It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
612 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

China On A Shoestring QCH

Visiting: China
Trip Duration 21 Days
 

Reviews for China On A Shoestring

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the China On A Shoestring trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

China On A Shoestring reviews verified by reevooReevoo

37 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
China On A ShoestringScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 37 reviews
(8 out of 10)

John

Marlow
A great tour and we saw a variety of the highlights of the country. Be prepared to enjoy train travel.

Make sure you don't take clothing that you will not need. China is hot in summer, and we were grateful to be introduced to a laundry!
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 11 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Violet

Cardiff
3rd Day slipped - suspected sprained ankle - severe pain rest of trip -no one with the group with medical knowledge - rest of group gave me their personal - painkiller pills - on arrival home - went to A&E - X-ray shows broken ankle - now wearing boot for 6 weeks.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017

Hi Violet, thank you for your feedback. It’s a shame that the injury was more serious than you first believed and I hope you are on the path to a full recovery. Our leaders are first aid trained and will always take a customer to a local clinic or hospital if requested. As you can appreciate, we can only be led by the injured party after they have taken on the leader’s input.

(8 out of 10)

Adrian

Cambridge
A busy trip to the main sites in China. Be prepared for some long train journeys – up to 18 hours. Bring luggage with wheels as there is a lot of walking between buses, trains and hotels. You WILL need to be fit to get the most out of this trip.
Walking the rice terraces was my highlight, but none of the main attractions disappointed. Get ready to use your elbows, especially at the Terracotta Warriors or if you happen to get between the Chinese and food.
The trip on the Yangtze was more like a cruise and probably the least enjoyable part of the holiday for me. I could have done with more time in Shanghai.
The trip may be 'China on a Shoestring', but the optional excursions, which include some of the main sites, soon add up.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Rosemary

Birmingham
A very busy tour which packed so much into it. All the main tourist attractions plus trekking in rural China - brilliant. Would have liked more time at some places but this would have meant less time elsewhere and I really relished how many experiences we shared. Highlights for me were definitely the Great Wall, the pandas, the Terracotta Army and the trekking. The tour leader, Frank, was excellent. He clearly loves his country and showed us so much, even on our free days and half days he gave his time to arrange more trips and experiences for us. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for him. He has a lovely sense of humour, a good command of the English language and endless patience. I would recommend packing prudently as there is a lot of travel (and therefore carrying of your own luggage) and space is limited on the trains. The first hotel was poor but they got better from thereon. Ladies - take a shewee as western toilets are a rarity! Finally, embrace the 'shoestring' aspect of this tour, it enables so much more to be experienced than on a 'standard' tour.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Donald

Brentwood, Essex
Be prepared for some long train journeys. My favourite highlight was the Ma An Zhai village. Tip upgrade on the Yangtze cruise.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nina

High Wycombe
The title of this trip is 'China on a Shoestring' and though I found this trip met and exceeded my expectations, it definitely is on a shoestring. Therefore hotels are just adequate and there is lots of use of public transport. I myself enjoyed this aspect but there were a hand full of older fellow travelers who found this heavy going and needed help, especially with their luggage.
The absolutely highlight for me was the trekking in the rice terraces, sampling the local food and I loved watching the Chinese people at work and play!
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Linda

Bristol
Amazing trip. Seeing the real China. The tourist sites; Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Terracotta Warriors and Panda Sanctuary were all amazing. Really enjoyed the Yanksee River Cruise and came at the right time in the trip. Very relaxing. Highlight for us was the cycle ride in Yangzhou through the countryside and the karst mountains, walk in the mountains through the rice fields along with the Terracotta Warriors and Panda Sanctuary. We did the Opera in Chengdu and also the Red Impression show in Yangshou which was very impressive. Never seen anything like this show using the backdrop of the karst mountains and lake. There is a problem with the shows / opera though. The Chinese do not stop talking, even through the show which was very annoying. This trip can be hard at times with the long train journeys with bunks with not much space to sit.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2017
Published on: 26 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sibyl

Almelo
Oliver was our tour guide. There was a difficult woman in our group and she kept on bugging Oliver. Finally, he had had enough and he yelked at her. This was not cool but most of us understood his anger since she was so difficult. Oliver took really good care of us.
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2017
Published on: 06 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Allan

Nottingham, England
Very good value for money as a core trip. Excursions overpriced-some like the Summer Palace should be part of the core. Accommodation was well located. Tour leader was consistently efficient, informative and good humoured His patience with one awkward member of the group was Job-like! He was the key to making the trip the success that it was. Itineray was an excellent mix of relaxation, activity and education-one of Explore's best and I've been on some great ones. Makes me want to return to China again soon!
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2017
Published on: 27 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Andrew

Bath
A varied overview of China making good use of time and hitting most major highlights.
Would spend the extra to travel soft sleeper on the overnight trains, and would find a way of avoiding the all day train journey.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 17 November 2016