It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Discover Belize BL

Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Discover Belize

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Discover Belize trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Discover Belize reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Discover BelizeScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Mark

Gloucester
Great all-round trip with a bit of everything; ruins, jungle, wildlife, boats, beaches, reef... quite a busy one, lots of early starts and nights. Fortunately nowhere is too far and you're only ever on the road for an hour or two.

Tour leader was excellent and all went smoothly once we started the tour itself. (Explore made some cockups on the flight side on things, I'd recommend taking the land tour only and arranging your own flights)

The highlights were the ATM cave and diving from Caye Caulker. The ATM cave isn't mentioned on the trip notes for Explore and isn't for everyone, but it's well worth picking up in San Ignacio if you want an adventure.
Tikal is actually a little underwhelming after all the other Mayan sites, worth going, but I'd recommend also going to Flores or staying in Flores rather than the middle of the Jungle.

Food wasn't the highlight but we had some very good meals, others less so. Food is more expensive than you might expect. A lot of the hotels are fairly remote and their bars close early. The early nights are usually welcome however as you will be tired after some of the days.

Hotels were mostly of a good standard, hot water isn't always flowing but the rooms were clean and cool. Basic as you'd expect with this type of trip.

If you want a mix of ruins, wildlife and sealife without long travel times each day then this is the right place. Don't go in hurricane season.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 01 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Nicola

Birmingham, UK
This is a great tour, Belize is a fantastic country and the time spent at Tikal adds to the trip. The itinerary is a really good mixture of wildlife; culture; snorkelling and relaxation so it's well balanced.

It's hard to pick specific highlights as everything was amazing but if I had to choose some they'd be seeing manatees when at Caye Caulker; the Mayan ruins at Xunantunich; snorkelling at Laughing Bird Caye and Tikal.

The accommodation in Belize and Guatemala was really good (unfortunately the same can't be said of the accommodation in Miami).

My only complaint is that the tour guide, Wilfred Garbutt, has now ruined all future guided holidays for me as from now on I will be comparing all tour guides to him and can't imagine anyone will meet his exceptionally high standard! His knowledge (of everything, not just Belize) made this a really informative tour and ensured that everyone learnt a lot.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 26 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Karen

Hamilton NZ
Very interesting culturally. The knowledge obtained from our guide about the life of the Mayan and life in Belize was brilliant. The biggest high light was the Mayan Temples and I cannot say I had a favorite they were all excellent. and views were out standing even with climbing steps with a sore leg.

A tip would be to check prices of options available and requirements for crossing the boarder into Guatemala and notify those who have chosen to partake in the tour prior for leaving their country of extra expenses required.

Overall a brilliant trip well worth the miles travelled to partake in the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 18 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Rob and Laura

Leamington Spa
Our tour guide Wilfred Garbutt is an absolute credit to Explore and his beautiful country. He welcomed us all at the airport with a warm smile and from day 1 had great knowledge of all the sites, the wildlife, the history of Belize and it's eclectic mix of people. The driver Elias complemented Wilfred and the tour with his excellent birding skills. He was so much more than just the driver, stopping his bus when he could safely and pointing out the wildlife. My Fiancee was so impressed with Wilfred's and Elias' enthusiasm that it has re-ignited her childhood birdwatching devotion.

The itinerary was spot on and we felt that the amount of travel time was very minimal and well thought out compared to previous tours. This allowed us to really immerse ourselves in all that Belize has to offer. The highlights are too many to list, but the 2 beach breaks made us feel a million miles away from home and all the stresses of life (relaxing with a few Belikin Beers or Panty Rippers whilst watching the sun set over the Caribbean, has to be as close to perfect as it gets!) We also particularly enjoyed the Crooked Tree Sanctuary, seeing 50+ varieties of Birds on our first morning. The Mayan sites were fascinating and found that Wilfred ensured we went at the perfect times to avoid the crowds- sometimes having the sites almost all to ourselves. This made us feel very special and we were able to connect emotionally to our environment and reflect on all our newfound knowledge. We explored the site at Cahal Pech on our own and realised just how much we had learned in a short space of time. Tikal was truly magical- the sound of a Guatemalan stand-off between 2 troops of Howler Monkeys at 2am was pretty amazing and an unusual alarm call! Snorkelling off Caye Caulker was also an unforgettable experience.... This list really is endless!

