It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
522 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 450 adventures for you to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

Heart Of Cambodia CD

Visiting: Cambodia
Tour Duration 13 Days
 

Book now!

Reviews for Heart Of Cambodia 4.5 out of 5 based on 8 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Heart Of Cambodia tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 , 17/12/13

Name

Chris Curson

Tour Name

Heart of Cambodia

Tour Code

CD 23rd November 13

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Seeing Ankor Wat at sunrise. Also a morning bike ride around an island, meeting the locals and taking tea with them (including a ferry across the Mekong complete with motorbikes and a cow drawn cart.

Tour Leader Name

Sophoan Sanh (So)

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

The success of the tour was down almost entirely to the efforts of So. I have been on five holidays with Explore and So was the best tour leader by far. She was always buzzing and looking for things for us to do. Her knowledge of the temples and the ease with which she was able to communicate both with us and the various Cambodians that we encountered was a sight to behold. A very personable young lady with a great sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. I see a future Tour Leader of the Year I think.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure you take plenty of insect repellant. You will also need small denomination dollar bills. Dollars are accepted everywhere but you may get some change in the local currency which is useless anywere else.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

If you want to get an insight into how Cambodians live as well as seeing the temples then this is the trip for you.

 
4.5 , 27/11/13

Name

Jane Fountain

Tour Name

Heart Of Cambodia

Tour Code

CD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

When I held a spider (prior to it being deep-fried) - and no -I didn't eat it!

Tour Leader Name

Eak Kong

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Absolutely fantastic. The group learned such a lot about different aspects of Cambodia (now and in the past) from him. His suggestions about what we should do in our free time and where we should eat were always spot-on and he was always calm, with a wonderful sense of humour. Eak clearly enojoyed the trip as much as the group did.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

The trip notes tell you to bring small denomination US dollar bills and you really really do need lots of one dollar bills.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It sounds like a cliche, but Cambodian people really are wonderful, despite the recent historical events that still affect them (especially the Pol Pot regime) and the continuing corruption and poverty. Is it the Buddhist approach to life that makes them like this? I was so sad to have to leave.

 
5 Lorna Turner, 22/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Visiting places that tourists would not normally visit. The visit to the village on stilts was amazing - the locals were so friendly. Obviously visiting ANGKOR WAT was amazing. A well thought out tour showing Cambdia at present and its horrific past.  

Read more
 
0 Ilse Hoffman, 11/01/12
Excellent trip. The pace of the tour is not rushed, you get the time to take it all in. From the city of Phnom Penh, to the beautiful countryside, to the seaside (wonderful Kep Crab), and then to end it all in stunning Angkor. Nothing can prepare you for seeing Angkor Wat, it is simply to great to be captured on pictures, so you need to see it to grasp what it really means. And then there are the other temples, all different, all stunning in their own way. My personnal favourite would be The Bayon, with all the buddha faces.  There are less pleasant visits during this trip: the Killing Fields, and even more so the Tuol Sleng genocide museum. Unfortunately, also these have to be seen to be believed... Harrowing, shocking, but a must if you want to try to understand Cambodia.  I was surprised at the good standards of the accomodation in the countryside, even the 'basic' places were more than comfortable enough for me, also the food was generally excellent. We also had a lovely tour leader, being Cambodian herself, she really helped us to understand Cambodia and its people and culture.  Advice if you want to do this tour: bring dollars, and only dollars, Cambodia really has a dollar-driven economy, you don't even need to exchange money.
 
0 Karen Viney, 23/12/10
A fantastic insight into Cambodia - the people, the country, the town and the treasures. Our Tour Leader, Amanda was superb; keeping everything going along at a good pace whilst being helpful and informative and a good friend to all the group on tour.  The hotels in Phnom Penh and in Siem Riep were superb but the others were fairly basic so just go on this holiday with an open mind and you will love it... after all, I guess a hotel is only the place to lay your head and they were all basically clean and functional.  The sights and the scenery were so interesting and I don't think I have ever been on a holiday with so many different things to experience... from cycling and helicopter rides to eating spiders and whole fried frogs to having a sumptious dinner in a local tuk tuk drivers house on stilts. (CD - 24th October 2010)
 
0 KG, 12/11/10
Of all the trips I have done with Explore, this is definitely my favourite. The tour is planned perfectly, as it allows you to get to know the real Cambodia before heading off into the far more touristy Siem Reap. If you only went to Cambodia and only visited Siem Reap you would come away with the completely wrong view of the people. The temples are as amazing as you expect them to be, it's the rest of the country that exceeds your expectations. Highlights were the bike ride round the island near to Kompong Cham (especially the raft ride over there, I had no idea we could fit so many people / mopeds on such a small piece of wood), the remorques ride. Visiting the temples was also extremely well planned, we managed to avoid a lot of the crowds and visited them in chronological order so each successive temple was more impressive than the last.    Tips?  Take books and pens to hand out to the children.(CD -18th Jan 2009)
 
0 P.T.M.C, 21/09/10
My main reason for visiting Cambodia was to see the magnificent temples, which exceeded all expectations but the best part of the tour was the opportunity to see how the Cambodians live. If you just visit Siem Reap you don't see the real Cambodia and you will be missing out on a fabulous experience. The people are very friendly and make you feel welcome wherever you go. This tour takes you into paddy fields and along the Mekong, so you really get to see how these people live. It leaves you full of admiration for them when you see how simple their lives are and when you know the history of their country, which is harrowing. Their optimism and cheerfulness is inspirational! This was a wonderful tour and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to visit a Far Eastern country unspoilt by mass tourism. (CD 8th August 2010)
 
0 J.A, 20/09/10
A mad rickshaw cycle ride around Phnom Penh is certainly one way to be introduced to the frenetic hurley burley of Cambodia's capital city. We, that's to say our newly formed, air travel bleary, Explore Group, weave with suicidal disregard through the manic tangle of tut tuts, belching lorries and motor cycles (the entire family precariously balanced on board). Heat, noise, dust, street life and the perplexing aromas, all so intensely evocative of S.E. Asia, assault the senses and I know I have truly arrived. Here I go again, launched headlong into a world of excitement, expectations of adventure, new friends to meet, amazing places to experience, in fact put simply; my latest "Explore" trip has just begun. Yet to come are the fabulous temples of Siem Reap, lazy time spent on genuinely unspoilt tropical islands, amazing meanders down mighty Mekong and the best of all, the children; the beautiful ragged smiling children; heart tugging survivors. I cannot recommend this trip to Cambodia strongly enough. The entire experience has touched me deeply and I will treasure my memories for many years to come. (CD- 1st February 2009)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)(*)
    Please enter the tour code of your trip.
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA