It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
544 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

North India Explorer QIN

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 16 Days
 
Reviews for North India Explorer 4.5 out of 5 based on 11 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the North India Explorer tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4 Atessa, 24/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

I have travelled extensively to some challenging destinations but India takes poverty, social injustice, infrastructural dereliction and overwhelming chaos to a different level. Scratch that surface (it wont be easy) and you will see the outstanding beauty of this vast country. However you will be disturbed by what you see and you will never forget it. Agra fort was my highlight and Varanassi prayer ceremony will not fade from my memories any time soon.

 

 

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to read of your disappointment with the camel safari; we had not heard this before, and are investigating whether the correct route was taken.  The boatmen are not direct employees, so we’re afraid we do not have real influence over them – but we will ask our tour leaders to have a quiet word if it is obviously impacting on our customers’ experience.

 
4.5 Howard Evans, 02/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The add on trip to Amritsar and visiting the Golden Temple and drifting down the Ganges. Just hurtling through manic streets in a tuk tuk [auto rickshaw]was an adventure every journey. Hang onto your hat.

Read more
 
5 Henry , 02/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were so many highlights. besides the Taj, sunrise on the temple hilltop at pushkar with the monkeys, boat trip down the ganges - all unforgettable

Read more
 
4.5 Thomas Hughes, 20/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Taj Mahal

Read more
 
2 Marcella Nathan, 20/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were many but I think it would have to be visiting and staying at Hampi

Read more
 
5 Steve, 20/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing the Taj Mahal at first light was very special.

Read more
 
4.5 , 24/01/14

Name

Veronica Lovell

Tour Name

North India Explorer

Tour Code

QIN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Eating under the stars on the banks of the Ganges as part of our camping expedition - absolutely magic.

Tour Leader Name

Raj

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent - deserves a medal or two. Thoughtful, caring, seemingly prepared for all eventualities. Great guide and an asset to the company

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Go with an open mind and an open heart.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Not a relaxing trip by any means, but stimulating, vibrant and absorbing. There is plenty of sightseeing - forts, palaces, markets, mosques, temples and workshops. The colour and movement on the streets is breathtaking - be prepared for anything and be shocked by nothing. Your cameras will work overtime.........

 
4.5 , 06/12/13

Name

Chris

Tour Name

North India Explorer

Tour Code

QIN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

There were two... Holi festival, which happened while our tour was in Udaipur and secondly revisiting Varanasi following a two-day trip by boat down the Ganges.

Tour Leader Name

Sabhi

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Well, we had three!! Firstly in Delhi we met Gordan who really only welcomed us and accompanied us to a restaurant in Delhi the first evening. Ummedd took over until we left Udaipur. He was really great in Delhi, showed us Old Delhi, Chandi Chowk, Sikh temple and the great Mosque, We got a sense of excitement from his approach and felt we were part of what was to be a really fascinating journey. Here we had great fun. He was repalced by Sabhi on arrival in Pushkar (I'm sure you are aware of the issues). Sabhi was good but I felt he perhaps did it by the book and I missed some of the excitement that Ummedd provided... though I cannot condone his misconduct. However I must applaud Sabhi for taking over so quickly given his personal circumstances and behaving impeccably.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

If you want everything organised for you this trip will provide it but the emphasis is on the group experimenting a little and deciding what and when to do things. I enjoyed the use of local transport and all the chaos that this can generate. I was very impressed at the accuracy of what the tour delivered and the professionalism of out tour guide Abhi. He would suggest something e.g. where to eat or go and we always had an option of suggesting something else. Nothing was "fixed" such that we could not suggest alternatives, indeed we were given alternative/options quite often. I would say, go into the tour with the spirit of excitement for the unknown.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It was a good combination of scheduled and non scheduled activity, giving everyone a chance to indulge in the culture and to rest when needed.

 
5 Bruce Dunning, 11/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

UMED SHARMA

Read more
 
5 Vanessa Plessas, 01/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Ganges sailing trip which included the overnight camping. It was so relaxing sailing down the Ganges. A lovely chance to relax after the chaos and noises of some of the cities. We were lucky enough to see dolphins. The boatmen looked after us so well, cooked delicious food and made a camp fire. There was also an amazing sky full of stars and an impromptu game of cricket after breakfast. A stop at one of the villages by the Ganges brought us to an old English cemetery - it was fascinating to capture part of the British History there reading the grave stones. Also the visit to the Taj Mahal at sunrise and the second chance to see it at sunset- truly memorable

Read more
 
0 Lisa, 27/03/12
I have recently returned from the North India Explorer trip which departed on 3rd March 2012. I have been on numerous trips with yourself and Exodus, and just wanted to provide some feedback with regards to Abi our tour leader.
By far Abi has been the best tour leader I have experienced on any of my trips and a role model for other tour leaders. From the outset he was approachable, friendly, flexible and interested. He made considerable effort to get to know each member of the group and ascertain their individual requirements. He went out of his way to make the trip fun, informative and exciting, and made sure we experienced the real India by immersing us into his own family life and local culture and engaged fully within the group and activities. He showed considerable care to those single travellers within the group ensuring he was contactable at all times if we needed assistance, and was always willing to resource opportunities for us to sample further/different aspects of the Indian culture. More simple things he provided that can often be time consuming when travelling, was he carried a supply of postage stamps and arranged money exchange, all of which took away any hassle in the trip allowing us to fully enjoy the cultural experience.
Often clients tend only to provide negative feedback, however on this trip I can only provide positive, it was well organised, good value for money, a fantastic group and a wonderful tour leader resulting in one of the best trips I have taken to date
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA