It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Buenos Aires To Rio QBR

Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Buenos Aires To Rio

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Buenos Aires To Rio trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Buenos Aires To Rio reviews verified by reevooReevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Buenos Aires To RioScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Kevin

Dublin, Ireland
I just got back from the Argentina-Brazil trip and had a great time. I found the trip to be well organised but very flexible, so I had all my travel and accommodation and transfers booked, but lots of free time to do my own thing and eat where I wanted. Our tour guide Diego was excellent, full of local knowledge and could get the answer to any questions we had. The 'optional' extra side trips were generally good value and well organised. I thought the first hotel we had in Buenos Aires (Castelar) had a great location, but it was very cramped in the room size and definitely past it's sell by date. But, in fairness, location was great. We packed a huge amount in, a lot of it on the 'flexible days' so not due to Explore. But we did have that flexibility to do our own thing, which was great. Highlights? So many.... Top five - Recoleta and BA city walking tour, seeing open air local tango in Plaza Dorrego, Iguassu Falls, The favela tour in Rio, and walking along Copacabana and Ipanema beaches. No lowlights really - great trip, loved it.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Shaun

UK
Buenos Aires – Walk the streets in La Boca, San Telmo (market), Downtown (pink house square and go into the cathedral), Recoleta cemetery and Palermo art museum.
Iguacu –After walking around and getting wet under the falls, take a trip to inside the 2nd largest dam in the world and spend hours wondering in the bird park.
Paraty – Cycle to waterfalls and visit a cachaca distillery, then stroll the old city streets.
Ilha Grande – Walk in the jungle to picture perfect beaches and spot tiny monkeys.
Rio – Take the Favela tour, but miss the city tour as you can easily get a tube to downtown and wonder from the tiled steps, viaduct, main cathedral and opera square to the museum of tomorrow at the port to see the Olympic street art.
Take a water bottle as water drinkable in most places.
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Monica

London
Amanda our tour leader was great. She is very competent, committed and knowledgeable. She made sure everyone was feeling comfortable with the planned activities and had everything they needed to enjoy their holiday.
The only recommendation I would have is a better organization of the city tour in Buenos Aires (we missed the Casa Rosata, which to me should be one of the most important things to see) and maybe spend one more day in Ilha Grande as we unfortunately didn't have enough time to experience properly.
However, overall I'm extremely pleased with my holiday and Amanda and I will definitely book another holiday with Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 29 October 2016
Published on: 09 November 2016

Hi Monica, it’s great to have your feedback on the tour, and I’m particularly glad that your tour leader did such a great job. However, I’m sorry that you didn’t manage to see the Casa Rosada– this is a bit odd, as it is right on the Plaza de Mayo which is one of the highlights of a Buenos Aires city tour. We don’t include a visit inside the house, but if you missed the Plaza de Mayo and seeing the house then it could only be because there were protests going on at the time of your city tour. Often this square is used for political protests and can sometimes be closed during this time, or otherwise not recommended for visits. I will research this and make sure that there is no other reason for you missing this part of the tour. Otherwise, great news that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to see you again soon!

(7 out of 10)

Mary

Glasgow
A varied and exciting trip to two countries which were so totally different, Buenos Aires more restrained and Rio de Janeiro more brash. Would have liked a little longer in Argentina as I felt as if I'd left before I even realised it! Loved the elegance of BA, the main sights of Rio - especially Christ the Redeemer. Even with all the tourists around it still seemed so special. Also loved the simplicity of the statue itself. Other highlights must include Iguazo Falls, from both sides, and being drenched as the boat went under the Falls themselves. The bird park on the Brazilian side was special for me. Fantastic weather helped. Some good food too!The restaurant at the Malba in BA, Pan Devino in Parraty, (the BEST meal of my trip), a little cafe in Ilha Grande and , of course, the steak in BA. Glad I went!!
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alistair

Faversham
Iguaza Falls; Ilha Grande; train journey to Sierra del Mar
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2015
Published on: 27 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alan

kyle of lochalsh
Iguazu falls ,the boat trip into the falls , I also took the helicopter trip, tip top.Paraty was very relaxing also the swimming trip.Isle Grande was lovely with my favourite hotel the Portas Del Borbas so quirky , no traffic noise ,sitting out on the balcony every night ,and the beach walks ,i could have stayed longer .Rio was also a great experience,and the food throughout the whole trip was excellent.The night time bus trip was the worst thing on the trip,apart from that I would definitely recommend this trip. The tour group leader was of a very high standard and saw to our safety and needs all through the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2015
Published on: 19 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was a very well organised tour which ran extremely smoothly. The highlight for me was the Iquazu Falls, which were just spectacular. I also enjoyed Buenos Aires & Rio, of course, and the train trip from Curitiba, Paraty & Ilha Grande - everything, in fact.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 November 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Lawrence

Worthing
Iguassu Falls were magnificent and excursion to see Christ the Redeemer was also memorable.

Favella tour of Rio should not be undertaken by anyone not able to negotiate steps well. There were over 450 and some were very steep.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was a most fabulous holiday. We saw so much over the 2 weeks from the spanish buildings and squares of Buenos Aires to the magnificent Iguazu falls and then on to Rio via Paraty. Rio is one place I would go back to. The downside is obviously the long bus journeys and if explore could give you an extra day in Buenos Aires and then fly you to Iguazu so that you arrived fresh to enjoy the falls I think this would be a great enhancement.. Diego was great. He helped us with every aspect of the tour from safety to money problems and always had great advice on things we could do on our free days and if he was free he would sometimes come with us. You couldn't ask for a better guide.
Confirmed traveller: 20 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015