It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Heart Of Cambodia CD

Visiting: Cambodia
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Heart Of Cambodia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Heart Of Cambodia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Heart Of Cambodia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Heart Of CambodiaScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Helen

Nottingham
The highlight was the temples at Siem Reap. Unexpected high points included the optional island cycle ride.
Confirmed traveller: 05 December 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Northampton
Beware of the hot & humid weather. This is not really a tour for you if you are not interested in ruins of ancient temples, visits to which are daily & numerous. My highlights were the sunsets over the Gulf of Thailand, and the local food.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 22 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lyle

Lethbridge, Canada
This tour includes a diversity of activities. Be prepared for a lots of walking and climbing on the three days visiting Angkor Wat and the many temples. Until you visit, it is difficult to imagine the size and spread of this complex.
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2016
Published on: 07 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

It's hard to pick just one highlight for this trip as most of it was amazing, but an early morning bike ride across the bamboo bridge and through the island of Koh Paen would be one of them. Next would be our 2 days in Kep and eating the famous crab dinner.
Lastly, on a somber note, the genocide museum visit was also not to be missed.
Confirmed traveller: 11 January 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Sherry

San Francisco, CA/USA
Some highlights: Sok was a terrific guide--she was knowledgeable, personable, patient, fun, and generous with her time. That she shared so much of her lie story with the group was touching; it also gave us context for the information about Pol Pot's reign that was key to understanding Cambodia in the 1970s and now. For me, getting to know a Cambodian in a genuine way for a week was one of the best parts of the trip. I appreciated Sok’s energy, enthusiasm, and genuineness. (The nine that I marked above for "Explore Leader" is meant for Sok. I would give a lower score to our second guide. For details, please read below.)

Kep was an early highlight in the trip. The Beach House was a lovely and fun hotel and it was really nice to have a calm, down day at Rabbit Island (and to eat crab in Kep). I also really liked the morning in Kampot—the remorque ride into the countryside was fantastic as was the bike ride in Kampong Cham to Koh Paen. Other highlights for me included the insect market, the Royal Palace in Phnom Penh, the boat ride to Tonle Sap Lake, and everything about Siem Reap.

Tips? Be prepared to get some stomach issues. Every one of the seven of us did, but it hardly ruined the trip.

Also, be prepared to do some, but not a ton of, walking. For me, an active person, I found the trip a bit sedentary for my lifestyle (there was also a lot more time in a fairly uncomfortable van than I was not prepared for). I loved the days when we got to places early enough to head out on my own for a walk and the days that involved some exercise and included thorough exploration of temples, but there were a number of folks on the trip who found the trip TOO active so if you’re not used to walking at least two miles a day, this might not be the trip for you. (Honestly, I thought that the activity level of this trip was minimal and was surprised at the level of complaining and dissatisfaction by others. I’m a city dweller who walks a lot every day and would have been happy with a lot more exercise.)
Confirmed traveller: 08 January 2016
Published on: 22 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Just come back from this trip - brilliant. It was a bit warmer than expected due to the late monsoon weather; it was such a relief to have air-con buses and hotels. Most of the hotels were very good with just one that was okay. Every day had something of interest, even on travel days, and at the end there was ANGKOR, just brilliant.
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Renee

Barcelona, Spain
Best part of trip was the evening on the river looking for dolphins. Even if we hadn't spotted any, the beauty and peacefulness of that time would have been worth it.
Another good place was the hotel in Kep - very good in all aspects.
For a good trip, make sure you have So as the guide.
There is no question here asking about the bad points of the trip, but if people only write positive comments, it is less than useful. So in a spirit of constructive criticism, I suggest changing hotels in Phnom Penh and in Kompong Thom.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Mark

Lichfield
The people of Cambodia and the food, best place I have ever been to for food.
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 26 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Mary

Salisbury
Seeing Angkor Wat, and meeting with the amazing Cambodian People who have been through so much in their recent history. Truly inspiring.

Hints to others: take plenty of tablets (eg Cotswold's SIS tablets) which turn 500mls of drinking water into Isotonic drinks. I used them a lot, and avoided de-hydration easily, despite copious sweating! Also, wear comfortable shoes in which you can walk easily over rough terrain and up/down steps.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015