It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
535 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Land of the Dragon BI

Visiting: India , Bhutan
Tour Duration 12 Days
 
Reviews for Land of the Dragon 4.5 out of 5 based on 10 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land of the Dragon tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 Alison Minns, 15/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Bhutan is such an unusual country and has so many positive aspects (though the roads are not good). The Paro Festival provided ample opportunity for people watching as well as enjoying the festive atmosphere of the dancing and religious ceremonies. The Bhutanese multi-coloured national dress is stunning. The Paro Festival and Tiger's Nest Hike were both memorable. I enjoyed all 3 hikes and it was a bonus to see daphne, rhododendrons and primula growing wild. The dzongs and monasteries were far more colourful than I'd imagined and there were ample opportunities to take photos of monks who were very photogenic.

Read more
 
5 PuiChun Chan, 09/04/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

The serenity and beauty of Bhutan and its people will live with me forever. The diverse landscape and the smiling citizens with their colourful costumes has enhance my joie de vive. Thank you Bhutan for a memorable trip.

 

Read more
 
4 Stuart Forster, 27/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Black Crane Festival.

Read more
 
4.5 Linda Forster, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The hike to the Tiger Nest Monastery was pretty gruelling and we knew we wouldn't make it all the way to the top, but the cafeteria part way was our goal and we made it there for the fab view of the monastery.

Read more
 
5 Stephen, 09/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Highlight was the cultural festivities at Paro, Thimphu and any other Zhongs along the way. I got the most incredible photographs.

Read more
 
5 Clare, 28/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Highlight was the wonderf and mysticism of the festival at Thimpu.  

Read more
 
0 Fiona W, 15/05/12
A wonderful trip from start to finish made all the better by our fabulous guide, Namgay and driver, Tenzin who ensured that everyone was well looked after. Namgay's ability to explain the intricacies of Buddhism in clear terms along with his depth of faith and unashamed love of his country was refreshing and informative; his sense of fun only added to the whole experience. The Paro festival, Punakha dzong, Phobijka and the Tiger's Nest were all highlights for me but ultimately the most memorable part of the tour was the serene beauty of the country and the people. The hotels were all very individual and were of a high standard apart from the Wangchuck in Thimpu which was clean but lacked the high level of service to be found elsewhere in Bhutan. The food can be somewaht monotonous as it is all 'tourist buffet' style ... but who goes the Bhutan for the food? I hope that Bhutan does not succumb to tourist pressures and retains its policy on limiting the number of visitors each year. This is definitely the best trip I have done in over 15 years of travelling and well worth every penny.
 
0 SG, 15/05/12
I saw Bhutan once on a Michael palin programme in mid nineties. When I arrived I realised it hasn't advanced much. It is ancient tradition meets the 1970's. In a fun and friendly environment. We went for Paro festival, but on our tour we saw 3 other dances & festivals. Have the most amazing pictures of dancers in a very hospitable and ffriendly environment. I will strongly advise to people attending festivals. Guys - wear a long sleeve buttoned collared shirt. You can get in without, but our guide was or would have been proffesionally embarrassed had his group been scruffy or misbehaved. the other tip on Paro festival is that you sit all day on concrete steps. Take something soft to sit on. And something to kee sun off your face as well. Hats are banned as disrespectful. Good luck and enjoy. .
 
0 hannah kozich, 23/12/10
It was a wonderful holiday, providing a great introduction to Bhutan, with a fun and effective tour leader and really good local guides. The only problem is that I would like to have spent more time and travelled further in the country - or perhaps that's for another trip! (BI - 25th October 2010)
 
0 Patrick McGuckin, 12/11/10

Just back from this trip. Arriving in Bhutan following the frenetic pace in Kathmandu is like bathing in a crystal clear lake. It's a chance to reset your mind and feel part of the Gross National Happiness which is part of the mindset of the people of the country, not just a phrase.     

Our trip coincided with the Thimpu festival. We saw rehearsals and smaller festivals on the lead up to the main event. The dances are exquisite and appreciated reverentially by the crowds. Phallus bearing clowns mimic the dancers and entertain the audience.    

We had a great tour leader, Laura, for this trip. Our local guides were fantastic and our driver very skilled as we went along the mountain pass roads.   

The trip to the Tiger's Nest Monastry at Paro is a real highlight. If you can't make it to the top it's still worth heading part way to the cafe for the great views.   

My overall impression of Bhutan is one of calm friendliness. Buddhism is really fully part of life and its worth having an overview before you go as you will be visiting a lot of Dzongs and monasteries.    Another tip is to try a rum Dragon Warmer in the Phobjika valley before you retire to the hotel room with a log burning fire! (BI -Sep10 2010)

 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA