It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
628 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Buddha's Island + Maldive Dhoni Cruise SLM

Trip Duration 22 Days
 

Reviews for Buddha's Island + Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Buddha's Island + Maldive Dhoni Cruise trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Buddha's Island + Maldive Dhoni Cruise reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Buddha's Island + Maldive Dhoni CruiseScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Lesley

Wakefield
Sri Lanka is fantastic; amazing historic sites, colourful bird life, varied wildlife, lush vegetation, friendly people and a warm Ocean to swim in.

The tour gives a glimpse of people carrying out everyday life such as toddy tappers walking 15m high on their coir ropes between coconut trees, the bustle of local fish market, rice harvesters, tea pickers, worshippers at temples, schoolchildren in their uniforms and monks in contemplation. It also visits the highlights of historical Sri Lanka.
Confirmed traveller: 20 February 2017
Published on: 22 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Isle of Man
A wonderful relaxing trip, you need to enjoy snorkelling, its very casual and informal . the food is wonderful, but cabins are very small and you share, so its rather cramped, but a wonderful experience for the price and a great way to see the Maldives. Male is only for one night and thats all that is needed. Bring a small suitcase, with your own hairdryer if you have long hair. bring a dongle if you need wifi, but the boat has electricity and can recharge your IT. but no wi fi. for one week you need no more that this! fabulous and I will do it again.
But remember that the trip and places may be wonderful, but you cant choose who is on the trip and some people spend their time trying to find reasons to complain about everything !! shame about the people on my trip! they did not want any music on the boat and they did not want me to fish from the boat , incase a fish was harmed !?? and they were watching everything the poor leader tried to do or say. ! god help him ( Bongle was a lovely chap but on tender hooks with the customers who could be tricky and demanding of his time ! ) loved the trip ! shame about the people. The crew were lovely too, kind and helpful, and the cook was very kind and never stopped working to please us.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Linda

Soudley, Gloucestershire
A really varied & interesting itinerary, busy with a whole range of sights, experiences & wildlife. The guide, Jude was excellent, a very good ambassador for Sri Lanka, sharing his wealth of knowledge. He went the extra mile to ensure we had a worthwhile & rewarding trip.
The ascent of Adam's Peak was very challenging even for experienced walkers/ climbers & more emphasis on its difficulty should be stated, I feel.
The snorkelling on the dhoni was fantastic, wonderful colours of fish surrounding us as we swam close to many reefs. The service on our boat was excellent as we had a great crew & Teddy our guide was also very good & keen to show us the variety of marine life. All in all, thoroughly recommended, I had a really wonderful 3 weeks.
Confirmed traveller: 07 January 2017
Published on: 27 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Graham

The World Tour now in Myanmar
The tour leader in Sri Lanka, Umparli was brilliant. Could not have been better❤️😎
The tour leader in the Maldives got off to a really bad start, oversleeping on our Xmas day, late by 1hr after I chased him up. We are expected to respect their culture, this was extremely disrespectful to my culture. He had to be told by my wife that he should apologies to the group. However, after this he was very good as his accommodation was on our boat but he didn't do a joint briefing of both boats and the other boat felt left out.
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 28 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

He's wall , Wirral
The Sri Lankan tour was well balanced with a full on itinerary the first week and a more relaxed second week. Tikari the guide was excellent. We feel that 18 people was too big a group and there was no spare space in the mini bus for rucksacks.

The extension and third week was a wonderful relaxed time on the boat. The crew were superb and along with Teddy the guide excellent at spotting manta rays and dolphins at sea. We enjoyed wonderful food three times a day.
There were two boats sailing together with a total of fifteen people which is not ideal as the guide was dividing his time between the two boats.
We think that Explore should inform customers that alcohol cannot be brought into the Maldives as it s a Muslim country. Any alcohol found in baggage is confiscated by customs and a receipt given for collection on leaving the country. There is also the risk of a night in jail. Alcohol is served on board by non Maldivian members of the crew and wine is 30 /35 dollars a bottle with gin sold by the litre at 60 dollars.
An amazing holiday but please Explore remember that your customers book with you because they like small groups and the numbers seem to be increasing on the tours.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Sully

A big departure from standard explore as only exercise is the snorkel, but it was a fabulous relaxing end to a "standard" trip. The first night was a disappointment as in a hotel on Male, so holiday only really started on the following day - so felt like a day was lost. I you get sea sick then be aware that the swell can get rough between the atolls but is fair sailing within an atoll. Food was fantastic and boat crew were friendly and helpful. I was expecting to get stir crazy after a few days but I could have honestly done another week. The only down side was the group was split across two boats, however I was told their new boat is larger and can accommodate 16. The berths were only for sleeping in and a little small if you are tall but I git used to it after the first night.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 01 November 2016
(6 out of 10)

Glenda

Hartford Wisconsin
The Sri Lanka part was for me horrible. The hotels were cheap sub-standard old and in need of extensive updating. The bus was very uncomfortable and in my opinion to small.
The Maldavies was a welcome reprieve from the Sri Lanka part.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 September 2016
Published on: 18 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Christine

Wales
Really interesting and varied tour of Sri Lanka, encompassing coastal and inland regions. Highlights were walking to summit of Adam's Peak and the local train journey to Bandarawela. The Maldive Dhoni Cruise was memorable, excellent company and crew, crystal clear waters and good snorkelling. The boat was basic but great fun and very relaxing. The food on the boat was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend this tour !
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 03 July 2016
(7 out of 10)

T

This is really 2 separate tours so my score for the leader is an average. The guide on the Sri Lanka portion was excellent. He interacted with the travellers, was extremely knowledgeable, approachable, always prepared, and he and everyone on his team were extremely professional.

For the Maldives portion of the trip, although the staff worked hard and were good at their jobs, they were not always professional. The guide seemed uncomfortable with the guests and only interacted with us when necessary. Because the team is all fairly young (early 20's), I really think that this portion of the trip would benefit greatly from having a mature adult on staff involved on each boat to cut down on the rough-housing and inappropriate behaviour that occurred on a daily basis. Wrestling on a boat while mooring or preparing to disembark is dangerous, not only for those involved, but for everyone onboard.

The activities on both tours were fun and engaging but more effort could've been made to bring the group together in the Maldives.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 03 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Brenda

Comox, British Colombia, Canada
A fantastic tour with an absolutely fantastic guide Tikiri ! Highlights were seeing elephants just randomly walking along the highway, traveling through the tea plantations, and climbing Adam's Peak with the pilgrims. Only one thing I would like to mention on the negative side is the elephant safari in Minneriya National Park (the second elephant safari we went on) I felt that the drivers of the safari trucks were stressing the elephants by encircling them with so many jeeps getting way too close to the herd. I understand that the type of terrain and vegetation (very high elephant grass) inhibits the viewing of these elephants in this particular part of the world and the park probably feels pressured to deliver good viewing to the tourists as it is probably tourist dollars that fund the preservation of the park but the elephants were in distress encircling the babies, thrashing their trunks on the ground, the matriarch was so stressed she had diarrhea, and I believe this probably goes on all day til the park closes at dusk. Perhaps if the park could construct some high viewing stations that tourists could safely and more humanely view these elephants from would be better. Once again thankyou Explore for another great trip !
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 28 March 2016