It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma Highlights BUH

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Burma Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

113 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Burma HighlightsScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 113 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Great trip, good way to see the main sights of Burma without feeling too rushed. Highlight for me was watching the sun set over Bagan.
Confirmed traveller: 17 March 2017
Published on: 21 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Romsey
A good introduction to Myanmar, this tour had variety of activities and interesting visits from the magnificence of the Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon to the simplicity of a horse and cart ride through small rural villages. Don't expect the ten hour boat ride down the Ayeyarwaddy River to be a highlight. Take a good book to read and enjoy relaxing on deck in the sun in readiness for the temples of Bagan which exceeded all my expectations.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Harry

Farnham, Surrey
A hectic schedule! Lots and lots of pagodas!!

In no particular order, my highlights included: Shwedagon pagoda in Yangon; the white 'wedding cake' pagoda and the 90-tonne bell in Mingun (bellringing is one of my hobbies); sunset at U-bein Bridge, Mandalay; Bagan (thousands of pagodas!); the walk in Phya Saw village.

Our tour Guide, Za Za was absolutely superb; a real star. Her command of English is very good, and she is extremely knowledgeable, and understandably passionate about her country. She has previously been in the top four of Explore’s approx. 650 Guides - and well-deservedly so too. She seemed unflappable, and was always cheerful - and so elegant! A different longyi every day!! The various drivers and helpers employed were all good too, and drove very considerately.

Some reviewers have been critical of the standard of some of the hotels, but in my opinion such criticism is unjust. This is NOT billed as a luxury holiday, so to expect all 4* hotels is unreasonable; the variety of hotel standards adds to the enjoyment!

Tips:
Take: Plenty of wet-wipes (it's very dusty in the dry season); a 'universal' sink plug (not all washbasins had plugs); a European electrical adaptor (most hotels had sockets that took the UK 'square pin' plug, but one didn't; maybe a travelling kettle, if you have space (not all hotels included kettle in the rooms). Sun-protection is a must (ie. sun-cream, hat, sunglasses) and I found a belt-clip for my water bottle very useful too.

The Explore notes recommend ‘carrying all your funds in US Dollars’ but in my view this is no longer necessary. There are ATMs (as well as money changers) almost everywhere we went on this trip. However, if taking Dollars, do ensure that the notes are in pristine condition, otherwise they are likely to be refused.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 19 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Kathryn

belfast
good overview of main highlights. useful to have an extra day at the start to recover from the long flight.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Robin

London
Excellent Explore trip - nice small group of 8 people - well thought out itinerary. Highlights many but the top one was our half day trek in the Shan hills - beautiful undulating rich countryside, very friendly villagers, great bird spotting. Our tour leader Aye Sandar Tun; young and brilliant - very enthusiastic and we all learned so much about the different peoples of Myanmar from her. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she was very caring and practically helpful when we were unwell from tummy bugs. Accommodation was varied and interesting. The only fault of the whole trip was the Panda hotel in Yangon used at beginning and end o the trip. Very poor tired guest and public rooms with the worst breakfast in Myanmar. Our room had neither a sink hot tap or sink plug. Explore should drop it from its schedule. Explore needs to update currency notes - Burmese local currency universally accepted and you don't need now to take US dollars. Tip - - take a mobile sink plug you can buy at Cotswold Camping.
Confirmed traveller: 02 March 2017
Published on: 04 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Ann

Yoxall
An excellent tour. Hard to think of anything bad at all. Sandar was an amazing tour leader - incredibly knowledgeable about her beautiful country; she had an amazing rapport not only with our group but with everyone we met. We experienced aspects of Burmese culture that I don't think a 'regular' tour would cover. I particularly enjoyed eating local food at local cafes. For me, the tastiest meals we had were the cheap ones. If I had to pick a highlight it would be our last 2 afternoons travelling through the temples of Bagan by horse and cart - for me this was how Bagan should be seen.
Confirmed traveller: 01 March 2017
Published on: 04 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Robert

Brighton
Great trip, tour group, itinerary and tour leader to this fascinating land.
Glad to have travelled with Explore...my first time and not the last.
Love their ethical stance, their style and high quality customer care.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 27 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jane

Bishop's Stortford
Excellent trip, only reservation was not enough downtime. We saw and did so many things but sometimes it just seemed a little rushed. Wonderful trip though and would recommend it to anyone.
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Susan

London
A truly wonderful experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great personality. Her experience, and local knowledge together with her sensitivity to the group came into play when sometimes rescheduling the itinerary to suit the best times to visit sites and accommodate flagging energy levels. It was a very full itinerary with quite a lot of early mornings. It's always difficult to balance seeing as much as possible with some time for relaxation on this type of holiday but the opportunity for a little more time between sightseeing and evening meetings would have been nice.
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2017
Published on: 24 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Judith

Newcastle
Inle Lake was our favourite part of the trip with the trek at Kalaw a close second. However we loved all the places we visited and Zar Zar was an absolute star!
Confirmed traveller: 20 February 2017
Published on: 27 February 2017