It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
539 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Gourmet Cycle to Bordeaux 4.5 out of 5 based on 10 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Gourmet Cycle to Bordeaux tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Sian Davies, 04/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I loved this tour! The combination of cycling, good food and good wine was brilliant! This tour is my third with Andrew and once again met and exceeded my expectations. My highlights included:- Swimming in the pool when we arrived late in Moissac. The gourmet meals both quite different both equally delicious! The morning market in Valence D’Agen. The gourmet picnic a delightful selection of local specialties. The optional 85km ride to Lectoure with the most amazing and reviving tea shop – it was a bit tough but I wouldn’t have missed it for the world! The village of Auvillar.

Read more
 
5 Barbara Daly, 26/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

..many....itinerary was varied, challenging, with options, if forced to choose one....dinner at Lion D'Or dining room after perfect day of cycling with choir practice in a nearby church working on Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah"

Read more
 
5 ANDY FRANCIS, 14/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole trip was amazing so really cannot pick out 1 individual part, the scenery cycling through the fruit orchards and vineyards around Moissac and then the change of scenery along the canal, excellent food and beverage whether it was the picnic lunches organised by tour leader Andrew or buy your own before the start of a days cycling to the diners in the evening. Apart from the last hotel in Bordeaux all the accommodation was of a comfortable and clean standard.

Read more
 
4.5 Judy Fairgrieve, 12/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

What a fantastic cycling holiday. An experience tasting local produce and wine. Great visit to a market where the local produce was amazing. Wonderful passing fields full of sunflowers and riding along the canal. Easy cycling with a few harder options if you want to try them. The food was absolutely amazing. Wonderful having Andrew as our tour guide, he had a wealth of local knowledge, respect for the environment, went out of his way to help the group in anyway he could. Excellent people skills. I am still on a "high" from the holiday.

Read more
 
4.5 Joan, 11/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Beautiful scenery a great insight into French life, food and wine - the day I completed the 87 kilometre cycle off the Canal into the backroads of LA Ger and saw some outstanding beauty in terms of landscape and beautiful villages etc

Read more
 
4.5 Annie Delahunty, 09/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

It was the combination of cycling through interesting and often beautiful areas where the food is produced and the opportunities to eat first class local produce as part of the holiday - even going to the market with the Michelin starred chef who cooked last nights dinner. Enjoyed the circular route options as well as the canal-side rides.

Read more
 
4.5 Liz Baker, 09/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The tour was excellent and lived up to its title of combining gentle cycling along the banks of canals whilst sampling gourmet food and wine of the Bordeaux area.

Read more
 
5 Jeri Wade, 06/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Every moment was filled with unique wonderful experiences; the plane trees made the canal look magical, and cycling under the canopy of the plane trees whose image was reflected in the canal water. The sunflowers and wheat waved in the breeze; we bought fruit bought from lady and little boy at the front of their house among a brilliant display of flowers. We were learning about and eating the local produce. At the wine tastings we met the Sommelier, excited to present his wines and his medals, enthused by our eagerness to learn more. We toured the market, buying provisions - spices, cheeses, tomatoes and wine, freshness right off the farm, vegetables and salads. It was a privilege being among the locals buying their daily provisions and we helped by consuming cheese, fruit, duck, grape juice at our picnics. In one of Les Plus Beaux Villages we watched actors practicing for a play, got immersed in village life from the stories told by the locals wandering the narrow streets and engaging them with my best French. We ate our meal in the street with the scent of the flowers and a view of the architecture right on the Camino with pilgrims walking past. At all our meals, whether a picnic or at a restaurant, the food was exceptionally fresh and tasty. We had great photo stops, viewed local art and sculpture, visited exhibitions and wandered Agen by night to view the light up facades of the old buildings. Then our journey continued along the canal, flat and shaded from the heat under the canopy of the plane trees.

Read more
 
4.5 Liz Baker, 12/05/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The tour was excellent and lived up to its title of combining gentle cycling along the banks of canals whilst sampling gourmet food and wine of the Bordeaux area.

Read more
 
4.5 Annie Delahunty, 10/05/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

It was the combination of cycling through interesting and often beautiful areas where the food is produced and the opportunities to eat first class local produce as part of the holiday - even going to the market with the Michelin starred chef who cooked last nights dinner. Enjoyed the circular route options as well as the canal-side rides.

Read more
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA