It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
651 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Family Caique Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Caique Cruise trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Family Caique Cruise reviews verified by reevooReevoo

8 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Family Caique CruiseScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 8 reviews
(7 out of 10)


Fabulous boat, great food onboard, very knowledgeable leader and relaxing
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 20 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


The perfect trip for my son and I, I knew we were safe in the hands of our generous host and Captain Thanos who updated us daily on the fluid itinerary and activities. The boys loved diving from the boat and sleeping on deck each night. We looked forward to local home cooked lunch each day served by Thanos and his crew. Everything was fkexible and relaxed and we got to visit some beautiful coves and islands.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 14 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


Ohope Beach NZ
Fantastic tour . Thanos , our leader was a wealth of knowledge and he and his crew had everything working smooth as silk . Had a great group of people which made the trip really enjoyable . The food on board was better than expected , it was absolutely wonderful . Cannot speak more highly of the entire trip . Have never had a more relaxing holiday .
Goldie and Jo . Ohope Beach NZ .
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 09 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. It was very easy to relax because we did not have to worry about shopping, making meals, where we were going or how to entertain our 3 children. We were so lucky to have 2 other great families with children aged from 16 to 7. They all got on really well, spending all their time, swimming, pokemon finding, playing back gammon and enjoying the trips off the boat. The adults enjoyed the wonderful places we went to, the food on the boat and in every restaurant (do not expect quick service).

The highlights for me were the most secluded places we went to. Thanos is a fantastic, warm man with an enormous knowledge of the history of Greece and the area. The boat is simple, but comfortable. It is hot and you really wont need very much with you. Definitely could get away with hand luggage only in August when there is no need for jumpers, long sleeves or trousers. Take something for bites and Kwells for sea sickness - only really 1 or 2 days when this was an issue for 1 child - it was quite windy when we went, which made the sailing choppier but was welcome because of warmth.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 24 August 2016
(10 out of 10)


Even though the weather was not kind it was a fantastic trip, meeting new friends, enough activity and historic sites to keep a mixed aged group happy but with plenty of time for relaxing. Highly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 17 August 2016
(3 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Unfortunately the Caique Cruise fell well short of my expectations, especially as we had had such a fantastic holiday in Thailand with Explore the year before. The caique was full of character of course, but the cabin we were allocated simply wasn't fit for purpose at the time of year we went as it was dangerously hot at night and hence it was impossible to sleep in it. The other (romantic-sounding) option was to sleep on deck, which we had come prepared for, but we moored every night on a fishermen's quay or ferry port in a Greek holiday town and so had thumping music, karaoke and bright lights finishing roughly at the same time the fishing boats came in and the market started. Cars, motorbikes, ferries, loud voices and mobile phones immediately alongside the boat in the early hours of every morning was not a great start to the day. The days themselves were spent travelling on the boat or swimming. Apart from brief but very enjoyable visits to a castle, a museum and a vineyard (at extra cost), there was very little else of note to make the experience special. I imagined pretty little tavernas off the beaten track, evenings on board in secluded coves, and perhaps a walk or two through an olive grove or pine forest. By the end of the week I was just imagining a decent night's sleep.Thanos was clearly very knowledgable and passionate about the island of Evia and shared a lot of very interesting history with us. He was kind and friendly, rather than warm, and was also very efficient at skippering the boat. I got the impression a few times that he was going through the motions a bit with the cruise, which I guess is understandable considering he has done the same trip every week from Spring to Autumn for the last 20 years.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with a few aspects of the cruise. Unfortunately, during this time of year, it can become quite hot in the cabins as the temperature increases, which is why we suggest sleeping on the open deck. We haven’t had any issues with noise before, but we have reminded the crew to be more mindful of this, and to moor somewhere quieter if possible. We also appreciate your suggestion regarding the lunches onboard – we have passed this on to our operations manager, who will look into this with our local agent, taking the cost element into consideration.

(9 out of 10)


Sleeping on the boat. Diving and snorkelling in clear blue sea. Travelling from place to place by boat. Freedom for the children in the evening to wander and promenade along the seafronts. The personalities of Thanos the captain and his crew- he understood the characters of the individual children really quickly, he is extremely knowledgeable and really helpful.
Don't book this trip if you expect luxurious accommodation, however the cabins are comfortable if small and the showers are hot, and the boat is beautiful. Do book if you enjoy other people's company and want to have a wonderful holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 25 July 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Water, children, food and a boat – this on paper is a match made in heaven. I am a seasoned ‘Explorer’ and wasn’t sure what to expect from this more relaxing holiday compared to the other adventures we had been on, however I needn't have worried at all. Travelling with my wife and two boys, I was absolutely gobsmacked how much we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves through the week. The children of various ages instantly bonded from the moment the crew welcomed us aboard. The combination of sailing around the Greek island of Evia stopping off at a new port each day made this tour both enjoyable yet really interesting. I’m not sure how many jumping off the boat competitions I entered, but every time I got beat by the kids – an absolutely outstanding holiday topped off by the most amazing scenery and hospitality along the way.Thanos and his crew (his family) are the most likable people you will ever come across. They bent over backwards to ensure the children were always safe when swimming or around the caique, nothing was too much trouble for them. The cook made the most amazing food in the smallest galley I have ever seen, but it hit the spot every time for both adults and children alike. Thanos is very knowledge and passionate about the Greek culture and history and is the perfect host to make history come alive each time we ventured off the boat. We will definitely be going back.
Confirmed traveller: 10 February 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016