It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

North India Explorer QIN

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 16 Days

Reviews for North India Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the North India Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:


North India Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
North India ExplorerScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Fantastic trip - well worth it. Some long days but standing at the Taj at sunrise will take some beating.

Abi our leader was simply one of the best, can see how he received 'Tour guide of the year 2015'.

One minor gripe, the hotel in Kolkota was one of the worst I've encountered! Especially the rat running around with toast in it's mouth whilst we were eating breakfast!

If you can change this hotel then it will be one of the best Explore tours ever.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 12 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016

Thanks for such a positive review, George. We're delighted that Abi looked after you so well, and you've got such a great memory of the Taj at sunrise. I've taken your feedback on board and removed the VIP Hotel in Kolkata from our offering - we're now using an upgraded alternative.

(8 out of 10)


The general organization was excellent and everything went like clockwork. The Explore Leader was very pro-active in managing the day to day programme to optimize use of time. He gave outstanding attention to the well-being of the party at all times and all his recommendations for options well worth doing and excellent value.
The accommodation was well-selected in terms of location and comfort and met expectations given the overall holiday cost. The only exception was the hotel in Kolkata, which was dire - very dirty, bone-idle staff, terrible electrics and a pounding disco in an adjoining building throughout the evening. When my air-conditioning was switched on it showered the room with soot - which did not seem either to surprise or bother the porter. He did not seem to understand my request for clean bedding (soot covered) and none came. There appeared to be no joined-up supervision of staff. Change this hotel!!!
The highlight for me was the Varanasi experience, and I loved the boat trip. We all came down with tricky tummys, however, and some attention needs to be paid to where the cooks source their water. Otherwise, the boat lads were generous, great fun and big-hearted. The effort they put into keeping us comfortable and amused is to be commended.
Confirmed traveller: 11 April 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016

Thank you for your review, Christopher. While we're delighted that you enjoyed your trip overall, we're equally unhappy with your experience at the VIP International Hotel in Kolkata. Based on our customers' feedback, we have removed this hotel from our itineraries are we're now using an alternative, upgraded hotel.

(6 out of 10)


Hemel Hempstead
This was our ninth trip with Explore, so we know what to expect. The trip was not as active as I had expected, which disappointed. A few of the free days were unnecessary because there was nothing to do or see, after the orientation walk - the towns were uninteresting and too small. The group just vegetated on these days.
The accommodation was really poor towards the end of the tour and the last nights accommodation was by far the worst hotel I and other members of the group had ever stayed in. Even the tour guide asked to be moved on the last night and sent photos of the appalling accommodation to Explore.
Highlights - boating down the Ganges, Taj Mahal, train jouneys and rickshaw rides.
Confirmed traveller: 11 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016
(6 out of 10)


A bit too intense really, I would preferred to have visited LESS places, and spent more days in each one.

I also felt that there was too much paying for items as we went along. It would have been better if things like travelling to and visiting sites like the Taj were already included in the cost paid when booking, the way that G-ADVENTURES do it!
The initial cost would probably have been more, but it have mean't NOT having to keep giving money to the tour guide for these and upgraded travel.

Also, although it seemed like a good idea to have a "Kitty" so that the tour leader could dispense tips to porters etc, this too should be included in the overall initial payment!

I really enjoyed most of the places we visited, and Yadoo, the tour leader was mostly helpful and informative, but the one thing I did not like was being requested to tip him,since he is a 'professional' person and presumably receives a reasonable salary, which together with the commission from the various restaurants and factory outlets that he took us to, should have been sufficient remuneration for him. Is tipping the tour leader on Explore trips the norm, because once again this was not something that I have encountered with G-Adventures!

One thing that require a special mention, is the transfers by Cox & Kings both to and from the airports at the start and finish of the trip - THEY WERE BOTH EFFICIENT AND ON TIME - EXELLENT.

Overall a mostly enjoyable trip.
Confirmed traveller: 22 March 2016
Published on: 01 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


Brilliant trip - met all expectations and itinerary balanced the level of activity well always allowing time for relaxation and sorting out just when needed. Sailing down the Ganges was a particular highlight. Yadu, our group leader went out of his way to make sure we all had a good time and nothing was too much trouble for him. He was extremely knowledgeable and told us so much about Indian history and customs, which enhances the experience.
We followed other's tips and travelled light, using hotels laundries, which paid dividends when carrying bags on railway journeys. 2 of the hotels had swimming pools, so I wished I had packed a swimming costume. It was frequently easier to change sterling for rupees than find ATMs.
Confirmed traveller: 21 March 2016
Published on: 24 March 2016
(10 out of 10)


Melton Mowbray
The beautiful Taj Mahal, sailing down the Ganges and camping on a deserted sandbank were our highlights.
Confirmed traveller: 26 January 2016
Published on: 08 February 2016
(10 out of 10)


Camberley, Surrey
Thorough enjoyable trip. There were many highlights, to mention. Our Tour Leader was amazing. Showed an interest in all the group and ensured that we were always happy with whatever was happening. Narji, our Tour Leader constantly gave us options as to trips/events which catered to a diverse group of people. I took my two daughters on this trip (age 15 and 17) and wasn't sure what to expect. The whole trip was incredibly organised and our group leader absolutely did over and above what I expected.

Incredible experience thank you.
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 02 February 2016
(10 out of 10)


The forts, palaces, lakes and Taj Mahal were all highlights, as we're the different methods of travel - trains, tuc tucs, cycle rickshaws, and camel. I would advise people to travel lightly and get clothes washed in the hotels along the way. Although there is camping one night, you get given lots of blankets, so a silk liner is probably all you need rather than a sleeping bag.
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 18 January 2016
(8 out of 10)


I was amazed by the spiritual experience of the Taj Mahal. I also really enjoyed drifting down the Ganges in small boats for two days. However the camping was spilt by swarms of lacewings. Be prepared for very early starts, often 5 or 6 am.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2015
Published on: 17 November 2015