It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Burma by Bike

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma by Bike trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma by Bike reviews verified by reevooReevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Burma by BikeScores 8.2 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Margaret

Middlesex
Great trip and good to see the countryside, but we visited too many temples!
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 17 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Penelope

Sydney
Our guide, Aung Ko Ko Win, could not have been better - warm, friendly and interested in his 7 clients. We had a great trip. The hotel in Bagan was great - and enjoyed cycling round all the pagodas. The cycle to Monywa thru all the villages was great. The pagodas with the multitude of Buddhas were great, but I really enjoyed seeing the paper making, gold leaf making, jade market, stone masons, silk and lotus weaving, and the silver smiths. Mandalay revealed a lot of appalling poverty along the railway line. Kalaw was a nice relief from the heat and humidity, and the trip on Inle Lake (despite the bucketing rain on our way across where we all got soaked) was terrific when the rain stopped. Altogether a great trip. Food was always tasty in delivery was sometimes a little bizarre in timing.
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 13 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Janet

North Yorkshire
I though the whole experience was brilliant and excellently run with good attention to detail.

Koko was an excellent leader with a sense of humour we all appreciated. The back up team were very good too, especially Mr Win who carried such a heavy pack when we went off road. When I got a puncture on that same day quickly swapped his wheel with mine so I could continue with the group while he did the repair.
All were very cheerful and helpful,regularly ensuring we had water, bananas and delicious peanut or sesame seed brittles.
There were plenty of spontaneous visits when on quieter off road routes which were such an insight into Burmese life.
The penultimate day of cycling was disappointing as entirely on a main and busy road and not as described enabling interaction with villagers.
There did seem to be several days on roads with heavy traffic and it would be nice to have quieter routes.
it might be nice to find a hotel in Mandalay that was not over the main railway station but in a more rural location.
The bikes were brand new which we all appreciated.
It would be nice to include the Circukar railway in Yangon as part of the itinerary.
The trip certainly whet my appetite for further cycling holidays with Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 13 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Colin

Guildford
This is an excellent way to see the parts of Burma that the small number of other tourists do not get to see. In some of the small rural villages we were the attraction with simply the whole village wishing to say hello.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(7 out of 10)

Susan

Farnham
Our leader, Ko Ko, the best of leaders. He made us welcome, organised everything efficiently and ept us informed. He was a fountain of knowledge and willingly answered our many questions. His English excellent. Unfortunately he was ill for several days but he managed to find someone to take his place. We named Nyi Nyi Aung, our bike mechanic, 'Speedy'. Our bikes always well maintained and every morning they were sparkling clean. I loved cycling the dusty lanes absorbing rural life around us, homes, fields, crops, women smoking cigars at the edge of the road. Sadly, I missed the highlight day at Inle Lake but every other day was a highlight too. The tour was well balanced, rural/urban, culture/nature. My only minor criticism - I would have liked more minor road routes - too many busy roads.

The group, just 11 of us, all rubbed along well. We laughed a lot and enjoyed each other's company.

Thank you all for a memorable and truly special experience.

Sue
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2016
Published on: 12 February 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The countryside, people and scenery were marvellous. The best aspect was the opportunity on bikes to stop and check out what was going on near the road, visiting villages, watching farm labourers and local craftsmen, with our tour leader providing translation and explanations. I particularly enjoyed the day on Inlé Lake, which was very varied and informative, as well as giving an opportunity to shop. The cities, Yangon and Mandalay, were more of a disappointment, after seeing the main tourist highlights, as they had little to offer to tourists. The dawn and dusk views at Bagan were ethereal, and the hotel there was excellent.He was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about Burma, and a very fit and experienced cyclist. He looked after us well, though not joining in the optional social gatherings, perhaps understandably. On the other hand, his command of English was a little weak for this job, and I often felt that we would have gained more from his knowledge if he was able to express himself more clearly.
Confirmed traveller: 06 April 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Mike

Ilmington
You need to be fit!
It was a privilege to explorethecoutryside
Great group of people mutually supportive
Excellent guide and support team
Confirmed traveller: 08 November 2014
Published on: 02 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Too many to mention but: Cycling in Bagan along sandy tracks from one temple/pagoda to another and avoiding the tourists; visiting a remote monastery school in a poor rural area...Excellent and I wasn't surprised that he had been voted best cycle tour leader in the previous year. He went out of his way to make this tour an experience to remember.
Confirmed traveller: 19 August 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015