It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma Highlights + Beach extension BUHB

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 17 Days
 

Reviews for Burma Highlights + Beach extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma Highlights + Beach extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma Highlights + Beach extension reviews verified by reevooReevoo

44 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Burma Highlights + Beach extensionScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 44 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Philip

Farnham
Overall the trip very nicely balanced between towns and countryside/villages and surprisingly we still found pagodas interesting after two weeks thanks to our leaders background stories and enthusiasm. The pace was nice with all stops being 2-3 nights and the food was wonderful throughout. Highlight was the numerous craftsmen we watched making truly hand made goods too numerous to list here.
Confirmed traveller: 31 January 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Sarah

Sheffield
I was really looking forward to this trip and wasn't disappointed. In fact it exceeded my expectations and I would strongly recommend it as destination. George, our tour leader, was outstanding. He was a warm, friendly individual who became a friend as well as our leader. His command of English was outstanding and he was able to really help us understand Myanmar, it's people, history and culture. Everything was supremely well organised and if anybody wanted anything it was done instantly. For me, the days at Inle Lake were magical and my personal highlight, but every day was excellent. In general the accommodation was fine, although the 'al fresco' dining arrangements for breakfast at Inle Lake was a bit chilly! However, the worst hotel by some margin was at Mandalay. The room itself was lovely (the nicest in fact) but the service in the bar and restaurant was terrible - extremely slow, with waiters whose lack of English meant they did not really understand the orders requested or why we were frustrated waiting 45-60mins for our food. Within the group our food would also arrive at completely different times so we didn't actually eat together. Consequently there were several complaints.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 13 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Ann

Prenton Merseyside
Very varied trip, lots of different types of transport, the beach extension a must so relaxing after a hectic enjoyable trip.
Highlights lake Inle,Bagan and Ngali beach
Confirmed traveller: 27 January 2017
Published on: 01 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Gail

Santa Rosa, California
Hit the highlights, lots of Pagodas, Inlay Lake boats best part, Mandalay day long boat trip great, beach extension made the trip--beautiful beach, resort perfect tropical getaway. Take polarfleece for the highlands--reminiscent of British-- picturesque, but cold (not just "chilly"). Take enough money for food and drinks and endless array of beads and trinkets. Brits were very friendly to we 2 Americans!
Confirmed traveller: 26 January 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Pamela

Poole
Well paced, lots to see, variety in modes of travel nice, lots of contact with local people.
Inle lake delightful, Bagan wonderful and Ngapali beach fabulous.
Confirmed traveller: 26 January 2017
Published on: 02 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Bournemouth
I really enjoyed this trip, but personally would like to have seen more of the old culture, rather than seeing where the country is developing.
I would have liked more walking/ cycling opputunities, but loved the river transport and this was my highlight.. the cruise down the River to Bagan was excellent..
Confirmed traveller: 26 January 2017
Published on: 31 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Tash

Bracknell
Was a fantastic tour - absolutely outstanding. Our guide George was quite simply - "fantastic". Hotels were generally good and tour pace was fantastic. Only feedback was that we spent a whole day on a boat going to Bagan and it wasn't that picturesque - I felt it was a bit of a waste of a day and perhaps would suggest flying and having a half day free time. Also I think a group of 17 people was perhaps a bit much - would suggest cutting down to 12 but overall it was outstanding and highly recommend it to people!
Confirmed traveller: 08 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Karen

Beijing
Very beautiful and tranquil country at any early stage in its tourism development. Although the programme is busy with something on each day, it's light activity, with lots of temples! George the guide was fantastic, so patient, informative and amusing. The group size I felt was a bit too large at 17. I would also not book through Australian explore again - a very different and inferior experience to the British explore. But overall I would thoroughly recommend. Do book the hot air balloon in Bagan; it isn't part of this programme, understandably due to the cost, but it was magical and the highlight of the trip for me.
Confirmed traveller: 07 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Beverley

Hertford
This is an action packed tour with little free time but totally worth every minute! You'll need the beach at the end of the trip (and what a beach!) Ko Ko, our leader, was excellent. He made sure everything went smoothly and you could tell he was very proud to be Burmese and to be a tour leader. Do this trip... you won't regret it!
Confirmed traveller: 05 January 2017
Published on: 10 January 2017