It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Heart Of Cambodia CD

Visiting: Cambodia
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Heart Of Cambodia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Heart Of Cambodia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Heart Of Cambodia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

34 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Heart Of CambodiaScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 34 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Stacey

Aylesbury
I loved Cambodia and felt like this tour gave a well balanced view of life for local people. It was interesting to see life outside of the main tourist areas. A lot of the areas we went to had little to no tourism, something which I felt added to the charm of the place. Although this did have the downside that sometimes guest houses and places to eat were not always of a high quality. The itinerary gives you access to a range of beautiful and interesting places, which were well worth going to. I had mixed feelings on the tour guide. On the one hand, he was a very interesting man who told us a lot about life under the Khmer Rouge and his experiences. However, we often had to ask him to do things that were included in the itinerary and he never offered the additional activities that are suggested in the trip notes. We often felt quite rushed at key sites e.g the killing fields, where he only gave us 30 minutes to look around. As it was the new year when I was there, it seemed a lot of places were closed. The guide used this as an excuse not to organise lots of activities but when we looked into things ourself, we found they were available. At many of the attractions where we had already paid for entrance (e.g the palace, killing fields and all the museums) the tour guide got me in for free, getting me a ticket for under 16 year olds (I am 26). This made me wonder what happened to the money I had paid towards the tour? I paid the same price as everyone else on the trip?! Overall Cambodia was an amazing place and I absolutely loved visiting but there were some issues with the tour that could be improved to benefit others going on this trip in the future.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2017
Published on: 28 May 2017
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Philadelphia, PA
This was my first Explore trip and I was traveling with a friend who has been on several Explore trips previously. This was also my first trip to Cambodia. Overall, I really enjoyed this trip as I felt I was able to see Cambodia in a more authentic way, up close and personal learning about the history, culture and people that I might not otherwise get to have if I were on other tours. For example, our tour guide was the son of a farmer, had survived the Khmer Rouge regime and had excellent knowledge about the history and the culture of the country. I also really enjoyed the 3 day concentration on the Angkor temples. I was able to get a much better appreciation of the site, and see many more ruins than a typical one day. Last, getting a sense of the countryside by visiting small villages and the river communities added to the uniqueness of this trip.

For future trips, I would recommend more interaction with local people, maybe a meal with a local farmer and their family. I would also recommend more depth into the Buddhist tradition to learn about how Buddhism plays a role in the typical Cambodian's life. I would also allow for more down time that gives an opportunity to explore a village or city on one's own - this tour was scheduled with very little individual time.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 21 April 2017
Published on: 26 April 2017
(6 out of 10)

Susan

Pretoria, South Africa
Many days on the trip lacked substance. I enjoyed Phnom Penh (Royal Palace; killing fields; genocide museum). Wished we could have visited the Russian Market.
Activities at Kampot could be more interesting.
Enjoyed Kep & Rabbit Island & loved walking in the Kep National Park by myself. The breakfast restaurant at Kep was terrible with extremely slow service.
Kampong Cham: felt like we barely saw anything in town, but enjoyed Wat Nakor. Wish we could have gone at 16:00 when it would have been cooler but Paul our guide insisted that we should go earlier. Once there we quickly went through the temple and then spent too much time watching people do sack races and play musical chairs for the New Year celebrations. Also, the hotel really messed up our breakfast here!
Wished I could have seen more in Kratie or get more info on Kratie, but enjoyed the dolphins.
Loved the silk farm and got a fabulous meal there! Highly recommended! We drove past the stone mason village and if we did not asked, Paul would not have stopped.
Loved the floating villages!
Loved everything at Siem Reap and enjoyed the local guide!
In regards to Paul, the guide for the trip, he was not every good. People did not understand him and he will for example tell us that there is only one restaurant open in town, and when we asked around a number of places would be open for New Years. Really felt he did not put in an effort and could shown us more of the towns we visited. The driver for most of the trip was a rock star and extremely helpful.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 21 April 2017
Published on: 23 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Michelle

