It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
591 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma Highlights BUH

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Burma Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma Highlights reviews verified by Reevoo

53 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Burma HighlightsScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 53 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Martin

London
Excellent tour leader and perfect organization of the whole trip.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 21 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ruth

Alton
Loved the 2 days spent at Inle Lake. It was nice to get a hotel with a pool at Bagan as the temperature was over 40C when we were there, which was higher than normal. Would advise people to go much earlier due to the heat.
Confirmed traveller: 12 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Tristram

Isle of Wight
We thoroughly enjoyed this tour which was our first with Explore. The Itinerary was well thought out and Myanmar is a fascinating place to visit. Much of the success of the tour was also due to our wonderful tour leader Mya Mya Win. She was a fund of information, thoughtful and flexible according to needs as well as enthusiastic with a great sense of humour. We felt lucky and privileged to have her as our guide. We were also fortunate to meet a nice group of people to travel with, who were also positive and enthusiastic to try new things.All the hotels were fine - our room in the Rama in Mandalay was disappointing as it looked out on a brick wall. We loved the setting of the Thazin Garden Hotel, Bagan.
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2016
Published on: 15 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Hightown, merseyside
A busy tour packed with interesting local and cultural sights. The free afternoons and travelling days were well spaced out and provided a chance to catch the breath. Our guide, Si, introduced us to local people on the train and in villages, so we got a change to exchange information with them using Si as our interpreter. I loved it all. There were 14 in our group and we all bonded well.


Wipes were provided after pagoda visits to clean our feet. Take a pumice stone in your luggage to get feet properly clean back at the hotel. Take lots of wipes and toilet roll for general hygienic use. Many public toilets lack tissue.

Water was always available and provided free on the bus. Complimentary water was provided in all our hotel rooms.


Take plenty of paracetamol and ibruprophen etc with you because pharmacies are hard to find.

I had a nasty reaction to the Doxycycline antimalarial tablets and developed a very sore mouth, so take some mouthwash or ulcer gels. Our guide said the was no malaria in the places on our tour, so I could have avoided the discomfort by not taking the antimalarial tablets. By the time I stopped taking them, the damage was done. We saw few mosquitos in February.

Take a torch for nighttime strolls because roads in the towns and cities have open drains, missing covers and building rubble everywhere. I went in February when it was dusty and dry. There was no point wearing a dress or fancy shoes in the evening. Wear light coloured clothes at night because street lights are rare in some towns and scooters do not all use lights.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Thomas

Benson
Burma Highlights accurately sums up this trip. It was a progress through a succession of outstanding locations and experiences in a country poised at a crossroads and potentially a very exciting time in its history. Almost everything we saw and did was a highlight but for me the standout bits were the 2 days at Inle Lake, the train ride between Inle & Kalaw where we gained so many insights into life in Burma by talking to our fellow passengers and the magical horse & cart ride through the temples of Bagan in early evening. The ubiquitous pagodas, stupas & Buddhas never failed to impress but alongside all these highlights we were always aware of the Burmese people - gentle, welcoming, polite and always friendly - and the delights of the local food, the Myanmar cuisine and the accompanying Myanmar beer! Just one tip : brace yourself as the pace is fast, the temperature high but it is an unforgettable and exhilarating ride
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 10 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Anthony

Saskatoon
Highlights were the many temples of Began and ample time for visiting. Explore leader had a good knowledge of area and was very helpful to all members of the group.
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 09 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Virginia

Kingston, Ontario, Canada
The Explore tour in Burma was excellent. Beginning with the Shewedagon Temple and then moving on to Inlay Lake created an amazing impression of this fascinating country.


Khaw our tour leader was another highlight for me because of his warmth, knowledge and demeanor. He was attentive and efficient and very sensitively conveyed subtle aspects of Myanmar culture and politics. The warmth and openness of the Burmese people made every day lovely as it is often the human landscape that one remembers in the months and years after such a trip.

Recommendations:

The boat trip on the Irawaddy was fairly enjoyable but very crowded. Because the scenery is a bit repetitive, this would have been a great opportunity for the group to mix and enjoy one another. We scrambled for seats and couldn't all sit together and because there were so many other tourists, the experience was less interesting than it could have been. A slightly better boat with a few more amenities would have made the trip to Bagan less tedious. Tables for sharing the meal, a better bar, more options for sun and shade would have made the day more pleasant.

Bagan was wonderful but I worried about the safety climbing up on some of the ancient structures. Again, at sunset it was packed with bus loads of other tourists and this took away from the experience. I know there is little to be done about this. I might suggest the tourism people limiting the numbers..

I loved all the temples and thought we went through them at a good pace. Even more historical background about Burmese history before visiting the temples would make them even more enriching.
The hotel in Bagan (with the wonderful pool and gorgeous dining area) was a delight. The Hotel Rama in Mandalay might have been better. The restaurant on the rooftop was only adequate and again, the delight of any Explore trip is having great spaces (hotels, restaurants) to gather with other group members. The neighbourhood of the Rama Hotel didn't seem to offer much. The rooms were nice and large and the staff, as in every hotel, were simply wonderful.
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Bath
Myanmar is a delightful country with delightful people. This tour is highly varied and provides an insight into some of the highlights which the country has to offer. The tour is fairly full-on at times. Our guide was charming and efficient, thoughtful concerning what the group might like. Go before the likes of McDonalds arrive in all major towns.
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2016
Published on: 18 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Neil

Wokingham
Lake Inle trips on the long boat were fantastic. Bagan was amazing for the 000's of temples on the plain.
Overall a wonderful tour. Our guide George was brilliant.
Confirmed traveller: 07 February 2016
Published on: 28 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Maria

Wine tasting in Inle
Steamed fish in Inle
1000 stupas by Inle
Walk in Shan Highlands
Massage in Yangoon
Shop throughout as prices are not that better in Yangoon .. yet you will still have a chance to purchase on your last day..
I loved the silk and cotton items sold at the silk/cotton shop the guide took us.. prices seemed expensive for the country .. yet I wished I had bought that amazing scarf !!!!! ayyyyyy!!
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2016
Published on: 13 February 2016