It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Bay Of Naples and The Amalfi Coast NA

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days

Reviews for Bay Of Naples and The Amalfi Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Bay Of Naples and The Amalfi Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Bay Of Naples and The Amalfi Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Bay Of Naples and The Amalfi CoastScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(8 out of 10)


Village near Cirencester
My first trip with Explore was very good with only 8 members plus leader to an area not previously visited. Age range of party was early fifties to very late seventies, perhaps older than expected but it enabled everyone to relate.
The highlights for me were the fantastic museum at Naples, the three main ancient historical sites, the stunning drive along the Amalfi, the visit to Revello with the beautiful Villa Rufolo (optional) a perfect marriage of flowers and 13thC + architecture the absolute essence of exquisite taste and on final day during free time a bus trip to Atrani for a walkabout and lunch.
The negs were too short time at Pompeii with the hordes of tourists preventing seeing some top spots due to very long queues. A pity as for most people Pompeii is the primary trip motivation.
The tour leader I gathered from regular Explore devotees was perhaps not up to usual standard, more like a package tour rep. A very nice person but was content to do the minimum required and never or perhaps rarely joined in with the visits or provided more info than she considered necessary.
It would be a good idea if leaders had a script of interesting stats that could be trotted out when stuck in traffic jams for example our young lady offered only silence.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Some of the rooms were very cramped,whilst others in the group had very much larger ones!Especially as we all paid the same price.We were surprised to be staying in Jet2& Thompson hotels.
Historical sites Herculaneum,Pompei,&Paestum were very interesting.Amalfi coastal drive was beautiful.The group gelled well together along with our guide Jessica,as it was her first Explore tour.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


the amalfi coast drive was amazing,positano and sorrento exceptional we had one problem caused by your italian based agency changing the itinerary around after the tour had started, and as we had arranged to continue our holiday once you had confirmed our dates and hotels, this would have left us stranded, however your local tour guide sorted it out immediately and arranged a car to take us to naples airport at the italian agencys' expense, I do think this is something your head office should look at .
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 07 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


The route on this trip works well with excellent historic destinations to visit. Our guide was knowledgeable and familiar with the local towns and surrounding area.
I really enjoyed this memorable trip and have traveled with Explore many times both longhaul and shorthaul.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


Bristol UK
I thoroughly enjoyed the tour 20th Aug to 27th Aug 2016 - the Amalfi Coast is stunning and takes in all of the best bits of the Naples area, from culture, history and scenery. Martina and Jessica managed the timing of each day's excursions very well to help us to avoid the crowds which built up during the day during, and made the guided tours of the historic sites more enjoyable at what is a very busy time of year. Some additional time in Pompei after the guided tour would have been appreciated as it was a bit rushed towards the end - with photo opportunities missed.
We were rushed off to the pasta factory tour and included pasta tasting lunch on that same day, which the group members collectively thought was disappointing. We felt that the amount of pasta per person was far too much considering we were given the opportunity to try 3 different dishes of the style of the Naples Region. A plate of each type as a taster between two or even three in the group would have been more than enough and we hope you might pass that suggestion on to the restaurant or your itenerary planners. We felt a lot of food was wasted unecessarily Even with a small group of 9 the factory was too small, and too noisey for us all to easliy see or hear anything, and we would have valued using the time spent at lunch and the factory more at the site of Pompei particularly is it was one of the highlights of the tour itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016
(4 out of 10)


The trip is front loaded, but as it stands there is not enough time to explore Pompeii - the 2 hour tour barely scratches the surface. Capri and the Amalfi Coast are heaving with people and heavily congested, even in May. The itinerary takes a distinct nose dive towards the end and timings for the whole week need a rethink.
The archaeology is amazing though.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 27 May 2016

Thank you for your feedback in regards to the above Explore trip, we’re sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed with the itinerary and timings. We have amended the itinerary recently, so it’s a shame that you were unhappy with the changes made – our Operations Manager and local agent are currently reviewing this. We do hope you enjoyed your trip for the most part.

(8 out of 10)


Adstone, Towcester
Generally very enjoyable but the final 24 hours overshadowed the rest. I think in future the trip should go from Maiori to Velia, then to the hotel in Laura (Paestum) and spend the final day looking at Paestum. Or go back to Maiori (lovely hotel and interesting place) after visiting Paestum. We were rushed around Paestum to get to a hotel, which was effectively in the middle of nowhere, and expected to hang around for 24 hours until the bus came back to drive us to the airport. It was not beach weather and the beach was filthy and nothing was open. The hotel was not particularly pleasant and the food was poor but we were expected to eat there at inflated prices. I felt completely trapped. The horror of this threatens to overwhelm the rest of the week; there are only so many times that you can take a taxi from Laura to Paestum to find something to do. We were reduced to going to a buffalo mozzarella factory; it passed the time, nothing more. It is this end to the holiday that will prevent me from recommending this particular holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016

I’m glad that overall you enjoyed your holiday in Italy, but I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the last section of the itinerary and the final hotel on the trip. I have passed your feedback on to our local agent for action, and will monitor the outcomes and, if needed, then I will look at making changes to the itinerary and accommodation used.

(8 out of 10)


Burley in Wharefedale
The archeological sites, particularly Herculaneum and Paestum.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2015
Published on: 06 November 2015
(7 out of 10)


Hicksville, NY
The highlights include Pompeii, and driving the Amalfi Coast. Martina, the guide was not professional and should not be used for future tours.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2015
Published on: 26 October 2015

Thank you for your comments. I monitor the feedback for our Explore Leaders closely. Martina now normally receives consistently good feedback, however I have addressed these comments with her. She was retrained in March 2016 and I’m confident that she will lead some great trips in Italy over the coming year.