It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
651 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

China On A Shoestring QCH

Visiting: China
Trip Duration 21 Days

Reviews for China On A Shoestring

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the China On A Shoestring trip available at present.

Please select a date:


China On A Shoestring reviews verified by reevooReevoo

25 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
China On A ShoestringScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 25 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Victoria British Columbia
Our tour leader was a wonderful person and the trip was very good with what I saw of China
Confirmed traveller: 10 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(8 out of 10)


Was a great way to see as much of China as possible in a short time. Tour guide was great and very organised. Average age of the other tour members was a bit older but they were great fun and had an amazing time
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Oliver no 1 Tour Guide made our trip a successful one. He is very knowledgable and informative checking in with us all on meeting times and tours. Organised places to go free time ...privileged to be with a group who all got on. The sleeper trains opens your eyes but enjoyed by all take tea bags/coffee played heads up cards etc and downloaded films helped. The Warriors Pandas and all attractions are amazing . Walking to the guest houses meant you could take in the views although a bit touristy something I didn't expect , worth the visit though. Visit Alice Tea Rooms in Beijing she can tell you about the people and how they live very interesting . Check the extras to get an idea how much it all costs .. ATM for money out save taking too much cash .. River cruise room really nice...4 nights enough not much to do after meal time . upgrade to drinks upstairs as mad rush for food down stairs ... A brilliant cultural experience.. Don't miss it get it booked
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(8 out of 10)


The great wall and the cruise were the highlights for me.
Be prepared to go to some very busy places. There are a lot of people in China and they all push and shove!!
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(10 out of 10)


Terracotta warriors especially, but the whole variety of the trip from the cities and history to the rural, landscapes and cultural aspects. A value for money tour visiting the many and varied highlights of China.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 15 November 2015
(4 out of 10)


Orland, Maine
Shaanxi Museum in Xi-an
Shanghai Museum
Shanghai Arts and Crafts Museum

Get fit especially walking up and down hills and biking.
Confirmed traveller: 25 October 2015
Published on: 26 November 2015

Thanks for the feedback, Eugene, although we’re sorry to see that you found the trip more strenuous that you anticipated. I’ve had a look at our grading for the trip and we do indicate that it’s full on – rather than moderate. Clearly, there’s a great deal to fit in on this 21 day trip, so we need to keep moving in order to meet the itinerary. Despite this point, I do hope that you returned with some positive memories of your time in China.

(10 out of 10)

Confirmed purchaser

Torquay, Devon
The whole holiday was brilliant. I was travelling solo and was worried I would not be able to see everything by myself but Frank the tour guide shepherded the group everywhere so we maximised each location. The highlights are too numerous to mention. Beijing, The Wall,Terracotta Warriors, Pandas, Yangtse cruise, Rice terraces, walking, cycling, the food, bartering, overnight trains and Shanghai. I took a rucksack but it would have been better with a wheeled suitcase.
Be prepared to be very busy, embrace everything.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 19 November 2015
(10 out of 10)


Only book this trip if you want a full-on China experience. Whilst the accommodation may not be first class, this is more than adequately compensated by the 'real' China that you will enter. Beijing is absolutely overwhelming (and I live in London!), the Great Wall is amazing, the giant pandas are cute although the centre is a bit like a zoo but the Terracotta Warriors are fantastic, a real must-see. The whole trip is a cultural experience which will interest any serious traveller, I thoroughly recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 20 October 2015
(9 out of 10)


This trip was full of highlights but the mountain villages & rice terraces probably stand out & a great place to buy souvenirs. Ollie, the tour leader, went the extra mile for us & really looked after us.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(8 out of 10)


Accrington, UK
Anotherg rest trip. My 5th I think. However, the first one that I have questioned the extra trip prices. I felt that the excursions on the 3 gorges cruise were very expensive. 30 yuan for the dam trip for what it was! Spoke to other people on different trips and theirs was included. Less time in Yangshuo and more in Shanghai would be better too. Apart from that, all great.
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2015
Published on: 27 September 2015