It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
630 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma Highlights BUH

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Burma Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

88 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Burma HighlightsScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 88 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Linda

Paphos, Cyprus
An action packed trip covering all the most visited areas of Burma - we were given a lot of interesting information by May, our guide, who looked after us very well.

Highlights - Inle Lake and Bagan but so many more wonderful moments.
Confirmed traveller: 08 January 2017
Published on: 19 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Camberley
This is a packed and varied itinerary. Inle Lake, the walk around the village and the train trip are highlights. We particularly liked the various forms of transport. My top 3 tips would be to a) take an extra jumper as the nights at Inle Lake and Kalaw are quite chilly; b) most days you will visit a pagoda so dress accordingly ( knees and shoulders covered); c) you get better exchange rates for large denomination USD, which must be in clean condition. The money changers happily exchanged sterling, too, for a good rate and the notes didn't have to be pristine.
Our guide, May, was excellent and helped make our trip the success it was.
There were possibly too many shopping opportunities on some days for our tastes and we would have preferred using the time to explore by ourselves for half a day in Mandalay.
In our free time at Inle Lake we did a cookery course at Bamboo Delight Cooking School and I would recommend this to anyone. Perhaps Explore could add it to their list of suggested outings?
The slightly lower score for accommodation is because the hotel in Kalaw only had intermittent hot water and the hotel in Mandalay has a karaoke bar, whose bass beat could clearly be heard / felt in our room on the 6th floor.
My final comment is that Burma is not a destination for anyone who has a peanut allergy. No-one on our trip was affected but peanut oil is widely used in cooking and everywhere we stopped for a drink or food put out peanuts for us.
Confirmed traveller: 08 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Kevin

Berlin
May, the tour leader, was excellent. Very knowledgeable and passionate about her country. Very approachable and friendly.

The accommodation in Kalaw was terrible. Totally unacceptable for an Explore group. It's not as if there is a shortage of accommodation in Kalaw. Likewise, the hotel in Inle Lake was poor and in desperate need of renovation.
Confirmed traveller: 08 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(5 out of 10)

Karen

London
The exolore leader on this tour was enthusiastic and informative. A few of the hilights were longtail boat to Inle Lake and train trip to Kalaw. Also crossing U-Bein Bridge and sailing up Irrewaddy river- interesting but overlong.

The accommodation as in all Explore trips varied and with the exception of Hotel Marvel the others were third rate in particular Green Haven. The room was sub standard and on arrival the door was was wide open to try to get get rid of damp smell. It was necessary to have window open all night in order to breathe better. It posed a health risk, as it was extremely damp, and although l was moved to a better room the next day, this sort of accommodation should not be on on your tour accommodation lists. There were a great deal of complaints within the group about this particular hotel, the outside appearance of which was very attractive but certain rooms, perhaps in older parts of hotel, were a big shock. Please take note of this urgently(if in fact Explore does take action on this!? Shelling out a substantial amount of money for a holiday with this type of sub standard accommodation is just not acceptable.


I was recommended Explore by a friend but would think twice about travelling with the company again.
Confirmed traveller: 07 January 2017
Published on: 20 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Christopher

Great Leighs
Very good tour and interesting sights. Hotels generally good but occasionally rooms needed to be swooped due to street noise.
Confirmed traveller: 07 January 2017
Published on: 08 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Stella

Dubai
Inle lake fantastic. Hotel in Mandalay great. Kalaw walk really beautiful but hotel, other than shower, not good at all.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 05 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Jane

itinerary could be improved on. tour ending?. pre travel info needs to be up dated
our guide was very good. understood when we wanted to eat "local" (great food)
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2016
Published on: 10 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Malcolm

Sheffield
A very busy schedule, but with an excellent guide it all went very smoothly, and you never felt rushed. For me the lake and trek were the main highlights in a trip full of highlights.
I cannot praise the guide enough who helped make the trip a memorable one with her knowledge and love of country, enthused that love to us and included stories of her personal life to to help with explanations. She was always ready to help to ensure we had a great time.
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2016
Published on: 09 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Kenneth

Moss Vale, NSW, Australia
Our leader, Sandar, was excellent and appreciated by all five of us. As our group was small, we were able to have lots of conversations and learnt so much about home life, education, cultural customs in different states, regional food tastes and so. She was very knowledgeable everywhere we went, including background to university changes. She prepared very well, managed all aspects of travel very effectively, and understood the interests of the five individuals very quickly.

It is hard to say what the highlights were as every day was exciting and interesting. We thought that the tour of Yangon was an important first step in understanding Myanmar and its history before heading for Heho and Inle Lake. The lake was a very different experience as well as being a lot of fun. Sandar gave us good suggestions about the local eating houses so we tried three different ones on the three nights. The train to Kalaw was an opportunity to observe the rural lifestyle at a very slow speed, and I even managed some good photos of people through the open window (I think the windows are perpetually open). The Green Haven Hotel, although it looked grand and did a wonderful breakfast, had the least appealing bathrooms on the trip, but that did not stop us from appreciating the location. I must say that the drive over and down the mountains was a top way of seeing the local world (we had very good, safe drivers in every location) as well as giving us all the chance to make silly comments about the road to Mandalay. We had so many different experiences in Mandalay that we had to pause each night to try to remember exactly how much we had done (digital photos really help). Our trip down the Irrawaddy was enhanced by being such a small group. The open wooden boat had real character and was much better than being in comfortable airconditioning. It might have taken longer but I would recommend it as a way of travel.

Bagan gave us many experiences too, not just seeing the huge number of temples and stupas. Wandering through the local market, buying local products, and using all our senses to soak up the market world made it unforgettable. All five of us opted for the Mt Popa trip and were glad we did so as that was a very interesting journey as well as a very different destination.

Thank you very much for such a well-balanced first trip to a unique country.
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2016
Published on: 09 December 2016