It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
622 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma Highlights BUH

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Burma Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

122 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Burma HighlightsScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 122 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Sarah

London
I would thoroughly recommend the Burma Highlights trip, there were so many memorable experiences. We were very lucky that our trip coincided with the Burmese New Year and Water Festival, to which our guide gave us a very enjoyable introduction. "Playing water" in Mandalay was a unique experience, like being at a huge open festival with thousands of people being drenched and dancing in front of the castle moat. Our guide, Hay Mar, was excellent - lots of fun and very informative with a passion for showing us her country's people, culture and cuisine.
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2017
Published on: 15 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Fiona

Tunbridge Wells
This was a great tour. We happened to be there for the new year Water Festival which was a highlight - but after a few days became a bit annoying! Lots of things were shut because of the celebrations and it became quite stressful not being able to go out without getting drenched and keeping cameras and electronic equipment safe and dry. But it was a great celebration to witness and be a part of.
The time spent on the lake was amazing, and there are no words to describe Bagan.
I found there was more downtime on this trip compared to others I've been on - of course, the view on this was mixed in the group. Some people appreciated it, others found it frustrating. I think coinciding with the water festival meant there were fewer options as to what we could do during the free time.
For those worried about keeping in touch while away, there was good WiFi access in all the hotels but some people had no mobile phone coverage what-so-ever.
The hotels were of good standard - the Panda hotel at Yangon was probably the most basic, but all were comfy and clean and had the amenities you'd expect.
Confirmed traveller: 19 April 2017
Published on: 22 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Enid

Southampton
I thoroughly enjoyed this trip, which provided a varied and interesting insight into Burmese culture, with opportunities to meet people in villages and see their local industries. the people were very hospitable and friendly, and I felt welcome at all times.

A particular highlight was the longboat trip on Lake Inle to see the amazing horticulture on the floating water hyacinth beds, the skill of the boatmen/fishermen in exercising their craft, and the small children's ability in handling boats!

I enjoyed visiting the pagodas, and learning from our very knowledgeable guide, Myo, about the history of the structures. it's certainly helpful to have easy slip-on shoes for these visits, as it is necessary to leave shoes at the entrance!!

Having enjoyed all aspects of this tour, it is difficult to single out any particular element, although the scenic views at Mount Popa do rate as outstanding!
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 12 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sheila

Herne Bay
This tour comprehensively covers Myanmar, its culture and the lives of 'ordinary people' living in rural areas. The various modes of transport enhances the experience and allows us to view vast areas of the country. I particularly liked Bagan and Inle Lake although all the areas we visited had their own special highlights.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Claire

Ipswich
A fantastic varied tour of Myanmar (Burma) covering all the highlights of this beautiful country and its wonderful people. The accommodation exceeded all my expectations. It was a real unexpected bonus to have a kettle in each room! It was nice to spend 2 or 3 nights at places so therefore not as rushed as I expected. Tour leader George was a helpful tour leader and we learnt a lot from him. Highlights of the trip too many to mention! Visit Myanmar (Burma) before it changes too much!
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Great trip, good way to see the main sights of Burma without feeling too rushed. Highlight for me was watching the sun set over Bagan.
Confirmed traveller: 17 March 2017
Published on: 21 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Romsey
A good introduction to Myanmar, this tour had variety of activities and interesting visits from the magnificence of the Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon to the simplicity of a horse and cart ride through small rural villages. Don't expect the ten hour boat ride down the Ayeyarwaddy River to be a highlight. Take a good book to read and enjoy relaxing on deck in the sun in readiness for the temples of Bagan which exceeded all my expectations.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Harry

Farnham, Surrey
A hectic schedule! Lots and lots of pagodas!!

In no particular order, my highlights included: Shwedagon pagoda in Yangon; the white 'wedding cake' pagoda and the 90-tonne bell in Mingun (bellringing is one of my hobbies); sunset at U-bein Bridge, Mandalay; Bagan (thousands of pagodas!); the walk in Phya Saw village.

Our tour Guide, Za Za was absolutely superb; a real star. Her command of English is very good, and she is extremely knowledgeable, and understandably passionate about her country. She has previously been in the top four of Explore’s approx. 650 Guides - and well-deservedly so too. She seemed unflappable, and was always cheerful - and so elegant! A different longyi every day!! The various drivers and helpers employed were all good too, and drove very considerately.

Some reviewers have been critical of the standard of some of the hotels, but in my opinion such criticism is unjust. This is NOT billed as a luxury holiday, so to expect all 4* hotels is unreasonable; the variety of hotel standards adds to the enjoyment!

Tips:
Take: Plenty of wet-wipes (it's very dusty in the dry season); a 'universal' sink plug (not all washbasins had plugs); a European electrical adaptor (most hotels had sockets that took the UK 'square pin' plug, but one didn't; maybe a travelling kettle, if you have space (not all hotels included kettle in the rooms). Sun-protection is a must (ie. sun-cream, hat, sunglasses) and I found a belt-clip for my water bottle very useful too.

The Explore notes recommend ‘carrying all your funds in US Dollars’ but in my view this is no longer necessary. There are ATMs (as well as money changers) almost everywhere we went on this trip. However, if taking Dollars, do ensure that the notes are in pristine condition, otherwise they are likely to be refused.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 19 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Kathryn

belfast
good overview of main highlights. useful to have an extra day at the start to recover from the long flight.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Robin

London
Excellent Explore trip - nice small group of 8 people - well thought out itinerary. Highlights many but the top one was our half day trek in the Shan hills - beautiful undulating rich countryside, very friendly villagers, great bird spotting. Our tour leader Aye Sandar Tun; young and brilliant - very enthusiastic and we all learned so much about the different peoples of Myanmar from her. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she was very caring and practically helpful when we were unwell from tummy bugs. Accommodation was varied and interesting. The only fault of the whole trip was the Panda hotel in Yangon used at beginning and end o the trip. Very poor tired guest and public rooms with the worst breakfast in Myanmar. Our room had neither a sink hot tap or sink plug. Explore should drop it from its schedule. Explore needs to update currency notes - Burmese local currency universally accepted and you don't need now to take US dollars. Tip - - take a mobile sink plug you can buy at Cotswold Camping.
Confirmed traveller: 02 March 2017
Published on: 04 March 2017