London
Cambodia is Asia before it was spoilt by mass tourism, and the Heart of Cambodia tour was a truly excellent way to experience so many different aspects of this. If you want to see real life, mostly away from the usual tourist track, then take this tour! Our guide (Sam) was awesome - so organised, so proud of his country and nothing was too much trouble. The itinerary delivered what was promised. Just participate and wonder at all you see - Sam looked after everything else. Accomodation was relatively basic, but clean, comfy, reliable wifi and with the all important air con! I travel a lot and this trip is definitely up there as one of the best so far, a real adventure and great value for money. Thoroughly recommended!!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 25 March 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Bristol
I wasn't sure what to expect in Cambodia; I booked the trip because I wanted to visit Angkor Wat, and that did not disappoint. There is so much more than just Angkor Wat - I'm just trying to sort through the hundreds of photographs I took and remembering the different places we visited.
Sam our Tour Leader was excellent; very knowledgeable and helpful.
The hotels were generally good; the staff were helpful.
The food was good, the scenery amazing; Cambodia is a great place to visit!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 25 March 2017
Published on: 29 March 2017
(4 out of 10)

X

Long bumpy drives only to see sites for a few minutes. All guest houses/ hotels (except one) were poorly maintained and dodgy. Rather uninteresting itinerary in real life and guide didn't seem as experienced or engaging as hoped. Lunch and dinner selections for the group were average and expensive for Cambodia (it was better to just go on your own). Bus wasn't very comfortable with bad suspension and AC wasn't very cooling in the hot and humid weather.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 24 March 2017
Published on: 28 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback about your trip to Cambodia, I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. Chhoun has been leading our trips for over 10 years, and always receives great feedback from our customers, so I’m surprised you say that he lacked in experience. I’m also sorry to hear that you found the itinerary to be uninteresting – we always try to find the right balance between planned activities and free time, so that our customers have a chance to relax, as well as exploring at their own pace. We try to provide activities that appeal to most of our customer base, but there is always time available for you to make arrangements for any specific interests.

(8 out of 10)

Ian

Canvey Island
Angkor Wat and the Killing Fields
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 22 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Mike

Wakefield
The trip was a continual series of highlights - so much was packed into the 13 days. All the accommodation was OK but most was excellent. Transport also very good. Food was fantastic - I didn't try the tarantulas! Eak, our tour leader, was very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. And our group of fellow Explorers was the best!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Alison

Eastbourne
A great holiday in a very interesting country. I found the programme well balanced with different activities most days and a lively pace, yet sufficient time and opportunity to get a feel for the country and its people. Our guide, Sareth, was wonderful in every way. A lovely trip - thank you.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 01 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Ayesha

London
A wonderful introduction to Cambodia, in the company of a lovely group of people and an excellent tour leader in Sareth. He was very knowledgeable, well organised, easy going and helped us make the most of our time.
We got to see quite a bit of the country, the way of life of it's people and it's sad recent and amazing distant history.
Nothing had quite prepared me for the vastness, variety of temples and settings on the Angkor site. There is a lot to charm there. The stay at Kep and visit to Rabbit island was a welcome restful part of the holiday. We had a number of boat rides, all enjoyable and also experienced different forms of local transport.
The Killing Fields, genocide museum and the current poverty of peoples lives were all sad in their own ways but an important part of the experience.
The journeys were at times long but broken up with all sorts of interesting experiences including, visiting villages, taking notebooks and pens for children and tasting a range of foods, snake, tarantula etc which I wouldn't have imagined eating before.
My only tip would be that most days there is some temple visit involved and you need to be appropriately dressed with legs covered atleast to below the knees and tops with atleast half sleeves, so pack accordingly. Having said that, we all ended up buying some baggy loose pants or long skirts which were very cheap, so that is an option.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 03 January 2017