It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma Highlights + Beach extension BUHB

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 17 Days
 

Reviews for Burma Highlights + Beach extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma Highlights + Beach extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma Highlights + Beach extension reviews verified by reevooReevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Burma Highlights + Beach extensionScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Sonia

Stockport
Very full program, personally would prefer less time getting on and of the bus and more time exploring. The trip followed closely the itinerary as outlined in the program.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jonathan

Sherborne, Dorset.
Two weeks drunk on excitement and joy! Eye popping sights and friendly, friendly smiling people. May change when tourists are more numerous and not so much a novelty, so come soon! Our guide Ko Ko was superb. His expertise coupled with his patience and organisational skill made the experience all the more convivial and enjoyable. He was happy to accommodate opportunities that presented themselves, such as a festival march to a local monastery, and worked tirelessly on our behalf. I regret not booking the optional balloon trip over Bagan, but the views of sunset and sunrise from the highest temples will stay long in the memory. Don't be put off by the internal flights - they are well organised and cut down travel time. Loved it all, but the highlight for me was Inle Lake.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

William

Norwich
The guide was first class. He made the trip.

Best things, the trek in the mountains, seeing local craft factories, lacquer and gold leaf, all visits to local villages and the variety of transport.
The whole organisation was first class from first enquiries to leaving Yangon. well done Explore Team.
The final beach extension was perfection after a really interesting holiday.

There were a few issues. The station Hotel in Mandalay was a disappointment. The staff were inadequately trained and my meal was inedible. I was not charged for it.
Also the flight to Singapore made the journey so much longer than that of others in the group. Perhaps another route and airline could be considered
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Julie

Woking
Guide George was brilliant! Loved everything except perhaps the pony and trap rides which were too bumpy. Would have liked a little advance info about the balloon rides in Bagan before - didn't realise they were so heavily booked in advance.
The beach extension at Ngapoli was paradise!

One word of warning - please instruct all guides to tell people not to use wooden toilets on stilts - only use toilets with concrete floors! I had a nasty and painful experience with one leg falling through some rotten wood.
Confirmed traveller: 24 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Excellent tour and leader. Enjoyed the whole trip but especially Inle Lake and the River boat ride, also walking in the highlands.
Although still in the rainy season (and we saw some floods) October was a quieter time to visit this amazing and beautiful country.
Be prepared to take off your footwear regularly for the temples - we were mostly provided with wet wipes for our dirty feet but you might want to take a few extra!
The beach was lovely but the sea was quite choppy and if you like to snorkel you will have to take a short boat trip to the nearby island.
Food was good and freshly cooked with lots of fresh vegetables but as cooked in nut oil would be a problem for those with allergies.
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2016
Published on: 14 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Hampshire
The Burma Highlights + Beach Extension was a truly fantastice trip. Burma is an undiscovered gem and although a busy trip, we saw amazing places and met wonderful friendly people.

Yangon is a busy city with old colonial building and the golden Shwedagon Pagoda.

Inle Lake was my favourite place; so much to see in a beautiful unspoilt setting. The train ride to Kalaw was exciting and gave us a glimpse of the countryside. The flights between different places was like getting a local bus as it was quick, easy and a great way to travel.

Mandalay was enchanting and the U-Bein bridge at sunset a sight to be seen.

Bagan with its 000s of temples, sunsets and sunrises was an explorer's dream.

Unfortunately we travelled at the beginning of April and the river was too low for the day boat trip. There was also not enough time to get to Mount Popa. This was slightly disappointing but only a little seeing that the rest of the trip was so good. We saw many temples, many Buddhas and got filthy feet as we had to leave our shoes at the entrances as we padded around.

Tip: take flip flops for temples and have foot & leg massages when you have a free afternoon. Hire a bike at Kalaw and explore the town. Take the circular train ride at Yangon and go to The Strand Hotel for afternoon tea. See if you can get on a tour with the lady leader who won an Explore award in 2014. We flew with Singapore Airlines, which gave us extra time in Yangon before and after the trip. Connection times were perfect and the service on the flights outstanding.

Taking the beach extension was the best decision ever and you should do that too!

Arriving at a deserted beach, staying in a luxury hotel and having the time to unwind, drink cocktails at sunset and rest after two weeks of whizzing around Burma, is a must. It was the perfect end to an amazing holiday. Go NOW before the rest of the world discover it.
Confirmed traveller: 13 April 2016
Published on: 19 April 2016