It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
621 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Buenos Aires To Rio QBR

Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Buenos Aires To Rio

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Buenos Aires To Rio trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Buenos Aires To Rio reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Buenos Aires To RioScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Jessica

Essex
Overall itinery was great. Loved the hotel in Paraty, family run and friendly! Christ the redeemer and sugar loaf were also big highlights in Rio!
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 13 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Rochelle

Reading
Highlights were the falls and Christ the Redeemer. The itinerary needs updating, especially the costs in relation to the optional trips. It would also be good to see included in the cost of the trip entrance to the falls on the Brazilian side and the city tour of Rio.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Angela

Scottish borders
From start to finish brilliant experience.tour guide was very informative and helpful throughout the trip 😊 And able to assist in all matters.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Frances

Canvey Island
The highlights in Argentina were La Boca watching the tango dancing, San Telmo market and Recoleta cemetery. The hotel was centrally located and well placed for sightseeing. The restaurants that we visited In Buenos Aires were fantastic with great steaks as you would expect – be warned the steaks are huge! Personally, I would have liked to have seen more of Argentina, maybe visiting a cattle ranch and a vineyard. It was pouring of raining the day that we went to Iguacu Falls on the Argentine side but it was still worth it.
The 19 hour bus journey was better than I expected and it gave me an opportunity to interact with locals and practice my bad Spanish. If this could be replaced by a short flight, I think that it would be an improvement although there would be a cost implication.
Brazil was as wonderful as I expected. Parity was lovely – the hotel was good and the old town was full of character. Ilha Grande was very different and having dinner on the beach under the stars was a bonus. Our hotel in Rio was in an excellent location, just one block from the Beach. Highlights in Brazil were sunrise Copacabana beach, Christ the Redeemer Statue, Iguacu Falls from the Brazilian side and visiting a local bar Bip Bip to listen to local musicians whilst helping ourselves to drinks on an honour system.
Our Tour Leader, Amanda, was wonderful and dealt with different personalities and requirements with professionalism and good humour. She found great places for us to eat and ensured that as far as possible our needs and expectations were met. All in all, a great holiday!
Confirmed traveller: 20 April 2017
Published on: 23 April 2017
(6 out of 10)

Diana

West Wickham
Think the trip is too ambitious in trying to cover such a large area and it could not allow for any of the off the main beat routes that Explore normally try to achieve. It is quite an expensive trip, made more so by there being no meals included and Brazil, in particular, is expensive. The very long overnight bus was not exactly the luxury one was lead to believe - especially if you tried to negotiate a toilet which was so full it was about to slop all over you!
I had to show the tour guide printed proof that I was entitled to a single room - bad organisation.
The tour guide was disappointing as we received hardly any information about the countries, the environment, history, geography etc.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017

Many thanks for your feedback and I’m really sorry to hear that this trip didn’t tick your boxes. I’ll look into the single room situation and see where this went wrong. In terms of your Explore Leader, we’ve had good feedback about her from other people in your group as well as many other groups that we’ve had in the past, but your feedback has been noted and will be passed on in order to improve for next time.

(9 out of 10)

Kevin

Dublin, Ireland
I just got back from the Argentina-Brazil trip and had a great time. I found the trip to be well organised but very flexible, so I had all my travel and accommodation and transfers booked, but lots of free time to do my own thing and eat where I wanted. Our tour guide Diego was excellent, full of local knowledge and could get the answer to any questions we had. The 'optional' extra side trips were generally good value and well organised. I thought the first hotel we had in Buenos Aires (Castelar) had a great location, but it was very cramped in the room size and definitely past it's sell by date. But, in fairness, location was great. We packed a huge amount in, a lot of it on the 'flexible days' so not due to Explore. But we did have that flexibility to do our own thing, which was great. Highlights? So many.... Top five - Recoleta and BA city walking tour, seeing open air local tango in Plaza Dorrego, Iguassu Falls, The favela tour in Rio, and walking along Copacabana and Ipanema beaches. No lowlights really - great trip, loved it.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jack

Tallahassee, Florida USA
Excellent tour. I travelled Nov 12th to Nov 26th, 2016. The tour leader was excellent and very helpful in info about the places we were visiting and answering questions and making all the numerous tour arrangements behind the scenes, that made it virtually effortless for us. Hotels were good and the trip itenerary was good. The Buenos Aires and Rio hotels in particular were excellent choices for location, especially Rio, where both Copacabana and Ipenema beaches were so close by.

The only tour change that I would highly recommend to Explore is to fly from Buenos Aires to Iguazu Falls instead of utilizing the 18 hour overnight bus.
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 08 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Shaun

UK
Buenos Aires – Walk the streets in La Boca, San Telmo (market), Downtown (pink house square and go into the cathedral), Recoleta cemetery and Palermo art museum.
Iguacu –After walking around and getting wet under the falls, take a trip to inside the 2nd largest dam in the world and spend hours wondering in the bird park.
Paraty – Cycle to waterfalls and visit a cachaca distillery, then stroll the old city streets.
Ilha Grande – Walk in the jungle to picture perfect beaches and spot tiny monkeys.
Rio – Take the Favela tour, but miss the city tour as you can easily get a tube to downtown and wonder from the tiled steps, viaduct, main cathedral and opera square to the museum of tomorrow at the port to see the Olympic street art.
Take a water bottle as water drinkable in most places.
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Monica

London
Amanda our tour leader was great. She is very competent, committed and knowledgeable. She made sure everyone was feeling comfortable with the planned activities and had everything they needed to enjoy their holiday.
The only recommendation I would have is a better organization of the city tour in Buenos Aires (we missed the Casa Rosata, which to me should be one of the most important things to see) and maybe spend one more day in Ilha Grande as we unfortunately didn't have enough time to experience properly.
However, overall I'm extremely pleased with my holiday and Amanda and I will definitely book another holiday with Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 29 October 2016
Published on: 09 November 2016

Hi Monica, it’s great to have your feedback on the tour, and I’m particularly glad that your tour leader did such a great job. However, I’m sorry that you didn’t manage to see the Casa Rosada– this is a bit odd, as it is right on the Plaza de Mayo which is one of the highlights of a Buenos Aires city tour. We don’t include a visit inside the house, but if you missed the Plaza de Mayo and seeing the house then it could only be because there were protests going on at the time of your city tour. Often this square is used for political protests and can sometimes be closed during this time, or otherwise not recommended for visits. I will research this and make sure that there is no other reason for you missing this part of the tour. Otherwise, great news that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to see you again soon!

(7 out of 10)

Mary

Glasgow
A varied and exciting trip to two countries which were so totally different, Buenos Aires more restrained and Rio de Janeiro more brash. Would have liked a little longer in Argentina as I felt as if I'd left before I even realised it! Loved the elegance of BA, the main sights of Rio - especially Christ the Redeemer. Even with all the tourists around it still seemed so special. Also loved the simplicity of the statue itself. Other highlights must include Iguazo Falls, from both sides, and being drenched as the boat went under the Falls themselves. The bird park on the Brazilian side was special for me. Fantastic weather helped. Some good food too!The restaurant at the Malba in BA, Pan Devino in Parraty, (the BEST meal of my trip), a little cafe in Ilha Grande and , of course, the steak in BA. Glad I went!!
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016