It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma Highlights + Beach extension BUHB

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 17 Days
 

Reviews for Burma Highlights + Beach extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma Highlights + Beach extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma Highlights + Beach extension reviews verified by reevooReevoo

54 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Burma Highlights + Beach extensionScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 54 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Fennis

Perth, Western Australia
This is an amazing trip, with something different to see & do every day. Loved all the different modes of transport and Haymar our tour leader was exceptional!! Thoroughly recommend this trip, and the beach extension is a lovely way to wind up your stay in Myanmar.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2017
Published on: 24 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Pauline

An excellent tour made all the more memorable thanks to Zar Zar our wonderful guide.
The tour had a good mix of temples and pagodas interspersed with boat trips on Inla lake and a hike and visit to a village and pony and trap rides.
There were for me too many visits to see craftsmen and women at work but what we saw was fascinating.
The highlight for me was the beach extension and I'm not a beach person but the 2days there made a relaxing end to the tour.
Zar Zar was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She is extremely knowledgeable and her love of Myanmar is very evident.
Confirmed traveller: 15 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Stephanie

Southampton
Amazing: felt we really got under the skin of Myanmar. Our tour leader, Za Za, is delightful, brought the culture and everything about Myanmar alive. A wonderful way about her and everyone seemed to feel the same way about her. A star!! Trip rated as moderate and occasionally seemed a bit too full on: we saw so many artisans and trades people when this could have been reduced a little. It was a massive part of live in Inle though so think that was essential. Fabulous group too, and if there were any slight, very slight, issues As As dealt with them so charmingly! A wonderful trip, so many memories..... Thankyou Explore
Confirmed traveller: 14 March 2017
Published on: 23 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sally

London
I thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

My highlights were Mandalay and Bagan, and some of my favourite things were not actually part of the itinerary.

Our guide (Amy) took us to a fab temple near Mandalay which wasn't part of the itinerary but we all agreed that it should be.

In Bagan we hired electric mopeds to watch sunrise and the hot air balloons, thankfully Amy arranged for us to be accompanied which was great because we had no idea where we were going in the dark and they made sure we used roads rather than dirt tracks. We all survived unscathed, and had a great time. (Hire a bike and guide for 3 hours and start at 5:30am).

Personally, I would change the hotel in Kalaw and only stay 1 night and have more time in Mandalay/Bagan. The hotel has dreadful rooms and is out of town so you can't do anything with all the spare time. Prob the worst place to have spare time.


Also the boat trip from Mandalay is long and dull, again better to have more time in Bagan.
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Midlands
So many highlights - Inle Lake, the villages on stilts and fishermen, sailing down the Irewaddy from Mandelay to Bagan, day hike in the hills of Kalow, beautiful sunsets over pagodas and stupas. People we met along the way, so welcoming and friendly. Beach extension was a welcome few days of relaxation after a full on trip , really lovely spot on the Bay of Bengal.
Our guide May was excellent and organisation of the holiday was very good, given that we travelled by plane, coach, boats, train, horse and cart, tuk tuk. Hotels ok, nice to have a pool at hotel in Bagan.
Highly recommended trip.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jayne

Chandlers Ford
This was my first trip with Explore and I thoroughly enjoyed it. There were 8 people on our tour and we all got on well. The itinerary was varied, interesting and moderately paced and we always had time to rest if needed. We had a free afternoon at Inle Lake and 6 of our group went on the optional trip of wine-tasting which was very relaxing.

The highlights of the tour for me were: 2 days around Inle Lake in a long-tailed boat, the day trek through the beautiful countryside and hills of Kalaw, the pony and cart ride through the villages and countryside at Bagan and the 3 day break at Ngapali Beach.

Our guide, Sandar, was fantastic, she was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable and we learned so much about her country and the people. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she was genuinely concerned and caring when some of our group were feeling unwell.

Most of the hotels were fine but I did not enjoy the breakfast at The Panda Hotel in Yangon (but to be fair they are described as 'standard' in the trip notes so do not expect luxury).

The beach break at Ngapali Beach was very welcome and relaxing, it is a beautiful, quiet beach and the hotel is lovely. We didn't eat at the hotel (apart from breakfast) as there are plenty of restaurants right outside the front entrance.

Some of the trip notes may need to be updated: There were plenty of money changers, banks and ATMs nearly everywhere we went which accepted US Dollars or Euros. WiFi was available at all the hotels. Also, we did not need to pay $10 departure tax when leaving Burma.
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Cornelia

Exeter
The beautiful, kind, lovely and smiley local people (including our very competent and organised tour leader Zar Zar) made our holiday. All the local high standards of arts and craft and the fantastic food were unforgettable.
Thoroughly recommend the beach extension after the tour.
We had a trip to the jade market in Mandalay, which we recommend to add onto your itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 26 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Martin

Leamington Spa
This is a great way to experience Myanmar's history, development and daily life. The tour provides a range of different experiences; an exploration of Buddhism through the temples, pagodas and stupas; travel by plane, boat, horse and cart, foot, coach and train; traditional skills of weaving, lacquer work, gold leaf making, carving, silver smith work, city and village life and the changing life of Myanmar's people. A welcome break at the beach also gave us chance to relax in the sun for a few days. We had an excellent and knowledgeable guide who talked about what it's like to live and work in Myanmar's changing society. A thoroughly recommended tour.
Confirmed traveller: 07 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Philip

Farnham
Overall the trip very nicely balanced between towns and countryside/villages and surprisingly we still found pagodas interesting after two weeks thanks to our leaders background stories and enthusiasm. The pace was nice with all stops being 2-3 nights and the food was wonderful throughout. Highlight was the numerous craftsmen we watched making truly hand made goods too numerous to list here.
Confirmed traveller: 31 January 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017