It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Buddha's Island + Maldive Dhoni Cruise SLM

Trip Duration 22 Days
 

Reviews for Buddha's Island + Maldive Dhoni Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Buddha's Island + Maldive Dhoni Cruise trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Buddha's Island + Maldive Dhoni Cruise reviews verified by reevooReevoo

23 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Buddha's Island + Maldive Dhoni CruiseScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 23 reviews
(9 out of 10)

John

Chisworth,
This was a comfortable and very enjoyable tour, of 10 people, over 3 weeks attempting to let us fit in as much as possible both in Sri Lanka (2 weeks) and the Maldives (1 week). We enjoyed both parts being active and vigorous in Sri Lanka but relaxing very much in the warm waters and on deck of our Dhoni though doing as much snorkelling as possible.
Climbing the Lion Rock and Adam's Peak were great and we were very lucky indeed seeing a leopard and sloth bear on our safaris (both safaris were very enjoyable). We had very good weather and a great time. Both our guides, in Sri Lanka Tikiri, and Maldives, Moosa, were very enthusiastic and professional, knowledgeable and approachable taking care of all our needs. Thank You Explore.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2017
Published on: 07 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Katharine

Bury st Edmunds
The highlight was seeing spinner dolphins doing there thing! as well as rays, squid, octopus
and so many beautiful fish with an extremely knowledgable tour leader. I would never have visited the Maldives if it had not been for this cruise; I don't do beach holidays and the thought of being stuck on an island is not for me. I have been on more Explore holidays than I care to remember, as I like to be active, this is a perfect combination of activity and relaxation
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2017
Published on: 04 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Swanage
This is a full on travelling trip of Sri Lanka, with a balanced in sight into the culture, and traditions of the country. The game drives,and Sigryi rock ascent were spectacular.
Wending our way south through the tea plantations , and dizzying heights of the gorges,and waterfalls, was a start to the relaxing end of the tour. Galle Fort is a must to visit,and the town is beautiful.
Arriving in Male for our dhoni trip around the Maldives, we were struck by the immediate beauty of the ocean,and colourful boats . Our guide was suitably laid back, and the boat crew were fantastic. As a first time snorkeller, I couldn't fault the induction and guidance,and loved every snorkelling trip. The food was delicious,and the crew went above and beyond expectation,with an amazing beach dinner, drum dancing,and setting the scene at our last night supper.
A gray way to see a lot of Sri Lanka at a fairly full on pace, with the relaxation and underwater exploration at the end. Loved it!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Brian

Excellent tour.
Minor problems were bus too small, group too big at 18.
Parts of itinerary could be changed.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2017
Published on: 15 March 2017
(6 out of 10)

Gloria

Wallington Surrey
Highlights were the large number ofelephants in the national park (one 3 weeks old), the blue whales and in the Maldives snorkelling and close encounters with turtles.
Extra visits added by tour leader in Sri Lanka (shopping etc) meant that the free time implied in the itinerary disappeared and there were sometimes unnecessarily late arrivals at hotels.
10 on a small boat in the Maldives in not very good weather meant very little personal space or quiet times. Lots of cloud and wind and some rough seas and rain. Not what we expected in peak season. I found the snorkling distances and currents challenging but the crew were very helpful and the zodiac was always close by.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 07 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Lesley

Wakefield
Sri Lanka is fantastic; amazing historic sites, colourful bird life, varied wildlife, lush vegetation, friendly people and a warm Ocean to swim in.

The tour gives a glimpse of people carrying out everyday life such as toddy tappers walking 15m high on their coir ropes between coconut trees, the bustle of local fish market, rice harvesters, tea pickers, worshippers at temples, schoolchildren in their uniforms and monks in contemplation. It also visits the highlights of historical Sri Lanka.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 20 February 2017
Published on: 22 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Isle of Man
A wonderful relaxing trip, you need to enjoy snorkelling, its very casual and informal . the food is wonderful, but cabins are very small and you share, so its rather cramped, but a wonderful experience for the price and a great way to see the Maldives. Male is only for one night and thats all that is needed. Bring a small suitcase, with your own hairdryer if you have long hair. bring a dongle if you need wifi, but the boat has electricity and can recharge your IT. but no wi fi. for one week you need no more that this! fabulous and I will do it again.
But remember that the trip and places may be wonderful, but you cant choose who is on the trip and some people spend their time trying to find reasons to complain about everything !! shame about the people on my trip! they did not want any music on the boat and they did not want me to fish from the boat , incase a fish was harmed !?? and they were watching everything the poor leader tried to do or say. ! god help him ( Bongle was a lovely chap but on tender hooks with the customers who could be tricky and demanding of his time ! ) loved the trip ! shame about the people. The crew were lovely too, kind and helpful, and the cook was very kind and never stopped working to please us.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Linda

Soudley, Gloucestershire
A really varied & interesting itinerary, busy with a whole range of sights, experiences & wildlife. The guide, Jude was excellent, a very good ambassador for Sri Lanka, sharing his wealth of knowledge. He went the extra mile to ensure we had a worthwhile & rewarding trip.
The ascent of Adam's Peak was very challenging even for experienced walkers/ climbers & more emphasis on its difficulty should be stated, I feel.
The snorkelling on the dhoni was fantastic, wonderful colours of fish surrounding us as we swam close to many reefs. The service on our boat was excellent as we had a great crew & Teddy our guide was also very good & keen to show us the variety of marine life. All in all, thoroughly recommended, I had a really wonderful 3 weeks.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 January 2017
Published on: 27 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Graham

The World Tour now in Myanmar
The tour leader in Sri Lanka, Umparli was brilliant. Could not have been better❤️😎
The tour leader in the Maldives got off to a really bad start, oversleeping on our Xmas day, late by 1hr after I chased him up. We are expected to respect their culture, this was extremely disrespectful to my culture. He had to be told by my wife that he should apologies to the group. However, after this he was very good as his accommodation was on our boat but he didn't do a joint briefing of both boats and the other boat felt left out.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 28 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

He's wall , Wirral
The Sri Lankan tour was well balanced with a full on itinerary the first week and a more relaxed second week. Tikari the guide was excellent. We feel that 18 people was too big a group and there was no spare space in the mini bus for rucksacks.

The extension and third week was a wonderful relaxed time on the boat. The crew were superb and along with Teddy the guide excellent at spotting manta rays and dolphins at sea. We enjoyed wonderful food three times a day.
There were two boats sailing together with a total of fifteen people which is not ideal as the guide was dividing his time between the two boats.
We think that Explore should inform customers that alcohol cannot be brought into the Maldives as it s a Muslim country. Any alcohol found in baggage is confiscated by customs and a receipt given for collection on leaving the country. There is also the risk of a night in jail. Alcohol is served on board by non Maldivian members of the crew and wine is 30 /35 dollars a bottle with gin sold by the litre at 60 dollars.
An amazing holiday but please Explore remember that your customers book with you because they like small groups and the numbers seem to be increasing on the tours.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016