Our small, varied group of 10 (an element uncontrollable by Explore, but nonetheless, shouldn't go without comment) got on famously with Wilfred's light hearted banter and encouragement. We feel really lucky to have shared our holiday with Wilfred, Elias and our fellow travellers and it was a very sad farewell at the end of our adventure, with lots of tears, but newfound friendships and the feeling that we had all experienced one of the best trips ever.

The only reason we haven't given this trip top marks is because the overnight accomodation at the Sleep Inn near Miami airport was poor (dated hotel and with strong aroma of cigarette smoke in a non-smoking room, no restaurant and no bar for weary travellers to re-fuel, re-hydrate and refresh quickly for the onward journey.)

We are already planning our next trip with Explore (and possibly a return to Belize for our long awaited wedding!.......)
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jessica

Bristol
Fabulous country! Great tour as so varied.
Nature:inland lagoon with fabulous bird life and some animals and tropical jungle with lush vegetation.
History: great Mayan ruins.
Sea: good snorkelling,golden palm-fringed sands.

Not too much travelling as such a small country and really friendly people.
Great to see people of such different origins living together in apparent harmony
And - best of all. Glorious weather!
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Simon

London
One of the best Explore holidays we have done - enjoyed the country, the climate, our fellow travellers and thought the tour guide was amazing. Almost several small holidays with relaxation between; birdwatching followed by time on the beach and then Tikal followed by an even better beach resort.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 05 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lucy

ash vale
My boyfriend and I both thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was a perfect combination of seeing all the highlights of Belize and of time to rest/do your own thing. As I work long hours the relaxation element was important, and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this holiday to others.

Wilfred was a great tour guide -justifiably proud of his country and really knowledgeable. His humour and enthusiasm made him good company and he really looked after us all. As said by others Elias is also a real boon for birders - he has amazing eyesight!

There were a lot of highlights -for me as a novice snorkeller I would say the Hol Chan snorkel trip was a standout because it was so easy and we saw sharks, rays and had a fantastic sighting of a turtle. I had been nervous because others in the group were experienced snorkelers and I thought I would be a drag but Wilfred assured me he would make sure I was OK and I had a great time.

There are too many good things to say about the trip so instead I will urge you to book it and see for yourself!
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 05 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Bruce

London
Our leader, Wilfred Garbutt, was excellent in every way, and was careful about details to make our trip even better. The group was more than congenial. We were taken to the best that Belize has to offer - from the Mayan ruins to the howler monkey sanctuary to small local restaurants, to lovely Caribbean beaches. We had no health problems at all. We birders were fortunate in that most were interested in the loud, large, colourful birds, and we had time to observe them. We especially enjoyed spectacular Tikal, actually in Guatemala, where the howler monkeys entertained us at 4 am, and the spider monkeys trained for the Cirque du Soleil.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Katie

Coventry
I have done a number of tours with Explore which have all been excellent but I think this may be my favourite. The itinerary is excellent and well thought out with a great variety of activities.
Wilfred was our guide and he should definitely be nominated for Tour Leader of the Year as he was fabulous. He was exceptionally knowledgeable about his country, which he clearly loves, and has the eyes of an eagle when it comes to spotting wildlife and was great fun while also being exceptionally responsible. Elias, our driver, was also great and again excellent at spotting wildlife.
I loved everywhere we went but I think Caye Caulker has to be my favourite due to the lovely laid back vibe and excellent snorkelling trips - snorkelling with sharks, rays and turtles were just magical.
Definitely do this trip!
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Brendan

Farnham, Surrey
This trip was brilliant. There was a mixture of accommodation standards which overall exceeded our expectation for a general tour standard. The itinerary was varied and very interesting and a lot was packed into a small amount of time. The only reason it did not score 10 out of 10 is on Caye Caulker there was no real alternative to the snorkeling trips, where one of the party does not snorkel.
One of the high points of the tour was Wilfred the tour leader who ensured all ran smoothly. Above and beyond that, he lead a number of early morning walks in addition to those in the itinerary that just added to the whole experience.

We would definitely recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016