It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma Highlights BUH

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Burma Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

69 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Burma HighlightsScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 69 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Briar

Sutton
This is a great tour, full of variety in what was seen, modes of transport and very friendly unspoilt people. Our guide was excellent and could not have been more helpful. He took care of everything from tips to baggage and ensured that everything ran smoothly.

There were so many highlights but the place which really stands out is Inle Lake, a very unique place with its fisherman and floating gardens.
Confirmed traveller: 24 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Edwina

Southwick, West Sussex
What an interesting country to visit - I am so glad that I went.

Whilst I appreciate that Buddhism is the belief system of most people in Myanmar, I do feel that a little too much emphasis was placed on visiting religious sites - culture is more than just religion. We, of course, experienced other things but, perhaps there could be more balance planned in?

Our guide Ko Ko had a wealth of knowledge about his country and communicated very well with the group.

I am a keen bird-watcher and Ko Ko arranged for me to go out with an expert in Kalaw rather than go on the 'soft trek' with the rest of the group - for this I was very grateful.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 26 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Sandy

Hotels changed in two locations and in one hotel(The Green Haven Hotel in Kalaw)had mould growing on the wall and water running down the tiles in the shower room and a constant flushing toilet. The smell. Slept with door open in the end .KO KO our Explore tour leader managed to change the room next day the hotel was full first night. The hotel was also located on the outskirt of town with no street lights it meant that we eat at the hotel as due to the festival there were no taxis.

I have travelled with explore before and understand and am fully aware that choice is limited in certain countries for hotels and conditions are difficult but this first time I have
felt it right to comment.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 25 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Paula

Tring
Really good trip. Highlights, Going on the boats at Inle lake, seeing the Buddahs in the cave temple in Kalaw, U Beins bridge, the stupas and temples of Bagan and the pony cart rides, the island of Ava nr Mandalay to name but a few. Tips, a torch is handy because the streets are not well lit and there are lots of holes in the paths and open sewers! A special mention of George, our guide who was wonderful, very knowledgeable and helpful sorted out any problems and booked all our group meals for us, a truly wonderful chap. All of the accommodation was of a good standard, the only downside being the noise problem at the hotel Marvel in Mandalay. The rooms were lovely but the noise from the trains at night(it`s above a train station)was unbearable for some guests and other rooms had the pleasure of noise from the karaoke or people running up the stairs at all hours, not good.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2016
Published on: 24 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Imelda

Birmingham
Good tour of most of the highlights of Burma. Highlights were ...Lake Inle and sunset at U Bein bridge. George the guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Recommended good restaurants,Very helpful and an all round lovely guy. A credit to Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2016
Published on: 24 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Nanda

Northampton
Wonderful, knowledgeable guide who shared fascinating insights about the culture and history. Beautiful country, home of thousands of golden temples/stupas - got a little 'templed out' by the end of it, but otherwise an unforgettable trip. Lovely people, varied and well organised tour
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2016
Published on: 23 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Janet

Tonbridge, Kent
Jue, our leader, was excellent, very knowledgeable, sociable, approachable and could always find the right answer to a problem. The trip went very smoothly. The highlights for me were Inle lake, the train journey to Kalaw. Mount Popa at sunset.

The only downside was some of the accommodation. The Green Haven, although in a lovely setting, our room was inadequate, no storage, curtains could not be drawn. no surfaces to put anything on. Mice running about at night. Hotel Marvel, we were on floor 6, and were kept awake at night by a Disco being run on the floor above us until the early hours of the mornings.

Most tipping was handled by Jue who put a Kitty system in place, which worked well.
Confirmed traveller: 17 November 2016
Published on: 18 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Susan

London
The itinerary for this tour was varied and interesting. I loved the rural areas most although both Yangon and Mandalay had much to offer. Our tour leader Jue was terrific . She looked after our welfare at all times and was incredibly organised. I love learning about countries new to me and her knowledge and understanding of her country was second to none. She was also very conscious of the needs of local people. This was my 3rd Explore Trip and it exceeded my expectations.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 21 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Melvyn

Woodbridge
An extensive insight into the country with a very varied itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 21 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Helen

San Francisco, CA
The itinerary was a good mix of sites (temples, pagodas, stupas, monasteries), visits to villages to see how people live, and the fascinating Inle Lake. We also tried a variety of transportation--propeller plane, train, boat, and bus. We had the ability to grab dinner anywhere we wanted. Our guide, May, was very knowledgeable and everything went smoothly.

You do not need to exchange very much money, as food and things are inexpensive.
Confirmed traveller: 05 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016