our own. She was great on the restaurants too. Our drivers, Marco and Igor were also excellent - very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Confirmed traveller: 17 August 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Kathleen

Vancouver, Canada
Since we were unlucky enough to have rather poor weather when in the mountains, my highlights were city based, where weather was not so critical. Sarajevo, Mostar, Dubrovnik were all interesting and gave a chance to glean information about the troubles in the region, and look into the past history of the countries. This is a very interesting region where Europe meets Asia culturally, and I found that fascinating and saddening - - they are clearly still suffering from the aftermath of civil wars and current ethnic divisiveness.
Confirmed traveller: 07 October 2015
Published on: 22 October 2015