It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
623 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma by Bike CBR

Visiting:
Trip Duration Days
  • Biking around Bagan
  • Bagan
  • Monk in front of the Buddhist monastery on Mount Popa
  • Quiet backroads, Popa
  • Schwedagon Pagoda, Rangoon

Reviews for Burma by Bike

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma by Bike trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma by Bike reviews verified by reevooReevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Burma by BikeScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Valerie

Durham
A beautiful country. People were so friendly and kind and smiling all the time - you couldn't help smiling back. Seeing villages off the beaten track and being invited to have tea in people's homes was so lovely. Our guide was great - as was the whole support team. He was knowledgeable, proud of his country and an excellent cyclist: a good sense of humour too. It was very very hot - 38 degrees at times. Glad I was sensible enough to do the Easy cycling as 20 - 30 kilometres was enough in that heat. Excellent doing the downhill run from the Hill Station to Inle Lake. Disappointed with Mandalay - thought it would be bigger and better than Yangon. The boat on the Lake was idyllic. All in all a great time with good group of people.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 15 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Debbie

London
Fascinating insight into a country that has been effectively closed to tourists. Very knowledgeable tour guide - he and his team looked after us all very well. Cycling meant that we had access to local people and their industries in their villages. Range of cycling surfaces from tarmac to sandy. When the descents were too steep you could travel in the support vehicle. Fantastic experience.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 15 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Hertfordshire
Excellent trip, going by bike is the way to explore this amazing country.
It is so varied, yes there are many temples but none are the same I did see approx 1 million Buddha statues but again each is so different. I had the best experience when talking to locals (many like to practice their English). If we were in a village you would be welcomed in and offered green tea and local snacks.
Lots of local crafts to see, and the local way of life, in the fields and in people's home. The rumours of Myanmar being such a friendly place are true and it felt and was very safe. Local people were as as interested us you as you are in them. I am in many local's photos - including a monk who was taking a selfie of himself with me in the back ground inside a giant bell - there are not many experiences like that.
The tour was well paced, there was often some time in the day to do your own thing, rest, go for a swim, more sight seeing etc. Other days were more full on. The cycling was the right pace for me, dont underestimate the influence of the heat. Having the support vehicle meant that if you didn't want to do a stretch you didn't have to. There was water and an endless supply of snacks and fruit.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 30 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Amy

London
I was apprehensive as Burma by Bike was my first cycling trip, but found this to be a wonderful introduction to this beautiful country. The cycling was pleasant and the local team were amazing at maintaining the bikes and our spirits with endless peanut brittle and watermelon stops! We went off-road to visit remote villages largely untouched by travellers and saw beautiful temples and stupas both on and off the main tourist trail. The cycling was, for a fairly novice cyclist, very manageable, however people did find that the heat was quite overbearing at times.

My absolute highlight of the trip are the Myanmar people, unfailingly welcoming and friendly. Children and families waving and shouting 'mingalabar' from their homes with happy smiling faces - the experience was priceless.

San Yu was a patient and thoughtful tour leader. He modified the itinerary to suit the group and gave us insight into Myanmar history and life. A wonderful trip with wonderful memories.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 21 March 2017
(7 out of 10)

Christopher

San Yu was a great tour leader. I've done many of these trips before and he had a difficult group to manage but handled things really well.

Personally I would have liked less days in Mandalay. The hotel we stay in and the lack of much outdoor space made me feel a little trapped, whereas some of the other hotels with some outdoor space and not being in a big city were much better.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(7 out of 10)

Margaret

Middlesex
Great trip and good to see the countryside, but we visited too many temples!
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 17 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Penelope

Sydney
Our guide, Aung Ko Ko Win, could not have been better - warm, friendly and interested in his 7 clients. We had a great trip. The hotel in Bagan was great - and enjoyed cycling round all the pagodas. The cycle to Monywa thru all the villages was great. The pagodas with the multitude of Buddhas were great, but I really enjoyed seeing the paper making, gold leaf making, jade market, stone masons, silk and lotus weaving, and the silver smiths. Mandalay revealed a lot of appalling poverty along the railway line. Kalaw was a nice relief from the heat and humidity, and the trip on Inle Lake (despite the bucketing rain on our way across where we all got soaked) was terrific when the rain stopped. Altogether a great trip. Food was always tasty in delivery was sometimes a little bizarre in timing.
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 13 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Janet

North Yorkshire
I though the whole experience was brilliant and excellently run with good attention to detail.

Koko was an excellent leader with a sense of humour we all appreciated. The back up team were very good too, especially Mr Win who carried such a heavy pack when we went off road. When I got a puncture on that same day quickly swapped his wheel with mine so I could continue with the group while he did the repair.
All were very cheerful and helpful,regularly ensuring we had water, bananas and delicious peanut or sesame seed brittles.
There were plenty of spontaneous visits when on quieter off road routes which were such an insight into Burmese life.
The penultimate day of cycling was disappointing as entirely on a main and busy road and not as described enabling interaction with villagers.
There did seem to be several days on roads with heavy traffic and it would be nice to have quieter routes.
it might be nice to find a hotel in Mandalay that was not over the main railway station but in a more rural location.
The bikes were brand new which we all appreciated.
It would be nice to include the Circukar railway in Yangon as part of the itinerary.
The trip certainly whet my appetite for further cycling holidays with Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 13 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Colin

Guildford
This is an excellent way to see the parts of Burma that the small number of other tourists do not get to see. In some of the small rural villages we were the attraction with simply the whole village wishing to say hello.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(7 out of 10)

Susan

Farnham
Our leader, Ko Ko, the best of leaders. He made us welcome, organised everything efficiently and ept us informed. He was a fountain of knowledge and willingly answered our many questions. His English excellent. Unfortunately he was ill for several days but he managed to find someone to take his place. We named Nyi Nyi Aung, our bike mechanic, 'Speedy'. Our bikes always well maintained and every morning they were sparkling clean. I loved cycling the dusty lanes absorbing rural life around us, homes, fields, crops, women smoking cigars at the edge of the road. Sadly, I missed the highlight day at Inle Lake but every other day was a highlight too. The tour was well balanced, rural/urban, culture/nature. My only minor criticism - I would have liked more minor road routes - too many busy roads.

The group, just 11 of us, all rubbed along well. We laughed a lot and enjoyed each other's company.

Thank you all for a memorable and truly special experience.

Sue
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2016
Published on: 12 February 2016