It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
603 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

China On A Shoestring QCH

Visiting: China
Tour Duration 21 Days
 
Reviews for China On A Shoestring

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the China On A Shoestring tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

China On A Shoestring reviews verified by Reevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
China On A ShoestringScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(8 out of 10)

David

marlow
The great wall and the cruise were the highlights for me.
Be prepared to go to some very busy places. There are a lot of people in China and they all push and shove!!
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(4 out of 10)

Eugene

Orland, Maine
Shaanxi Museum in Xi-an
Shanghai Museum
Shanghai Arts and Crafts Museum

Get fit especially walking up and down hills and biking.
Confirmed traveller: 25 October 2015
Published on: 26 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed purchaser

Torquay, Devon
The whole holiday was brilliant. I was travelling solo and was worried I would not be able to see everything by myself but Frank the tour guide shepherded the group everywhere so we maximised each location. The highlights are too numerous to mention. Beijing, The Wall,Terracotta Warriors, Pandas, Yangtse cruise, Rice terraces, walking, cycling, the food, bartering, overnight trains and Shanghai. I took a rucksack but it would have been better with a wheeled suitcase.
Be prepared to be very busy, embrace everything.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 19 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Alan

Heathfield
Terracotta warriors especially, but the whole variety of the trip from the cities and history to the rural, landscapes and cultural aspects. A value for money tour visiting the many and varied highlights of China.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 15 November 2015
(7 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This is a busy trip. Early mornings, long days, some steep but short walks in the mountains, gentle bike rides, moving one's own luggage and a lot of travel all take their toll but are worth being reasonably fit for. The cruise ship was not simple - a very comfortable and relaxing part of the trip after Beijing and Xian. Take a small backpack for the two-day, one overnight stay in the mountains as you will leave you main luggage in storage. The accommodation whilst basic was comfortable and clean enough though be prepared for some firm mattresses. Take a picture dictionary, particularly to help in restaurants.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Varied and engaging from start to finish. I felt as though I'd experienced many different aspects of China. Highlights - Terrcotta Army in Xi'an, walking in the hills at Pingan, the pandas at Chengdu and the punted boat trip at Yangzhou (but don't book the motorised version as an extra: you'll get noise, fumes & an overcrowded river). Even travelling on the overnight trains was good fun! A terrific leader, always aware of the differing needs of the group members and attending to all effectively, humanity, discretion when required, and with real enthusiasm and good humour.
Confirmed traveller: 22 August 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Jill

London
Only book this trip if you want a full-on China experience. Whilst the accommodation may not be first class, this is more than adequately compensated by the 'real' China that you will enter. Beijing is absolutely overwhelming (and I live in London!), the Great Wall is amazing, the giant pandas are cute although the centre is a bit like a zoo but the Terracotta Warriors are fantastic, a real must-see. The whole trip is a cultural experience which will interest any serious traveller, I thoroughly recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 20 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Bronwen

Wirral
All the usual tourist sights were included and didn't disappoint but I especially enjoyed the 3 days in the villages getting off the beaten track. The 'shoestring' bit gave us a fascinating window into local life especially travel on the sleeper trains. A real culture shock which I loved because few places we visit these days can offer much more than vanilla. That certainly can't be said of China on a Shoestring. Made all the more fun with a great group.
Confirmed traveller: 03 May 2015
Published on: 12 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Andy

Brighton
Date Travelled: July-August 2015

This trip was easily one of the best holidays we have been on! On the Shoestring tour there is a great deal of flexibility as to what you can do; the itinerary is fairly extensive but you aren't tied down with it as our tour leader was willing to let people do their own thing, a lot of the time a family on our tour went off on their own and pursued their own interests and we just met with them in the evening or following morning.

On this tour you will experience the three big tourist attractions, The Great Wall, The Terracotta Warriors and the Pandas at Cheng Du; aside from these great places you will find yourself immersed in places from the chaotic, corporatised, bustling cities to the tranquil, rustic country paddy fields, quite often seeing China's frank and honest side. Travelling everywhere by bus or train was a very good decision as it gives you more time travelling across the country, allowing you to see more of it and to really get to know your fellow travellers on your tour.

The highlights for us were definitely the three "big ones" as mentioned, but aside from that we really enjoyed the countryside as it was a lot more relaxed and the scenery was simply incredible. If you are asked if you want to go and see the 'Sound and Light Show' in Yang Shuo, which may not initially sound alluring....but it should! It was amazing and out of all the shows we saw, we are confident when we say that it is better than all the other shows we saw by the width of China! Whilst in Yang Shuo also, you are offered two bamboo boat rides, the first one has a canopy and is motor driven so it is really noisy and you can't see too far up the surrounding mountains due to the canopy, I would personally not bother with that one and wait until the following morning for the second boat ride, where you'll be hand propelled, much like a Gondola, in the fresh, peaceful morning time...bliss.

Packing: We didn't pack a lot, I had a 60ltr backpack and managed to easily fit everything in. We knew it was going to be hot so I only packed a jumper, 5 t-shirts and three pairs of shorts, 5 pairs of pants and a pair of socks for going home. This made for light packing, but it did mean doing some laundry at every available opportunity, but as there are plenty of hotel stops, then it was simple to wash everything in the sink there. If you choose this route take some string to form a clothes line; as it was so so hot when we went everything was dry in 12hrs or so. There was only ever one or maybe two points in the whole three weeks where we were shown a Launderette!

Weather/Temperature: It was very hot when we went, when we were walking the city wall in Xian it must have been around the low 40s! Make sure to bring an umbrella and/or sunscreen if you plan on going at this time. Another tip as well is to bring a good quality umbrella because even when it rains it is still hot, so if you had a rain coat like I did, it won't keep you dry because you'll be sweating so much wearing it!.. a brolly is a much better idea.

Accommodation: You will not be staying in the Hilton or Ritz at any time on this tour! Most of the places you stay are extremely simple, well used and plainly function as somewhere to sleep and wash. ALL mattresses are made from tarmac or a similar material in China. Towels are provided at every place you go, so don't panic about bringing your own!

The cherry on the cake was our fantastic tour guide Ollie! He was better than what you could wish for. He has 15 years experience under his belt and throughout he ensured everyone was safe and sound. When people fell "a bit ill" he would go out and get them the things they need from town, he took us out on excursions even during his own time which he didn't have to and as a vegetarian he ensured that I ate vegetarian food every single meal. A very patient and caring man and his English is fantastic, I just couldn't get him in my suitcase. If you get this man, you are in luck! 10/10

You will have a fantastic time!
Confirmed traveller: 16 August 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Bette

London
This trip was full of highlights but the mountain villages & rice terraces probably stand out & a great place to buy souvenirs. Ollie, the tour leader, went the extra mile for us & really looked after us.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015