It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Discover Belize BL

Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Discover Belize

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Discover Belize trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Discover Belize reviews verified by reevooReevoo

29 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Discover BelizeScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 29 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Annie

Exeter
Excellent, varied trip. Interesting for wildlife, birds, culture and Mayan history
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 25 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Bristol
A holiday with lots of variety. The trips to the Mayan temples were great. There were few people there and you were allowed to roam and discover freely in rain forest settings. The beach areas has opportunities for snorkeling, swimming or just relaxing- everyone got something out of the trips.
The food was very good if somewhat more expensive than other Central American countries. Breakfasts were the best meals offering a chance to try different foods.
Accommodation was very good. A few places were not clear with their pricing of certain drinks- charging US dollars rather than Belizian. This annoyed and surprised group members including those who had difficulty accessing monies from ATMS. Excellent tour leader, Chris. All the group seemed to have their individual interests well catered for.
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 04 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Geoffrey

Letcombe Regis
Great balanced itinerary:- Nature, birds, archaeology, marine and several glorious coral island breaks with great snorkelling.
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Penelope

Bishops Wood
Super varied tour Chris the guide was very good and knowledgable,
Belize is an incredibly varied country for such a small one,the Mayan ruins especially Tikal are a wonderful experience and the snorkelling trips were well worth it and some wonderful birding opportunities.The country is not a cheap one to travel in hence the excursions are quite pricey the only one I felt was not good value was the canoeing into the cave.
It may be worth looking at when the tour goes into Tikal as it was after 2pm when we went on the first day and when we went in the second day which costs over $20us we saw that if you go in at 3pm you can go in for free the following day which would make more sense.
Flight wise much better not having a night in Miami but there was not enough time between flights we really struggled to make the connections with the security and immigration checks at Miami. We only had 2 hours going out and 2.5 hours returning realistically 3 hours minimum is required .
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 02 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Alison

Belize is full of friendly people, with great wildlife and some amazing archeological sites. A very enjoyable holiday with a knowledgable and helpful guide.
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 28 January 2017
(6 out of 10)

Paula

Bristol
It took in the major sights and therefore gave you a good insight to that area. The marine life and bird life were the highlights for me. I did feel that we had better value with the day on the catamaran rather than the half day trip to shark/ray alley. Out on the lagoon at Crooked Tree was also very good.
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Lindsey

Woking
I have taken many of this kind of trip. I enjoyed this, given the mix of history, beaches, wildlife and culture. I've found many trips focus on one thing but this is varied. I would have liked a little more physical activity but I knew this was limited when booking. The itinary is exactly as described.

The highlight for me was Crooked Tree. I could easily have stayed there for the whole trip. The mix of wildlife, birds, river, boat (not a cramped bus!) and the river trip to the Mayan site were gorgeous. We also rented a catamaran on New Year's Eve at Caya Caulker. The snorkelling was out of this world and by far the best I have ever done. Swimming with sharks, stingrays, turtles and a manatee are the least of it. It was fabulous!

Wilfred our guide, was a lovely guy, very interested in what he was showing us and keen to be doing a good job. He's nicely unobtrusive but I felt he cared and genuinely wanted us to have the best time possible in his country.

Having been to a number of Mayan sites elsewhere, I was ultimately pleased to be doing something different but overall a good trip that I would recommend for variety, the mix of cultures in Belize and as I said, fabulous snorkelling.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2017
Published on: 08 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Lorraine

Aberdeen
I can't believe how much of this amazing country we saw in our 14 days. Belize has such a diverse landscape, wildlife and country and we managed to soak it all up with a wide variety of activities and experiences. The people are friendly, the food is great and the accommodation was comfortable.
It was a priviledge to have Wilfred as our tour guide. He knows all there is to know about Mayan history, culture, politics, birds, animals, trees, plants and has a talent for explaining all in a very engaging way and giving you time to absorb your surroundings. He had a great sense of humour, there's never a dull moment in his company. He took time to get to know each of us and we all got on very well as a group. He dealt with any issues swiftly and he managed our days in such a way, we barely noticed the effort it must take to organise. We felt very safe in his hands.
Highlights of the tour were Altun Ha on Day 1.. a great introduction to Mayan history and culture. Xunantunich was very special, I was moved to tears. The river boat trip to Lamani was exhilarating.
I discovered a love for bird watching while on this trip so the optional walks are always a treat.
Flores in Guatemala was a beautiful place to explore.
Belize Botanical Gardens was a great day out.. you have to try the quesadillas!!
San Ignacio market was bustling.. I'd have loved to buy lots and try cooking with all those fresh ingredients.
Laughing Bird Caye was more idyllic than I could have dreamed of.. just stunning!
Caye Caulker was so much fun! Everyone on that island is a character and it was great to relax there.
I would advise anyone to do EVERY optional activity if possible. don't miss out on anything! It's all worth it. Belize, and the people you meet will stay in your heart forever.
I didn't know there was a better country in the world than Scotland.. but Belize may have topped it. Haha!
Thank you Explore!
Confirmed traveller: 11 December 2016
Published on: 30 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Loraine

St Nom La Breteche
Brilliant trip. It went from good to better. Don't count on seeing animals (apart from howler monkeys) - the rain forest is too dense, but the birds are great. The Mayan temples are wonderful - after our official visit to Tical our leader, Wilfred, took us to his favourite places , generally unvisited by tourists - it was magic at dusk. The trip ended brilliantly in Caye Caulker. The setting of Anchorage resort right on the sea edge couldn't have been better. Snorkeling with sharks and rays (and "normal" fish) was fun - go in the catamaran and glide over the waves instead of being bumped in a speedboat. The only poor point was having to sleep over in Miami on the way out - I regret not seeing anything of Belize City.
Confirmed traveller: 11 December 2016
Published on: 14 December 2016