It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

China On A Shoestring QCH

Visiting: China
Trip Duration 21 Days
 

Reviews for China On A Shoestring

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the China On A Shoestring trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

China On A Shoestring reviews verified by reevooReevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
China On A ShoestringScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Andrew

Bath
A varied overview of China making good use of time and hitting most major highlights.
Would spend the extra to travel soft sleeper on the overnight trains, and would find a way of avoiding the all day train journey.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 17 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alexandra

Porto Alegre in Brazil
Yangtse cruise was disapointing, except fot the first day including the Gorges. I´m thinking that a one day Li River Cruise from Guilin to Yangshuo, probably has nicer views.

Yangshuo landscape and biking between the Karst Mountains was wonderfull. Bamboo Rafting could be longer.

Ma´an Village and Ping An Village was very nice. The hike itself, was half nice and half not so good. I wouldn´t do Rice terraces in Autumn again, but this is because I always wanted to see them green and not yellow/brown.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 03 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Amanda

As described this is a busy tour fitting in the big sites. We usually travel independently so I think that is part of the reason we found this a bit limiting.
We do understand that this would have been difficult in China.

However we did enjoy our time and the company of the group but I want to write an honest review for future travellers.

There are several useful apps that could be suggested to travellers before leaving to get more from the experience
maps.me ( Google maps equivalent )
Pleco Chinese dictionary
Worthwhile reading up or bringing travel guide too.



The Negatives for us :
Never really getting away from it all .
So many extras , almost all trips aside from forbidden city, temple of heaven , pandas and Great Wall cost extra and it mounts up.

The Yangtze cruise was disappointing, since the dam the water level is much higher so the drama of the gorge is lost.
The boat was much bigger than expected , certainly than the picture on the explore website but , rooms and food good .
What was not made clear was that if you choose not to go on the trips ( all costing £20- 30 ) then you are confined to the boat. We had assumed we could get off and visit local places but this was not allowed.

Positives:
Good company
Trying out lots of different cuisines
Learning mahjong
Fascinating history
Cycle day was lovely
Walking was great but really only 1 full day
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2016
Published on: 30 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Heather

Victoria British Columbia
Our tour leader was a wonderful person and the trip was very good with what I saw of China
Confirmed traveller: 10 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

James

Aberdeen
Was a great way to see as much of China as possible in a short time. Tour guide was great and very organised. Average age of the other tour members was a bit older but they were great fun and had an amazing time
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Maureen

Ormskirk
Oliver no 1 Tour Guide made our trip a successful one. He is very knowledgable and informative checking in with us all on meeting times and tours. Organised places to go free time ...privileged to be with a group who all got on. The sleeper trains opens your eyes but enjoyed by all take tea bags/coffee played heads up cards etc and downloaded films helped. The Warriors Pandas and all attractions are amazing . Walking to the guest houses meant you could take in the views although a bit touristy something I didn't expect , worth the visit though. Visit Alice Tea Rooms in Beijing she can tell you about the people and how they live very interesting . Check the extras to get an idea how much it all costs .. ATM for money out save taking too much cash .. River cruise room really nice...4 nights enough not much to do after meal time . upgrade to drinks upstairs as mad rush for food down stairs ... A brilliant cultural experience.. Don't miss it get it booked
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

marlow
The great wall and the cruise were the highlights for me.
Be prepared to go to some very busy places. There are a lot of people in China and they all push and shove!!
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Alan

Heathfield
Terracotta warriors especially, but the whole variety of the trip from the cities and history to the rural, landscapes and cultural aspects. A value for money tour visiting the many and varied highlights of China.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 15 November 2015
(4 out of 10)

Eugene

Orland, Maine
Shaanxi Museum in Xi-an
Shanghai Museum
Shanghai Arts and Crafts Museum

Get fit especially walking up and down hills and biking.
Confirmed traveller: 25 October 2015
Published on: 26 November 2015

Thanks for the feedback, Eugene, although we’re sorry to see that you found the trip more strenuous that you anticipated. I’ve had a look at our grading for the trip and we do indicate that it’s full on – rather than moderate. Clearly, there’s a great deal to fit in on this 21 day trip, so we need to keep moving in order to meet the itinerary. Despite this point, I do hope that you returned with some positive memories of your time in China.

(10 out of 10)

Confirmed purchaser

Torquay, Devon
The whole holiday was brilliant. I was travelling solo and was worried I would not be able to see everything by myself but Frank the tour guide shepherded the group everywhere so we maximised each location. The highlights are too numerous to mention. Beijing, The Wall,Terracotta Warriors, Pandas, Yangtse cruise, Rice terraces, walking, cycling, the food, bartering, overnight trains and Shanghai. I took a rucksack but it would have been better with a wheeled suitcase.
Be prepared to be very busy, embrace everything.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 19 November 2015