It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife OC

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife reviews verified by reevooReevoo

35 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Hiking on La Gomera and TenerifeScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 35 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Dorothy

Musselburgh
Great walking in La Gomera - though some paths are steep! Lovely island. Eating out at night enhanced the whole holiday. The walk below the cone of Teide made for a great finish.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Trisha

Cirencester
As a first trip with explore; I thought it was fantastic. The itinerary was perfect and hikes moderate. We were unfortunate with the weather the first couple of days but this only added to the experience. The rest of the week was over 30 degrees. La Gomera is truly stunning and breathtaking and all the walks were a highlight finishing off at a bar with a pint was always welcome. The evening meals were excellent...great choice of authentic restaurants. A special mention to Max, the tour leader! He was truly amazing and I don't think this trip would have been as memorable and special without him! Thank you Max!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Fantastic trip to the beautiful green island of La Gomera. Very scenic walking along well marked almost deserted trails. Hilly so take your poles! San Sebastian a lovely quiet town.
Interesting contrast to do the volcano walk around El Teide on Tenerife. Fabulous! And a ferry ride into the bargain. Enthusiastic knowledgeable guide and lots of delicious fish.
Would highly recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(7 out of 10)

Zoe

The walking was more scenic than I had expected. But it also was tougher. The descents were hard without walking poles, so I would recommend them. The paths are steep, rocky in places and slippy, with drops down the side. The ascent also was hard,but there is much less of this.

Finding veggie food is an issue, but that might just be the restaurants which Explore uses that can accommodate the large groups. Service and standard of food was also surprisingly bad.
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 13 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

David

ORPINGTON
We thought the tour was very well planned, especially the arrangements for taking us to the start of a walk and picking us up afterwards. The choice of walks was excellent combining variety and stunning scenery and being stretching but never excessive. Above all, our tour leader, Emma Bueno, was brilliant. She had a very welcoming and lively approach contributing to an excellent atmosphere throughout the tour. She was also extremely good at looking after those who got towards the back of the group and were struggling a little. I would also commend the hotel, Playa sur Tenerife, in El medano for very efficiently sorting out a personal emergency on the 28th. when something crucial was left in a taxi by ourselves.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 04 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Marion

London
Thank you Emma for being such a great guide and keeping our spirits up on the hard walks.
Descents were particularly challenging if you hadn't prepared for the walking especially the first day, however tour did cater for the less robust with different walking options.
Good holiday but should have been a moderate + grading
Wonderful walk on last day around Mt Tiede above the clouds with blue clear skies
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017
(2 out of 10)

Angela

Brighton
The walks were not described well enough, the terrain was more challenging than I had imagined and most were overly long.
It would have been easy to include a packed lunch - we were sent off to the supermarket with no cutlery,packaging or made up sandwiches to buy.
The food in general was pretty awful - the two set lunches were terrible with no choice, the evening meals were very late and the restaurants were not ready for the group.
I would have liked to have more information about the natural vegetation of the National park - maybe a local guide for two hours - overall I did not enjoy this trip and small changes would make a big difference.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 02 February 2017

Hi Angela, I am sorry you felt the descriptions on the trip notes were inaccurate, we have asked our Explore leaders to review this and see if any changes are needed. Generally our customers enjoy the freedom of preparing their own lunches, however, we understand that some prefer this to be done for them. We have passed this on to our local agent for them to suggest this to the hotels and see if they can prepare packed lunches for the groups. In Europe late dinners are the norm, but we have asked all the leaders who run this trip to bring mealtimes forward if their groups would prefer to eat earlier.

(9 out of 10)

Martin

Exeter
An excellent tour. The walks were very spectacular and well led. Highlights included the island's peak, Alto de Garajonay and the walk from Hermigua to Playa Caleta. The circular walk near Teide was also very good. I felt that the level was at the top end of moderate. I would have preferred longer ascents and shorter descents if possible. I enjoyed the idea of stopping for a set restaurant lunch in the middle of two of the walks. The tour guide Emma was very good and maintained a jolly, upbeat manner throughout.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 01 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nicky

Stoke-on-Trent
Excellent holiday. La Gomera is a lovely island to walk on, to the peak, down the valleys and by the coast. I liked the transfer and airport experience on return which ran very smoothly this time, unlike Peru & Cuba trips. The tour leader was very knowledgeable and marked the map I had bought with the routes we walked.
Confirmed traveller: 07 January 2017
Published on: 13 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Charles

Stone
La Gomera is a beautiful unspoilt island and is well worth visiting.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017